DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the distribution unit” should be “integrated distribution panel.”
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the intake side wall” has no antecedent basis. Therefore, it is interpreted as being dependent on claim 5 which has the limitation “an intake side wall”
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the exhaust side wall” has no antecedent basis. Therefore, it is interpreted as being dependent on claim 5 which has the limitation “an exhaust side wall”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best (Pub. No. US 2014/0307384) in view of Barbour (Pub. No. US 2021/0318735) and Grimshaw (Pub. No. US 2013/0019124).
As to claim 1, Best discloses a modular data center (fig. 1A) comprising:
a certified shipping container (fig. 11), the shipping container;
one or more racks (¶0012) within an interior of the shipping container which are configured to hold a plurality of computers and networking switches;
a transformer 242 within an interior of the shipping container which is configured to receive power from an external source, the transformer including an integrated distribution panel 244 having circuit breakers (¶0059); and
low-voltage power distribution units which are configured to supply low-voltage power from the distribution unit of the transformer to the plurality of computers and networking switches on the racks (¶0059 discloses adjusting the input AC voltage to the required load voltage fed to the racks; fig. 2A see power distribution units 223).
However, Best does not disclose the shipping container including mounting features for fans, air filters, and ventilation panels; and the transformer including an integrated distribution panel having main circuit breaker and branch circuit breakers.
Barbour a shipping container including mounting features for fans, air filters, and ventilation panels (figs. 10, 21).
Grimshaw discloses a transformer within an interior of the shipping container which is configured to receive power from an external source (fig. 1), the transformer including an integrated distribution panel having main circuit breaker (fig. 2B, see circuit breakers at ATC level; ¶0056) and branch circuit breakers (see breakers after MSB); and low-voltage power distribution units which are configured to supply low-voltage power from the distribution unit of the transformer to the plurality of computers and networking switches on the racks (¶0059).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shipping container of Best include mounting features for fans, air filters, and ventilation panels as similarly taught by Barbour in order to provide cooling to the shipping container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transformer of Best include an integrated distribution panel having main circuit breaker and branch circuit breakers as similarly taught by Grimshaw in order to electrically isolate specific parts of the system.
As to claim 3, Best discloses that the transformer is configured to receive medium-voltage power from an external source and step down the power to low-voltage power (¶0037, ¶0095).
As to claim 5, Best does not disclose intake fans installed along an intake side wall of the shipping container, the fans configured to draw exterior air from through the intake side wall, which flows through the racks to cool the plurality of computers and networking switches, and is exhausted at an exhaust side wall of the shipping container.
Barbour discloses intake fans 48 installed along an intake side wall of the shipping container, the fans configured to draw exterior air from through the intake side wall, which flows through the racks to cool the plurality of computers and networking switches, and is exhausted at an exhaust side wall of the shipping container (figs. 21-22, see exhaust guides 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shipping container of Best include intake fans installed along an intake side wall of the shipping container, the fans configured to draw exterior air from through the intake side wall, which flows through the racks to cool the plurality of computers and networking switches, and is exhausted at an exhaust side wall of the shipping container as similarly taught by Barbour in order to provide cooling to the shipping container.
As to claim 6, Best does not disclose air filters mounted along an exterior side of the intake side wall of the shipping container.
Barbour discloses air filters 60 (figs. 9-10) mounted along an exterior side of the intake side wall of the shipping container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shipping container of Best include air filters mounted along an exterior side of the intake side wall as similarly taught by Barbour in order to provide cooling to the shipping container.
As to claim 7, Best does not disclose ventilation panels mounted along an exterior side of the exhaust side wall of the shipping container.
Barbour discloses ventilation panels 13 mounted along an exterior side of the exhaust side wall of the shipping container (figs. 20-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the shipping container of Best include ventilation panels mounted along an exterior side of the exhaust side wall as similarly taught by Barbour in order to provide cooling to the shipping container.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein the transformer includes first and second cabinets, and wherein the first cabinet is a medium-voltage cabinet and the integrated distribution panel is disposed within the second cabinet. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein the shipping container is reinforced for additional weight at a location where a transformer is installed. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chehade et al. (Pub. No. US 2025/0081384) discloses a shipping container datacenter having a transformer.
Ross (Patent No. US 10,582,635) discloses a portable data center having a transformer, a main circuit breaker, and branch circuit breakers.
Schmitt et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0170277) discloses a shipping container having a cooling system.
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847