DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 08/26/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 12 and 20 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2024, 10/07/2024 and 10/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Domestic Benefit
Domestic Benefit for November 1st, 2023 is acknowledged for application 18/499,974.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter without significantly more
Regarding claim 1:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid of pen and paper. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose subsets of features based on an opinion of dependencies between how closely each element depends on the other. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose each feature groups elements/features. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites identify a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf, and based on the corresponding local feature groups which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to follow conditions down a tree to form a path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass choosing a set of values and using judgment to map the values. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on: the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites and compute, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record. which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
A computing platform comprising: at least one processor; non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to which recites a generic computer on which to perform the abstract idea, e.g. "apply it on a computer" (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
input the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
a trained data science model is configured to…each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to which recites a generic computer on which to perform the abstract idea, e.g. "apply it on a computer" (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a respective subset of the features as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional elements (a) and (f) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP §2106.05(f).
Additional element (b) (c) and (g) recites receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
Additional elements (d) (e) and (h) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation merely links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The additional element(s) (a) – (h) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites for each individual decision tree in the ensemble, generate a first matrix of weights, wherein each first weight in the first matrix corresponds to a respective subset pair comprising a first subset of the local feature groups and a second subset of the local feature groups which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid of pen and paper. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose a value for each pair of elements for two sets of groups. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites for each individual decision tree in the ensemble: generate a second matrix of weights and a third matrix of weights, wherein, for each of a plurality of mixed pairs comprising (i) a respective one of the local feature groups and (ii) a respective subset pair, there is a second corresponding weight in the second matrix and a third corresponding weight in the third matrix which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid of pen and paper. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose values for pair of elements for two sets of groups. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites identify at least one reason code for the score based on the respective overall contribution values for the individual features in the set of features which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using judgement to interpret information and using evaluation to choosing a reason for an outcome/score. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
transmit the score and the at least one reason code in response to the request which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional element (a) recites receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
The additional element(s) (a) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 1 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
prior to receiving the request, train the trained data science model against training data that comprises a plurality of training data records recites the Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity of training a neural network with training data(see MPEP §2106.05(g))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional element (a) recites a well understood and conventional practice of training a neural network with a predetermined loss function quoted from A Review on Conventional Machine Learning vs Deep Learning (Page 1, Col. 2, Paragraph 3, “Conventional machine learning algorithms are based on learning of system by training set to develop a trained model”)
The additional element(s) (a) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites identifying each realizable path from the root of the individual decision tree to each realizable leaf in the individual decision tree, respectively which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using observation to trace paths and judgement to determine each realizable path down a tree. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using determining a score to represent each path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to determine multiple similar criterion at the same level. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to determine data meets a criteria. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, identifying a respective group of realizable paths such that for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset, the respective path and the realizable paths in the respective group have a same path direction from that level to a next level of the individual decision tree which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to group paths with matching directions/path direction. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites and for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites generating, based on the identified groups of realizable paths for the respective path and based on the computed marginal path expectations, a vector of sums of marginal path expectations. which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 8:
The rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites identifying a selected path to be evaluated for realizability which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass a using observation and evaluation for selecting/choosing a path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites detecting that a first splitting condition for a first edge in the selected path and a second splitting condition for a second edge in the path contradict each other; and excluding the selected path from a list of realizable paths which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass a using observation to choose a path based on using logical reasoning to evaluate splitting conditions. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites based on the identifier of the leaf, determining a set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in a data structure, wherein the determined set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in the data structure is the set of respective individual contribution values which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid such as pen and paper The limitations encompass evaluating a lookup table and retrieving an associated contribution values based on a identifier . See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
receiving an identifier of a leaf selected from a decision tree in the ensemble which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional element (a) recites receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
The additional element(s) (a) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of claim 9 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites identifying each realizable path from the root of the individual decision tree to each realizable leaf in the individual decision tree, respectively which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using observation to trace paths and judgement to determine each realizable path down a tree. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using determining a score to represent each path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to determine multiple similar criterion at the same level. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to determine data meets a criteria. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, identifying a respective group of realizable paths such that for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset, the respective path and the realizable paths in the respective group have a same path direction from that level to a next level of the individual decision tree which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass using evaluation to group paths with matching directions/path direction. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites and for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 2 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include any additional element, when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 11:
The rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and further claim recites further additional
elements/limitations:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim does not contain elements that would warrant a Step 2A Prong 1 analysis.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
wherein the at least one reason code comprises a model reason code (MRC) or an adverse action reason code (AARC) which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional element (a) recites further details concerning the data that is receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
The additional element(s) (a) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 12:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid of pen and paper. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose subsets of features based on an opinion of dependencies between how closely each element depends on the other. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose each feature groups elements/features. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites identify a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf, and based on the corresponding local feature groups which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to follow conditions down a tree to form a path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass choosing a set of values and using judgment to map the values. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on: the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites and compute, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record. which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
receive a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
input the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
a trained data science model is configured to …each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to which recites a generic computer on which to perform the abstract idea, e.g. "apply it on a computer" (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a respective subset of the features as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional elements (e) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP §2106.05(f).
