DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response file on 14 May 2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 20, 25, 27 and 30 has/have been amended. Claims 1-19 has/have been cancelled. No Claim has been added. Claims 20-33 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection to Claims 25-29, see p.7, filed on 14 May 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection to Claim 25-29 is withdrawn after Claim 25 and 27 being amended.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.7, filed on 14 May 2026, with respect to objection to Claim 30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner appreciates Applicant’s amendment by replacing a surgical site with “the surgical site”. However Applicant alleges the Examiner suggest replacing visualize with “visualizing” and therefore makes the amendment. There is no such objection. Therefore it is suggested Applicant to amend Claim 30 by replacing currently cited visualizing back to “visualize”.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.8, filed on 14 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 20/25/30 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The newly amended Claim(s) 20/25/30is/are now rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over Esterberg (2017/0027651 A1) in view of Piron et al. (US 2017/0249737A1). See detailed rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-24 and 30, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esterberg (2017/0027651 A1) in view of Piron et al. (US 2017/0249737A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Esterberg disclose a surgical hub for use with a surgical system in a surgical procedure performed in an operating room ([0015]: In at least one embodiment, a method of surgical navigation may include receiving an external three-dimensional model of a surgical site from the viewpoint of a headset, wherein the external three-dimensional model is derived from reflected light), the surgical hub comprising:
a control circuit (Fig.17 and [[0051]: FIG. 17 shows a block diagram of an example computing system by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented) configured to:
receive a first imaging representation for a surgical site, the first imaging representation comprising a coordinate system (see Fig.8A/B: the images captured by CCD camera A/B are interpreted as the first imaging representation. Also see [0134]: FIG. 8B shows an example data transformation by triangulation to generate an array of polar datapoints having depth and position. Structured Illumination has the advantage that a polar coordinate system and zero reference point are inherent in the imaging projector and can be used to speed analysis of the remaining mesh map. Data analysis is illustrated schematically in FIG. 8B and generates a dataset having position coordinates and elevation coordinates that can be used to draw a wireframe model and describe a body volume that can then be supplemented with data from one or more internal three-dimensional solid model scans);
receive at least one second imaging representation for the surgical site, the at least one second imaging representation comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light spectrum ([0089]: Once a wireframe map of the surgical field 115 is obtained, anatomical reference points may be identified by image analysis or may be assigned by an operator, and a solid model may be oriented and aligned so that the anatomical features not visible beneath the exterior view of the surgical field 115 may be matched and projected in the virtual view displayed in the eyepiece. The solid model data may be acquired from computerized tomography (CT) scans, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), or other scans already of record in the patient's digital chart. In a general computational approach, thin slices may be merged to generate a solid model, and the model may be digitally segmented to isolate individual anatomical structures such as bones, vessels, organs and the like. CT or MRI are images comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light);
overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation ([0122]-[0124]: FIG. 6 shows an example process flow 600 for generating a three-dimensional virtual fusion view by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. … In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step …).
Esterberg discloses fusion had been known to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention ([0124]: In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step).
But Esterberg fails to explicitly disclose perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system to overlay the first and second images.
However Piron, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a computing device housed in equipment tower 108 can perform various actions to register preoperative images with intraoperative images (that is, place both types of image in a common coordinate system), allowing the data obtained before the surgical procedure to be combined and presented simultaneously on display 110 ([0026]). Piron discloses the preoperative images may be collected using any of a variety of imaging modalities, such as Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT), ultrasound, Computed Tomography (CT), optical spectroscopy and the like ([0026]) and the intraoperative images may be acquired with modalities having different resolutions than those used preoperatively ([0026]). Piron further discloses the intraoperative may be an optical spectroscopy image ([0042]: if MRI is used at block 305, block 315 may involve the use of ultrasound, optical spectroscopy, low field intraoperative MRI (iMRI) or the like). Piron discloses Responsive to obtaining the intraoperative image and intraoperative measurements, at block 325 computing device 200 is configured to register the intraoperative image obtained at block 315 with the preoperative image obtained at block 305. Image registration refers to the process of placing both images in a common coordinate system, such that any given set of coordinates in the common system identifies portions of both images depicting the same area of patient 104. In general, each obtained image begins with an image-specific coordinate system. For example, a two-dimensional preoperative image may have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. A two-dimensional intraoperative image may also have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. However, because the two images may not depict exactly the same area of patient 104, and because the different imaging modalities used to obtain the images may have different resolutions, the two coordinate systems cannot be directly compared ([0048]). Therefore, in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system, a transformation operation is applied to one of the images. In the present example, it is contemplated that the transformation operation is to be applied to the intraoperative image, but the transformation operation can also be applied to the preoperative image. The nature of the transformation is not particularly limited, and a variety of algorithms will occur to those skilled in the art for determining such transformation operations. In general, the transformation operation manipulates the pixels or voxels of one or both of the images (e.g. by translation, rotation, distortion, scaling, and the like) to place the pixels or voxels in the common coordinate system ([0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Prion into that of Esterberg and to include the limitation of perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system; and overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation that is performed with at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion with each other, thereby generating a third imaging representation for the surgical site, the third imaging representation comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system as suggested by Prim ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 22/32, Esterberg modified by Piron further teaches or suggests wherein the control circuit is further configured to: overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation that is performed with at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion with each other in real-time (Esterberg [0159]: Data may be streamed to the eyepiece for instant reference and may be updated in real time as the surgeon indicates relevant features of interest. Piron [0041]: As illustrated in FIG. 3, blocks 315-330 of method 300 take place during the surgical procedure).
