DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to application filed 08/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
3. the Examiner notes that a foreign priority claim is asserted, however, the foreign priority application was not available for review and therefore the priority claims could not be verified by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US PAT # 9,578,415 B1) in view of Tackett (Pub.No.: 2025/0078798 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches an active noise control system (reads on noise cancellation system for cancelling ambient noise in an audio device, see col. lines 25-30) comprising:
a microphone configured to output a collected sound as a monitoring signal (reads on reference and error microphones receiving ambient sound signals used in ANC processing, see col. 2, lines 10-18);
a speaker configured to output a noise cancellation sound (reads on transducer generating anti-noise to cancel detected ambient noise, see col. 3, lines 1-8);
an adaptive filter (reads on adaptive filter 32 receiving a reference signal and producing an anti-noise signal, see col. 6, lines 45-55);
a storage (see col.6, lines 45-44 and col. 7, lines 5-20); and
perform an adaptive operation to adapt the monitoring signal as an error (reads on updating Adaptive filter coefficients using an error microphone signal to minimize noise, see col. 7, lines 5-20).
Zhou features already y addressed in the rejection of claim 1. Zhou does not teach explicitly “circuitry configured to perform a noise separation process at a predetermined timing, the noise separation process including separating a noise component from the monitoring signal, and
storing, in the storage, a pseudo noise signal representing the noise component, wherein the adaptive filter is configured to receive an input of the pseudo noise signal stored in the storage, and generate the noise cancellation sound to be output from the speaker based on the pseudo noise signal”.
However, Tackett teaches deriving noise-related signals from microphone measurements, selecting stored signal models representing nowise characteristics, and filtering reference signals using such stored models in adaptive noise cancellation processing (see [0025], [0028] and [0101]-[0105]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ANC system of Zhou to incorporate the signal-estimation and stored noise-model techniques taught by Tackett in order to improve noise estimation accuracy and overall noise-cancellation performance, since improving reference signal accuracy is a well -known objective in ANC system.
Independent claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 1. Note that claim 2 recites the ANC system of claim 1 with signal processing performed in the frequency domain (Tackett already teaches processing microphone-derived signals using signal-domain transformation within ANCY systems, see [0028] and [0101]. Thus, it would have been obvious to implement the ANC processing of Zhou using the frequency domain signal processing technique taught by Tackett).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to
convert the output of the microphone to the frequency domain signal by a fast Fourier transform, and output the frequency domain signal as the monitoring signal (Tackett teaches transforming signals between domains for ANC processing, see [0101]), and
convert the output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by an inverse fast Fourier transform (Tackett teaches converting transformed signals back to time domain for output, see [0101]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches an active noise control system (reads on ANC system for cancelling ambient noise, see col. lines 25-30) comprising:
(a microphone Zhou teaches reference and error microphones used in in ANC, see col. 2, lines 10-18);
a speaker configured to output a noise cancellation sound (reads on transducer generating anti-noise signal, see col. 3, lines 1-8);
an adaptive filter (reads on adaptive filter receiving reference signal, see col. 6, lines 45-55); and
a storage (see col.6, lines 45-44 and col. 7, lines 5-20), and
perform an adaptive operation to adapt the monitoring signal as an error (reads on updating filter coefficients to minimize noise, see col. 7, lines 5-20).
Zhou features already y addressed in the rejection of claim 1. Zho does not teach explicitly “circuitry configured to convert an output of the microphone to a weighting factor of a predetermined transformation function that generates a time domain signal by weighting an orthonormal basis, and output the weighting factor as a monitoring signal; wherein the circuitry is configured to perform a noise separation process at a predetermined timing, the noise separation process including separating a noise component from the monitoring signal and storing the noise component in the storage as a pseudo noise signal, wherein the adaptive filter is configured to receive an input of the pseudo noise signal stored in the storage, and wherein the circuitry is configured to convert an output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by the transformation function, and generate the noise cancellation sound to be output from the speaker”.
However, Tackett teaches processing microphone-derived signals using signal transformations and model-based representations for adaptive noise cancellation processing (see [0028] and [0101]-[0103]). Tackett further teaches selecting stored signal models representing noise characteristics and suing such models during adaptive filtering (see [0103]-[0105]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ANC system of Zhou to incorporate the transformation-based signal representation techniques taught by Tackett in order to improve signal processing accuracy and adaptive noise cancellation performance, since transform-domain signal processing is a known-technique for improving adaptive filtering efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to
convert the output of the microphone to a frequency domain signal by a fast Fourier transform, and output the frequency domain signal as the monitoring signal (Tackett teaches transformation of microphone signals using signal-domain conversion, see [0101]), and
convert an output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by an inverse fast Fourier transform (Tackett teaches converting transformed signals back to time-domain signals, see [0101]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to
convert the output of the microphone to the weighting factor by a wavelet transform, and output the weighting factor as the monitoring signal (Tackett teaches signal transformation and representation for processing noise signals, see [0101]-[0103]), and
convert the output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by an inverse wavelet transform (Tackett teaches conversion of transformed signals back for output generation, see [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to perform the noise separation process at the predetermined timing at which the output of the microphone becomes greater than a predetermined level (reads on updating ANC filter operation based on microphone-derived error signal levels, see col. 7, lines 5-20).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to separate the noise component from the monitoring signal by independent component analysis (Tackett teaches analyzing microphone-derived signals to estimate noise components, see [0025] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to infer and separate the noise component from the monitoring signal by a neural network that is preliminarily trained to infer the noise component from the monitoring signal (reads on Tackett estimating noise-related signals derived from microphone inputs, see [0101]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to calculate a principal component having a predetermined order of the monitoring signal by performing principal component analysis, and separate the principal component as the noise component (reads on Tackett signal estimation and analysis to derive noise-related signal components, see [0028]).
Independent claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 4. Note that claim 11 recites the ANC system of claim 4 in which a pseudo noise signal is preliminarily stored and used by the adaptive filter. Tackett teaches selecting a pre-stored impulse response from a plurality of stored impulse responses used for ANC filtering (see [0103]-[0105]).Therefore, it would have been obvious to store the pseudo-noise signal representation used by the adaptive filter in the ASNC system of Zhou.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to
convert the output of the microphone to the weighting factor by a fast Fourier transform, and output the weighting factor as the monitoring signal (Tackett teaches transform domain processing of microphone signals, see [0101]), and
convert the output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by an inverse fast Fourier transform (Tackett teaches converting processed signals back to time-domain signals).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhou and Tackett teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to
convert the output of the microphone to the weighting factor by a wavelet transform, and output the weighting factor as the monitoring signal (reads on representing signals in transformed domain, see Tackett, [0101]), and
convert the output of the adaptive filter to the time domain signal by an inverse wavelet transform (reads on generating output signals after inverse transformation see Tackett [0101]).
Conclusion
/RASHA S AL AUBAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693