Additional element (a) (b) and (f) recites receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
Additional elements (c) (d) and (g) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation merely links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The additional element(s) (a) – (g) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of claim 13 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 5.
Regarding claim 17:
The rejection of claim 16 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18:
The rejection of claim 17 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19:
The rejection of claim 17 is incorporated in the claim. Further, the claim is rejected under that same 101 claim analysis due to the substantially similarity of the limitations and additional elements of claim 8.
Regarding claim 20:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind with physical aid of pen and paper. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose subsets of features based on an opinion of dependencies between how closely each element depends on the other. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to choose each feature groups elements/features. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites identify a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf, and based on the corresponding local feature groups which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass evaluating and using judgement to follow conditions down a tree to form a path. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The limitations encompass choosing a set of values and using judgment to map the values. See 2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
The claim recites for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on: the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
The claim recites and compute, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record. which is an abstract idea (Mathematical Calculations (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing platform to which recites a generic computer on which to perform the abstract idea, e.g. "apply it on a computer" (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
input the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
a trained data science model is configured to…each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to which recites a generic computer on which to perform the abstract idea, e.g. "apply it on a computer" (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a respective subset of the features as input which amount to mere extra solution activity of obtaining and/or gathering data over a network, see MPEP §2106.05(g)
within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features which is linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Additional elements (a) and (f) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP §2106.05(f).
Additional element (b) (c) and (g) recites receiving and sending inputs/outputs which is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of “transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) using the Internet to gather data, buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
Additional elements (d) (e) and (h) do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application nor do the additional limitation provide significantly more than the abstract idea because the limitation merely links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use(see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The additional element(s) (a) – (h) in the claim do/does not include any additional elements , when considered separately and in combination, that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons set forth in step 2A prong 2 analysis above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prokhorenkova et al(“CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features”, henceforth known as Prokhorenkova) in view of Yang(“Fast TreeSHAP: Accelerating SHAP Value Computation for Trees” henceforth known as Yang) and further in view of Miroshnikov(“Mutual information-based group explainers with coalition structure for machine learning model explanations” henceforth known as Miroshnikov)
Regarding claim 1:
Prokhorenkova discloses at least one processor; non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to(Prokhorenkova, Page 17, Paragraph 6, “We run all experiments on the same machine with Intel Xeon E3-12xx 2.6GHz, 16 cores, 64GB RAM and run all algorithms with 16 threads”
Prokhorenkova discloses receive a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input(Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “Given all the trees constructed, the leaf values of the final model F are calculated by the standard gradient boosting procedure equally for both modes. Training examples i are matched to leaves leaf0(i)…When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time” where using model F with new testing examples corresponds to receiving a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input as testing examples are matched to leaves of the tree)
Prokhorenkova discloses input the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model(Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time”), wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors” where implementing gradient boosting with multiple binary decision trees corresponds to a trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees)
Prokhorenkova discloses each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree. Such trees are balanced…”), each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to receive a respective subset of the features as input(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t”), and within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree” and Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t” where the oblivious decision trees having the same splitting criterion used is used across an entire level of the tree and the splitting criterion being attributes that identify some feature xk exceeding a threshold corresponds to within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features)
Prokhorenkova discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble identify a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space Rm into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t…Each final region (leaf of the tree) is assigned to a value, which is an estimate of the response y in the region for the regression task or the predicted class label in the case of classification problem” where the decision tree evaluating splitting criterion being based on thresholds down to the leaf and having a value assigned to the leaf corresponds to identifying a leaf that satisfies actual parameters a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree), and
Prokhorenkova discloses compute, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record(Prokhorenkova, Page 16, Algorithm 3, Line 15, where the return statement uses x as the input feature vector)
Prokhorenkova does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature
based on the corresponding local feature groups, determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Yang discloses assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk. Moreover, we denote the feature subspaces restricted by the thresholds along the path Pk” where each tree contains a path containing feature set used for splitting with feature-specific thresholds corresponds to for each individual decision tree in the ensemble assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature)
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the model with local accuracy, missingness and consistency with SHAP values. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 1, “SHAP values are the single unique solution of φi’s in the class of additive surrogate explanation models g(z) that satisfies three desirable properties: local accuracy, missingness, and consistency. To compute SHAP values we denote fS(x) as the model output restricted to the feature subset…and the SHAP values are then computed”
Yang discloses based on the corresponding local feature groups(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “…sequentially calculate S for each tree…” where each tree contains features and each tree corresponds toa local feature group), determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree(Yang, Algorithm 2, “ Check if we are at a leaf node…
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∈ Sk3….