Regarding Claim 23, Esterberg further discloses visualize at least one portion of the surgical site that is occluded with respect to a field of view of an operator via the third imaging representation ([0102]: FIG. 4 shows an example headset view 400 of a surgical field by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. The headset view 400 shows an incision 405 and a virtual CT model 410 of underlying boney structures in anatomical registration).
Regarding Claim 24/33, Esterberg further discloses visualize at least one portion of the surgical site that is occluded with respect to a field of view of an operator during the surgical procedure via the third imaging representation ([0102]: FIG. 4 shows an example headset view 400 of a surgical field by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. The headset view 400 shows an incision 405 and a virtual CT model 410 of underlying boney structures in anatomical registration).
Regarding Claim 25, Esterberg disclose a surgical hub for use with a surgical system in a surgical procedure performed in an operating room ([0015]: In at least one embodiment, a method of surgical navigation may include receiving an external three-dimensional model of a surgical site from the viewpoint of a headset, wherein the external three-dimensional model is derived from reflected light), the surgical hub comprising:
a control circuit (Fig.17 and [[0051]: FIG. 17 shows a block diagram of an example computing system by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented) configured to:
receive a first imaging representation for a surgical site, the first imaging representation comprising a coordinate system (see Fig.8A/B and [0134]: FIG. 8B shows an example data transformation by triangulation to generate an array of polar datapoints having depth and position. Structured Illumination has the advantage that a polar coordinate system and zero reference point are inherent in the imaging projector and can be used to speed analysis of the remaining mesh map. Data analysis is illustrated schematically in FIG. 8B and generates a dataset having position coordinates and elevation coordinates that can be used to draw a wireframe model and describe a body volume that can then be supplemented with data from one or more internal three-dimensional solid model scans);
receive a plurality of second imaging representations each for the surgical site, at least one imaging representation of the plurality of second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light spectrum, a remaining imaging representation of the plurality of second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum ([0089]: Once a wireframe map of the surgical field 115 is obtained, anatomical reference points may be identified by image analysis or may be assigned by an operator, and a solid model may be oriented and aligned so that the anatomical features not visible beneath the exterior view of the surgical field 115 may be matched and projected in the virtual view displayed in the eyepiece. The solid model data may be acquired from computerized tomography (CT) scans, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), or other scans already of record in the patient's digital chart. In a general computational approach, thin slices may be merged to generate a solid model, and the model may be digitally segmented to isolate individual anatomical structures such as bones, vessels, organs and the like. CT or MRI are images comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light);
overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation ([0122]-[0124]: FIG. 6 shows an example process flow 600 for generating a three-dimensional virtual fusion view by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. … In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step …).
Esterberg discloses fusion had been known to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention ([0124]: In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step).
But Esterberg fails to explicitly disclose perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system to overlay the first and second images.
