DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s newly added arguments regarding (1) sealing surface adjacent the valve seat, (2) an opening that extends through the sealing surface and the valve seat, and (3) a filter coupled to the valve seat. The amendment to Stern, as applied below, meets these newly added claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stern US 7080817 (“Stern”).
Regarding Claim 1, Stern discloses a filter component (14, body 14, sealing surface 56, and filter 32, see fig. 1) comprising: a vale seat (14, 56); a sealing surface (58) adjacent to the valve seat (14, 56) and configured to sealingly engage a valve stem (20); an opening (38, 58, 60) that extends through the sealing surface (58) and valve seat (14, 56); a filter (32) coupled to the valve seat (14, 56) and configured to remove contaminants from a stream of fluid (from inlet to outlet, see fig. 1); and a conduit seat (recess in valve seat 14 that retains fluid conduit 26, ann. fig. 4) configured to secure a fluid conduit (26) in alignment with the opening (38, 58, 60), wherein the fluid conduit (26) is configured to be coupled to a downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4).
STERN – ANNOTATED FIGURE 4
Regarding Claim 2, Stern discloses the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants from engaging the sealing surface (58).
Regarding Claim 3, Stern discloses the filter (32) is positioned between (fig. 2 illustrates a plan view of the sealing surface 58 with respect to the sealing assembly 12) the sealing surface (58) and a sealing assembly (12, solenoid actuator body) configured to direct the stream of fluid (from inlet to outlet, see fig. 1) through the filter (32).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Stern discloses the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants from blocking or damaging the downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Stern discloses the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants from blocking or damaging an orifice (78) of the downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Stern discloses the filter component (14, body 14, sealing surface 56, and filter 32) is a consumable part that is replaceable (filter component 14 is screwed into actuator 64 and valve stem 20 body).
Regarding Claim 11, Stern discloses a filter component (14, body 14, seat 56, and filter 32) comprising: a filter (32) configured to be positioned between (fig. 2 illustrates a plan view of the sealing surface 58 with respect to the sealing assembly 12) a sealing surface (58) of a valve seat (14, 56) and a sealing assembly (16, diaphragm peripheral edge seals the actuator 64 from the fluid flow), wherein the filter (32) is configured to remove contaminants from a stream of fluid (from inlet to outlet), and the filter (32) is coupled to the valve seat (14, 56).
Regarding Claim 12, Stern discloses the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants from engaging the sealing surface (60) of the valve seat (14, 56).
Regarding Claim 13, Stern discloses the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants from blocking or damaging an orifice (78) of a downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4).
Regarding Claims 14 and 19, Stern discloses the filter (32) includes a plurality of perforations (filter screen), and the orifice (78) of the downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4) has a diameter that is equal to or greater than a diameter of each of the plurality of perforations (perforation in a filter screen)(see ann. fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Stern discloses a filter component (14, body 14, sealing surface 56, and filter 32) comprising: a sealing surface (58) configured to sealingly engage a valve stem (20); an entry (60) formed in the sealing surface (58) that is in flow communication with an opening (inlet opening, fig. 1) extending through the filter component (14, body 14, sealing surface 56, and filter 32); and a filter (32) configured to remove contaminants from a stream of fluid (from inlet to outlet, fig. 1), and the filter (32) coupled to the valve seat (14, 56), which is adjacent to the sealing surface (58); wherein the valve stem (20) is movable through a cavity of the filter (filter 32 is located at the inlets, the inlet ports are located radially around the perimeter of filter component 14; thus, a cavity in the filter is located within the perimeter of filter component 14), the valve stem (20) is configured to be engageable with the sealing surface (58) to prevent the stream of fluid from flowing through the entry (60) formed in the sealing surface (58), the valve stem (20) is configured to be disengageable (fig. 1) from the sealing surface (58) to allow the stream of fluid to flow through the entry (60) formed in the sealing surface (58), and the filter (32) is configured to prevent contaminants in the stream of fluid from damaging the sealing surface (58) and the valve stem (60).
Regarding Claim 16, Stern discloses a conduit seat (recess in valve seat 14 that retains fluid conduit 26, ann. fig. 4) configured to secure a fluid conduit (26) in alignment with the opening (60), wherein the fluid conduit (26) is configured to be coupled to a downstream component (user device housing 72, see ann. fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 20, Stern discloses the filter (32) comprises an annular wall (filter 32 is located at the inlets, the inlet ports are located radially around the perimeter of filter component 14; thus, a cavity in the filter is an annular wall around filter component 14) through which a plurality of perforations extend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern US 7080817 (“Stern”).
Regarding Claim 4, Stern discloses the claimed invention except for the filter (32) is formed integrally with the filter component.. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a filter that is formed integrally with a filter component, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). Please note that in the instant application, para 0023, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, Stern discloses the claimed invention except for the filter (32) is removably coupled to the filter component. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a filter that is a separate and removably coupled to a filter component, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). Please note that in the instant application, para 0023, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding Claim 6, Stern discloses the filter (32) includes a plurality of perforations extending therethrough. Stern discloses the claimed invention, except each of a plurality of perforations has a diameter of between approximately 0.001 inches and approximately 0.010 inches. The limitations of Claim 6 are seen as an obvious design choice in accordance with MPEP 2144.04. Please note that in the instant application, para 0024, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the size of perforations for the purpose of using a filter sized to the valve, type of fines in the fluid, and used in the specific system.
Regarding Claim 7, Stern discloses the filter (32) includes a plurality of perforations extending therethrough. Stern discloses the claimed invention, except a plurality of perforations comprises between approximately 250 and approximately 600 perforations. . The limitations of Claim 7 are seen as an obvious design choice in accordance with MPEP 2144.04. Please note that in the instant application, para 0025, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. It would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the number of perforations for the purpose of using a filter appropriate to the valve, type of fines in the fluid, and used in the specific system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753