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
(
1
-
m
i
.
z
)
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∉ Sk” where checking for leaf nodes and the leaf algorithms that update contribution for features correspond to” (See also Yang, Page 19, Algorithm 4 that performs a similar analysis under “Check if we are at a leaf node”))
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the storing of contribution scores and precomputing using SHAP values to allow for precomputing instead of recalculating them for each observation and saving computation efforts. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 1, Paragraph 1, “SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) calculates SHAP values quantifying the contribution of each feature to the model prediction, by incorporating concepts from game theory and local explanations” and Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1, “In fact, what we just proposed is to trade space complexity for time complexity. This should significantly save computational efforts when there exist redundant computations of…cross samples”
Prokhorenkova-Yang does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Miroshnikov discloses partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features(Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, "Given predictors X = (X1,X2,...,Xn), the objective is to identify disjoint sets Sj ⊆ {1,2,...,n} that yield a partition P = {S1,S2,...,Sr} of predictors’ indices, so that XS1 ,XS2 ,...,XSr form weakly independent unions such that within each group the predictors share a significant amount of mutual information” where Miroshnikov’s predictors X correspond to a set of features and the partitions elements S correspond to a global feature groups and the creations of partitions based on mutual information corresponds to partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include partitioning of features into feature groups based on dependency of Miroshnikov to reduce explanation complexity . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, “…Such partitioning would effectively reduce the dimensionality of the problem and consequently, the complexity of explanation” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Miroshnikov discloses for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature(Miroshnikov, Page 46, Paragraph 3, “We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves” where computing the sum of explanations of each feature group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves corresponds to for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature (See also Miroshnikov, Page 3, Paragraph 8,“Given a partition P of predictors into weakly independent groups and a linear game value h, we first study trivial explainers…which are formed via summation”)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include the computation of the partitioned feature groups of Miroshnikov to capture collective explanatory significance that may be obscured by individual feature attribution and improve explanations . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 45, Paragraph 3, “…We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves. Recall from §5.4.2 that the group sums are equal to the quotient Shapley values in view of the (QP) property” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Regarding claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “…sequentially calculate S for each tree…”) generate a first matrix of weights, wherein each first weight in the first matrix corresponds to a respective subset pair comprising a first subset of the local feature groups and a second subset of the local feature groups(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 2, “S is a matrix of size L × 2D where each row records the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} for one path Pk, and the subsets C in each row are ordered according to the reverse ordering of binary digits. W is a matrix of size 2D × (D + 1), where each row corresponds to a subset C ⊂ Dk” where S is a matrix and each row corresponds to a different root-to-leaf path, which has an associated feature subset and sequence of split features)
Regarding claim 3:
The rejection of claim 2 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “…sequentially calculate S for each tree…”) generate a second matrix of weights and a third matrix of weights, wherein, for each of a plurality of mixed pairs comprising (i) a respective one of the local feature groups and (ii) a respective subset pair, there is a second corresponding weight in the second matrix and a third corresponding weight in the third matrix(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 2, “S is a matrix of size L × 2D where each row records the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} for one path Pk, and the subsets C in each row are ordered according to the reverse ordering of binary digits. W is a matrix of size 2D × (D + 1), where each row corresponds to a subset C ⊂ Dk” where each column of each row corresponds to a second matrix that contains a mixed pairs with weights/values as each column of each row is a subset of features on a respective path and W corresponds to a third matrix )
Regarding claim 4:
The rejection of claim 1 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses identify at least one reason code for the score based on the respective overall contribution values for the individual features in the set of features; and transmit the score and the at least one reason code in response to the request(Yang, Page 19, Algorithm 4, “RECURSE(0,[],1,1,1,−1) return φ” where computing the feature contribution corresponds to identify at least one reason code for the score based on the respective overall contribution values for the individual features in the set of features and computing the output/prediction to return the matching feature contribution corresponds to transmit the score and the at least one reason code in response to the request)
Regarding claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses prior to receiving the request, train the trained data science model against training data that comprises a plurality of training data records(Yang, Page 2, Paragraph 2, “The pre-computation step in Fast TreeSHAP v2 enables its suitability in multi-time model interpretations, where the model is pre-trained”)
Regarding claim 6:
The rejection of claim 5 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Prokhorenkova discloses for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree.” and Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t” where the oblivious decision trees having the same splitting criterion used is used across an entire level of the tree and the splitting criterion being attributes that identify some feature xk exceeding a threshold corresponds to for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based )
Yang discloses for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk” and Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 5, “A tree is specified as a tuple of six vectors {v,a,b,t,r,d}: v contains the values of each leaf node” where each path corresponds to a realizable path and where an input record traverses path Pk the tree reaches a corresponding leaf and uses that leaf value vk corresponds to a respective score/output value associated with records that follow the path for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path)
Yang discloses prior to receiving the request, generate a respective set of contribution values for each leaf in the ensemble of decision trees and populate the data structure with entries that map the leaves in the ensemble of decision trees to the respective sets of contribution values, wherein generating a respective set of contribution values(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1 and Paragraph 3, “for i ∈ Dk\Sk every time we explain a sample, we can pre-compute all the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} which only depend on the tree itself, and then extract the corresponding value when looping over features at leaf nodes to calculate φi…Sequentially calculate S for each tree, and update SHAP values for all samples immediately after one S is calculated. ii). Pre-calculate S for all trees and store them in the local disk, and sequentially read each S into memory and update SHAP values for all samples accordingly.” And Yang, Page 21, Paragraph 1, “For multi-time usage…we can pre-compute S’s for all trees and store them in the local disk, and read them when explaining the samples”)
Yang discloses identifying each realizable path from the root of the individual decision tree to each realizable leaf in the individual decision tree, respectively(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk.”)
