DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinze et al. US 20060187045, in view of Eisenman US 20160240075 and further in view of Ebdon et al. US 20110136463.
Regarding claim 1, Heinze et al. teach A method for automating roll call during an evacuation, and indicating on a roll call that each individual provided with said badge holder which has reached said rally point, has reached said rally point. (Heinze et al. US 20060187045 abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0013]; [0044]-[0050]; [0072]-[0082]; [0090]-[0099]; figures 1-21)
The transceiver can receive RF signals from the tag and lock the doorway in response to the tag being within a distance of the receiver. In addition, an alert can be sounded. Information can be sent from the detection point to a central location identifying the resident and his or her location (Heinze et al. par. 7). Handheld unit 50 can operate in a ranger mode to detect whether units 25A-C are in a particular area or in a tracking mode to find a unit 25A-C (whether or not the unit is in the particular area). Tag units 25A-C provide a periodic, locating beacon signal that can be received by transceiver 56. The beacon signal can be utilized by unit 50 to determine a location of or relative distance to a tag unit 25A-C when it has left a detection area. The periodic beacon signal can be provided in response to an interrogation signal from unit 50. Alternatively, the beacon signal can be automatically provided by units 25A-C for predetermined periods of time (Heinze et al. par. 48). Unit 50 can be configured to perform a continuous roll call of all tag units 25A-C within a range (e.g., settable and up to 1000 ft.) of unit 50 in the ranger mode. If a tag unit 25A-C leaves the reception area of handheld unit 50, an alert can be issued from handheld unit 50 indicating that a tag unit 25A-C and its associated asset have left the area (Heinze et al. par. 49). With reference to FIG. 6, window 874 provides a roll call operation in a ranger mode. The roll call operation provides a list of residents or assets associated with tag units 25A-C. A user can check the box next to a name to include a resident in the roll call operation. The check mark indicates whether the tag unit 25A-C associated with that resident is being monitored (Heinze et al. par. 77).
Heinze et al. do not explicitly teach the method comprising: providing each of a plurality of individuals to be evacuated with a badge holder including an emergency notification system prior to them being evacuated from a structure; during an evacuation of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure; as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point.
Eisenman teaches the method comprising: providing each of a plurality of individuals to be evacuated with a badge holder including an emergency notification system prior to them being evacuated from a structure; (Eisenman US 20160240075 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0020]; [0023]; [0034]-[0040]; [0044]-[0047]; [0052]; figures 1-9;)
In other aspects of the inventive subject matter, the panic control feature can be triggered in any suitable manner. For example, a device could use a physical feature (e.g., buttons, bump, touch screen), a sound receiving feature, (e.g., voice recognition, alarm noise recognition), tactile feature (e.g., three quick squeezes on the body of the card), or any combination of those (Eisenman par. 18). Thus, there is still a need for casings or other holders that provide position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features for emergency communication (Eisenman par. 10). FIG. 2 is a front view of a clear plastic card holder, attached to a lanyard, with an identification card inside, where the card holder houses position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features (Eisenman par. 23). Features 101, 102, and 103 can be any one of position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features (Eisenman par. 34).
during an evacuation of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure;
The panic control feature is contemplated to be a physical feature (e.g., buttons, bump, touch screen), a sound receiving feature, (e.g., voice recognition, alarm noise recognition), tactile feature (e.g., three quick squeezes on the body of the card), a light sensor, or any combination of those. The physical or tactile features may be beneficial where the ID card holder would just want to reach into their pocket or otherwise handle the ID card inconspicuously to activate the panic control feature without alerting, and thus aggravating, their attacker. The sound receiving feature could also be set to a keyword or a certain tone of the holder's voice in order to recognize whether the holder wanted to activate the panic control feature. The sound receiving feature could also be set to recognize alarm sounds, such as a fire alarm, fire truck siren, police siren, or any other alarm sound. The panic control feature could also be used in combination with the position identification feature in such a way that the panic control feature was activated where the card or holder left a certain predetermined geographical area, such as a building or school, a city, a home, etc. (Eisenman par. 37).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the user manually activated the button 101, 102 or 103 to indicate the emergency and used those buttons for communication during emergency event.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute tag holder with a features of emergency communication as taught by Eisenman reference into the tag unit of Heinze et al. reference and the result would be predictable that user would recognition of emergency situation.
