Filed IDS of 08/06/2024 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the Watanabe et al. (JP 2021005005, cited by IDS), in view of Taki et al. (JP 2014104666, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 an image forming apparatus 100 comprising:
one or more memories (Fig. 2 cites a CPU circuit 213 known in the art to comprise at least one or more memories); and
one or more processors (CPU circuit 213 of at least Fig. 2
further comprises said one or more processors) executing instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
execute a function of the image forming apparatus (the at least Abstract cites at least one or more performed print job and setting functions executions of the image forming apparatus);
accept an operation (the Abstract and the disclosure cites one or more accepted license function operations, speed change operation, and the like via at least the operation panel after the granting of the license); and
control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the disclosure further cites “Switching the print speed according to the license is performed from the license registration screen of FIG. 7A provided in the user mode in which various settings can be made by pressing the user mode button 334 provided on the operation unit 330. When the user inputs the license number, the image forming apparatus 100 communicates with the license management server 400 shown in FIG. 8 via the communication controller 210. If the license management number is valid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license permission, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license has been permitted by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (B). Notify. If the license number is invalid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license disapproval, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license is invalid by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (C)….. The license information of the license end date and time is stored in the RAM 602. Then, the image is formed at the print speed based on the license information of the RAM 602. The license control unit 233 monitors the arrival of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602, and when the license end date and time is reached, notifies the user that the license has reached the expiration date on the screen shown in FIG. 7 (D). To do. Then, the model information of the print speed, the license start date and time, and the license information of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602 are cleared, and the original print speed setting is restored. Here, the license based on the period has been described as an example, but the license may be such that the printing speed is switched by a predetermined number of prints”, thereby configured when the license is valid causes the control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and if invalid to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
Watanabe is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted, and wherein the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein said execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted, and wherein the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Watanabe further teaches wherein the function includes a function for executing a job including printing (the Abstract at least teaches image formation request includes at least said function for executing a job including printing).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Watanabe further teaches wherein the license includes a license specifying a parameter for executing a job (the granted license acceptance of the Abstract and the disclosure further comprises at least a license specifying a print speed change parameter for executing a job).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 3), Watanabe further teaches wherein a specification of the parameter includes a specification related to an image forming speed (the speed change or switch specification of the Abstract and the disclosure).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Watanabe is silent regarding wherein the execution of the function is prohibited in a state where a power to execute the function is supplied.
Taki further teaches in the disclosure the print system may switch from the temporary mode to the permanent mode when certain condition satisfaction are met which in that case would prohibit execution of certain functions that were permitted during the temporary or exceptionally permitted mode such as “the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby indicating in a case execution of the function is prohibited in a state where a change power to execute the function is supplied. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein said execution of the function is prohibited in a state where a power to execute the function is supplied, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met, a case further exist if a power supplied power is cutoff to the image forming system, the operating mode reverts to the normal mode which in essence cancels the temporary mode and the exceptionally permitted function execution thereby in a case protect the system from being used in an adverse or unauthorized manner according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Watanabe further implies wherein, with a release condition satisfied, the image forming apparatus released from a state where the execution of the function is prohibited based on the satisfaction of the release condition (the granting and acceptance of the purchase licensed of at least the Abstract and the disclosure further comprises in the art a release prohibition condition which with a release condition satisfied, the image forming apparatus released from a state where the execution of the function is prohibited based on the satisfaction of the release condition).
Regarding claim 7 (according to claim 6), Watanabe is silent regarding wherein the release condition includes a reboot of the image forming apparatus.