However Piron, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a computing device housed in equipment tower 108 can perform various actions to register preoperative images with intraoperative images (that is, place both types of image in a common coordinate system), allowing the data obtained before the surgical procedure to be combined and presented simultaneously on display 110 ([0026]). Piron discloses the preoperative images may be collected using any of a variety of imaging modalities, such as Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT), ultrasound, Computed Tomography (CT), optical spectroscopy and the like ([0026]) and the intraoperative images may be acquired with modalities having different resolutions than those used preoperatively ([0026]). Piron further discloses the intraoperative may be an optical spectroscopy image ([0042]: if MRI is used at block 305, block 315 may involve the use of ultrasound, optical spectroscopy, low field intraoperative MRI (iMRI) or the like). Piron discloses Responsive to obtaining the intraoperative image and intraoperative measurements, at block 325 computing device 200 is configured to register the intraoperative image obtained at block 315 with the preoperative image obtained at block 305. Image registration refers to the process of placing both images in a common coordinate system, such that any given set of coordinates in the common system identifies portions of both images depicting the same area of patient 104. In general, each obtained image begins with an image-specific coordinate system. For example, a two-dimensional preoperative image may have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. A two-dimensional intraoperative image may also have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. However, because the two images may not depict exactly the same area of patient 104, and because the different imaging modalities used to obtain the images may have different resolutions, the two coordinate systems cannot be directly compared ([0048]). Therefore, in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system, a transformation operation is applied to one of the images. In the present example, it is contemplated that the transformation operation is to be applied to the intraoperative image, but the transformation operation can also be applied to the preoperative image. The nature of the transformation is not particularly limited, and a variety of algorithms will occur to those skilled in the art for determining such transformation operations. In general, the transformation operation manipulates the pixels or voxels of one or both of the images (e.g. by translation, rotation, distortion, scaling, and the like) to place the pixels or voxels in the common coordinate system ([0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Prion into that of Esterberg and to include the limitation of perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system of the first imaging representation to register the at least one second imaging representation into the coordinate system; and overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation that is performed with at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion with each other, thereby generating a third imaging representation for the surgical site, the third imaging representation comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system as suggested by Prim ([0049]).
Regarding Claim 30, Claim 30 is/are similar to the combination of Claims 20 and 23. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejections for Claims 20 and 23 is/are also applied to Claim 30.
Claims 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esterberg (2017/0027651 A1) in view of Piron et al. (US 2017/0249737A1) as applied to Claims 20 and 30 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2018/0270474 A1).
Regarding Claim 21/31, Esterberg modified by Piron fails to disclose receive at least one of the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation from an imaging source.
However Liu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses receive at least one of the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation from an imaging source (Claim 19: wherein the imaging or sensing instrument is configured to perform optical spectroscopies, absorption spectroscopy, fluorescence spectroscopy, Raman spectroscopy, coherent anti-Stokes Raman spectroscopy (CARS), surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy, Fourier transform spectroscopy, Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR), multiplex or frequency-modulated spectroscopy, X-ray spectroscopy, attenuated total reflectance spectroscopy, electron paramagnetic spectroscopy, electron spectroscopy, gamma-ray spectroscopy, acoustic resonance spectroscopy, auger spectroscopy, cavity ring down spectroscopy, circular dichroism spectroscopy, cold vapour atomic fluorescence spectroscopy, correlation spectroscopy, deep-level transient spectroscopy, dual polarization interferometry, EPR spectroscopy, force spectroscopy, Hadron spectroscopy, Baryon spectroscopy, meson spectroscopy, inelastic electron tunneling spectroscopy (IETS), laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS), mass spectroscopy, Mossbauer spectroscopy, neutron spin echo spectroscopy, photoacoustic spectroscopy, photoemission spectroscopy, photothermal spectroscopy, pump-probe spectroscopy, Raman optical activity spectroscopy, saturated spectroscopy, scanning tunneling spectroscopy, spectrophotometery, ultraviolet photoelectron spectroscopy (UPS), video spectroscopy, vibrational circular dichroism spectroscopy, X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), color microscopy, reflectance microscopy, fluorescence microscopy, oxygen-saturation microscopy, polarization microscopy, infrared microscopy, interference microscopy phase contrast microscopy, differential interference contrast microscopy, hyperspectral microscopy, total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy, confocal microscopy, non-linear microscopy, 2-photon microscopy, second-harmonic generation microscopy, super-resolution microscopy, photoacoustic microscopy, structured light microscopy, 4Pi microscopy, stimulated emission depletion microscopy, stochastic optical reconstruction microscopy, ultrasound microscopy, reflectance imaging, fluorescence imaging, Cerenkov imaging, polarization imaging, ultrasound imaging, radiometric imaging, oxygen saturation imaging, optical coherence tomography, infrared imaging, thermal imaging, photoacoustic imaging, spectroscopic imaging, hyper-spectral imaging, fluoroscopy, gamma imaging, X-ray computed tomography, or combinations thereof).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Esterberg as modified and to include the limitation of receive at least one of the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation from an imaging source in order to meet the need for an imaging system that utilizes 3D scanning to provide surface topography images as suggested by Liu ([0006]).
