DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 9/10/2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1, 12 and 18 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
4. In Applicant’s response dated 9/10/2026, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1-20
Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the following rejections previously set forth in Office Action dated 6/10/2026 are withdrawn:
a) 35 U.S.C. 101 Rejection to claims 18-20
b) 35 U.S.C. 112 Rejection to claims 1-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12-16 and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), U.S. Published Application No. 20150317006 A1 of record.
Claim 1:
Lee teaches An electronic device comprising:
a housing comprising a first housing part and a second housing part, the second housing part configured to movably engage with the first housing part between a first state of the housing and a second state of the housing extended relative to the first state of the housing; (e.g., a digital device that switches to an unfolded state (i.e., second housing part in a second state) from a folded state (i.e., first housing part in a first state) or digital device that switches from a single shape (i.e., first housing part in a first state) to an expanded shape (i.e., second housing part in a second state) par. 5; A digital device can include a plurality of display areas. In this case, the digital device can be manufactured in a manner that the digital device is foldable. When the digital device switches to an unfolded state from a folded state, the digital device can display visual information in a plurality of the display areas. And, the digital device can be equipped with a rollable display area capable of being stored and exposed. And, the digital device can be constructed with a flexible material and can include a plurality of display areas. Par. 6; In this case, the digital device may have a single shape or an expand shape. More specifically, the digital device may have the single shape providing the visual information in a single display area only. And, the digital device may have the expand shape providing the visual information in a plurality of the display areas.)
memory storing instructions; (e.g., memory for storing instructions par. 95; The recording media readable by the processor may include all kinds of recording devices for storing data capable of being read by the processor. The examples of the recording media readable by the processor may include a ROM, a RAM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disc, an optical data storing device and the like.)
a flexible display coupled to the first housing part and the second housing part such that a size of a display region of the flexible display visible from a front side of the housing changes as a state of the housing is changed between the first state and the second state; (e.g., digital device with flexible display that changes from single shape to expanded shape as shown in Figure 2; par. 44; As a different example, the digital device 100 may correspond to a flexible device and can be folded. In this case, if the digital device is folded, the digital device can be configured as the single shape. If the digital device 100 is unfolded, the digital device 100 can be configured as the expand shape. par. 58; The digital device 100 can have a first area 220 and a second area 230.)
and at least one processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: (e.g., processor for executing instructions to control digital device par. 95; The recording media readable by the processor may include all kinds of recording devices for storing data capable of being read by the processor.)
identify a touch input having a contact point on the flexible display; (e.g., identify first touch input on flexible display par. 55; When the digital device 100 is in the single shape, the processor 130 can detect a first touch input touching the first area. The processor 130 can execute a first operation based on the detected first touch input.)
identify an input for moving the second housing part with respect to the first housing part; and (e.g., identify input for moving second housing part with respect to first housing part to change device from single shape to expanded shape par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation.)
based on the input being identified while the contact point is maintained on the display region, display, via the flexible display, an object for guiding a position of the contact point that was identified before the second housing part is moved with respect to the first housing part based on the input wherein a display position of the object corresponds to the position of the contact point. (e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain first coordinate of the contact point identified from before the second housing part is moved with respect to the first housing part based on the input; (e.g., identify first touch input on flexible display par. 55; When the digital device 100 is in the single shape, the processor 130 can detect a first touch input touching the first area. The processor 130 can execute a first operation based on the detected first touch input.)
based on the input being identified while the contact point is maintained on the display region, obtain a second coordinate corresponding to the first coordinate based on the size of the display region;
and display, via the flexible display, the object for guiding the position of the contact point at the second coordinate information on the display region. (e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: control the flexible display so that the object for guiding the position of the contact point is not displayed based on identifying that the contact point is released while the input is identified. (e.g., requiring a long input while changing from single shape to expand shape to display the object (i.e., input release resulting in short input (i.e., based on identifying that the touch input is released) means the object will not be displayed ) par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation. More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input.)
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: control the flexible display so that the object for guiding the position of the contact point is not displayed based on identifying that changing the size of the display region based on the input is completed and the contact point is released. (e.g., requiring a long input while changing from single shape to expand shape (i.e., changing the size) to display the object (i.e., input release resulting in short input (i.e., contact point is released) means the object will not be displayed ) par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation. More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input.)
Claim 5 depends on claim 1:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
based on the input being identified while the contact point is maintained on the display region, determine that the contact point is maintained. (e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
Claim 12:
Claim 12 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 12.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12:
Claim 13 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 13.