Taki further teaches in the disclosure the print system may switch from the temporary mode to the permanent mode when certain condition satisfaction are met which in that case would prohibit execution of certain functions that were permitted during the temporary or exceptionally permitted mode such as “the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby indicating in a case execution of the function is prohibited in a state where a reboot power or rebooting of the system is detected. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein said release condition includes a reboot of the image forming apparatus, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a change of power supply or reboot release is detected further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met, a case further exist if a power supplied power is cutoff or a reboot release is detected in the image forming system, the operating mode reverts to the normal mode which in essence cancels the temporary mode and the exceptionally permitted function execution thereby in a case protect the system from being used in an adverse or unauthorized manner according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 6), Watanabe further implies wherein the release condition includes a grant of the license (the acceptance of the granted license depicted in the Abstract and the disclosure further insinuates to one skill in the art a release suspension condition including a grant and usage of the license).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Watanabe is silent regarding wherein the condition includes a condition based on an operation executed by the image forming apparatus with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein said condition includes a condition based on an operation executed by the image forming apparatus with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 9), Watanabe is silent regarding wherein the operation includes a number counting which is executed depending on an execution of a job with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted and a period during that the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein said operation includes a number counting which is executed depending on an execution of a job with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted and a period during that the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches at least in Figs. 1-3 a control method for an image forming apparatus 100 comprising:
executing a function of the image forming apparatus (the at least Abstract cites at least one or more performed print job and setting functions executions of the image forming apparatus);
accepting an operation (the Abstract and the disclosure cites one or more accepted license function operations, speed change operation, and the like via at least the operation panel after the granting of the license); and
executing control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the disclosure further cites “Switching the print speed according to the license is performed from the license registration screen of FIG. 7A provided in the user mode in which various settings can be made by pressing the user mode button 334 provided on the operation unit 330. When the user inputs the license number, the image forming apparatus 100 communicates with the license management server 400 shown in FIG. 8 via the communication controller 210. If the license management number is valid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license permission, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license has been permitted by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (B). Notify. If the license number is invalid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license disapproval, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license is invalid by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (C)….. The license information of the license end date and time is stored in the RAM 602. Then, the image is formed at the print speed based on the license information of the RAM 602. The license control unit 233 monitors the arrival of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602, and when the license end date and time is reached, notifies the user that the license has reached the expiration date on the screen shown in FIG. 7 (D). To do. Then, the model information of the print speed, the license start date and time, and the license information of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602 are cleared, and the original print speed setting is restored. Here, the license based on the period has been described as an example, but the license may be such that the printing speed is switched by a predetermined number of prints”, thereby configured when the license is valid causes the control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and if invalid to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
Watanabe is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted and the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein, through said control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted and the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 12 Watanabe teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium 213 that stores a program for causing an image forming apparatus to execute a control method for the image forming apparatus,
executing a function of the image forming apparatus (the at least Abstract cites at least one or more performed print job and setting functions executions of the image forming apparatus);
accepting an operation (the Abstract and the disclosure cites one or more accepted license function operations, speed change operation, and the like via at least the operation panel after the granting of the license); and
executing control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the disclosure further cites “Switching the print speed according to the license is performed from the license registration screen of FIG. 7A provided in the user mode in which various settings can be made by pressing the user mode button 334 provided on the operation unit 330. When the user inputs the license number, the image forming apparatus 100 communicates with the license management server 400 shown in FIG. 8 via the communication controller 210. If the license management number is valid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license permission, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license has been permitted by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (B). Notify. If the license number is invalid, the license management server 400 notifies the image forming apparatus 100 of the license disapproval, and the license control unit 233 informs the user that the license is invalid by the screen shown in FIG. 7 (C)….. The license information of the license end date and time is stored in the RAM 602. Then, the image is formed at the print speed based on the license information of the RAM 602. The license control unit 233 monitors the arrival of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602, and when the license end date and time is reached, notifies the user that the license has reached the expiration date on the screen shown in FIG. 7 (D). To do. Then, the model information of the print speed, the license start date and time, and the license information of the license end date and time stored in the RAM 602 are cleared, and the original print speed setting is restored. Here, the license based on the period has been described as an example, but the license may be such that the printing speed is switched by a predetermined number of prints”, thereby configured when the license is valid causes the control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and if invalid to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
Watanabe is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted and the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Watanabe in view of Taki to include wherein, through said control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted and the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Watanabe in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Watanabe, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Watanabe to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims 1, and 11-12 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over the Fukuda et al. (US 2007/0291296, A1), in view of Taki.
