DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 9/18/2024 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 3-14 and 17-20 are amended, and claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
This application is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/CN2023/077132, filed on February 20, 20023, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202210191233.9, filed on February 28, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) is submitted on 12/23/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “is invokes” on line 14. Examiner suggests changing the limitation to “invokes”, or similar wording.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (WO 2019014881 A1 and Zhao hereinafter), in view of Zhang (WO 2015100660 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a call method, applied to a first electronic device (Figure 20; first device), wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first message, wherein the first message indicates a first incoming call and the first electronic device is configured with a subscriber identity module (SIM) card having a first number (Page 27 Step S1802; first device receives, by the base station, a first paging request, where the first paging request is that the third device requests the base station to initiate a paging request to the SIM card of the second device. Page 23; mobile phone 800 (i.e., the first device) comprises a local SIM card, that is, “China Mobile” 801. Page 6; communication number of the first device); and
when the first message satisfies a first condition that the first message comprises first information indicating that the first incoming call is forwarded from a second number (Page 27 Step S1802; the first paging request is that the third device requests the base station to initiate a paging request to the SIM card of the second device. Page 23; SIM card of smart watch 400 that is “China Telecom (network)” 802. Pages 26-27; the first device to perform the wireless communication corresponding to the SIM card of the second device according to the SIM card information of the second device):
sending a second message to a second electronic device (Figure 20 and Page 27 Step S2001; the first device sends the caller information corresponding to the first paging request to the second device) through a first connection set up between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Figure 20 and Page 19 Step S501; the first device establishes a wireless short-distance communication connection with the second device), wherein the second electronic device is configured with a SIM card having the second number (Page 23; SIM card of smart watch 400 that is “China Telecom (network)” 802. Pages 26-27; the first device to perform the wireless communication corresponding to the SIM card of the second device according to the SIM card information of the second device) and the second message is invokes an incoming call notification of the first incoming call on the second electronic device (Figure 20 and Page 27 Steps S2002 and S2003; the second device receives the incoming call information corresponding to the first paging request sent by the first device, and performs an incoming call alert according to the incoming call information corresponding to the first paging request).
Zhao does not explicitly teach skipping, by the first electronic device, outputting the incoming call notification of the first incoming call. In an analogous art, Zhang teaches skipping, by the first electronic device, outputting the incoming call notification of the first incoming call (Figure 1 and Page 8 Step S101; when the first terminal acquires the alert message, the first terminal determines the target terminal that is determined from the multiple associated terminals. Figure 1 and Page 11 Steps 102-103; when any second terminal is the target terminal, the first terminal sends a reminder message to the target terminal, so that the target terminal prompts the user according to the reminder message. Thus the prompts/alerts are not displayed at the first terminal when the target terminal is not the first terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao and Zhang because it would improve efficiency of the user processing the reminding message that may be easy to miss (Zhang, Page 2).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches incoming call notification of the first incoming call on the first electronic device (Page 20 and Page 27 Step S1804; the first device performs an incoming call reminder according to the incoming call information corresponding to the first paging request).