Claim 14 depends on claim 12:
Claim 14 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 14.
Claim 15 depends on claim 12:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 4, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 4 to reject claim 15.
Claim 16 depends on claim 12:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 5, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 5 to reject claim 16.
Independent Claim 18:
Lee teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to: (e.g., memory for storing instructions par. 95; The recording media readable by the processor may include all kinds of recording devices for storing data capable of being read by the processor. The examples of the recording media readable by the processor may include a ROM, a RAM, a magnetic tape, a floppy disc, an optical data storing device and the like.)
identify a touch input having a contact point on a flexible display of the electronic device; (e.g., identify first touch input on flexible display par. 55; When the digital device 100 is in the single shape, the processor 130 can detect a first touch input touching the first area. The processor 130 can execute a first operation based on the detected first touch input.)
identify an input for moving a second housing part of a housing of the electronic device with respect to a first housing part of the housing, the second housing part configured to movably engage with the first housing part between a first state of the electronic device and a second state of the electronic device extended relative to the first state; (e.g., identify input for moving second housing part with respect to first housing part to change device from single shape to expanded shape par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation.)
and based on the input being identified while the contact point is maintained on a display region of the flexible display, display an object for guiding a position of the contact point that was identified before the second housing part is moved with respect to the first housing part based on the input, wherein a display position of the object corresponds to the position of the contact point, (e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
and wherein the flexible display is coupled to the first housing part and the second housing part such that a size of the display region of the flexible display visible from a front side of the housing changes as a state of the electronic device is changed between the first state and the second state. (e.g., digital device with flexible display that changes from single shape to expanded shape as shown in Figure 2; par. 44; As a different example, the digital device 100 may correspond to a flexible device and can be folded. In this case, if the digital device is folded, the digital device can be configured as the single shape. If the digital device 100 is unfolded, the digital device 100 can be configured as the expand shape. par. 58; The digital device 100 can have a first area 220 and a second area 230.)
Claim 19 depends on claim 18:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 19.
Claim 20 depends on claim 18:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 20.
Claims 6, 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), U.S. Published Application No. 20150317006 A1 in view of Cho et al. (hereinafter “Cho”), U.S. Published Application No. 20130203469 A of record.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Lee fails to expressly teach a screen policy of an application.
However, CHO teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: display the object for guiding the position of the contact point at a position in accordance with a screen policy of an application, (e.g., configuration change (i.e., screen policy) of a keyboard user interface performed by the application to split the keyboard (i.e., object ) corresponding to swipe gesture par. 128; Conversely, according to other embodiments where the user input interface 320 is initially displayed on the flexible display 302, a touch input for splitting the user input interface 320 into the first half 320a and the second half 320b may comprise a first contact and a second contact on the flexible display 302.
wherein the screen policy indicates a configuration change of a user interface (UI) performed by the application based on identifying that the flexible display is inserted into the housing or extracted from the housing. (e.g., transitioning the virtual display from main screen to flexible screen (i.e., screen policy) based on flexible screen being extended and user input par. 100; If a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 is detected on the main display 301, the processor will compare the first length, b1, to the width length, a, of the main display 301. In the first state illustrated by FIG. 3B, because the first length, b1, is less than the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor 111 will not allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 101; If a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 is detected on the main display 301, the processor will compare the second length, b2, to the length that corresponds to the width length, a, of the main display 301. In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable device as taught by Lee to include a screen policy for a keyboard application as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the operation handiness of portable devices.
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Lee fails to expressly teach display a user interface (UI) for a virtual keyboard in the display region.
However, Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
display a user interface (UI) for a virtual keyboard in the display region; (e.g., displaying typing screen for a virtual keyboard on main display as shown in Figure 6 So in FIG. 6 the words "make it to dinner" is seen to be within the editing area 650, and the same words "make it to dinner" will simultaneously be displayed in the typing screen 630 on the main display 601. This allows a user to more quickly and efficiently edit the text within the typing screen 630 on the main display 601.)
