Claim Objections
Claims 3, 11 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 3, 11 and 17, “the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the fist electrode is configured” should be changed to --the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the fist electrode are configured--. Similarly, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured” should be changed to --the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode are configured--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, line 5, the recitation “the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes,” and later lines 17-18, “the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide.” is unclear as to the antecedent basis and structure of the claimed “two optical transmission waveguides.” It is not reasonably clear whether:
each modulation arm includes two optical transmission waveguides, the entire MZ modulator includes two optical transmission waveguides total, or the “first optical transmission waveguide” and “second optical transmission waveguide” are the two waveguides of a single modulation arm.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim are not sufficiently definite.
As to claim 2, depends from claim 1 and incorporates the same ambiguity regarding the recited optical transmission waveguides. Further, claim 2 recites in lines 4-5, “based on the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal” in one portion, but the claim structure and relationship among the waveguides, PN junctions, and electrodes remain unclear due to the same structural ambiguity identified in claim 1. Further, the claim language “the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or …” introduces alternative connection schemes, but the antecedent structure of the PN junctions relative to the claimed waveguides is unclear.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 1. In particular, it recites:
“each of the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes,” and later “each of the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide.”
This is unclear and lacks definite antecedent basis for the claimed waveguide structure.
Claim 10 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 9.
In addition, claim 10 recites: “based on the first input electrical signal and the second electrical signal” whereas the preceding claims use the term: “second input electrical signal.” The term “second electrical signal” lacks clear antecedent basis and introduces uncertainty as to whether it is the same signal as the recited “second input electrical signal” or a different signal. It is suggested that replace: “second electrical signal” with: “second input electrical signal”
Claim 15 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 1. In particular, it recites:
“the two modulation arms each comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes,” and later “each of the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide.”
This creates ambiguity as to the intended number and arrangement of optical transmission waveguides.
Claim 16 is indefinite for the same reasons as claim 15.
Additionally, claim 16 recites: “based on the first input electrical signal and the second electrical signal” which lacks clear antecedent basis in view of the earlier recitation of “second input electrical signal.”
Claims 3-8, 11-14 and 17-20 are rejected due their dependencies.
Suggested amendments:
Revise claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 15, and 16 to clearly state whether:
each modulation arm comprises a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide, or the MZ modulator comprises two optical transmission waveguides total.
For examination purposes it is assumed that each modulation arm comprises a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide, and two electrodes or the MZ modulator comprises a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide, and two electrodes.
applicant.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of the action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or discussed by the examiner.
In addition, the functional recitation in the claims (e.g. "configured to" or "adapted to" or the like) that does not limit a claim limitation to a particular structure does not limit the scope of the claim. It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to", "configured to", "designed to", or "operable to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and may not constitute a limitation in a patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 139. (See MPEP 2111.04); see also In In re Giannelli, 739 F.3d 1375, 1378, 109 USPQ2d 1333, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Also, it should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed device is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed device from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations Ex-parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 1987).
The claimed system in the instant application is capable of performing the claimed functionality, as is the prior art used in the present office action. The Examiner notes that where the patent office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Swinehart and sfiligoj, 169 USPQ 226 (C.C.P.A. 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9939667 B1 (cited in the IDS; hereinafter D1), in view of US 2021/0157177 A1 (hereinafter D2). .