The combination of Heinze et al. and Eisenman do not explicitly teach as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point.
Ebdon et al. teach as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point; (Ebdon et al. US 20110136463 abstract paragraphs [0002]-[0005]; [0018]-[0029]; [0032]-[0043]; figures 1-9;)
In one embodiment, the emergency response may be an evacuation plan that directs the user of the device toward safety. An evacuation plan may comprise a series of instructions, such as "proceed to your nearest exit which is located at the north end of the building and then proceed down the fire escape and meet at the emergency assembly point which is located at Point X". In one embodiment, the emergency response may direct a user along a plan of a premises such as a floor plan or a campus plan. Alternatively, the emergency response may direct a user along a street map. The device's position may be tracked, either within the device or by sending positional information from the device to the server. The emergency response, in particular evacuation instructions, may be updated as the user progresses along an evacuation path, thereby providing "turn-by-turn" instructions (Ebdon et al. par. 20).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets assembly point as a rally point and the server determine the user arrive at the assembly point via position tracking sending by the user device.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a communication between the device and server regarding evacuation path and the device location as taught by Ebdon et al. reference into the modify system of Heinze et al. and Eisenman reference and the result would be predictable that user would proceed along an evacuation path and update their location with the server in real time.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. disclose The method of claim 1 wherein said central server obtains information from a prior evacuation drill to determine expected paths of said individuals.
The egress agent 13 may receive information regarding the emergency plan, floor plan, emergency routes, exits, muster points, etc., at the time of emergency. Alternatively, the information may be pre-loaded prior to an emergency and stored in a suitable database or memory 14 within the device 12. Pre-loading may occur as a manually initiated step. That is, a user may contact the server through the egress agent and select premises plans for the premises. Pre-loading may also occur as an agent or server initiated step. That is, when a device enters a region controlled by the server 20, the device will register for communications with the server, as is known in the field. The registration process may be modified in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure to provide the device with up-to-date premises plans. In one embodiment, the server may detect that the device is enabled with the egress agent and automatically provide the premises plans to the device. Similarly, the egress agent may detect that the server is enabled with appropriate emergency response procedures and may therefore request the premises plans as part of the procedure of registering with the server (Ebdon et al. par. 26).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. disclose The method of claim 1 wherein said central server obtains information from a prior evacuation drill to determine expected time for each individual to reach said rally point.
In one embodiment, the data store 26 of the server agent 24 may store positional data that correlates each location within a premises to at least one evacuation path. Where possible, locations within the premises are mapped to multiple evacuation paths in order that users can still be directed along a second option path where a first option path has become undesirable (e.g. unavailable, overcrowded at exit, etc). Predetermining the evacuation paths for specific locations can assist in speeding the calculation or selection of an evacuation path during an emergency event, rather than requiring the server or agent to plot an evacuation path in real-time (Ebdon et al. par. 33).
According to the cited passages and figure above, examiner interprets the server calculate the time for safely escape the evacuation path base on positional data store within the server storage.
Regarding claim 6, Heinze et al. teach A method for capturing data related to an evacuation drill, indicating on a roll call that each individual provided with said badge holder which has reached said rally point, has reached said rally point; (Heinze et al. US 20060187045 abstract; paragraphs [0007]-[0013]; [0044]-[0050]; [0072]-[0082]; [0090]-[0099]; figures 1-21)
The transceiver can receive RF signals from the tag and lock the doorway in response to the tag being within a distance of the receiver. In addition, an alert can be sounded. Information can be sent from the detection point to a central location identifying the resident and his or her location (Heinze et al. par. 7). Handheld unit 50 can operate in a ranger mode to detect whether units 25A-C are in a particular area or in a tracking mode to find a unit 25A-C (whether or not the unit is in the particular area). Tag units 25A-C provide a periodic, locating beacon signal that can be received by transceiver 56. The beacon signal can be utilized by unit 50 to determine a location of or relative distance to a tag unit 25A-C when it has left a detection area. The periodic beacon signal can be provided in response to an interrogation signal from unit 50. Alternatively, the beacon signal can be automatically provided by units 25A-C for predetermined periods of time (Heinze et al. par. 48). Unit 50 can be configured to perform a continuous roll call of all tag units 25A-C within a range (e.g., settable and up to 1000 ft.) of unit 50 in the ranger mode. If a tag unit 25A-C leaves the reception area of handheld unit 50, an alert can be issued from handheld unit 50 indicating that a tag unit 25A-C and its associated asset have left the area (Heinze et al. par. 49). With reference to FIG. 6, window 874 provides a roll call operation in a ranger mode. The roll call operation provides a list of residents or assets associated with tag units 25A-C. A user can check the box next to a name to include a resident in the roll call operation. The check mark indicates whether the tag unit 25A-C associated with that resident is being monitored (Heinze et al. par. 77).
