DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on August 3, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,073,708. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as set forth below.
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 12,073,708
Claim 1 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification.
Claim 1 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle for water, snow, and ice to slide off the plurality of LEDs; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification.
Claim 2 states,
further comprising: a curved lens arranged over each of the plurality of LEDs.
Claim 2 states,
further comprising: a curved lens arranged over each of the plurality of LEDs.
Claim 3 states,
further comprising: a light mode selector, an on/off switch, and a power receptacle, wherein each of the light mode selector, the on/off switch, and the power receptacle are positioned on the first surface of the housing and are mechanically coupled to the housing.
Claim 3 states,
further comprising: a light mode selector, an on/off switch, and a power receptacle, wherein each of the light mode selector, the on/off switch, and the power receptacle are positioned on the first surface of the housing and are mechanically coupled to the housing.
Claim 4 states,
further comprising: a charger electrically coupled to a battery and the power receptacle.
Claim 4 states,
further comprising: a charger electrically coupled to a battery and the power receptacle.
Claim 5 states,
wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a roof.
Claim 5 states,
wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a roof.
Claim 6 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, wherein the lighting assembly is installed over a door or a window of a structure.
Claim 6 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle for water, snow, and ice to slide off the plurality of LEDs; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, wherein the lighting assembly is installed over a door or a window of a structure.
Claim 7 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a vehicle.
Claim 7 states,
An application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle for water, snow, and ice to slide off the plurality of LEDs; a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pharr et al. (US 2018/0259171 A1) in view of Rich et al. (US 2021/0097846 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-7, Pharr discloses an application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing (8) having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (24) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns (Fig. 4), wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle (Fig. 4); a lighting mobile application (¶[0043]) configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote (12) communicatively coupled to a radio frequency which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification (¶[0080]). Pharr fails to exemplify the wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a roof as stated in claim 5, wherein the lighting assembly is installed over a door or a window of a structure as stated in claim 6, and wherein the lighting assembly is installed on a vehicle as stated in claim 7.
Rich discloses an application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing (110) having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (70) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns (Fig. 2); a lighting mobile application (¶[0020]) configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote (¶[0015]) communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification. One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate the use of the relay switch to route high frequency RF signals through a transmission path as evidenced by Rich. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the relay switch disclosed by Rich in the alert system of Pharr in order to route high frequency RF signals through a transmission path.
Pharr further discloses the light alert system being portable and deployable as emergency lighting or for any other lighting application. One skilled in that art would have reasonably contemplated installing the light alert system at locations such as a roof, a door, a window or a vehicle as an obvious matter of design engineering, as to provide emergency illumination at the desired location. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to install the light alert system at locations of the roof, door, window or a vehicle as to provide emergency illumination at the desired location.
Regarding claim 4, Pharr discloses a light alert system further comprising: a charger electrically coupled to a battery and the power receptacle (¶[0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the references of the Prior Art of record fail to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 2, and specifically comprising the limitation of a curved lens arranged over each of the plurality of LEDs.
Regarding claim(s) 3, the references of the Prior Art of record fail to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 3, and specifically comprising the limitation of each of the light mode selector, the on/off switch, and the power receptacle are positioned on the first surface of the housing and are mechanically coupled to the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that “the Examiner has previously acknowledged that the applied references do not disclose a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle, in the Notice of Allowance for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/114,842”. The examiner disagrees.
The Notice of Allowance for U.S. Patent Application No. 18/114,842 states the closest prior art of record to Pharr et al. (US 2018/0259171 A1) discloses an application-operated light alert system configured to create an emergency notification, the system comprising: a lighting assembly comprising: a housing; and a plurality of light emitting diodes arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle (Fig. 4); a lighting mobile application configured to set up and control operation of the lighting assembly; and a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification, and indicates the combined limitation “of a housing having a first surface and a second surface; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle for water, snow, and ice to slide off the plurality of LEDs.” is not taught by the prior art references. The claims in the instant application do not claim the allowable combined limitations stated in the Notice of Allowance.
Applicant contends that Pharr discloses in Fig. 4 four circuit boards with light sources on each of them, but the light sources on each of the four circuit boards do not meet at an angle as set forth in Applicant's claims. The examiner disagrees.
Claim 1 states “a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) arranged into at least two rows and at least four columns, wherein the at least four columns are approximately parallel and the at least two rows meet at an angle”. As shown in Figure 4 of Pharr, at least four columns of the plurality of LEDs (at least five parallel columns of LEDs 24 of are shown in Fig. 4) are arranged parallel to each other and at least two rows of the plurality of LEDs (at least two rows of LEDs 24 meeting at an angle to two adjacent rows of LEDs 24 are shown in Fig. 4) meet at an angle.
Applicant contends that Pharr in view of Rich fails to teach “a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification”.
Pharr discloses a wireless remote (12) communicatively coupled to a radio frequency which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification (¶[0080]). Rich discloses a wireless remote (90, ¶[0015]) communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch (50) to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification. Accordingly, the combined teachings to Pharr in view of Rich disclose a light alert system comprising a wireless remote communicatively coupled to a radio frequency relay switch to send a signal to the radio frequency relay switch which directs power to the plurality of LEDs creating the emergency notification.
Applicant contends that Pharr fails to state a “disclosure of the programmable ball being installed somewhere, while the ball might end up on a roof on a vehicle when launched or rolled, it would not be installed there, and there is no disclosure of how the ball could end up over a door or a window of a structure.” The examiner disagrees.
One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate installation of the light alert system at multiple locations such as a roof, a door, a window or a vehicle as an obvious matter of design engineering to provide emergency illumination at the desired location. The claims do not define specific structural limitations defining a particular installation structure, but only the intended purpose of installing the light alert system at multiple locations.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2 and 3 are found persuasive, the rejection of claims 2 and 3 are hereby withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879