DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument (on page 1) that “neither Fig. 2 nor the disclosure of Muralimanohar discloses that the memory dies 201 and 202 of Fig. 2 of Muralimanohar are “integrated circuit” dies, as recited in Claim 1”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 2 of Muralimanohar discloses memory die 201 and 202 having a plurality of mats. Muralimanohar further teaches that the mats within the stacked memory utilize memory types that include DRAM, other non-volatile memory, phase-change random access memory, memristors, etc. (Paragraph 18) and also includes at least one of a local decoder, predecoder, multiplexor, de-multiplexor, address generation module, TSV controller, and other logical circuits necessary to read or write data (Paragraph 17). Therefore, the mats on each of the memory die 201 and 202 include various integrated circuits for transmitting data along the TSVs.
With respect to Applicant’s argument (on page 2) that “the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is improper at least because the Action fails to make a prima facie case of unpatentability”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1, 6 and 8 of ‘599 and claim 1 of the instant application contain substantially similar subject matter as can be shown below.
Instant Application 18815521
Patent Number 12,074,599
(Original) A device, comprising:
a first integrated circuit die;
a second integrated circuit die stacked on top of the first integrated circuit die; and
the first integrated circuit die connected to the second integrated circuit die by at least one through-silicon via.
1. An integrated circuit device, comprising:
a plurality of integrated circuit dies configured in a stack, wherein memory cells and logic circuits are formed on the plurality of integrated circuit dies, wherein the stack is partitioned into a plurality of columns that are perpendicular to the plurality of integrated circuit dies; and
routes configurable to bypass at least a part of a respective column in the plurality of columns and re-route functionality of the respective column to at least a part of a different column of the plurality of columns.
6. The integrated circuit device of claim 1, wherein the different column is a spare column configured to receive re-routed functionality from one or more other columns including the respective column.
8. The integrated circuit device of claim 6, wherein the respective column comprises through silicon vias connecting portions of the plurality of integrated circuit dies in the respective column.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muralimanohar (US 2012/0017065).
With respect to claim 1,
Figure 2 of Muralimanohar discloses a device, comprising:
a first integrated circuit die (202);
a second integrated circuit die (201) stacked on top of the first integrated circuit die (see Figure 2); and
the first integrated circuit die connected to the second integrated circuit die by at least one through-silicon via (224).
With respect to claim 2,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a first plurality of functional block of memory elements (see MATs on 202 – such as 225) and the second integrated circuit die comprises a second plurality of functional block of memory elements (see MATS on 201 – such as 207-222).
With respect to claim 3,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first plurality of functional block of memory elements comprises a first block of memory elements and a second block of memory elements (see 225 and neighboring MAT on 202).
With respect to claim 4,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first block of memory elements is connected to the second block of memory elements by an interconnect (Paragraph 23 – where similar to 201, 202 has a center bus connecting each of the MATs).
With respect to claim 5,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the second plurality of functional block of memory elements (see MATS on 201 – such as 207-222) comprises a third block of memory elements (219) and a fourth block of memory elements (215).
With respect to claim 6,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first block of memory elements is connected to the third block of memory elements by a first through-silicon via of the at least one through-silicon via (see Figure 2 – where 225 is connected to 219 with TSV 224).
With respect to claim 7,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the second block of memory elements is connected to the fourth block of memory elements by a second through-silicon via of the at least one through-silicon via (see Figure 2 – where 215 is connected to the neighboring block of 225 with TSV 224).
With respect to claim 8,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a first non-volatile memory die and the second integrated circuit die comprises a second non-volatile memory die (Paragraph 18).
With respect to claim 9,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a non-volatile memory die and the second integrated circuit die comprises a processing logic die (Paragraphs 17-18).
With respect to claim 10,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a processing logic die and the second integrated circuit die comprises a volatile memory die (Paragraphs 17-18).
With respect to claim 11,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the at least one through-silicon via comprises a first at least one through-silicon via (see 224 of Figure 2), and wherein the device further comprises a third integrated circuit die stacked on top of the second integrated circuit die, wherein the second integrated circuit die is connected to the third integrated circuit die by a second at least one through-silicon via (see Figure 1 – where stacked memory 104 includes four die that are stacked).
With respect to claim 12,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a volatile memory die, the second integrated circuit die comprises a processing logic die, and the third integrated circuit die comprises a non-volatile memory die (Paragraphs 17-18 and 22).
With respect to claim 13,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first integrated circuit die comprises a processing logic die, the second integrated circuit die comprises a first non-volatile memory die, and the third integrated circuit die comprises a second non-volatile memory die (Paragraphs 17-18 and 22).
With respect to claim 14,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the device is partitioned into a plurality of columns each comprising a respective functional block of each of the first integrated circuit die, the second integrated circuit die, and the third integrated circuit die (Paragraph 16 – where dies are layered in a one to one configuration).
With respect to claim 17,
Figure 2 of Muralimanohar discloses a device, comprising:
a first integrated circuit die (202); and
a second integrated circuit die (201) stacked on top of the first integrated circuit die (see Figure 2), wherein:
a first functional block (225) of the first integrated circuit die (202) is connected to a first functional block (219) of the second integrated circuit die (201) by a first through-silicon via (224 – see Figure 2), and
a second functional block (mat adjacent to 225 on the left) of the first integrated circuit die (202) is connected to a second functional block (215) of the second integrated circuit die (201) by a second through-silicon via (another 224 – see Figure 2).
With respect to claim 18,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein:
the first functional block (225) of the first integrated circuit die is connected to the second functional block (mat adjacent to 225 on the left) of the first integrated circuit die by a first interconnect (223 of 202),
the first functional block (219) of the second integrated circuit die is connected to the second functional block (215) of the second integrated circuit die by a second interconnect (223 of 201), and
the first interconnect is connected to the second interconnect by a third through-silicon via (where the center bus of each memory die is electrically connected by 224).
With respect to claim 19,
Muralimanohar further teaches wherein the first functional block (225) of the first integrated circuit die is connected to five to eight other functional blocks (see Figure 2) of the first integrated circuit die via interconnects (223).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 appears to comprise allowable subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,599. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they essentially teach similar subject matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANY RICHARDSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845