Heinze et al. do not explicitly teach the method comprising: providing each of a plurality of individuals to be evacuated with a badge holder including an emergency notification system prior to them being evacuated from a structure; during an evacuation drill of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure; tracking a path of said individuals during said evacuation drill; as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point; determining a time from said triggering of said indicator to said badge holder reaching said rally point; and storing data on said path and said time for each said individual.
Eisenman teaches the method comprising: providing each of a plurality of individuals to be evacuated with a badge holder including an emergency notification system prior to them being evacuated from a structure; (Eisenman US 20160240075 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0020]; [0023]; [0034]-[0040]; [0044]-[0047]; [0052]; figures 1-9;)
Thus, there is still a need for casings or other holders that provide position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features for emergency communication (Eisenman par. 10). FIG. 2 is a front view of a clear plastic card holder, attached to a lanyard, with an identification card inside, where the card holder houses position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features (Eisenman par. 23). Features 101, 102, and 103 can be any one of position identification, 2-way communication, and panic control features (Eisenman par. 34).
during an evacuation drill of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure;
The panic control feature is contemplated to be a physical feature (e.g., buttons, bump, touch screen), a sound receiving feature, (e.g., voice recognition, alarm noise recognition), tactile feature (e.g., three quick squeezes on the body of the card), a light sensor, or any combination of those. The physical or tactile features may be beneficial where the ID card holder would just want to reach into their pocket or otherwise handle the ID card inconspicuously to activate the panic control feature without alerting, and thus aggravating, their attacker. The sound receiving feature could also be set to a keyword or a certain tone of the holder's voice in order to recognize whether the holder wanted to activate the panic control feature. The sound receiving feature could also be set to recognize alarm sounds, such as a fire alarm, fire truck siren, police siren, or any other alarm sound. The panic control feature could also be used in combination with the position identification feature in such a way that the panic control feature was activated where the card or holder left a certain predetermined geographical area, such as a building or school, a city, a home, etc. (Eisenman par. 37).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the user manually activated the button 101, 102 or 103 to indicate the emergency and used those buttons for communication during emergency event.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute tag holder with a features of emergency communication as taught by Eisenman reference into the tag unit of Heinze et al. reference and the result would be predictable that user would recognition of emergency situation.
The combination of Heinze et al. and Eisenman do not explicitly teach tracking a path of said individuals during said evacuation drill; as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point; determining a time from said triggering of said indicator to said badge holder reaching said rally point; and storing data on said path and said time for each said individual.
Ebdon et al. teach tracking a path of said individuals during said evacuation drill; as said badge holders reach a rally point, said emergency notification system automatically indicating to a central server that said badge holder has reached said rally point; (Ebdon et al. US 20110136463 abstract paragraphs [0002]-[0005]; [0018]-[0029]; [0032]-[0043]; figures 1-9;)
In one embodiment, the emergency response may be an evacuation plan that directs the user of the device toward safety. An evacuation plan may comprise a series of instructions, such as "proceed to your nearest exit which is located at the north end of the building and then proceed down the fire escape and meet at the emergency assembly point which is located at Point X". In one embodiment, the emergency response may direct a user along a plan of a premises such as a floor plan or a campus plan. Alternatively, the emergency response may direct a user along a street map. The device's position may be tracked, either within the device or by sending positional information from the device to the server. The emergency response, in particular evacuation instructions, may be updated as the user progresses along an evacuation path, thereby providing "turn-by-turn" instructions (Ebdon et al. par. 20).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets assembly point as a rally point and the server determine the user arrive at the assembly point via position tracking sending by the user device.
determining a time from said triggering of said indicator to said badge holder reaching said rally point; and storing data on said path and said time for each said individual.
