Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,682,762. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 1 of USP – 10,682,763
A remote controlled robot system that is coupled to a communication network by a firewall, comprising: a remote control station that transmits a robot control command; a robot that is coupled to the communication server by the firewall, the robot including a camera and a monitor, the camera is configured to move in response to the control command; a communication server that establishes a communication between the remote control station and the robot through the firewall.
A teleconferencing system that is coupled to a communication network, comprising: a firewall that connects a local network to an external network; a teleconferencing device coupled to said local area network; said conferencing device includes a monitor and a camera; and a remote station that transmits a control command to a first internet protocol address of the teleconferencing device…wherein said teleconferencing device performs an action in response to said control command.
Claim 2 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 2 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the communication server instructs the remote control station and the robot to transmit information to each other
a communication server that instructs said remote station and said teleconferencing device to transmit information to each other.
Claim 3 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 3 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the robot periodically polls the communication server
wherein said teleconferencing device periodically polls said communication server
Claim 4 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 4 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the communication server allows communication between the remote control station and the robot for a designated time period
wherein said communication server allows communication between said remote station and said teleconferencing device for a designated time period
Claim 5 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 5 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the remote control station and the robot communicate with UDP packets
wherein said remote station and said teleconferencing device communicate with UDP packets
Claim 6 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 6 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the robot control command is sent to the communication server from the remote control station, and then retransmitted from the communication server to the robot
wherein said control command is sent to said communication sever from said remote station, and then retransmitted from said communication sever to said teleconferencing device
Claim 7 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 7 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the robot includes a camera and a monitor that move together in at least two degrees of freedom
wherein said teleconferencing device includes a camera and a monitor that move together in at least two degrees of freedom
Claim 8 of Application – 18,815,346
Claim 8 of USP – 10,682,763
wherein the robot includes a camera that moves in accordance with a closed loop control scheme
wherein said teleconferencing device includes a camera that moves in accordance with a closed loop control scheme
Claims 10-20 disclose analogous limitations to claims 1-9 and are therefore also rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,682,763.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vu et al. (US 2007/0192910; hereinafter Vu).
Regarding Claim 1:
Vu discloses a remote controlled robot system that is coupled to a communication network by a firewall, comprising: a remote control station that transmits a robot control command (Vu, Para. [0194], Vu discloses a remote station (i.e. caregiver station) for transmitting controls to the robot);
a robot that is coupled to the communication network by the firewall, the robot including a camera and a monitor, the camera is configured to move in response to the control command (Vu, Para. [0190-0194], [0046-0047], [0115], Vu discloses a robot connected to the communication network and may be located behind a firewall, with the camera moved in response to caregiver commands));
a communication server that establishes a communication between the remote control station and the robot through the firewall (Vu, Para. [0194-0195], Vu discloses the communication server (i.e. matchmaker) maintains communication between the caregiver and the robot through the firewalls).
Regarding Claim 2:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu further discloses wherein the communication server instructs the remote control station and the robot to transmit information to each other (Vu, Para. [0194], Vu discloses information is shared between the robot and the caregiver station once a secure connection has been established).
Regarding Claim 3:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu further discloses wherein the robot periodically polls the communication server (Vu, Para. [0194], Vu discloses the robot periodically connects to the matchmaker).
Regarding Claim 5:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu further discloses wherein the remote control station and the robot communicate with UDP packets (Vu, Para. [0191-0192], Vu discloses the connection may be established using UDP).
Regarding Claim 7:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu further discloses wherein the robot includes a camera and a monitor that move together in at least two degrees of freedom (Vu, Para. [0115], Vu discloses a head/neck combination of the camera and monitor which provides at least four degrees of freedom).
Regarding Claim 8:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu further discloses wherein the robot includes a camera that moves in accordance with a closed loop control scheme (Vu, Para. [0125], [0225-0243], Vu discloses the robot may explore the environment and build a map of the environment using the camera, including searching for objects or rooms).
Regarding Claim 16:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 17:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 20:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9-12, 14-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu, in view of Wesinger, Jr. et al. (USP 5,898,830; hereinafter Wesinger).
Regarding Claim 4:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the communication server allows communication between the remote control station and the robot for a designated time period.
Wesinger, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls, discloses wherein the communication server allows communication between the remote control station and the robot for a designated time period (Wesinger, Column 14 Lines 5-18, Wesinger discloses establishing a time out period for a UDP communication session between two network entities and permitting communications while the time out limit has not expired).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Vu to include a designated time period as disclosed by Wesinger with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow a time out period to be established for UDP communications between the remote control station to prevent circumvention of the firewall due to the connectionless nature of UDP, Wesinger Column 13 Line 66 – Column 14 Line 5.
Regarding Claim 9:
Vu discloses a remote controlled robot system that is coupled to a communication network, comprising: a remote control station that transmits a robot control command (Vu, Para. [0194], Vu discloses a remote station (i.e. caregiver station) for transmitting controls to the robot);
a robot that includes a monitor and a camera, the camera is configured in response to the robot control command (Vu, Para. [0158], [0229-0240], Vu discloses the robot camera may be moved in response to caregiver commands and may be configured to override privacy controls and enabling the camera).
Vu fails to explicitly disclose establishing communication between the remote station and the robot for a designated time period.
However Wesinger discloses establishing communication between the remote station and the robot for a designated time period (Wesinger, Column 14 Lines 5-18, Wesinger discloses establishing a timeout period for a UDP communication session between two network entities).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Vu to include a designated time period as disclosed by Wesinger with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow a time out period to be established for UDP communications between the remote control station to prevent circumvention of the firewall due to the connectionless nature of UDP, Wesinger Column 13 Line 66 – Column 14 Line 5.
Regarding Claim 10:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 11:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 3 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 12:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 14:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 7 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 15:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 8 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 18:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vu, in view of Panasyuk et al. (US 2005/0198380; hereinafter Panasyuk).
Regarding Claim 6:
Vu discloses the system of claim 1.
Vu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the robot control command is sent to the communication server from the remote control station, and then retransmitted from the communication server to the robot.
However Panasyuk, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls, discloses wherein the robot control command is sent to the communication server from the remote control station, and then retransmitted from the communication server to the robot (Panasyuk, Para. [0047-0048], Panasyuk discloses using a proxy device for securely passing communications between a client and a service such that the communications must pass through the proxy).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Vu to include a proxy device for secure communication as disclosed by Panasyuk with a reasonable expectation of success. On of ordinary skill in the art would make this combination in order to ensure the communication server acted as a secure intermediary to prevent unauthorized individuals from accessing the robots.
Regarding Claim 19:
The claim recites analogous limitations to claim 6 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
/Z.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656