Yang discloses for each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data; (Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 1, “…we also denote the covering ratios along the path Pk as{Rkj :j∈Pk},where Rkj=rk,j+1/rkj ({rkj :j∈Pk}”, where computing the ratio of the path being rk,j+1/rkj being the number of training samples reaching the leaf through Pk divided by the number of trained samples at the root corresponds to each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data)
Yang discloses identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1, “for i ∈ Dk\Sk every time we explain a sample, we can pre-compute all the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} which only depend on the tree itself, and then extract the corresponding value when looping over features at leaf nodes to calculate φi” where the handling of all subsets C ⊂ Dk corresponds to identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input as Dk is the set of splitting features on path Pk (See also Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk.”))
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, identifying a respective group of realizable paths such that, for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset, the respective path and the realizable paths in the respective group have a same path direction from that level to a next level of the individual decision tree(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 4,” the basic idea is to calculate fS(x) by recursively following the decision path for x if the split feature in the decision path is in S, and taking the weighted average of both branches if the split feature is not in S.” where for each feature subset S the paths are constrained to agree with x at every split whose feature belongs to S corresponds to for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset and Yang, Page 4, Theorem 2, “φi can be computed by only considering the subsets with in the paths where each feature in the subsets satisfies the thresholds along the path” where any potential path discovered that violates these thresholds will be excluded )
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset(Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 2, “Wk,S is the "proportion" of subset S that flows down into the leaf node vk, then
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
” where Wk,S associated with path Pk being a proportion of the subset that flows into a leaf node and the summation of W1,S to WK,S corresponds for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset for reaching the path Pk)
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset(Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 2, “Wk,S is the "proportion" of subset S that flows down into the leaf node vk, then
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
” where
W
k
,
S
V
k
corresponds to computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset as Wk,S associated with path Pk is being multiplied by the score vk associated with each leaf)
Regarding claim 7:
The rejection of claim 6 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble: generating, based on the identified groups of realizable paths for the respective path and based on the computed marginal path expectations, a vector of sums of marginal path expectations(Yang, Page 3 , Paragraph 4, “The authors…define a conditional expectation fS(x) = E[f(x)|xS] for tree-based models” and “Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 2, “Wk,S is the "proportion" of subset S that flows down into the leaf node vk, then
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
” where the conditional expectations corresponds to computed marginal path expectations and
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
corresponds to tree-specific vector of sums)
Regarding claim 11:
The rejection of claim 4 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses wherein the at least one reason code comprises a model reason code (MRC) or an adverse action reason code (AARC)(Yang, Page 19, Algorithm 4, “return φ” where the returning of individualized feature contribution values corresponds to transmitting a reason code comprising a model reason code as the individualized feature attribution explain the prediction of the model)
Regarding claim 12:
Prokhorenkova discloses receiving a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input (Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “Given all the trees constructed, the leaf values of the final model F are calculated by the standard gradient boosting procedure equally for both modes. Training examples i are matched to leaves leaf0(i)…When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time” where using model F with new testing examples corresponds to receiving a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input as testing examples are matched to leaves of the tree)
Prokhorenkova discloses inputting the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model(Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time”), wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors” where implementing gradient boosting with multiple binary decision trees corresponds to a trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees)
Prokhorenkova discloses each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree. Such trees are balanced…”), each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to receive a respective subset of the features as input(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t”), and within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree” and Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t” where the oblivious decision trees having the same splitting criterion used is used across an entire level of the tree and the splitting criterion being attributes that identify some feature xk exceeding a threshold corresponds to within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features)
Prokhorenkova discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble identifying a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space Rm into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t…Each final region (leaf of the tree) is assigned to a value, which is an estimate of the response y in the region for the regression task or the predicted class label in the case of classification problem” where the decision tree evaluating splitting criterion being based on thresholds down to the leaf and having a value assigned to the leaf corresponds to identifying a leaf that satisfies actual parameters a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree), and
Prokhorenkova discloses compute, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record(Prokhorenkova, Page 16, Algorithm 3, Line 15, where the return statement uses x as the input feature vector)
Prokhorenkova does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature
based on the corresponding local feature groups, determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Yang discloses assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk. Moreover, we denote the feature subspaces restricted by the thresholds along the path Pk” where each tree contains a path containing feature set used for splitting with feature-specific thresholds corresponds to for each individual decision tree in the ensemble assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature)
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the model with local accuracy, missingness and consistency with SHAP values. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 1, “SHAP values are the single unique solution of φi’s in the class of additive surrogate explanation models g(z) that satisfies three desirable properties: local accuracy, missingness, and consistency. To compute SHAP values we denote fS(x) as the model output restricted to the feature subset…and the SHAP values are then computed”
Yang discloses based on the corresponding local feature groups(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “…sequentially calculate S for each tree…” where each tree contains features and each tree corresponds toa local feature group), determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree(Yang, Algorithm 2, “ Check if we are at a leaf node…
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∈ Sk3….