As to claim 1, D1 discloses a Mach-Zehnder (MZ) modulator (abstract; col. 3-10; Figs. 1-7), comprising: a splitter; two modulation arms; and a coupler (D1 discloses MZI optical waveguide structure with input waveguide section 14, arms 16/18, coupling means 21; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), wherein: the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes (D1 teaches two branches/arms and associated electrodes/drive outputs; Figs. 1-3; col. 3-10); the splitter comprises one first input port and two first output ports (D1 teaches input waveguide section 14 is split by coupling means 21 into two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), the first input port is configured to receive an optical carrier and to perform power splitting on the optical carrier to obtain a first optical carrier and a second optical carrier (D1 teaches optical signals enters via input port 26 and is split to the two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4) and to input the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier to input ports of the two optical transmission waveguides, respectively, via the two first output ports (D1 teaches the optical signal propagate into arms 16 and 18 through the splitter/coupling means; Fig. 1); the two electrodes comprise a first electrode and a second electrode (D1 discloses signal electrodes and complementary drive outputs in an electrode system; Figs 1-3; col. 4-10), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to receive a first input electrical signal and a second input electrical signal, respectively (D1 teaches dual-drive, complementary outputs 76 and 78; Fig. 3; col. 4-6), and apply the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal to the two optical transmission waveguides to change phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier (D1 teaches the outputs drive the MZI arms and create phase shifts; Fig. 3; col. 3-10), wherein the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal are differential signals (D1 explicitly teaches complementary/inverted drive outputs; abstract; col. 4-6; Fig 3); the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide (D1 teaches two arms/waveguides 16 and 18; Fig. 1), and the coupler comprises two second input ports and one second output port (D1 teaches second coupling means 24 recombines the two branches into one output; Fig. 1; col. 3-4) , the two second input ports are configured to be connected to corresponding output ports of the two optical transmission waveguides, respectively (D1 teaches output waveguide section 22 receives the two branches; Fig. 1) , and to perform interference on the optical carriers whose phases are changed via the two modulation arms (Explicit; D1 teaches constructive/destructive interference; Fig. 1; col. 3-4) and to output the optical carriers from the second output port (D1 teaches output waveguide section 22/output port 36; Fig. 1)
D1 does not explicitly discloses the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes as well as both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides;
However, D2 from the same field of endeavor teaches waveguides and electro-optic devices (abstract; paragraphs [0033]-[0055]). D2 also teaches electrode extensions closer to waveguide than channel region, and asymmetric/symmetric placement relative to waveguide as well as opposite-side electrode proximity and engineered placement relative to the waveguide.. (¶¶ [0052]-[0055], [0062]-[0067]; FIGS. 1A-1E.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes as well as both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides (This is an inherent geometrical relationship once side-connected electrodes are placed on opposite sides.), both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides as suggested by D2. D2 supplies the engineered electrode/waveguide layout used to implement the arm structure with improved RF performance. Further, D1’s electrode placement using D2’s engineered electrode proximity and side positioning would improve field overlap and reduce microwave loss. The combination yields predictable benefits i.e.., better modulation efficiency, lower drive voltage, improved bandwidth/field coupling.
As to claim 2, D1 discloses the MZ modulator according to claim 1, wherein the first optical transmission waveguide includes a first PN junction, the second optical transmission waveguide includes a second PN junction (D1 explicitly teaches a MZ modulator having first and second PN junctions; abstract; Figs. 3, 5, 6, detailed description discussing the first and second branches and the PPN-junction-based modulation structure), the first PN junction and the second PN junction are respectively configured to change, based on the first input electrical signal and the second electrical signal, the phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier that pass through the two optical transmission waveguides (D1 teaches that an electrical signal applied to the electrodes changes the refractive index and therefore the phase of the optical signals in the two arms; Figs. 3, 5, 6, description of drive signals and modulation of optical phase), and the first PN junction and the second PN junction have the same polarity distribution direction D1 teaches symmetric branches operated in complimentary fashion, which supports same-direction polarity distribution across the two arms. This is inherent in the discloses balanced MZM structure). Further, cross-coupled differential drive taught by D1 supports P=end/N-end cross-connection between two PN junctions.
D1 does not explicitly disclose both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction.
However, D2 teaches side electrode geometry. D2 teaches electrodes having channel regions and extensions positioned closer to the waveguide than the channel region, which supports electrode placement on opposite sides of the optical transmission waveguides (see paragraphs: 52-55, 62-66, 88-91, 110-122; Figs. 1A-1E, 12A-12D, 14A-14K).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction as suggested by D2 in order to improve electric-field overlap, reduce microwave loss, and enhance modulation efficiency while preserving the same fundamental MZ operation.
As to claim 3, D1 discloses the MZ modulator according to claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide.