In addition, Zhang teaches when the first message does not satisfy the first condition (Figure 1 and Page 11 Steps S102-S103; when the first terminal is the target terminal, [thus does not satisfy the first condition], the first terminal prompts the user according to the reminder message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao and Zhang because it would improve efficiency of the user processing the reminding message that may be easy to miss (Zhang, Page 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches before the receiving the first message, receiving a third message that comprises the second number (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device by using a wireless short-range communication connection. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device); and before the receiving the first message, sending the first number (Figure 20 and Page 20 Steps S504a-504b; the first device sends a SIM card information read instruction to the second device. Page 21 Steps S504c-S504d; the second device sends the SIM card information of the second device to the first device. Examiner asserts that both first device and second device have the capability and can exchange SIM card information with each other, since the call transfer could be made from mobile phone 800 to smart watch 400).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches wherein the receiving the third message comprises: receiving the third message sent by the second electronic device through the first connection (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device by using a wireless short-range communication connection. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device); and the sending the first number comprises: sending the first number to the second electronic device through the first connection (Figure 20 and Page 20 Steps S504a-504b; the first device sends a SIM card information read instruction to the second device. Page 21 Steps S504c-S504d; the second device sends the SIM card information of the second device to the first device. Examiner asserts that both first device and second device have the capability and can exchange SIM card information with each other, since the call transfer could be made from mobile phone 800 to smart watch 400).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites similar features as claim 1, but including steps performed by second electronic device that is in communication with the first electronic device. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Zhao teaches a communication apparatus (Page 8; first device), comprising: at least one processor (Page 8; first device comprising a processor); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the communication apparatus to perform functions (Page 8; the memory for storing computer program code, the computer program code comprising instructions when the processor When the instructions are executed, the first device performs the wireless communication method as described).
Claims 5-8, 11-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Zhang, as applied to the claims above, further in view of Defiebre et al. (US 20200267217 A1 and Defiebre hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches wherein the receiving the third message comprises: receiving the third message (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device. Figure 20; the first device is in communication with the base station, and may receive the third message via the base station); and the sending the first number comprises: sending the first number to the second electronic device (Figure 20 and Page 20 Steps S504a-504b; the first device sends a SIM card information read instruction to the second device. Page 21 Steps S504c-S504d; the second device sends the SIM card information of the second device to the first device. Examiner asserts that both first device and second device have the capability and can exchange SIM card information with each other, since the call transfer could be made from mobile phone 800 to smart watch 400. Figure 20; the first and second device are both in communication with the base station, and may transmit the first number to the base station and then to second electronic device).
The combination of Zhao and Zhang does not explicitly teach receiving message sent by a first network device and sending the first number to the first network device, wherein the first network device is configured to send the first number to the second electronic device. In an analogous art, Defiebre teaches receiving message sent by a first network device (Figure 6 and Paragraphs 0118 and 0121; Device D1 requesting a partner to connect with, the RM convey to device D1 that the affinity with device D2 has been found. With the relationship established, both devices D1, D2 can add each other to their list of communication partners, with appropriate connection channel information as indicated by arrows 666, 656 respectively); and sending the first number to the first network device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0118; device D1 making a call to Relationship Manager (RM) requesting a partner to connect with. RM can have access to the profile of device D1 and also its attributes. Figure 2; device attributes may include device ID), wherein the first network device is configured to send the first number to the second electronic device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0121; the RM convey to device D1 that the affinity with device D2 has been found. With the relationship established, both devices D1, D2 can add each other to their list of communication partners, with appropriate connection channel information as indicated by arrows 666, 656 respectively). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Defiebre because it would improve technologies to identify partner devices having affinity with a given device, and to build a logical network of such devices (Defiebre, Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches when a first address is a preset trusted address (Figure 11 and Page 24; when user click the settings option of the smart watch to configure “communication transfer” option. Figure 14 and Page 20; when receiving foregoing function transfer request, the first device acquires SIM card information of the second device), receiving the third message (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device).
