DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 8/26/2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1, 12 and 18 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 18-20 recites the phrase “computer readable medium”, which is not explicitly defined in the specification. Examiner submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the phrase to include a carrier wave, which is considered non statutory subject matter. Therefore, in such instance, the recited phrase is merely a signal and is not a process, a machine, a manufacture or a composition of matter.
Accordingly, the claim fails to recite statutory subject matter as defined in 35 U.S.C. § 101.
To overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, Examiner suggests to amend claim to recite “non-transitory computer readable medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claims 1 and 12:
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation " identify a touch input on a display region of the display exposed outside the housing " (emphasis added). Examiner notes that a display that is merely insertable or extractable is previously recited and the claims appear to be missing a step that positively exposes the display outside of the housing. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 recites the limitation " when the display is inserted into the housing or extracted from the housing " (emphasis added). Examiner notes that the emphasized elements were not properly introduced previously within the claim Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 14, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (hereinafter “Cho”), U.S. Published Application No. 20130203469 A1.
Claim 1:
Cho teaches An electronic device comprising:
a housing; memory storing instructions; a display insertable into the housing or extractable out from the housing; (e.g., display device with flexible display that is rollable see Figures 1, 2B and 2C; par. 90; The flexible display unit 190 illustrated in FIG. 1 is comprised primarily of a flexible display and a touch input detecting unit. Therefore, like the main display, a user's touch input contact on the flexible display may be detected. Par. 92; As illustrated in FIG. 2D, due to its flexible properties, the flexible display 202 may be stored within the flexible display housing unit 207 when it is not in use, and thus does not add to the overall size of the display device. par. 95; According to some embodiments, a user may view content on the main display 201 and flexible display 202 of the display device in the profile orientation as illustrated in FIGS. 2A and 2B. In other embodiments, a user may view content on the main display 201 and flexible display 202 of the display device in the landscape orientation as illustrated in FIG. 2C.)
and at least one processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: (e.g., see processor of Figure 1; par. 78; And during the operation of the display device, the processor 111 is tasked with processing the set of instructions corresponding to the touch sensitive UI and controlling the various components of the display device 100 according to the detected touch inputs.)
identify a touch input on a display region of the display exposed outside the housing; (e.g., identify swiping gesture on exposed display par. 103; According to some embodiments of the present invention, a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302, in the second state, may comprise a touch input that maintains a contact from a first contact point on the main display 301 to a second contact point on the main display 301. Preferably, the first contact point and the second contact point are located at positions on the main display 301 that overlap the display of the user input interface 320. For example the second contact point may be located at a position that is closer towards the flexible display 302 in relation to the first contact point. In this way, the touch input that maintains a contact from the first contact point to the second contact point may generally be seen as a swipe gesture on the main display 301 in the same direction as the pulling out of the flexible display 302.)
and based on identifying that a size of the display region changes while the touch input is maintained on the display region, (e.g., based on identifying that the flexible display is exposed to expand the display region, swiping main display while flexible display is exposed par. 101; FIGS. 3C-3E illustrates the display device in a second state where the flexible display 302 is pulled out a second length, b2, from out the flexible display housing unit. In this second state the second length, b2, is a length that is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301 (ie. b2=a). The measuring unit 140 measures the length of the flexible display 302 that that is pulled out of the flexible display housing unit, and transmits this second length, b2, information to the processor 111. If a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 is detected on the main display 301, the processor will compare the second length, b2, to the length that corresponds to the width length, a, of the main display 301. In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302.)
display an object corresponding to a contact point of the touch input based on the size of the display region after the size changes. (e.g., display keyboard object corresponding to completed swipe gesture after flexible display is exposed par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to control the display so that the object corresponding to the contact point is not displayed based on identifying that the touch input is released. (e.g., user interface is not transitioned to the flexible display if flexible display is not extended. Therefore, swiping on main display without extending flexible display results in user interface not being displayed on flexible display based on release of swipe gesture. Examiner notes that the recited “not displayed” reads on a turn off device. par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to control the display so that the object corresponding to the contact point is not displayed based on identifying that changing of the size of the display region is completed and the touch input is released. (e.g., user interface is not transitioned to the flexible display if flexible display is not extended (i.e., changing of the size of the display region is completed). Therefore, swiping on main display without extending flexible display results in user interface not being displayed on flexible display based on release of swipe gesture. Examiner notes that the recited “not displayed” reads on a turn off device. par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: display the object corresponding to the contact point of the touch input at a position in accordance with a screen policy of an application displayed in the display region, (e.g., configuration change (i.e., screen policy) of a keyboard user interface performed by the application to split the keyboard (i.e., object ) corresponding to swipe gesture par. 128; Conversely, according to other embodiments where the user input interface 320 is initially displayed on the flexible display 302, a touch input for splitting the user input interface 320 into the first half 320a and the second half 320b may comprise a first contact and a second contact on the flexible display 302.