In one embodiment, the emergency response may be an evacuation plan that directs the user of the device toward safety. An evacuation plan may comprise a series of instructions, such as "proceed to your nearest exit which is located at the north end of the building and then proceed down the fire escape and meet at the emergency assembly point which is located at Point X". In one embodiment, the emergency response may direct a user along a plan of a premises such as a floor plan or a campus plan. Alternatively, the emergency response may direct a user along a street map. The device's position may be tracked, either within the device or by sending positional information from the device to the server. The emergency response, in particular evacuation instructions, may be updated as the user progresses along an evacuation path, thereby providing "turn-by-turn" instructions (Ebdon et al. par. 20). In one embodiment, the system may make use of two-way communication of emergency based information to provide updating of potential evacuation routes. For example, the server agent 24, may include a route planner component configured to adjust to real time information and feedback regarding device locations, device routes, hazards, and safe routes/exits. In addition to providing a direction toward safety, the route planner component of the server agent 24 may also inform device agents to notify their user to halt, move to a location and wait for emergency personnel (e.g. where there is no exit or user agent reports that user is injured/handicapped), or to seek cover (e.g., a shooter is running through the building). The server agent 24 may be implemented using an expert system and may be configured to intelligently reroute the user (if possible) if the user deviates from a given route, as well as raise that event to other users to assist in their route planning. For instance, if multiple evacuees reverse direction in a hallway, where the hallway was the suggested evacuation route, then the route planning software may tag that route as potentially blocked or unsafe. With the routing component, the server agent 24 is able to guide the user to the optimal exit or place of safety or assistance (Ebdon et al. par. 34). A method for operating an emergency response using real-time route planning is shown in the flowchart 400 of FIG. 6. This embodiment also demonstrates, at step 401, that a user of a first device, device A, can trigger the emergency response. When the user first confronts an emergency such as a fire, the user may send a message to the server agent 24 from their device that conveys the emergency information. For example, a user may open their phone, thus activating voice command mode, and shout "Fire!". The voice command triggers the emergency egress agent, which connects to the building's wireless LAN and sends an emergency notification to the building's server. Other methods for triggering the emergency response include selecting a one-touch button on the device 12 or dialing a pre-determined number that activates the egress agent and transmits an emergency notification to the server agent. The notification from the device to the server may include a device location (Ebdon et al. par. 35).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets assembly point as a rally point and the server determine the user arrive at the assembly point via position tracking sending by the user device in real time as mention in paragraphs 34-35.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a communication between the device and server regarding evacuation path and the device location as taught by Ebdon et al. reference into the modify system of Heinze et al. and Eisenman reference and the result would be predictable that user would proceed along an evacuation path and update their location with the server in real time.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. disclose The method of claim 6 wherein said central server uses said stored data during a later evacuation.
In one embodiment, the data store 26 of the server agent 24 may store positional data that correlates each location within a premises to at least one evacuation path. Where possible, locations within the premises are mapped to multiple evacuation paths in order that users can still be directed along a second option path where a first option path has become undesirable (e.g. unavailable, overcrowded at exit, etc). Predetermining the evacuation paths for specific locations can assist in speeding the calculation or selection of an evacuation path during an emergency event, rather than requiring the server or agent to plot an evacuation path in real-time (Ebdon et al. par. 33).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. disclose The method of claim 6 wherein said stored data is used to decrease time for at least one of said individuals to reach said rally point during a later evacuation drill.
In one embodiment, the data store 26 of the server agent 24 may store positional data that correlates each location within a premises to at least one evacuation path. Where possible, locations within the premises are mapped to multiple evacuation paths in order that users can still be directed along a second option path where a first option path has become undesirable (e.g. unavailable, overcrowded at exit, etc). Predetermining the evacuation paths for specific locations can assist in speeding the calculation or selection of an evacuation path during an emergency event, rather than requiring the server or agent to plot an evacuation path in real-time (Ebdon et al. par. 33). In one embodiment, the system may make use of two-way communication of emergency based information to provide updating of potential evacuation routes. For example, the server agent 24, may include a route planner component configured to adjust to real time information and feedback regarding device locations, device routes, hazards, and safe routes/exits. In addition to providing a direction toward safety, the route planner component of the server agent 24 may also inform device agents to notify their user to halt, move to a location and wait for emergency personnel (e.g. where there is no exit or user agent reports that user is injured/handicapped), or to seek cover (e.g., a shooter is running through the building). The server agent 24 may be implemented using an expert system and may be configured to intelligently reroute the user (if possible) if the user deviates from a given route, as well as raise that event to other users to assist in their route planning. For instance, if multiple evacuees reverse direction in a hallway, where the hallway was the suggested evacuation route, then the route planning software may tag that route as potentially blocked or unsafe. With the routing component, the server agent 24 is able to guide the user to the optimal exit or place of safety or assistance (Ebdon et al. par. 34).