and based on the input being identified while the contact point is maintained on a portion of the display region corresponding to the UI for the virtual keyboard, display the object for guiding the position of the contact point in the UI for the virtual keyboard. (e.g., based on the maintained contact point within editing area, displaying a character object within the typing area. Par. 142; By contacting the specific point on the flexible display 602, the processor 111 will estimate an intended editing area 650 on the flexible display 602. Par. 142; Or the contacted specific point may correspond to a specific letter displayed on the flexible display 602, and the editing area 650 may extend to x number of letters or words preceding the specific letter and x number of letters or words following the specific letter. Regardless of the method for calculating the size of the editing area 650, the letters that are within the calculated editing area 650 is then displayed on the typing screen 630. So in FIG. 6 the words "make it to dinner" is seen to be within the editing area 650, and the same words "make it to dinner" will simultaneously be displayed in the typing screen 630 on the main display 601. This allows a user to more quickly and efficiently edit the text within the typing screen 630 on the main display 601.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the expandable device as taught by Lee to include a typing screen of keyboard application with editing functions as taught by Cho, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of quickly and efficiently edit the text of two-way communication applications.
Claim 17 depends on claim 12:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 12.
Claims 8, 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as cited above, in view of Cho; Young-Chan, U.S. Published Application No. 20150220171 A1 of record.
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
based on the input being identified while a input is maintained on the display region, display, via the flexible display, another object for guiding a position of an input point of the input that was identified before the second housing part is moved with respect to the first housing part based on the input.(e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
Lee fails to expressly teach hovering input.
However, Young-Chan teaches hovering input; (e.g., obvious to try hovering in place of touch input with touch screen; see abstract; the method includes detecting hovering which is input to a touch panel including a curved surface, determining space coordinates corresponding to the hovering, and displaying an image corresponding to the space coordinates on a display. Par. 4; By means of a touch panel mounted in the electronic device, a user can input a command not only by physically touching a surface of the touch panel with an inputting means but also by placing the inputting means a designated distance (length) away from the touch panel (for example, hovering) par. 5; the user may input a command on a selected content by touching the touch screen or hovering above the touch screen with the inputting means.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gesture input as taught by Lee to include hovering input as taught by Young-Chan, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results in effort to provide the benefit of improving accessibility.
Claim 9 depends on claim 8:
Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain a first coordinate of the input point of the input identified before the second housing part is moved with respect to the first housing part based on the input;
based on the input being identified while the input point of the input is maintained on the display region, obtain a second coordinate corresponding to the first coordinate based on the size of the display region;
and display, via the flexible display, the another object corresponding to the input point of the input at the second coordinate on the display region. (e.g., based on maintaining first long touch input, displaying object as shown in Figure 3 par. 55; More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input. In particular, the first operation may correspond to a function which is executed based on a touch input, by which the present specification may be non-limited.)
Lee fails to expressly teach hovering input.
However, Young-Chan teaches hovering input; (e.g., obvious to try hovering in place of touch input with touch screen; see abstract; the method includes detecting hovering which is input to a touch panel including a curved surface, determining space coordinates corresponding to the hovering, and displaying an image corresponding to the space coordinates on a display. Par. 4; By means of a touch panel mounted in the electronic device, a user can input a command not only by physically touching a surface of the touch panel with an inputting means but also by placing the inputting means a designated distance (length) away from the touch panel (for example, hovering) par. 5; the user may input a command on a selected content by touching the touch screen or hovering above the touch screen with the inputting means.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gesture input as taught by Lee to include hovering input as taught by Young-Chan, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results in effort to provide the benefit of improving accessibility.
Claim 10 depends on claim 8:
Lee/Young-Chan teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: control the flexible display so that the object the input point of the hovering input is not displayed based on identifying that a new touch input on the display region is detected. (e.g., displaying object is not transitioned onto the expanded display based on any type of input including hovering input of Chang if expanded display is not extended. par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation. More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input.)
Claim 11 depends on claim 8:
Lee/Young-Chan teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: control the flexible display so that the object for guiding the position of the input point of the hovering input is not displayed based on identifying that moving the second housing part with respect to the first housing part is completed. (e.g., requiring a long input while changing from single shape to expand shape (i.e., changing the size) to display the object (i.e., input release resulting in short input (i.e., contact point is released) means the object will not be displayed ) par. 55; In this case, if it is detected that the digital device 100 is changed from the single shape to the expand shape while the first touch input is maintained, the processor 130 can cancel the first operation. More specifically, the processor 130 can execute the first operation based on the first touch input in the single shape. In this case, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation displaying an editing menu. And, as an example, the first operation may correspond to an operation moving an object displayed in a position on which a touch input is detected based on a long touch input.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the previously cited prior art failing to disclose the new limitations has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly applied “Lee” reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172