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
(
1
-
m
i
.
z
)
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∉ Sk” where checking for leaf nodes and the leaf algorithms that update contribution for features correspond to” (See also Yang, Page 19, Algorithm 4 that performs a similar analysis under “Check if we are at a leaf node”))
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the storing of contribution scores and precomputing using SHAP values to allow for precomputing instead of recalculating them for each observation and saving computation efforts. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 1, Paragraph 1, “SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) calculates SHAP values quantifying the contribution of each feature to the model prediction, by incorporating concepts from game theory and local explanations” and Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1, “In fact, what we just proposed is to trade space complexity for time complexity. This should significantly save computational efforts when there exist redundant computations of…cross samples”
Prokhorenkova-Yang does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Miroshnikov discloses partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features(Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, "Given predictors X = (X1,X2,...,Xn), the objective is to identify disjoint sets Sj ⊆ {1,2,...,n} that yield a partition P = {S1,S2,...,Sr} of predictors’ indices, so that XS1 ,XS2 ,...,XSr form weakly independent unions such that within each group the predictors share a significant amount of mutual information” where Miroshnikov’s predictors X correspond to a set of features and the partitions elements S correspond to a global feature groups and the creations of partitions based on mutual information corresponds to partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include partitioning of features into feature groups based on dependency of Miroshnikov to reduce explanation complexity . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, “…Such partitioning would effectively reduce the dimensionality of the problem and consequently, the complexity of explanation” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Miroshnikov discloses for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature(Miroshnikov, Page 46, Paragraph 3, “We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves” where computing the sum of explanations of each feature group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves corresponds to for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature (See also Miroshnikov, Page 3, Paragraph 8,“Given a partition P of predictors into weakly independent groups and a linear game value h, we first study trivial explainers…which are formed via summation”)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include the computation of the partitioned feature groups of Miroshnikov to capture collective explanatory significance that may be obscured by individual feature attribution and improve explanations . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 45, Paragraph 3, “…We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves. Recall from §5.4.2 that the group sums are equal to the quotient Shapley values in view of the (QP) property” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Regarding claim 13:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in claim 13. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 14:
The rejection of claim 13 is incorporated in claim 14. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in claim 15. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 16:
The rejection of claim 12 is incorporated in claim 16. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 17:
The rejection of claim 16 is incorporated in claim 17. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18:
The rejection of claim 17 is incorporated in claim 18. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 20:
Prokhorenkova discloses on-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable medium is provisioned with program instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing platform to(Prokhorenkova, Page 17, Paragraph 6, “We run all experiments on the same machine with Intel Xeon E3-12xx 2.6GHz, 16 cores, 64GB RAM and run all algorithms with 16 threads”
Prokhorenkova discloses receive a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input(Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “Given all the trees constructed, the leaf values of the final model F are calculated by the standard gradient boosting procedure equally for both modes. Training examples i are matched to leaves leaf0(i)…When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time” where using model F with new testing examples corresponds to receiving a request to compute a score for an input data record, the input data record comprising a group of actual parameters that map to a set of features that a trained data science model is configured to receive as input as testing examples are matched to leaves of the tree)
Prokhorenkova discloses input the group of actual parameters into the trained data science model(Prokhorenkova, Page 7, Paragraph 3, “When the final model F is applied to a new example at testing time”), wherein the trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors” where implementing gradient boosting with multiple binary decision trees corresponds to a trained data science model comprises an ensemble of decision trees)
Prokhorenkova discloses each individual decision tree in the ensemble is symmetric(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree. Such trees are balanced…”), each individual decision tree in the ensemble is configured to receive a respective subset of the features as input(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t”), and within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree” and Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t” where the oblivious decision trees having the same splitting criterion used is used across an entire level of the tree and the splitting criterion being attributes that identify some feature xk exceeding a threshold corresponds to within each individual decision tree, internal nodes that are positioned in a same level designate a same splitting criterion based on a same feature selected from the respective subset of features)
Prokhorenkova discloses for each individual decision tree in the ensemble identify a respective leaf such that the actual parameters satisfy a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree to the respective leaf(Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space Rm into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t…Each final region (leaf of the tree) is assigned to a value, which is an estimate of the response y in the region for the regression task or the predicted class label in the case of classification problem” where the decision tree evaluating splitting criterion being based on thresholds down to the leaf and having a value assigned to the leaf corresponds to identifying a leaf that satisfies actual parameters a series of splitting conditions for edges that connect nodes in a respective path from a root of the individual decision tree), and
Prokhorenkova discloses computing, via the trained data science model, the score for the input data record(Prokhorenkova, Page 16, Algorithm 3, Line 15, where the return statement uses x as the input feature vector)
Prokhorenkova does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature
based on the corresponding local feature groups, determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Yang discloses assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk. Moreover, we denote the feature subspaces restricted by the thresholds along the path Pk” where each tree contains a path containing feature set used for splitting with feature-specific thresholds corresponds to for each individual decision tree in the ensemble assign each individual feature in the subset of features for the individual decision tree to a corresponding local feature group that is a subset of a given global feature group that includes the individual feature)
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the model with local accuracy, missingness and consistency with SHAP values. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 1, “SHAP values are the single unique solution of φi’s in the class of additive surrogate explanation models g(z) that satisfies three desirable properties: local accuracy, missingness, and consistency. To compute SHAP values we denote fS(x) as the model output restricted to the feature subset…and the SHAP values are then computed”
Yang discloses based on the corresponding local feature groups(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “…sequentially calculate S for each tree…” where each tree contains features and each tree corresponds toa local feature group), determine a set of respective individual contribution values for the respective leaf, wherein each of the respective individual contribution values maps to a respective feature found in the respective subset of features of the individual decision tree(Yang, Algorithm 2, “ Check if we are at a leaf node…
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∈ Sk3….