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esterberg (2017/0027651 A1) in view of Piron et al. (US 2017/0249737A1) and Liu et al. (US 2018/0270474 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Esterberg disclose a surgical hub for use with a surgical system in a surgical procedure performed in an operating room ([0015]: In at least one embodiment, a method of surgical navigation may include receiving an external three-dimensional model of a surgical site from the viewpoint of a headset, wherein the external three-dimensional model is derived from reflected light), the surgical hub comprising:
receive a first imaging representation for a surgical site, the first imaging representation comprising a coordinate system (see Fig.8A/B: the images captured by CCD camera A/B are interpreted as the first imaging representation. Also see [0134]: FIG. 8B shows an example data transformation by triangulation to generate an array of polar datapoints having depth and position. Structured Illumination has the advantage that a polar coordinate system and zero reference point are inherent in the imaging projector and can be used to speed analysis of the remaining mesh map. Data analysis is illustrated schematically in FIG. 8B and generates a dataset having position coordinates and elevation coordinates that can be used to draw a wireframe model and describe a body volume that can then be supplemented with data from one or more internal three-dimensional solid model scans);
receive at least one the at least one ([0089]: Once a wireframe map of the surgical field 115 is obtained, anatomical reference points may be identified by image analysis or may be assigned by an operator, and a solid model may be oriented and aligned so that the anatomical features not visible beneath the exterior view of the surgical field 115 may be matched and projected in the virtual view displayed in the eyepiece. The solid model data may be acquired from computerized tomography (CT) scans, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), or other scans already of record in the patient's digital chart. In a general computational approach, thin slices may be merged to generate a solid model, and the model may be digitally segmented to isolate individual anatomical structures such as bones, vessels, organs and the like. CT or MRI are images comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light);
overlay the first imaging representation, the at least one imaging representation, ([0122]-[0124]: FIG. 6 shows an example process flow 600 for generating a three-dimensional virtual fusion view by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. … In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step …).
Esterberg discloses fusion had been known to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention ([0124]: In Step 3, the wireframe model and a reference 3D solid model (such as from a CT scan) may then be processed by data fusion processing as known in the art to produce a virtual solid model, termed here a “fusion 3D model” extending from the surface of the surgical field to any internal structures observable in the CT scan, as correctly registered according to the body position and observable anatomical features that were captured in the earlier step).
But Esterberg fails to explicitly disclose perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system of the first imaging representation to register the at least one second imaging representation into the coordinate system to overlay the first and second images.
However Piron, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a computing device housed in equipment tower 108 can perform various actions to register preoperative images with intraoperative images (that is, place both types of image in a common coordinate system), allowing the data obtained before the surgical procedure to be combined and presented simultaneously on display 110 ([0026]). Piron discloses the preoperative images may be collected using any of a variety of imaging modalities, such as Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT), ultrasound, Computed Tomography (CT), optical spectroscopy and the like ([0026]) and the intraoperative images may be acquired with modalities having different resolutions than those used preoperatively ([0026]). Piron further discloses the intraoperative may be an optical spectroscopy image ([0042]: if MRI is used at block 305, block 315 may involve the use of ultrasound, optical spectroscopy, low field intraoperative MRI (iMRI) or the like). Piron discloses Responsive to obtaining the intraoperative image and intraoperative measurements, at block 325 computing device 200 is configured to register the intraoperative image obtained at block 315 with the preoperative image obtained at block 305. Image registration refers to the process of placing both images in a common coordinate system, such that any given set of coordinates in the common system identifies portions of both images depicting the same area of patient 104. In general, each obtained image begins with an image-specific coordinate system. For example, a two-dimensional preoperative image may have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. A two-dimensional intraoperative image may also have a coordinate system in which the origin lies at the lower-left corner of the image. However, because the two images may not depict exactly the same area of patient 104, and because the different imaging modalities used to obtain the images may have different resolutions, the two coordinate systems cannot be directly compared ([0048]). Therefore, in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system, a transformation operation is applied to one of the images. In the present example, it is contemplated that the transformation operation is to be applied to the intraoperative image, but the transformation operation can also be applied to the preoperative image. The nature of the transformation is not particularly limited, and a variety of algorithms will occur to those skilled in the art for determining such transformation operations. In general, the transformation operation manipulates the pixels or voxels of one or both of the images (e.g. by translation, rotation, distortion, scaling, and the like) to place the pixels or voxels in the common coordinate system ([0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Piron into that of Esterberg and to include the limitation of perform at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion to the at least one second imaging representation via the coordinate system of the first imaging representation to register the at least one second imaging representation into the coordinate system in order to align the preoperative image and the intraoperative image on a common coordinate system as suggested by Prim ([0049]).
Esterberg modified by Piron fails to disclose the at least second imaging representations for the surgical site are a plurality of second imaging representations each for the surgical site, at least one imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light spectrum, a remaining imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum.
