CTNF 18/815,294 CTNF 83612 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the application filed on 08/26/2024 has a total of 30 claims pending in the application; there are 4 independent claims and 26 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 8-17 and 24-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or amend these claims into their base claims, respectively. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, 18-23 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. Publication No. (US 20180310252 A1) in view of Fang et al. Publication No. (US 2018/0248739 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , WU teaches an apparatus configured for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: receive first information for a power operation (the terminal receives information that indicates a terminal type corresponding to a transmission mode and that is sent by a base station, where the transmission mode is a transmission mode that is determined by the base station and that is used to send data to the terminal in a current scheduling period, and is one of a paired transmission mode or a non-paired transmission mode [0122-123] FIG.3); perform, for a codebook and in accordance with the first information (dual codeword included in a codebook for the transmission mode [0109]) , the power operation for each codeword from a set of codewords included in the codebook (The terminal determines the downlink data transmit power according to energy per resource element of a cell-specific reference signal, the power parameter used to determine the downlink data transmit power, and the information indicating the transmission mode used by the base station to send data to the terminal in the current scheduling period [0132-133] FIG.2); receive second information for a power control operation (The terminal receives a power parameter “PA.sub.MUST” that is notified by the base station and that is used to determine downlink data transmit power [0128-130] FIG.2) ; perform, for the codebook, the power control operation in accordance with the second information, the power control operation being common to all codewords included in the codebook (PA.sub.MUST may be an existing parameter or a new parameter different from the existing parameter. When PA.sub.MUST is the existing parameter, the power parameter received by the terminal is used to determine the downlink data transmit power is PA.sub.MUST. When PA.sub.MUST is the new parameter, the power parameter received by the terminal is used to determine the downlink data transmit power includes P.sub.A defined in an existing protocol and PA.sub.MUST [0128-130] FIG.3); and WU does not explicitly teach a power shaping operation and transmit, in accordance with the power shaping operation and the power control operation, control channel data that is encoded using the codebook. Fang teaches a power shaping operation and transmit, in accordance with the power shaping operation and the power control operation, control channel data that is encoded using the codebook. (Fang: transmitting user data as codewords of a Low Density Lattice, wherein each transmitter encodes its user data into a respective codeword for transmission and transmits the codeword on a carrier signal over air; wherein a plurality of the transmitters use a shared Low Density Lattice codeboo k for the encoding, [0041-44] the codewords are adapted by hypercube shaping power control [0066-67] FIG.6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified WU by the teaching of Fang to use a power shaping operation and transmit control channel data that is encoded using the codebook so that low-density lattice codewords meet transmission power constraints (Fang: [0067] FIG.6). Regarding claim 2 , WU teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein performing the power control operation in accordance with the second information causes one or more transmit power parameters of the control channel data to meet one or more performance parameters (The base station notifies the terminal of a power parameter used to determine downlink data transmit power [0071-73] FIG.2). Regarding claim 3 , WU teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more performance parameters are associated with the power shaping operation (the terminal may further determine downlink data transmit power according to a corresponding transmission mode. To enable the terminal to obtain the downlink data transmit power [0070-71] FIG.3). Regarding claim 4 , WU teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more performance parameters include at least one of: an average traffic-to-pilot ratio, or an unequal error protection parameter for hybrid automatic repeat request information (the base station may semi-statically or dynamically send a downlink data transmit power ratio/coefficient of the terminal in the paired transmission mode or a downlink data transmit power ratio/coefficient set of the terminal in the paired transmission mode to the terminal [0082-84] FIG.2). Regarding claim 5 , WU teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to receive the first information, are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a step gap indicative of a difference between two or more power levels in a codeword power vector (the dual codewor d contains a field indicating an index of downlink data transmit power ratio/coefficient information shown with different power values as shown in Table 6. [0010] FIG.1). Regarding claim 6 , WU teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to receive the indication of the step gap, are configured to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a prior associated with the codebook, the prior being indicative of the step gap (the downlink data transmit power ratio may be in a normalized form. For example, a ratio of downlink data transmit power of a near terminal to downlink data transmit power of a far terminal=X:Y, or a ratio of downlink data transmit power of a far terminal to downlink data transmit power of a near terminal=Y:X. X and Y are decimals greater than 0 and less than 1, X+Y=1, and X<Y [0084] FIG.2). Regarding claim 7 , the modified WU t eaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to perform the power shaping operation, are configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain, using a scaling factor, modified power shaping parameters for respective codewords from the set of codewords, the scaling factor being associated with an average power level of the codebook (Fang: calculate a scaling factor to be applied to the signal based on the coefficients, apply the scaling factor to the signal to provide a linear combination of the codewords, and a decoder configured to estimate an optimal linear combination of user data based on channel state information and the linear combination of the codewords [0034-37] FIG.6). Claims 8-17 (allowable subject matter). Regarding claims 18-23 , the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-7 , where the difference used is the limitations were presented from the “transmitting apparatus” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above. Claims 24-28 (allowable subject matter). Regarding claim 29, related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claim 1 , wherein the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “method on the receiving” side, and the wordings of the claim were interchanged within the claim itself or were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claim and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to this claim. Therefore, this claim was rejected for similar reasons as stated above. Regarding claim 30, related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claim 1 , wherein the difference used is the limitations were presented from the “method on the transmitting” side, and the wordings of the claim were interchanged within the claim itself or were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claim and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to this claim. Therefore, this claim was rejected for similar reasons as stated above. Conclusion When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system? Contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 2 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 3 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 4 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 5 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 6 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 7 Art Unit: 2472 Application/Control Number: 18/815,294 Page 8 Art Unit: 2472