In addition, Defiebre teaches message sent by the first network device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0118; device D1 making a call to Relationship Manager (RM) requesting a partner to connect with. RM can have access to the profile of device D1 and also its attributes. Figure 2; device attributes may include device ID); wherein the first address is a communication address that is of the first electronic device and that is for implementing the first connection (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0121; the RM convey to device D1 that the affinity with device D2 has been found. With the relationship established, both devices D1, D2 can add each other to their list of communication partners, with appropriate connection channel information as indicated by arrows 666, 656 respectively). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Defiebre because it would improve technologies to identify partner devices having affinity with a given device, and to build a logical network of such devices (Defiebre, Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches wherein the preset trusted address is a communication address of a call forwarding target device set by a user (Figure 15 and Page 25; "communication transfer control interface" 1502 may include an identifier of a device (ie, the mobile phone 1200). When the user selects the mobile phone 800 as the first device and clicks the "OK" button 1503 in FIG. 15(b), the mobile phone 1200 can display as shown in FIG. 15(c). Communication transfer prompt window" 1504).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above. Further, Defiebre teaches sending a fourth message to the first network device that comprises the first number and the first address, wherein the first address is the communication address of the first electronic device for implementing the first connection (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0118; device D1 making a call to Relationship Manager (RM) requesting a partner to connect with. RM can have access to the profile of device D1 and also its attributes. Figure 2; device attributes may include device ID). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Defiebre because it would improve technologies to identify partner devices having affinity with a given device, and to build a logical network of such devices (Defiebre, Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches before the receiving the second message sent by the first electronic device through the first connection (Figure 20 and Page 27 Steps S2002 and S2003; the second device receives the incoming call information corresponding to the first paging request sent by the first device, and performs an incoming call alert according to the incoming call information corresponding to the first paging request), receiving the first number (Figure 20 and Page 20 Steps S504a-504b; the first device sends a SIM card information read instruction to the second device. Page 21 Steps S504c-S504d; the second device sends the SIM card information of the second device to the first device. Examiner asserts that both first device and second device have the capability and can exchange SIM card information with each other, since the call transfer could be made from mobile phone 800 to smart watch 400); sending a third message comprising the first number (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device by using a wireless short-range communication connection. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device), wherein the third message is a request to implement a first configuration that comprises a call forwarding configuration for forwarding an incoming call for the second number to the first number (Figure 20 and Page 26 Step S1402; the second device sends a function transfer request to the first device by using a wireless short-range communication connection. Figure 20 and Page 21 Steps 504c-504d; the first device receives the SIM card information of the second device that is sent by the second device); and disabling a cellular communication function (Figure 20 and Page 25; disconnect the wireless communication connection between the second device and the base station).
The combination of Zhao and Zhang does not explicitly teach sending a message to a first network device. In an analogous art, Defiebre teaches sending a message to a first network device (Figure 6 and Paragraphs 0118 and 0121; Device D1 requesting a partner to connect with, the RM convey to device D1 that the affinity with device D2 has been found. With the relationship established, both devices D1, D2 can add each other to their list of communication partners, with appropriate connection channel information as indicated by arrows 666, 656 respectively). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Defiebre because it would improve technologies to identify partner devices having affinity with a given device, and to build a logical network of such devices (Defiebre, Paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Claim 12 recites similar features as claim 4, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Claim 13 recites similar features as claims 5 and 8, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claims 5 and 8.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, as described above. Claim 14 recites similar features as claim 6, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 14, as described above. Claim 15 recites similar features as claim 7, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 13, as described above. Further, Defiebre teaches sending a fifth message to the second network device (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0120; device D2 responding to RM (relationship manager) with its profile), wherein the fifth message comprises a second address and the second number (Figure 2; device attributes may include device ID), and the second address is a communication address that is of the second electronic device and that is for implementing the first connection (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0118 and 0121; device D1 making a call to Relationship Manager (RM) requesting a partner to connect with. With the relationship established, both devices D1, D2 can add each other to their list of communication partners, with appropriate connection channel information as indicated by arrows 666, 656 respectively).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches receiving a second user operation for setting up a second connection between the second electronic device and a third electronic device (Figure 5 and Page 19 Step S501; the first device establishes a wireless short-distance communication connection with the second device. Examiner asserts that the watch 400 may connect to different devices via short-distance communication connection); and outputting second prompt information in response to the second user operation; and outputting second prompt information in response to the second user operation (Figures 7 and 21-24; shows various displays that show prompt information in response to user operation).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Zhang, as applied to the claims above, further in view of Bakker et al. (US 20160014581 A1 and Bakker hereinafter).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches wherein the first information is a redirecting party number (Figure 15 and Page 25; "communication transfer control interface" 1502 may include an identifier of a device (ie, the mobile phone 1200). When the user selects the mobile phone 800 as the first device and clicks the "OK" button 1503 in FIG. 15(b), the mobile phone 1200 can display as shown in FIG. 15(c). Communication transfer prompt window" 1504).