However Liu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses receiving a plurality of second imaging representations each for the surgical site, at least one imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light spectrum, a remaining imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum (Claim 19: wherein the imaging or sensing instrument is configured to perform optical spectroscopies, absorption spectroscopy, fluorescence spectroscopy, Raman spectroscopy, coherent anti-Stokes Raman spectroscopy (CARS), surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy, Fourier transform spectroscopy, Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR), multiplex or frequency-modulated spectroscopy, X-ray spectroscopy, attenuated total reflectance spectroscopy, electron paramagnetic spectroscopy, electron spectroscopy, gamma-ray spectroscopy, acoustic resonance spectroscopy, auger spectroscopy, cavity ring down spectroscopy, circular dichroism spectroscopy, cold vapour atomic fluorescence spectroscopy, correlation spectroscopy, deep-level transient spectroscopy, dual polarization interferometry, EPR spectroscopy, force spectroscopy, Hadron spectroscopy, Baryon spectroscopy, meson spectroscopy, inelastic electron tunneling spectroscopy (IETS), laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS), mass spectroscopy, Mossbauer spectroscopy, neutron spin echo spectroscopy, photoacoustic spectroscopy, photoemission spectroscopy, photothermal spectroscopy, pump-probe spectroscopy, Raman optical activity spectroscopy, saturated spectroscopy, scanning tunneling spectroscopy, spectrophotometery, ultraviolet photoelectron spectroscopy (UPS), video spectroscopy, vibrational circular dichroism spectroscopy, X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS), color microscopy, reflectance microscopy, fluorescence microscopy, oxygen-saturation microscopy, polarization microscopy, infrared microscopy, interference microscopy phase contrast microscopy, differential interference contrast microscopy, hyperspectral microscopy, total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy, confocal microscopy, non-linear microscopy, 2-photon microscopy, second-harmonic generation microscopy, super-resolution microscopy, photoacoustic microscopy, structured light microscopy, 4Pi microscopy, stimulated emission depletion microscopy, stochastic optical reconstruction microscopy, ultrasound microscopy, reflectance imaging, fluorescence imaging, Cerenkov imaging, polarization imaging, ultrasound imaging, radiometric imaging, oxygen saturation imaging, optical coherence tomography, infrared imaging, thermal imaging, photoacoustic imaging, spectroscopic imaging, hyper-spectral imaging, fluoroscopy, gamma imaging, X-ray computed tomography, or combinations thereof. Notice the imaging system is able to receive and process both visible and invisible images).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Esterberg as modified and to include the limitation of receiving a plurality of second imaging representations each for the surgical site, at least one imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths outside of a visible light spectrum, a remaining imaging representation of the second imaging representations comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum and overlay the first imaging representation, the at least one imaging representation, and the remaining imaging representation with each other, thereby generating a third imaging representation for the surgical site, the third imaging representation comprising a range of wavelengths within the visible light spectrum in order to meet the need for an imaging system that utilizes 3D scanning to provide surface topography images as suggested by Liu ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 26, Liu further discloses receive at least one of the first imaging representation and the plurality of second imaging representations from an imaging source (Claim 19). The same reason to combine as that of Claim 25 is applied.
Regarding Claim 27, Esterberg as modified further teaches or suggests wherein the control circuit is further configured to: overlay the first imaging representation and the at least one second imaging representation that is performed with at least one of translation, rotation, scaling, adjustment, and distortion with each other in real-time (Esterberg [0159]: Data may be streamed to the eyepiece for instant reference and may be updated in real time as the surgeon indicates relevant features of interest. Piron Fig.3, [0049], and Liu [0257]: Still another advantage of the present invention is that the imaging system allows capturing and projecting of information onto a non-even (i.e. uneven, curved, contoured) surface in real-time or near real-time with low spatial latencies).
Regarding Claim 28, Esterberg further discloses visualize at least one portion of the surgical site that is occluded with respect to a field of view of an operator via the third imaging representation ([0102]: FIG. 4 shows an example headset view 400 of a surgical field by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. The headset view 400 shows an incision 405 and a virtual CT model 410 of underlying boney structures in anatomical registration).
Regarding Claim 29, Esterberg further discloses visualize at least one portion of the surgical site that is occluded with respect to a field of view of an operator during the surgical procedure via the third imaging representation ([0102]: FIG. 4 shows an example headset view 400 of a surgical field by which at least aspects of surgical navigation may be implemented, arranged in accordance with at least some embodiments described herein. The headset view 400 shows an incision 405 and a virtual CT model 410 of underlying boney structures in anatomical registration).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613