According to the cited passages and figure above, the paragraph 33 disclose multiple predetermined evacuation paths and positional data is store in the storage 26 of the server. Examiner interprets those predetermined evacuation paths can assist in speeding the calculation or selection of an evacuation path whenever the evacuation occurs later. It will help the system reducing routing calculation time and help the user to reach safety point faster in real time.
Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinze et al. US 20060187045, in view of Eisenman US 20160240075, in view of Ebdon et al. US 20110136463 and further in view of Rhodes et al. US 20080276565.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
The combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1 wherein said rally point comprises rally point outside said structure.
Rhodes et al. teach The method of claim 1 wherein said rally point comprises rally point outside said structure. (Rhodes et al. US 20080276565 paragraph [0030]; figures 1-2)
In one embodiment, the assembly point manufacturing facility is arranged so that a delivery alley 108 (which may be located inside or outside of the enclosed building 100), the storage areas or bays 102 and the construction bays 104 are parallel to each other; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner. Preferably, the delivery alley is adjacent to the storage areas 102, which are adjacent to and access or queuing area 110, which is adjacent to the construction bays 104; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner (Rhodes et al. par. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the assembly point locate either inside or outside of the enclosed building as taught by Rhodes et al. reference into the modify system of Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. reference and the result would be predictable that user would gather at the assembly point either outside or inside the building.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman, Ebdon et al. and Rhodes et al. disclose The method of claim 1 wherein said rally point comprises rally point inside said structure.
In one embodiment, the assembly point manufacturing facility is arranged so that a delivery alley 108 (which may be located inside or outside of the enclosed building 100), the storage areas or bays 102 and the construction bays 104 are parallel to each other; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner. Preferably, the delivery alley is adjacent to the storage areas 102, which are adjacent to and access or queuing area 110, which is adjacent to the construction bays 104; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner (Rhodes et al. par. 30).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman, Ebdon et al. and Rhodes et al. disclose The method of claim 6 wherein said rally point comprises rally point outside said structure.
In one embodiment, the assembly point manufacturing facility is arranged so that a delivery alley 108 (which may be located inside or outside of the enclosed building 100), the storage areas or bays 102 and the construction bays 104 are parallel to each other; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner. Preferably, the delivery alley is adjacent to the storage areas 102, which are adjacent to and access or queuing area 110, which is adjacent to the construction bays 104; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner (Rhodes et al. par. 30).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Heinze et al., Eisenman, Ebdon et al. and Rhodes et al. disclose The method of claim 6 wherein said rally point comprises rally point inside said structure.
In one embodiment, the assembly point manufacturing facility is arranged so that a delivery alley 108 (which may be located inside or outside of the enclosed building 100), the storage areas or bays 102 and the construction bays 104 are parallel to each other; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner. Preferably, the delivery alley is adjacent to the storage areas 102, which are adjacent to and access or queuing area 110, which is adjacent to the construction bays 104; however, the facility can be arranged in any suitable manner (Rhodes et al. par. 30).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argument: Applicant argues that arts of record Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. failed to teach the limitation “during an evacuation drill of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure;” as amended independent claims 1 and 6.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully submit that arts of record Heinze et al., Eisenman and Ebdon et al. do teach the limitation “during an evacuation drill of said structure, detecting which of said individuals manually triggered an indicator on said badge holder to acknowledge that said individual is evacuating said structure;” as amended independent claims 1 and 6 for the following reason:
Paragraphs 7, 48 and 77 of Heinze et al. teach a roll call operation to track all the tags.
Paragraphs 10, 18, 23 and 37 of Eisenman reference teach a badge holder equipped with multiple feature buttons 101, 102 and 103 for position identification, 2-way communication and panic control features. The features include sound receiving feature for detected voice recognition and alarm noise recognition. Therefore, examiner interprets the user is capable of receiving (acknowledgement) of the alarm event, and the user can manually activate the button for panic feature, position identification or 2-way communication with first responder or rescuer. Since arts of record still read on the claim invention, therefore the rejection is stand with arts of record. Please see above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686