DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 26, 2024, have been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakanishi (U.S. 20085/0239058).
Nakanishi discloses a ceramic insulating substrate and a glaze layer (paragraph 26) where the article has ribs spaced from each other in a secondary scanning direction (paragraph 31). Figure 2b of Nakanishi shows a plurality of first ribs formed on the substrate; a glaze layer disposed on the substrate to cover the plurality of first ribs, where the plurality of first ribs extend in a first direction and spaced in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, as shown below:
, as in claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi (U.S. 20085/0239058).
Nakanishi is taken as above. Nakanishi discloses a ceramic insulating substrate and a glaze layer (paragraph 26) where the article has ribs spaced from each other in a secondary scanning direction (paragraph 31). Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the glaze layer; however thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04, as in claims 2-3.
Concerning claim 4, Nakanishi discloses a ceramic insulating substrate and a glaze layer (paragraph 26) where the article has ribs spaced from each other in a secondary scanning direction (paragraph 31). Figure 2a shows a plurality of second ribs on the substrate.
Concerning claims 5-6, Nakanishi discloses a ceramic insulating substrate and a glaze layer (paragraph 26) where the article has ribs spaced from each other in a secondary scanning direction (paragraph 31). In claim 5, the phrase, “ribs are each composed of material that is a sintered compact including a plurality of grains” introduces a process limitation to the product claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781