However, D2 explicitly teaches the electrodes comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and L-shaped extension part (abstract; ¶ [0052]; ¶ [0064]; ¶ [0066]; FIGS. 1B-1E, 6-14). D2 also teaches extensions closer to waveguide than channel region. ¶¶ [0052]-[0055], [0062]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide for the advantage of improved field coupling, reduced loss and lower drive voltage.
As to claim 4, D1 teaches ground electrodes and balanced/differential drive arrangements around the modulator electrodes (Figs. 1-3; col. 4-10) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the MZ modulator further comprises third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage.
D2 teaches third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes (Figs. 1A, 9-11, (¶¶ [0042], [0054], [0077]–[0078], [0085]–[0091]; A-1214A-14K show additional electrodes/ground electrodes adjacent to signal electrodes) configured to be grounded or connected to direct current voltage (D2 expressly teaches electrodes can be grounded or connected to DC voltage; see Fig. 1A discussion embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein the MZ modulator further comprises third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage because grounded or DC-biased side electrodes are a routine design choice for field shaping, crosstalk reduction, and impedance control.
As to claim 7, D1 discloses the MZ modulator according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein portions of each of the two optical transmission waveguides that are used for transmission of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier have an S shape.
D2 discloses bent waveguide routing and waveguide bending sections (¶¶ [0041], [0050], [0123]–[0129], [0145]–[0149]; FIGS. 15A–16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein portions of each of the two optical transmission waveguides that are used for transmission of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier have an S shape because S-shaped routing is a common compact layout design for MZ waveguides and would have been obvious to use in view of D2’s compact bent-waveguide teachings to improve routing and compactness yielding predictable results.
As to claim 8, D1 discloses the MZ modulator according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first optical transmission waveguide and the second optical transmission waveguide each comprise a plurality of transmission waveguides connected in series by a curved waveguide.
D2 teaches waveguide bending sections, segmented paths, plurality of connected sections and compact path routing (¶¶ [0041], [0050], [0123]–[0129]; FIGS. 15A–16, 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein the first optical transmission waveguide and the second optical transmission waveguide each comprise a plurality of transmission waveguides connected in series by a curved waveguide because series-connected waveguide segments joined by curve waveguides are an obvious compact-routing variation would yield predictable result.
As to claim 15, D1 discloses an optical transmitting apparatus, comprising: a Mach-Zehnder (MZ) modulator comprising a splitter, two modulation arms, and a coupler; and a laser, the laser being configured to transmit an optical carrier to the MZ modulator (abstract: driver configuration for driving an MZM, outputting modulated light; Figs. 1, 3, 5 and 6; detailed description of a CW laser feeding the MZM and producing modulated light; detailed description: input wavelength section, first waveguide coupling means, first and second waveguide arms, second coupling means), wherein: the two modulation arms each comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes (D1 teaches two branches/arms and associated electrodes/drive outputs; Figs. 1-3; col. 3-10); the splitter comprises one first input port and two first output ports, the first input port is configured to receive an optical carrier (D1 teaches input waveguide section 14 is split by coupling means 21 into two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), and the splitter is configured to perform power splitting on the optical carrier to obtain a first optical carrier and a second optical carrier (D1 teaches optical signals enters via input port 26 and is split to the two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), and to input the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier to corresponding input ports of the two optical transmission waveguides respectively via the two first output ports (D1 teaches the optical signal propagate into arms 16 and 18 through the splitter/coupling means; Fig. 1); the two electrodes comprise a first electrode and a second electrode (D1 discloses signal electrodes and complementary drive outputs in an electrode system; Figs 1-3; col. 4-10), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to receive a first input electrical signal and a second input electrical signal, respectively(D1 teaches dual-drive, complementary outputs 76 and 78; Fig. 3; col. 4-6), and apply the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal to the two optical transmission waveguides to change phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier (D1 teaches the outputs drive the MZI arms and create phase shifts; Fig. 3; col. 3-10), the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal being differential signals (D1 explicitly teaches complementary/inverted drive outputs; abstract; col. 4-6; Fig 3); each of the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide(D1 teaches two arms/waveguides 16 and 18; Fig. 1), both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides; and the coupler comprises two second input ports and one second output port (D1 teaches second coupling means 24 recombines the two branches into one output; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), the two second input ports are configured to be connected to output ports of the two optical transmission waveguides, respectively D1 teaches output waveguide section 22 receives the two branches; Fig. 1), and the coupler is configured to: perform interference on the optical carriers whose phases are changed via the two modulation arms (Explicit; D1 teaches constructive/destructive interference; Fig. 1; col. 3-4) and output the optical carriers from the second output port (D1 teaches output waveguide section 22/output port 36; Fig. 1).
