1.Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, line 2, it is unclear what “fluid” is being referred to and such should clearly be set forth. As it stands, any fluid that would be within the lenticule will be considered to be encompassed by the claim. Also, in claim 7, line 3, “the controller” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 8, line 3, “the hydrating fluid” also lacks antecedent basis.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller 2014/0264980 (see paragraphs 0046-0053; Figs. 8 and 16C).
Mueller discloses the basic claimed system for forming a corneal implant including a receptacle (64 in Fig. 16C) configured to receive a lenticule (52) formed from corneal tissue and a cutting apparatus including a laser to cut the lenticule, the applied reference essentially failing to disclose one or more optical elements to direct the laser. It is nothing but conventional in the art to employ such optics—Official Notice is hereby taken of this—and such would have been an obvious modification to the system of Mueller to facilitate the cutting as desired. Concerning maintaining the state of the lenticule, paragraph 0052, line 3 teaches a “controlled environment” in which all operations are performed and such would have clearly been used in the cutting and for the receptacle of Fig. 16C. Paragraph 0052, line 4 discloses “same state of hydration”, thereby meeting instant claim 2. Employing a temperature element or humidifier is nothing but conventional in the art—Official Notice is hereby taken of this—to maintain a state of a material to be processed and including such as part of the receptacle would have been obvious to ensure that the state of the lenticule is maintained. Given that the state of the lenticule is to be maintained, then a sealed enclosure as recited in instant claims 4 and 5 would obviously have been useful to facilitate the maintenance. Further, it is submitted that sealed enclosures to process biological substrates are well known in the art—Official Notice is also hereby taken of this—and such would have been an obvious modification to the system of Mueller to facilitate the “conduction in a controlled environment” so that the lenticule is “maintained in the same state of hydration” as taught by Mueller. Obviously, if the lenticule is contained within an enclosure, and is to be cut with a laser, there would beneficially be a laser transparent window in or on the enclosure. It is submitted that such windows are conventional in the art—Official Notice is also taken of this—and such would have been an obvious feature in the system of the applied reference to allow the laser beam to pass through and perform the ablation of the lenticule.
3.Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller 2014/02649809 in view of Swinger 5,647,865 (see Fig. 3 and col. 5, lines 1-17).
Mueller discloses the basic claimed system as set forth in paragraph 2, supra, including a receptacle (64 in Fig. 16C) with one or more evacuation mechanisms (86 in Fig. 16C) that are connected to a vacuum source (paragraph 0066) to hold the lenticule in place and to draw any fluid therefrom (paragraph 0079), the primary reference essentially lacking the aspect of the receptacle including a recess to receive the lenticule and fluid. Swinger shows a similar receptacle that has a recess configured to receive a lenticule and such would have been an obvious modification to the receptacle of Mueller to facilitate the accurate placement and cutting of the lenticule. Mueller (see paragraphs 0073 and 0083) discloses that the steps of the process are automated under the control of a controller, and clearly the laser cutting would have been under such control.
5.Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,449,090. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the previously issued patent recite substantially the same or similar system with additional features that are not recited in the instant claims. It is always within the skill level of the art to eliminate features that are not needed.
6.Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,952,900. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the previously issued patent recite substantially the same or similar system with additional features that are not recited in the instant claims. It is always within the skill level of the art to eliminate features that are not needed.
7.Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,070,422. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the previously issued patent recite substantially the same or similar system with additional features that are not recited in the instant claims. It is always within the skill level of the art to eliminate features that are not needed.
/MATHIEU D VARGOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742