φ
m
i
.
d
=
φ
m
i
.
d
+
s
0
·
q
·
(
1
-
m
i
.
z
)
·
v
j
Update contribution for feature di ∉ Sk” where checking for leaf nodes and the leaf algorithms that update contribution for features correspond to” (See also Yang, Page 19, Algorithm 4 that performs a similar analysis under “Check if we are at a leaf node”))
References Prokhorenkova and Yang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of optimizing tree-based machine learning algorithms. .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova and Yang before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova to include feature group assigning and contribution determination of Yang to provide the storing of contribution scores and precomputing using SHAP values to allow for precomputing instead of recalculating them for each observation and saving computation efforts. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Yang, Page 1, Paragraph 1, “SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) calculates SHAP values quantifying the contribution of each feature to the model prediction, by incorporating concepts from game theory and local explanations” and Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1, “In fact, what we just proposed is to trade space complexity for time complexity. This should significantly save computational efforts when there exist redundant computations of…cross samples”
Prokhorenkova-Yang does not explicitly disclose the following limitations
partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features
for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature
Miroshnikov discloses partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features(Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, "Given predictors X = (X1,X2,...,Xn), the objective is to identify disjoint sets Sj ⊆ {1,2,...,n} that yield a partition P = {S1,S2,...,Sr} of predictors’ indices, so that XS1 ,XS2 ,...,XSr form weakly independent unions such that within each group the predictors share a significant amount of mutual information” where Miroshnikov’s predictors X correspond to a set of features and the partitions elements S correspond to a global feature groups and the creations of partitions based on mutual information corresponds to partition the set of features into a plurality of global feature groups based on dependencies between the features)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include partitioning of features into feature groups based on dependency of Miroshnikov to reduce explanation complexity . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 13, Paragraph 4, “…Such partitioning would effectively reduce the dimensionality of the problem and consequently, the complexity of explanation” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Miroshnikov discloses for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature(Miroshnikov, Page 46, Paragraph 3, “We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves” where computing the sum of explanations of each feature group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves corresponds to for each individual feature in the set of features, compute a respective overall contribution value based on the respective global feature group, and a sum of the respective individual contribution values that map to that individual feature (See also Miroshnikov, Page 3, Paragraph 8,“Given a partition P of predictors into weakly independent groups and a linear game value h, we first study trivial explainers…which are formed via summation”)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang and Miroshnikov before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang to include the computation of the partitioned feature groups of Miroshnikov to capture collective explanatory significance that may be obscured by individual feature attribution and improve explanations . The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Miroshnikov, Page 45, Paragraph 3, “…We then compute the sums of explanations over each group to obtain the contributions of the groups themselves. Recall from §5.4.2 that the group sums are equal to the quotient Shapley values in view of the (QP) property” and the explicit use of Prokhorenkova’s CatBoost in Miroshnikov’s examples(Miroshnikov, Page 44, “The remaining twenty predictors were used for model training, where we use the training dataset…with 27000 samples to build a classification score…using Catboost.”).