wherein the screen policy indicates a configuration change of a user interface performed by the application based on identifying that the display is inserted into the housing or extracted from the housing. (e.g., transitioning the virtual display from main screen to flexible screen (i.e., screen policy) based on flexible screen being extended and user input par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. par. 106; In addition, during this second state it is not only possible for a user to transition the user input interface 320 onto the flexible display 302, but it is also possible to split the display of the user input interface 320 into a first half 320a and a second half 320b. The split user input interface is depicted in FIG. 3E. To accomplish this split, a different touch input is required from the touch input described for simply transitioning the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302)
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: display a user interface (UI) for a virtual keyboard in one region of the display region; (e.g., display virtual keyboard on main display par. 98; FIG. 3A illustrates the display device in the initial state where a flexible display (not illustrated) remains stored within a flexible display housing unit (not illustrated) of the display device. FIG. 3A also depicts a user input interface 320 displayed on the touch sensitive main display 301. The user input interface 320 is a visual interface that provides a user with a variety of keys for receiving the user's touch input. The user input interface 320 is exemplified in FIG. 3A as a virtual keyboard)
and display an object corresponding to a contact point of another touch input based on identifying that the display region is changed while the another touch input is maintained on the one region. (e.g., displaying a transitioned keyboard (i.e., object corresponding to a contact point of swipe gesture) on the flexible display corresponding to a swipe on the main display par. 103; a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302, in the second state, may comprise a touch input that maintains a contact from a first contact point on the main display 301 to a second contact point on the main display 301. Preferably, the first contact point and the second contact point are located at positions on the main display 301 that overlap the display of the user input interface 320. For example the second contact point may be located at a position that is closer towards the flexible display 302 in relation to the first contact point. In this way, the touch input that maintains a contact from the first contact point to the second contact point may generally be seen as a swipe gesture on the main display 301 in the same direction as the pulling out of the flexible display 302. Par. 128; Conversely, according to other embodiments where the user input interface 320 is initially displayed on the flexible display 302, a touch input for splitting the user input interface 320 into the first half 320a and the second half 320b may comprise a first contact and a second contact on the flexible display 302. )
Claim 12:
Claim 12 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 12.
Claim 14 depends on claim 12:
Claim 14 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 14.
Claim 15 depends on claim 12:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 4, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 4 to reject claim 15.
Claim 17 depends on claim 12:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 12.
Claim 18:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho as cited above, in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), U.S. Published Application No. 20140043226 A1.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to display the object corresponding to the contact point by: (e.g., display keyboard object corresponding to completed swipe gesture after flexible display is exposed par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Cho fails to expressly teach obtaining first and second coordinate information.
However, Lee teaches obtaining first coordinate information of the contact point before the size of the display region of the display is changed;
obtain second coordinate information based on the size of the display region after the size of the display region changes;
and display the object corresponding to the contact point based on the second coordinate information. (e.g., size conversion of an image and converting coordinates of a touch point par. 77; Hence, an image in a corresponding size can then be provided with respect to the folding status of the display panel. In addition to the size conversion of an image, a method for converting coordinates of a touch point for adapting a change in the positioning for a touch point is further provided by an embodiment. Par. 78; That is to say, according to an embodiment, apart from providing an image according to a folding status change of a display panel, a portable device is also capable of automatically adjusting and compensating a coordinate position of the touch point. Par. 87; With reference to illustrations associated with FIG. 4D, when the display region is in the original size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the original coordinate system as (X0, Y0). When the display region is in the folded size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the folding coordinate system as (X', Y').)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size change of a user interface based on touch input as taught by Cho to incorporate the coordinate conversion system as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the operation handiness of portable devices.
Claim 5 depends on claim 1:
Cho fails to expressly teach determine that a plurality of coordinates.