The combination of Zhao and Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first information is a history targeted uniform resource identifier hi-targeted-to-uri or a binary-coded decimal (BCD) number. In an analogous art, Bakker teaches wherein the first information is a history targeted uniform resource identifier hi-targeted-to-uri or a binary-coded decimal (BCD) number (Paragraph 0022; communication diversion can provide features such as call forwarding, call forwarding on busy, and similar options that allow a call to be redirected to a node different from the node to which the call was originally directed. Paragraphs 0026, 0027 and 0030; Node A 110a places a call to Node B 110b, and Node B has a call forwarding feature to Node C. Whenever the application server 108 diverts a call from node B 110b to node C 110c, the application server 108 can transmit a call diversion reason code 120 to node B 110b to indicate the reason for the diversion. In the History-Info header field, first entry can be added that includes the hi-targeted-to-uri of the served user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Bakker because it would allow packets in a call or session to be transmitted from a source to a destination along different paths (Bakker, Paragraph 0003).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Zhang and Defiebre, as applied to the claims above, further in view of Ge et al. (US 20120165006 A1 and Ge hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above.
The combination of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre does not explicitly teach when a duration for which the first connection is broken exceeds preset duration, enabling the cellular communication function; and sending a sixth message to the first network device for requesting to cancel the first configuration. In an analogous art, Ge teaches when a duration for which the first connection is broken exceeds preset duration, enabling the cellular communication function; and sending a sixth message to the first network device for requesting to cancel the first configuration (Figure 21 and Paragraph 0155; mobile terminal 120 may regularly check connection signal strength of the Bluetooth link (2322) and determine whether the signal strength is below a threshold (2324). If mobile terminal 120 determines that the signal strength is lower than a threshold (2324, Yes), mobile terminal 120 may disconnect from voice relay 110 and switch back to the cellular network to use cellular unit 424 to make/receive phone calls (2326). Voice relay 110 may also cancel "call forward" with core network 102 to allow incoming calls destined for mobile terminal 120 to go directly to mobile terminal 120 via the cellular network. If mobile terminal 120 determines that the signal strength is not lower than a threshold (2324, No), mobile terminal 120 may continue using the Bluetooth link with voice relay 110 and also continue monitoring the signal strength from 2322). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao/Zhang/Defiebre and Ge because it would improve provide signal service to user without increase radiation, electromagnetic pollution, complex and cost (Ge, Paragraphs 0003 and 0004).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Zhang, as applied to the claims above, further in view of Ge.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhao and Zhang teaches all of the limitations of claim 10, as described above. Further, Zhao teaches outputting first prompt information in response to first user operation (Figures 7 and 21-24; shows various displays that show prompt information in response to user operation).
The combination of Zhao and Zhang does not explicitly teach receiving a first user operation for disabling a communication function for implementing the first connection. In an analogous art, Ge teaches receiving a first user operation for disabling a communication function for implementing the first connection (Figure 21 and Paragraph 0155; mobile terminal 120 may regularly check connection signal strength of the Bluetooth link (2322) and determine whether the signal strength is below a threshold (2324). If mobile terminal 120 determines that the signal strength is lower than a threshold (2324, Yes), mobile terminal 120 may disconnect from voice relay 110 and switch back to the cellular network to use cellular unit 424 to make/receive phone calls (2326)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhao, Zhang and Ge because it would improve provide signal service to user without increase radiation, electromagnetic pollution, complex and cost (Ge, Paragraphs 0003 and 0004).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie et al. (CN 113923611 A) discloses call forwarding via Bluetooth connection after closing cellular communication function.
Conclusion
/Jing Gao/
Examiner, Art Unit 2647