D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose the limitations such as “both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides” (side connected geometry).
D2 teaches electrode structures with a channel region and extensions closer to the waveguide and multiple electrode arrangements that place electrodes on opposite sides/adjacent sides of the waveguide (See ¶¶ 52–55, 62–66, 88–91, 110–122; FIGS. 1A–1E, 12A–12D, 14A–14K.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides as suggested by D2 (the use of the side-adjacent engineered geometry) for improved electric-field overlap, modulation efficiency and reduced microwave loss.
As to claim 16, D1 discloses the optical transmitting apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first optical transmission waveguide includes a first PN junction, the second optical transmission waveguide includes a second PN junction(D1 explicitly teaches a MZ modulator having first and second PN junctions; abstract; Figs. 3, 5, 6, detailed description discussing the first and second branches and the PPN-junction-based modulation structure), the first PN junction and the second PN junction are respectively configured to change, based on the first input electrical signal and the second electrical signal, the phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier that pass through the two optical transmission waveguides (D1 teaches that an electrical signal applied to the electrodes changes the refractive index and therefore the phase of the optical signals in the two arms; Figs. 3, 5, 6, description of drive signals and modulation of optical phase), and the first PN junction and the second PN junction have the same polarity distribution direction D1 teaches symmetric branches operated in complimentary fashion, which supports same-direction polarity distribution across the two arms. This is inherent in the discloses balanced MZM structure). Further, cross-coupled differential drive taught by D1 supports P=end/N-end cross-connection between two PN junctions.
D1 does not explicitly disclose both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction.
However, D2 teaches side electrode geometry. D2 teaches electrodes having channel regions and extensions positioned closer to the waveguide than the channel region, which supports electrode placement on opposite sides of the optical transmission waveguides (see paragraphs: 52-55, 62-66, 88-91, 110-122; Figs. 1A-1E, 12A-12D, 14A-14K).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction as suggested by D2 in order to improve electric-field overlap, reduce microwave loss, and enhance modulation efficiency while preserving the same fundamental MZ operation.
As to claim 17, D1 discloses the optical transmitting apparatus according to claim 15, nut does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide.
However, D2 explicitly teaches the electrodes comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and L-shaped extension part (abstract; ¶ [0052]; ¶ [0064]; ¶ [0066]; FIGS. 1B-1E, 6-14). D2 also teaches extensions closer to waveguide than channel region. ¶¶ [0052]-[0055], [0062]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide for the advantage of improved field coupling, reduced microwave loss, improved velocity matching and lower drive voltage.
As to claim 18, D1 discloses the optical transmitting apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage.
D2 teaches third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes (Figs. 1A, 9-11, (¶¶ [0042], [0054], [0077]–[0078], [0085]–[0091]; A-1214A-14K show additional electrodes/ground electrodes adjacent to signal electrodes) configured to be grounded or connected to direct current voltage (D2 expressly teaches electrodes can be grounded or connected to DC voltage; see Fig. 1A discussion embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein the MZ modulator further comprises third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage because grounded or DC-biased side electrodes are a routine design choice for field shaping, crosstalk reduction, and impedance control.