Regarding claims 4, 6-7, 15 and 17-18:
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prokhorenkova et al(“CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features”, henceforth known as Prokhorenkova) in view of Yang(“Fast TreeSHAP: Accelerating SHAP Value Computation for Trees” henceforth known as Yang) and further in view of Miroshnikov(“Mutual information-based group explainers with coalition structure for machine learning model explanations” henceforth known as Miroshnikov) and Lundberg et al(“Consistent Individualized Feature Attribution for Tree Ensembles” henceforth known as Lundberg)
Regarding claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Lundberg discloses receiving an identifier of a leaf selected from a decision tree in the ensemble; and based on the identifier of the leaf, determining a set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in a data structure(Lundberg, Page 4, Col. 1, Algorithm 1, the recursive helper function that evaluates the contribution of the subtree rooted at node j (procedure G(j, w)) corresponds to receiving an identifier of a leaf selected from a decision tree in the ensemble and based on the identifier of the leaf, determining a set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in a data structure as “return w ·vj” where vj is the value of stored at node j with node j being a leaf (as the if statement checks if it is internal or a leaf) and “return w ·vj” ), wherein the determined set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in the data structure is the set of respective individual contribution values(Lundberg, Page 3, Col. 2, Paragraphs 3-4, “Here we focus on tree models and propose fast SHAP value estimation methods specific to trees and ensembles of trees…we can compute the SHAP values for a tree by estimating E[f (x) | xS] and then using Equation 2 where fx(S) = E[f (x) | xS]” where computing SHAP values for a tree using Algorithm 1 and Equation 2 corresponds to determining a set of contribution values to which the identifier maps in the data structure is the set of respective individual contribution values as SHAP values determined are individuated feature attribution values and Algorithm 1 shows that SHAP values are computed using tree traversal to leaves with leaf values being used in contribution to computation (See also Lundberg, Page 1, Col. 1, Abstract, “To address it we turn to recent applications of game theory and develop fast exact tree solutions for SHAP(SHapley Additive exPlanation) values, which are the unique consistent and locally accurate attribution values” and Lundberg, Page 3, Col. 2, Paragraph 1,“ “SHAP values combine these conditional expectations with the classic Shapley values from game theory to attribute ϕi values to each feature”)
References Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov and Lundberg are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov and Lundberg before him or her, to use the CatBoost efficient boosted-tree architecture of Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov with the leaf individualized feature attribution and respective contribution values that map to individual contribution of Lundberg to enhance the explainability of the models output. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Lundberg, Page 2, Figure 1, “The individualized attributions explain a single prediction of the model” and Lundberg, Page 1, Col. 1, Paragraph 1, “Understanding why a model made a prediction is important for trust, actionability, accountability, debugging, and many other tasks.”
Regarding claim 10:
The rejection of claim 9 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Prokhorenkova discloses for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based(Prokhorenkova, Page 6, Paragraph 3, “In CatBoost, base predictors are oblivious decision trees…also called decision tables…oblivious means that the same splitting criterion is used across an entire level of the tree.” and Prokhorenkova, Page 2, Paragraph 4, “CatBoost is an implementation of gradient boosting, which uses binary decision trees as base predictors. A decision tree…is a model built by a recursive partition of the feature space…into several disjoint regions (tree nodes) according to the values of some splitting attributes α. Attributes are usually binary variables that identify that some feature xk exceeds some threshold t” where the oblivious decision trees having the same splitting criterion used is used across an entire level of the tree and the splitting criterion being attributes that identify some feature xk exceeding a threshold corresponds to for each level of the individual decision tree, identifying the same feature on which the same splitting criterion specified by the internal nodes at that level is based )
Yang discloses prior to receiving the request, generate a respective set of contribution values for each leaf in the ensemble of decision trees and populate the data structure with entries that map the leaves in the ensemble of decision trees to the respective sets of contribution values, wherein generating a respective set of contribution values(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1 and Paragraph 3, “for i ∈ Dk\Sk every time we explain a sample, we can pre-compute all the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} which only depend on the tree itself, and then extract the corresponding value when looping over features at leaf nodes to calculate φi…Sequentially calculate S for each tree, and update SHAP values for all samples immediately after one S is calculated. ii). Pre-calculate S for all trees and store them in the local disk, and sequentially read each S into memory and update SHAP values for all samples accordingly.” And Yang, Page 21, Paragraph 1, “For multi-time usage…we can pre-compute S’s for all trees and store them in the local disk, and read them when explaining the samples”)
Yang discloses identifying each realizable path from the root of the individual decision tree to each realizable leaf in the individual decision tree, respectively(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk.”)
Yang discloses for each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data; (Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 1, “…we also denote the covering ratios along the path Pk as{Rkj :j∈Pk},where Rkj=rk,j+1/rkj ({rkj :j∈Pk}”, where computing the ratio of the path being rk,j+1/rkj being the number of training samples reaching the leaf through Pk divided by the number of trained samples at the root corresponds to each identified realizable path, computing a respective first probability by dividing a number of the training data records that were scored during the training based on the identified realizable path by a total number of training data records in the training data)
Yang discloses for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk” and Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 5, “A tree is specified as a tuple of six vectors {v,a,b,t,r,d}: v contains the values of each leaf node” where each path corresponds to a realizable path and where an input record traverses path Pk the tree reaches a corresponding leaf and uses that leaf value vk corresponds to a respective score/output value associated with records that follow the path for each identified realizable path, identifying a respective score to be assigned to input data records scored by the identified realizable path)
Yang discloses identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input(Yang, Page 6, Paragraph 1, “for i ∈ Dk\Sk every time we explain a sample, we can pre-compute all the values in the set {UDk,C : C ⊂ Dk} which only depend on the tree itself, and then extract the corresponding value when looping over features at leaf nodes to calculate φi” where the handling of all subsets C ⊂ Dk corresponds to identifying subsets of the respective subset of features that the individual decision tree is configured to receive as input as Dk is the set of splitting features on path Pk (See also Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 7, “there are K leaves with values v1 to vK, corresponding to K paths P1 to PK, where path Pk is the set of internal nodes starting from the root node and ending at the leaf node vk (leaf node vk is not included in the path) We use j ∈ Pk to denote the jth internal node in path Pk hereafter. We also use Dk = {dj : j ∈ Pk} to denote the feature set used for splitting in internal nodes in path Pk.”))