However, Lee teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine that a plurality of coordinates, in accordance with changing of the size of the display region of the display, correspond to the contact point of the touch input instead of a contact point of a drag input. (e.g., size conversion of an image and converting coordinates of a touch point par. 77; Hence, an image in a corresponding size can then be provided with respect to the folding status of the display panel. In addition to the size conversion of an image, a method for converting coordinates of a touch point for adapting a change in the positioning for a touch point is further provided by an embodiment. Par. 78; That is to say, according to an embodiment, apart from providing an image according to a folding status change of a display panel, a portable device is also capable of automatically adjusting and compensating a coordinate position of the touch point. Par. 87; With reference to illustrations associated with FIG. 4D, when the display region is in the original size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the original coordinate system as (X0, Y0). When the display region is in the folded size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the folding coordinate system as (X', Y').)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size change of a user interface based on touch input as taught by Cho to incorporate the coordinate conversion system as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the operation handiness of portable devices.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12:
Claim 13 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 13.
Claim 16 depends on claim 12:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 5, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 5 to reject claim 16.
Claim 19 depends on claim 18:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 19.
Claims 8, 10, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho as cited above, in view of Cho; Young-Chan, U.S. Published Application No. 20150220171 A1.
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: identify a input on the display region of the display exposed outside the housing; (e.g., identify swiping gesture on exposed display par. 103; According to some embodiments of the present invention, a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302, in the second state, may comprise a touch input that maintains a contact from a first contact point on the main display 301 to a second contact point on the main display 301. Preferably, the first contact point and the second contact point are located at positions on the main display 301 that overlap the display of the user input interface 320. For example the second contact point may be located at a position that is closer towards the flexible display 302 in relation to the first contact point. In this way, the touch input that maintains a contact from the first contact point to the second contact point may generally be seen as a swipe gesture on the main display 301 in the same direction as the pulling out of the flexible display 302.)
and based on identifying that the size of the display region changes while the input is maintained on the display region, (e.g., based on identifying that the flexible display is exposed to expand the display region, swiping main display while flexible display is exposed par. 101; FIGS. 3C-3E illustrates the display device in a second state where the flexible display 302 is pulled out a second length, b2, from out the flexible display housing unit. In this second state the second length, b2, is a length that is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301 (ie. b2=a). The measuring unit 140 measures the length of the flexible display 302 that that is pulled out of the flexible display housing unit, and transmits this second length, b2, information to the processor 111. If a touch input for attempting to transition the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 is detected on the main display 301, the processor will compare the second length, b2, to the length that corresponds to the width length, a, of the main display 301. In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302.)
display an object corresponding to an input point of the input based on the size of the display region after the size changes. (e.g., display keyboard object corresponding to completed swipe gesture after flexible display is exposed par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Cho fails to expressly teach hovering input in place of the swipe input.
However, Young-Chan teaching identify a hovering input on the display region of the display exposed outside the housing; (e.g., obvious to try hovering in place of touch input with touch screen; he method includes detecting hovering which is input to a touch panel including a curved surface, determining space coordinates corresponding to the hovering, and displaying an image corresponding to the space coordinates on a display. Par. 4; By means of a touch panel mounted in the electronic device, a user can input a command not only by physically touching a surface of the touch panel with an inputting means but also by placing the inputting means a designated distance (length) away from the touch panel (for example, hovering) par. 5; )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gesture input as taught by Cho to include hovering input as taught by Young-Chan, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield predictable and expected results in effort to provide the benefit of improving accessibility.
Claim 10 depends on claim 8:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to control the display so that the object corresponding to the input point is not displayed based on identifying that a new touch input on the display region is detected. (e.g., user interface is not transitioned to the flexible display if flexible display is not extended. Therefore, swiping on main display without extending flexible display results in user interface not being displayed on flexible display based on release of swipe gesture. Examiner notes that the recited “not displayed” reads on a turn off device. par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Claim 11 depends on claim 8:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to control the display so that the object corresponding to the input point is not displayed based on identifying that changing of the size of the display region is completed. (e.g., user interface is not transitioned to the flexible display if flexible display is not extended (i.e., changing of the size of the display region is completed). Therefore, swiping on main display without extending flexible display results in user interface not being displayed on flexible display based on release of swipe gesture. Examiner notes that the recited “not displayed” reads on a turn off device. par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Claim 20 depends on claim 18:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 8, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 8 to reject claim 20.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho/Cho; Young-Chan as cited above, in further view of Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee”), U.S. Published Application No. 20140043226 A1.