As to claim 20, D1 discloses the optical transmitting apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising a signal source and a bias voltage source (D1 explicitly teaches a drive input/signal source and bias voltages for the MZM. See Fig. 3, 5 and 6, and the text discussing drive input 74, drive output 76, inverted drive output 78, and the use of supply/bias voltages and terminations), the signal source being configured to provide a first input electrical signal and a second input electrical signal for the MZ modulator (D1 explicitly teaches complementary/differential drive signals being applied to the modulator; see Figs. 3, 5 and 6), and the bias voltage source being configured to provide a bias voltage for the MZ modulator (D1 teaches bias voltages and non-forward-bias operation of the PN junctions. See the discussion of Vcc1/Vcc2/Vcc3/Vcc4 and biasing in the detailed description). .
Claim(s) 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of US 6,522,793 (hereinafter D3) and further in view of D2. .
As to claim 9, D1 discloses a multi-channel Mach-Zehnder (MZ) modulator, comprising: MZ modulator, the MZ modulators including a splitter, two modulation arms, and a coupler (D1 discloses MZI optical waveguide structure with input waveguide section 14, arms 16/18, coupling means 21; Figs 1-6; col. 3-4), and an isolation electrode disposed between two adjacent MZ modulators among the plurality of MZ modulators, the isolation electrode being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage, wherein: the two modulation arms comprise two optical transmission waveguides and two electrodes (D1 teaches two branches/arms and associated electrodes/drive outputs; Figs. 1-3; col. 3-10); the splitter comprises one first input port and two first output ports (D1 teaches input waveguide section 14 is split by coupling means 21 into two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), the first input port is configured to receive an optical carrier, and the splitter is configured to perform power splitting on the optical carrier to obtain a first optical carrier and a second optical carrier (D1 teaches optical signals enters via input port 26 and is split to the two arms; Fig. 1; col. 3-4) and to input the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier to corresponding input ports of the two optical transmission waveguides, respectively, via the two first output ports (D1 teaches the optical signal propagate into arms 16 and 18 through the splitter/coupling means; Fig. 1); the two electrodes comprise a first electrode and a second electrode (D1 discloses signal electrodes and complementary drive outputs in an electrode system; Figs 1-3; col. 4-10), the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to receive a first input electrical signal and a second input electrical signal, respectively (D1 teaches dual-drive, complementary outputs 76 and 78; Fig. 3; col. 4-6), and apply the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal to the two optical transmission waveguides to change phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier (D1 teaches the outputs drive the MZI arms and create phase shifts; Fig. 3; col. 3-10), the first input electrical signal and the second input electrical signal being differential signals (D1 explicitly teaches complementary/inverted drive outputs; abstract; col. 4-6; Fig 3); each of the two optical transmission waveguides comprise a first optical transmission waveguide and a second optical transmission waveguide (D1 teaches two arms/waveguides 16 and 18; Fig. 1), both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides; and the coupler comprises two second input ports and one second output port (D1 teaches second coupling means 24 recombines the two branches into one output; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), the two second input ports are configured to be connected to output ports of the two optical transmission waveguides, respectively (D1 teaches output waveguide section 22 receives the two branches; Fig. 1), and the coupler is configured to perform interference on the optical carriers whose phases are changed via the two modulation arms (Explicit; D1 teaches constructive/destructive interference; Fig. 1; col. 3-4), and to output the optical carriers from the second output port (D1 teaches output waveguide section 22/output port 36; Fig. 1).
D1 doesn’t explicitly disclose the limitations such as, “plurality of MZ modulators”, “an isolation electrode disposed between two adjacent MZ modulators among the plurality of MZ modulators, the isolation electrode being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage”, and “both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides” (side connected geometry).
However, D3 from the same field of endeavor discloses plurality of Mach-Zehnder (MZ) modulator each modulator as a MZ interferometer optical waveguide structure having input section, output section, first and second arms, and coupling means (see claim 40 and related description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 by having plurality of MZ modulators each of the plurality of MZ modulators including a splitter, two modulation arms, and a coupler as suggested by D3 because multi-channel arrays are a predictable extension of a single-MZM architectures to improve integration density and scalability.