Regarding claim 1, Fukuda teaches in the Abstract and Fig. 1 an image forming apparatus 120 comprising:
one or more memories (readable medium of at least para. 0023); and
one or more processors (para. 0023) executing instructions stored in the one or more memories to:
execute a function of the image forming apparatus (executing in the Abstract and Fig. 14 at least read and print function of the image forming apparatus, including a license to direct-print);
accept an operation (the Abstract and Fig. 14 further at least implies acceptance of a license operation); and
control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the at least Abstract and Fig. 14 further insinuates said control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit further in Fig. 14 the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
wherein the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted (para. 0097 teaches a case even “even a printing apparatus without a license to direct-print the application data designated in the text box 902 can direct-print the application data” by entering the temporary mode wherein the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation mode even when the license is not granted); and
Fukuda is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukuda in view of Taki to include wherein said the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Fukuda in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Fukuda, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Fukuda to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode without a presence of a granted license which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda teaches in at least para. 0018 a control method for an image forming apparatus comprising:
executing a function of the image forming apparatus (executing in the Abstract at least read and print function of the image forming apparatus, including a license to direct-print);
accepting an operation (the Abstract and Fig. 14 further at least implies acceptance of a license operation); and
executing control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the at least Abstract and Fig. 14 further insinuates said control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted (para. 0097 teaches a case even “even a printing apparatus without a license to direct-print the application data designated in the text box 902 can direct-print the application data” by entering the temporary mode wherein the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation mode even when the license is not granted);
Fukuda is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein the wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukuda in view of Taki to include wherein through the control, the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Fukuda in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Fukuda, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Fukuda to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode without a presence of a granted license which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 12, Fukuda teaches at least in para. 0023 a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that stores a program for causing an image forming apparatus to execute a control method for the image forming apparatus, the control method comprising: executing a function of the image forming apparatus (executing in the Abstract and Fig. 14 at least read and print function of the image forming apparatus, including a license to direct-print);
accepting an operation (the Abstract and Fig. 14 further at least implies acceptance of a license operation); and
executing control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted (the at least Abstract and Fig. 14 further insinuates said control to permit the execution of the function with a license granting permission to execute the function and to prohibit the execution of the function when the license is not granted);
wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation even when the license is not granted (para. 0097 teaches a case even “even a printing apparatus without a license to direct-print the application data designated in the text box 902 can direct-print the application data” by entering the temporary mode wherein the execution of the function is exceptionally permitted based on acceptance of a predetermined operation mode even when the license is not granted);
Fukuda is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as disclosing specifically wherein the wherein, through the control, the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted.
Taki teaches at least in the disclosure acceptance of a granting license for permitting functions executions at the machine in a permanent/normal mode and another case of operating the print device in a temporary mode without using a license, such as cited “operator temporarily operates the image forming apparatus by operating keys 61 to 63 relating to temporary model change (temporary function setting) on the operation screen 60 in the line mode. The function setting related to the operation mode of the hardware can be performed so as to be in the same state as when the model change of 1 is performed. This function setting is a provisional function setting different from the permanent function setting performed with the license grant” further indicating said temporary mode causes the machine to temporary or exceptionally permitted execution of a print and/or print speed change function based on acceptance of a predetermined operation key even when the license is not granted, and further configured in the disclosure to cancel the temporary mode and return to a normal mode when certain conditions are met such as “temporary model change such as the provisional printing speed set in this way is configured to be maintained as long as a predetermined condition is satisfied in the line mode. For example, the temporary model change is canceled in the following case (temporary function setting is canceled), and the state before the temporary model change is returned. That is, when the back key 69 is operated to exit the line mode and change to an operation mode (for example, the normal mode) different from the adjustment mode, the temporary model change is canceled. Further, when the power of the image forming apparatus 1 is turned off, when a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) elapses after setting of a temporary model change (for example, after setting of a temporary printing speed), or temporarily When the accumulated number of printed sheets exceeds a predetermined value (for example, 10 sheets) after setting the appropriate model change, the temporary model change is canceled and the speed automatically returns to the original model” thereby adapted for prohibiting in a case execution of the functions based on a satisfaction of the above conditions met with the execution of the function having temporarily or exceptionally permitted. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukuda in view of Taki to include wherein through the control, the execution of the function is prohibited based on a satisfaction of a condition with the execution of the function exceptionally permitted, as discussed above, as Fukuda in view of Taki are in the same of endeavor of operating an image forming system based on acceptance of a granted license for permitting usage of the permitted function or resources based on validity of the license, furthermore, Taki’s combination of operating modes of normal mode and the temporary mode of operating the image forming system according to whether a license is granted further complements the image forming system of Fukuda, in a sense that when combined with the combination print operating mode architecture of Taki, it further enables the print image forming methods and systems of Fukuda to further permit and accept execution of requested functions received at least via the operation panel during a temporary or adjustment mode without a presence of a granted license which acceptance of which allow or permit functions execution to be exceptionally or temporarily permitted during said temporary mode while certain conditions are met such as at least when the image forming apparatus is not turned off during the temporary or adjustment mode, a predetermined period (for example, 30 minutes) does not elapse after setting of a temporary model change, accumulated number of printed sheets does not exceed a predetermined value and the like, said temporary or exceptionally permitted functions further extend system and machine convenience to the user in an actual situation according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 06/30/2026