DETAILED ACTION
1.The Applicant’s response to the office action filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
2. Claims 24-41 and 43 are pending under examination. Claims 1-23 and 42 are canceled. The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and found persuasive for the following reasons.
Objection to Informalities-withdrawn
3. The objection to claim informalities has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim objection-withdrawn
4. The objection to claim 41 has been withdrawn in view of persuasive arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102-withdrawn
5. (i) the rejection of claims under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eltoukhy et al., has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
(ii) The rejection of claims under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Talasaz has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
New Rejections Necessitated by the Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 24-41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talasaz (US 2015/0299812) in view of Kukita et al. (DNA Res., vol. 22(4), pp. 269-277, (2015)).
Talasaz teaches a method of analyzing a sample comprising nucleic acid fragments the method comprising: introducing a pool of non-unique (different) exogenous barcodes (tag sequences) to the nucleic acid fragments to generate a library of barcoded fragments, wherein each of the nucleic acid fragments includes an endogenous barcode (unique barcodes) and wherein the exogenous barcode sequences are from a limited plurality of sets of non-unique exogenous barcode sequences, wherein each set from the limited plurality of sets of non-unique exogenous barcode sequences comprises 20 or fewer barcodes (para 0369-0372, 0014-0018, 0049, 0121-0123, 0252, 0005-0006), identifying end portions of the barcoded fragments based on the endogenous barcodes (unique barcodes) (para 0019-0025, 0050, 0369-0372, 0121-0123, 0252, 0005-0006); sequencing the barcoded nucleic acid fragments
to generate sequence reads, (para 0253-0257, 0050-0058, 0026-0028, 0005-0006, 0203), aligning the sequence reads to a reference human genome sequence based on the non-unique exogenous barcodes and the endogenous barcodes and the aligning comprises determining consensus sequence based on grouping sequences reads according to the non-unique exogenous barcode and the endogenous barcode sequence in the genomic DNA and identifying mutations or a gene variant in the nucleic acid fragments from the sample based on the alignment (para 0258-0263, 0005-0006, 0088-0089, 0113, 0204).
Regarding claim 25, Talasaz teaches identifying the mutations in the nucleic acid fragments comprises identifying tumor-specific sequence mutations, amplifications, and/or translocations in a plurality of genes (para 0024-0025, 0104, 0294).
Regarding claims 26-27, 39-40, Talasaz teaches that the plurality (two or more) of genes includes ALK, BCR (ABL1), BRAF, EGFR, NTRK1, PDGFRA, PDGFRB, RARA, RET, and ROS1 or ABL1, AKT1, APC, AR, ATM, CDH1, CDK4, CDK6, CDKN2A, CSF1R, CTNNB1, DNMT3A, ERBB2, ERBB4, ESR1, EZH2, FBXW7, FGFR1, FGFR2, FGFR3, FLT3, GNA11, GNAQ, GNAS, HNF1A, HRAS, IDH1, IDH2, JAK2, JAK3, KDR, KIT, KRAS, MAP2K1, MET, MLH1, MPL, MYC, NPM1, NRAS, PIK3CA, PIK3R1, PTEN, PTPN11, RB1, SMAD4, SMARCB1, SMO, SRC, STK11, TERT, TP53, and VHL (para 0385, table 1).
Regarding claim 28-29, Talasaz teaches that the identifying end positions of barcoded fragments comprise hybrid capturing or whole genome sequencing, wherein hybrid capturing comprises capturing barcoded fragments corresponding to plurality of genes (para 0088-0089,0118, 0241).
Regarding claim 30-31, Talasaz teaches that the nucleic acid fragments comprise cell-free DNA, circulating tumor DNA, or RNA, wherein cell-free DNA comprises ctDNA which constitutes less than 1% of cell-free DNA (para 0004-0005, 0008-0009, 0374, 0034-0035, 0092, 0258).
Regarding claim 32, 41, Talasaz teaches that the sequencing is paired-end sequencing or single-end sequencing (para 0374-0375, 0251-0253).
Regarding claims 33-34, Talasaz teaches that the limited pool comprises eight sets of non-unique exogenous barcodes and nucleic acid fragments include at least 100 different endogenous barcodes on either end of the nucleic acid fragments (para 0252, 0050).
With reference to claim 35-36, Talasaz teaches that the sequencing is paired-end sequencing and wherein the paired-end sequencing yields at least 80,000 unique combination of possible sequence reads, wherein each sequence read is about 50-200 bases in length (para 0252-0253, 0084-0085, 0270).
Regarding to claim 37-38, Talasaz teaches that the barcoded fragments are sequenced to an average of at least 20,000-fold for each position of a plurality of targeted positions and mutations are identified at the plurality of targeted positions (para 0258,0273).
Regarding claims 43, Talasaz teaches that a locus of the consensus sequence is determined when the sequence reads aligned to the locus are identical (para 0121-0124, 0039, 0054-0056, 0176).
However, Talasaz did not specifically teach generating a consensus sequence from the aligned sequence reds according to both non-barcode exogenous barcode and genomic positions of the fragment ends and identifying a mutation when 90% of the aligned, grouped reads support the mutation.
Kukita et al. teach detection of mutations in circulating tumor DNA by sequencing using non-unique barcodes and redundant sequencing and grouping the sequence reads to determine a consensus sequence before mutation detection, wherein the grouping comprises sequence reads of barcode sequences and barcode tags with genomic positions at the fragment ends ranging from 2 to 12 bases, wherein average proportion of 90% or greater is set as a threshold to detect true variant or mutation (page 270-276, paragraphs under section 2.5 and 3.2 to 3.6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Talasaz with the method as taught by Kukita et al. to improve the detection of mutation in a sample. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to combine the references and have a reasonable expectation of success that the combination would result in accurate detection mutations in a genomic DNA because Kukita et al. explicitly taught grouping the sequence reads for barcode sequences and barcode tag sequences, obtaining consensus sequences for absolute quantitation of mutations in a DNA sample with complete elimination of false positives (page 269, abstract) and such a modification is considered obvious over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Suryaprabha Chunduru
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1681
/SURYAPRABHA CHUNDURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681