As to the limitation of “an isolation electrode disposed between two adjacent MZ modulators among the plurality of MZ modulators, the isolation electrode being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage”, D3 teaches array integration, ground plane management, and multiple modulators on a common substrate (see Figs. 4-5 and the associated description of the integrated modulator array and driver substrate). D2, from the same field of endeavor further teaches electrodes having ground or DC-bias configurations, and teaches electrode arrangements for improved field confinement and reduced loss (see ¶¶ 36–37, 52–55, 62–66, 88–91, 110–122, 136–149; FIGS. 1A–1E, 6–12, 14A–14K.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having an isolation electrode disposed between two adjacent MZ modulators among the plurality of MZ modulators, the isolation electrode being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage as suggested by D2 because an isolation electrode between adjacent modulators would reduce crosstalk and improve isolation in a dense integrated modulator array.
D1 teaches cross-coupled drive of the two branches but does not explicitly teach the exact first side/second0-side terminology. D3 teaches array-level integration but not the exact side-connection geometry.
D2 teaches electrode structures with a channel region and extensions closer to the waveguide and multiple electrode arrangements that place electrodes on opposite sides/adjacent sides of the waveguide (See ¶¶ 52–55, 62–66, 88–91, 110–122; FIGS. 1A–1E, 12A–12D, 14A–14K.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, the first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides, both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, and the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are different sides as suggested by D2 (the use of the side-adjacent engineered geometry) for improved electric-field overlap, modulation efficiency and reduced microwave loss.
As to claim 10, the modified D1 discloses the multi-channel MZ modulator according to claim 9, wherein the first optical transmission waveguide includes a first PN junction, the second optical transmission waveguide includes a second PN junction(D1 explicitly teaches a MZ modulator having first and second PN junctions; abstract; Figs. 3, 5, 6, detailed description discussing the first and second branches and the PPN-junction-based modulation structure), the first PN junction and the second PN junction are respectively configured to change, based on the first input electrical signal and the second electrical signal, the phases of the first optical carrier and the second optical carrier that pass through the two optical transmission waveguides (D1 teaches that an electrical signal applied to the electrodes changes the refractive index and therefore the phase of the optical signals in the two arms; Figs. 3, 5, 6, description of drive signals and modulation of optical phase), and the first PN junction and the second PN junction have the same polarity distribution direction D1 teaches symmetric branches operated in complimentary fashion, which supports same-direction polarity distribution across the two arms. This is inherent in the discloses balanced MZM structure). Further, cross-coupled differential drive taught by D1 supports P=end/N-end cross-connection between two PN junctions.
D1 does not explicitly disclose both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction.
However, D2 teaches side electrode geometry. D2 teaches electrodes having channel regions and extensions positioned closer to the waveguide than the channel region, which supports electrode placement on opposite sides of the optical transmission waveguides (see paragraphs: 52-55, 62-66, 88-91, 110-122; Figs. 1A-1E, 12A-12D, 14A-14K).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 when modified by D3 by having both a first side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a second side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the first electrode, and both a second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and a first side of the second optical transmission waveguide are connected to the second electrode, wherein: the first electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction; or the first electrode is connected to an N end of the first PN junction and a P end of the second PN junction, and the second electrode is connected to a P end of the first PN junction and an N end of the second PN junction as suggested by D2 in order to improve electric-field overlap, reduce microwave loss, and enhance modulation efficiency while preserving the same fundamental MZ operation.
As to claim 11, the modified D1 discloses the multi-channel MZ modulator according to claim 9, nut does not explicitly disclose wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide.
However, D2 explicitly teaches the electrodes comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and L-shaped extension part (abstract; ¶ [0052]; ¶ [0064]; ¶ [0066]; FIGS. 1B-1E, 6-14). D2 also teaches extensions closer to waveguide than channel region. ¶¶ [0052]-[0055], [0062]-[0067].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein: the first electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the first electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the second optical transmission waveguide; and the second electrode comprises at least one of a T-shaped extension part and an L-shaped extension part, the T-shaped extension part and the L-shaped extension part of the second electrode is configured to be connected to the second side of the first optical transmission waveguide and the first side of the second optical transmission waveguide for the advantage of improved field coupling, reduced microwave loss, improved velocity matching and lower drive voltage.