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, identifying a respective group of realizable paths such that, for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset, the respective path and the realizable paths in the respective group have a same path direction from that level to a next level of the individual decision tree(Yang, Page 3, Paragraph 4,” the basic idea is to calculate fS(x) by recursively following the decision path for x if the split feature in the decision path is in S, and taking the weighted average of both branches if the split feature is not in S.” where for each feature subset S the paths are constrained to agree with x at every split whose feature belongs to S corresponds to for each level of the individual decision tree in which the same splitting criterion for that level is based on a feature included in the identified subset and Yang, Page 4, Theorem 2, “φi can be computed by only considering the subsets with in the paths where each feature in the subsets satisfies the thresholds along the path” where any potential path discovered that violates these thresholds will be excluded )
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset(Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 2, “Wk,S is the "proportion" of subset S that flows down into the leaf node vk, then
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
” where Wk,S associated with path Pk being a proportion of the subset that flows into a leaf node and the summation of W1,S to WK,S corresponds for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a sum of the respective first probabilities for each realizable path in the identified subset for reaching the path Pk)
Yang discloses for each identified subset of the respective subset of features, computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset(Yang, Page 4, Paragraph 2, “Wk,S is the "proportion" of subset S that flows down into the leaf node vk, then
∑
k
=
1
K
W
k
,
S
V
k
” where
W
k
,
S
V
k
corresponds to computing a marginal path expectation by multiplying the respective score for the respective path by the sum for the identified subset as Wk,S associated with path Pk is being multiplied by the score vk associated with each leaf)
Regarding claims 8 and 19:
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prokhorenkova et al(“CatBoost: unbiased boosting with categorical features”, henceforth known as Prokhorenkova) in view of Yang(“Fast TreeSHAP: Accelerating SHAP Value Computation for Trees” henceforth known as Yang) and further in view of Miroshnikov(“Mutual information-based group explainers with coalition structure for machine learning model explanations” henceforth known as Miroshnikov) and Aytekin(“Neural Networks are Decision Trees” henceforth known as Aytekin)
Regarding claim 8:
The rejection of claim 6 with prior art is incorporated and further:
Yang discloses wherein identifying each realizable path from the root of the individual decision tree to each realizable leaf in the individual decision tree, respectively, comprises: identifying a selected path to be evaluated for realizability(Yang, Page 4, Theorem 2, “φi can be computed by only considering the subsets with in the paths where each feature in the subsets satisfies the thresholds along the path.”)
Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov does not disclose, however Aytekin discloses detecting that a first splitting condition for a first edge in the selected path and a second splitting condition for a second edge in the path contradict each other; and excluding the selected path from a list of realizable paths(Aytekin, Page 5, Figure 2, Figure 3 and Col. 2 Paragraph 1, “However, we notice that a lot of the rules in the decision tree is redundant, and hence some paths in the decision tree becomes invalid. An example to redundant rule is checking x < 0.32 after x < −1.16 rule holds” where the model in Figure 2 having paths removed to form the model in Figure 3(a) corresponds to detecting that a first splitting condition for a first edge in the selected path and a second splitting condition for a second edge in the path contradict each other and excluding the selected path from a list of realizable paths))
References Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov and Aytekin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of improving the practical usability of tree ensemble ML systems interpretability of neural models.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov and Aytekin before him or her, to modify the decision trees of Prokhorenkova-Yang-Miroshnikov to include the removal of redundant paths of Aytekin to provide lossless pruning of obsolete data to improve the model. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been Aytekin, Page 3, Col. 1, Paragraph 1, “may occur violating and redundant rules that would provide lossless pruning of the NN-equivalent tree. Another observation is that, it is highly likely that not all categories will be realized during training due to the possibly much larger number of categories(tree leaves) than training data. These categories can be pruned as well based on the application, and the data falling into these categories can be considered invalid”
Regarding claim 19:
The rejection of claim 17 is incorporated in claim 19. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
Relevant Art:
Lundberg et al, “From Local Explanations to Global Understanding with Explainable AI for Trees” as the article discusses feature attribution with tree ensembles for SHAP values and mapping to a global understanding for the features
Huber et al, “Grouping Shapley Value Feature Importances of Random Forests for explainable Yield Prediction” as the article discusses grouping trees of Shapley values.
US20210182698A1, as the patent discusses feature analysis with trees with SHAP values
Aas et al, “EXPLAINING INDIVIDUAL PREDICTIONS WHEN FEATURES ARE DEPENDENT: MORE ACCURATE APPROXIMATIONS TO SHAPLEY VALUE” as the article discusses approximating feature dependencies with SHAP values using trees.
Conclusion
/C.J.J./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/MICHAEL H HOANG/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122