Claim 9 depends on claim 8:
Cho teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to display the object corresponding to the input point by: (e.g., display keyboard object corresponding to completed swipe gesture after flexible display is exposed par. 101; In this second state, because the second length, b2, is equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301, the processor will allow the display of the user input interface 320 to transition from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302. Par. 102; FIG. 3D then illustrates the user input interface 320 having been transitioned from the main display 301 and onto the flexible display 302 when the second length, b2 is at least equal to the width length, a, of the main display 301. Although FIG. 3D depicts the same user input interface 320 transitioned onto the flexible display 302, the transition of the user input interface 320 from the main display 301 to the flexible display 302 may cause a new user input interface to be displayed on the flexible display 302. The new user input interface (not illustrated) may include a keyboard with a new set of keys compared to the user input interface 320 displayed on the main display 301. )
Cho/Young-Chan fails to expressly teach obtaining first coordinate information of the input point before the size of the display region of the display is changed; obtain second coordinate information based on the size of the display region after the size of the display region changes; and display the object corresponding to the input point based on the second coordinate information.
However, Lee teaches obtaining first coordinate information of the contact point before the size of the display region of the display is changed;
obtain second coordinate information based on the size of the display region after the size of the display region changes;
and display the object corresponding to the contact point based on the second coordinate information. (e.g., size conversion of an image and converting coordinates of a touch point par. 77; Hence, an image in a corresponding size can then be provided with respect to the folding status of the display panel. In addition to the size conversion of an image, a method for converting coordinates of a touch point for adapting a change in the positioning for a touch point is further provided by an embodiment. Par. 78; That is to say, according to an embodiment, apart from providing an image according to a folding status change of a display panel, a portable device is also capable of automatically adjusting and compensating a coordinate position of the touch point. Par. 87; With reference to illustrations associated with FIG. 4D, when the display region is in the original size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the original coordinate system as (X0, Y0). When the display region is in the folded size, the coordinate conversion unit 304 positions the touch point through the folding coordinate system as (X', Y').)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size change of a user interface based on touch input as taught by Cho/Young-Chan to incorporate the coordinate conversion system as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of improving the operation handiness of portable devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cavallaro et al. US 20190012000 A1
See abstract; One or more processors, operable with the flexible display and the one or more flex sensors, then detect user input along a first portion of the flexible display disposed to a first side of the deformation location, and control a second portion of the flexible display disposed to a second side of the deformation location as a function of the user input.
KIM; Youngrog US 20220147196 A1
See abstract; The processor implements the method, including: controlling the display to display a plurality of elements on the display, receiving a user input requesting resizing of the display area, in response to the user input, identifying a core element among the displayed plurality of elements, resizing the display area based on the received user input and the identified core element, wherein a first window in which the core element is displayed is resized in proportion to resizing of the display area.
Jung et al. US 20230102237 A1
Par. 123; For example, a touch input or hovering input may be generated on the display 512 or flexible touchscreen display layer (e.g., the display 212 of FIG. 2) by the dielectric protrusion 511, and the position or coordinates of the touch input or hovering input may be detected.
Par. 136; According to various embodiments, as the size of the surface (e.g., the first surface 212a and/or second surface 212b of FIG. 2) exposed to the outside is changed, the size of the display area (e.g., the display area of FIG. 1A or 2) (in other words, active area) of the flexible display 112 may be changed (e.g., enlarged or shrunken).
KIM; Youngrog et al. US 20220147196 A1
Par. 166; If default information is stored that sets a default core element, such as a replay button 1320 or a first window 1316 including the replay button 1320, and the display 110 is enlarged, then an enlarged screen area of the display 110 may be displayed based on the replay button 1320 or the first window 1316 set as the default core element.
Par. 172; In operation 1420, the electronic device 100 may determine whether the display 110 is enlarged/reduced. For example, upon reception of a user input (e.g., a slide-in/slide-out input or a roll-in/roll-out input) that enlarges the size of the display 110, the electronic device 100 may identify whether an event for enlarging/reducing the display 110 occurs.
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172