As to claim 12, D1 when modified by D3 discloses the multi-channel MZ modulator according to claim 9, further comprising third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage.
D2 teaches third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes (Figs. 1A, 9-11, (¶¶ [0042], [0054], [0077]–[0078], [0085]–[0091]; A-1214A-14K show additional electrodes/ground electrodes adjacent to signal electrodes) configured to be grounded or connected to direct current voltage (D2 expressly teaches electrodes can be grounded or connected to DC voltage; see Fig. 1A discussion embodiments).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 wherein the MZ modulator further comprises third and fourth electrodes disposed on two sides of the first and second electrodes, respectively, the third and fourth electrodes being configured to be grounded or connected to a direct current voltage because grounded or DC-biased side electrodes are a routine design choice for field shaping, crosstalk reduction, and impedance control.
As to claim 13, D1 teaches a MZ modulator having two branches, each branch including an N-electrode and a P-electrode with differential drive applied to the electrodes to modulate the optical output (see abstract; Fig. 3; col. 8-12). D1 further teaches cross-feeding of complimentary outputs to the modulator electrodes, and biasing arrangements to maintain PN junctions in a non-forward-biased condition (see Figs. 3-6; cols. 10-12).
D3 teaches integrated electro-optic modulators with dual-drive operation, balanced transmission line arrangements, compact driver integration, and optimization of electrode arrangement to reduce drive power and improve packaging efficiency (abstract; Figs. 1-7; cols. 8-14).
D2 teaches that optical modulator performance can be improved by modifying electrode geometry, including channel regions and extensions located closer to the waveguide than the channel region, thereby improving electric-field coupling, reducing RF loss, and improving velocity matching (Claims 1, 11-15; Figs. 1A-1E, 6-15, 26-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MZ modulator of D1, the integrated driver-dual-drive teachings of D3 and using the electrode-performance teachings of D2 in order to improve modulation efficiency, reduce RF losses, improve field overlap with modulator waveguides, preserve reverse-bias operation, improve symmetry between two branches and facilitate compact integrated implementation. . The combination would have yielded predictable result because each reference teaches a known component performing its known function within MZ modulation architecture.
As to the limitation of “the N end of the first PN junction is positioned adjacent to the P end of the second PN junction to form a third PN junction” and that the connection of the second electrode occurs “via the third PN junction”, such configuration would have been obvious structural refinement of the known dual-branch PN-junction MZM arrangement.
Therefore, A POSITA seeking to improve branch symmetry, electrode coupling, and compactness would have recognized that the interface between the adjacent ends of the two PN junctions can be configured as an additional junction region or transition region. Such a configuration is merely a structural refinement of the known dual-branch MZM layout, chosen to achieve predictable electrical and optical coupling behavior.
Further, the use of adjacent PN junction regions to shape current flow, field distribution, and branch coupling would have been an obvious design modification in view of the integrated dual-drive modulator structure of D3 and general electrode and field-shaping teachings of D2.
As to claim 14, D1 teaches biasing the PN-junction-based Mach-Zehnder modulator to avoid forward bias and to maintain appropriate reverse-bias conditions for modulation. (col. 11–12; FIG. 5.)
D3 teaches differential and dual-drive arrangements for electro-optic modulators, along with integrated driver structures and bias-related operation. (FIGS. 1–7; col. 8–14.
D2 teaches improving electrode and waveguide performance by adjusting structural parameters that influence electric field distribution, microwave loss, and velocity matching. (claim 1; claims 11–15; FIGS. 1A–1E, 6–15, 26–27)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the negative bias voltages applied to the two PN junctions so that their magnitudes are close to one another, within a preset threshold, in order to preserve balanced reverse-bias operation, improve branch symmetry, reduce chirp and imbalance, simplify driver design, and maintain stable modulator performance. The claimed threshold relationship between the absolute values of the first and second negative bias voltages is a result-effective variable because the bias magnitude is a parameter that directly affects the operating point, symmetry, and electro-optic response of the modulator. As such, once the general biasing scheme was known from the cited art, the selection of a particular threshold to ensure close-magnitude negative bias voltages would have amounted to routine optimization within the skill of the art.
The combination would have yielded predictable results because the cited references teach that modulator performance can be improved by controlling bias conditions, electrode geometry, and differential drive symmetry. The claimed threshold limitation does not appear to require more than the optimization of a known parameter to obtain expected performance benefits.
Claim(s) 5, 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9939667 B1 (cited in the IDS; hereinafter D1), in view of US 2021/0157177 A1 (hereinafter D2) and further in view of D3.
As to claims 5 and 19, D1 teaches a MZ modulator having two branches, each branch including an N-electrode and a P-electrode with differential drive applied to the electrodes to modulate the optical output (see abstract; Fig. 3; col. 8-12). D1 further teaches cross-feeding of complimentary outputs to the modulator electrodes, and biasing arrangements to maintain PN junctions in a non-forward-biased condition (see Figs. 3-6; cols. 10-12).
D2 teaches that optical modulator performance can be improved by modifying electrode geometry, including channel regions and extensions located closer to the waveguide than the channel region, thereby improving electric-field coupling, reducing RF loss, and improving velocity matching (Claims 1, 11-15; Figs. 1A-1E, 6-15, 26-27).
Further D3 teaches integrated electro-optic modulators with dual-drive operation, balanced transmission line arrangements, compact driver integration, and optimization of electrode arrangement to reduce drive power and improve packaging efficiency (abstract; Figs. 1-7; cols. 8-14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the MZ modulator of D1 using the electrode-performance teachings of D2 and the integrated driver-dual-drive teachings of D3 in order to improve modulation efficiency, reduce RF losses, improve field overlap with modulator waveguides, preserve reverse-bias operation, improve symmetry between two branches and facilitate compact integrated implementation. The combination would have yielded predictable result because each reference teaches a known component performing its known function within MZ modulation architecture.
As to the limitation of “the N end of the first PN junction is positioned adjacent to the P end of the second PN junction to form a third PN junction” and that the connection of the second electrode occurs “via the third PN junction”, such configuration would have been obvious structural refinement of the known dual-branch PN-junction MZM arrangement.
Therefore, A POSITA seeking to improve branch symmetry, electrode coupling, and compactness would have recognized that the interface between the adjacent ends of the two PN junctions can be configured as an additional junction region or transition region. Such a configuration is merely a structural refinement of the known dual-branch MZM layout, chosen to achieve predictable electrical and optical coupling behavior.
Further, the use of adjacent PN junction regions to shape current flow, field distribution, and branch coupling would have been an obvious design modification in view of the general electrode and field-shaping teachings of D2 and the integrated dual-drive modulator structure of D3.
As to claim 6, D1 teaches biasing the PN-junction-based Mach-Zehnder modulator to avoid forward bias and to maintain appropriate reverse-bias conditions for modulation. (col. 11–12; FIG. 5.), D2 teaches improving electrode and waveguide performance by adjusting structural parameters that influence electric field distribution, microwave loss, and velocity matching. (claim 1; claims 11–15; FIGS. 1A–1E, 6–15, 26–27. D3 teaches differential and dual-drive arrangements for electro-optic modulators, along with integrated driver structures and bias-related operation. (FIGS. 1–7; col. 8–14.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune the negative bias voltages applied to the two PN junctions so that their magnitudes are close to one another, within a preset threshold, in order to preserve balanced reverse-bias operation, improve branch symmetry, reduce chirp and imbalance, simplify driver design, and maintain stable modulator performance. The claimed threshold relationship between the absolute values of the first and second negative bias voltages is a result-effective variable because the bias magnitude is a parameter that directly affects the operating point, symmetry, and electro-optic response of the modulator. As such, once the general biasing scheme was known from the cited art, the selection of a particular threshold to ensure close-magnitude negative bias voltages would have amounted to routine optimization within the skill of the art.
The combination would have yielded predictable results because the cited references teach that modulator performance can be improved by controlling bias conditions, electrode geometry, and differential drive symmetry. The claimed threshold limitation does not appear to require more than the optimization of a known parameter to obtain expected performance benefits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877