DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (US 20140301351 A1) in view of Syed (US 20210014693 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Gao discloses a mobile terminal / user equipment (UE 330). UE 330 includes processing means comprising at least one data processor (DP) 330A, computer-readable memory (MEM) 330B storing a computer program (PROG) 330C, and transceivers (TX 330D, RX 330E). Executing PROG 330C via DP 330A causes the UE to carry out the disclosed operational methods, para. 0104-108), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of one or more rules for wireless communications (Gao discloses that an enhanced coexistence manager (eCM) or base station (eNB) selects an operating mode (listen-before-transmit / LBTx vs. non-listen-before-transmit / non-LBTx) and resource allocations. The UE receives instructions/signaling indicating the elected mode configuration and resource allocation rules via dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) / Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling or broadcast in a System Information Block (SIB), para. 0068-75) on a first network deployment using a licensed spectrum (licensed network) (Gao discloses macrocell deployments and LTE cellular transmissions on licensed frequency bands, para. 0042,72) that coexists with respect to an unlicensed spectrum used for wireless communications on a second network (unlicensed network) (Gao discloses managing traffic among licensed cellular bands and unlicensed frequency bands (e.g., ISM 2.4 GHz, 902–928 MHz, TV white space) using Carrier Aggregation (CA), or coexisting with nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth devices, para. 0044-47,68-75),
wherein the one or more rules facilitate coexistence between the first network and the second network deployment (Gao discloses rules (mode election between LBTx and non-LBTx) to manage coexistence and fair spectrum sharing between cellular devices (LTE/LTE-A UEs) and non-cellular radio systems (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth) in unlicensed bands, para. 0068-75); and
perform the wireless communications on the first network deployment in accordance with the one or more rules (Gao discloses that after receiving mode instructions from the network, the UE performs the elected mode (LBTx or non-LBTx) on allocated resources, fig. 7, 310, para. 0068-75).
Gao is silent to teaching that wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network.
In the same field of endeavor, Syed teaches a device (Syed discloses user client devices, mobile devices, and UEs (e.g., smartphones, tablets, laptops). The UE comprises a digital processor apparatus coupled to a storage device/memory storing computer-executable instructions/programs, para. 0070-80), wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network (Syed discloses utilizing overlapping 3.55–3.70 GHz band that is partitioned into General Authorized Access (GAA) for unlicensed/unrestricted wireless communications on an indoor premises, and Priority Access License (PAL) for licensed/restricted wireless communications on an outdoor area external to the premises, para. 0009-15,90-108).
Therefore, a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA) implementing Gao’s traffic management system in venue or enterprise environments would look to Syed’s heterogeneous coverage teachings. A POSITA would be motivated to modify Gao’s centralized eNB/eCM framework to adopt Syed’s indoor/outdoor sectorization—allocating unlicensed spectrum to indoor sectors (shielded by building structures) and licensed spectrum to outdoor sectors across the overlapping band. This directly optimizes Gao's offloading efficiency and signal quality across heterogeneous coverage areas.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the outdoor network using the licensed spectrum comprises at least one of a time division duplexing (TDD) network, a frequency division duplexing (FDD) network, or a subband full-duplex (SBFD) network (Gao discloses standard cellular communications (LTE and LTE-A) transmitting on licensed cellular spectrum. Standard 3GPP LTE networks inherently utilize Frequency Division Duplexing (FDD) or Time Division Duplexing (TDD) modes. Syed teaches that the Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) spectrum—which includes the outdoor Priority Access License (PAL) licensed spectrum—utilizes a time division duplex (TDD) multiple access architecture).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the indoor network using the unlicensed network comprises a different TDD network where the UE is in a non-connected state (Gao discloses coexisting non-cellular radio systems (such as Wi-Fi or Bluetooth devices) operating in unlicensed spectrum in the vicinity of the UE. Syed discloses an indoor network deployment operating on General Authorized Access (GAA) unlicensed spectrum in the 3.55–3.70 GHz band. Because CBRS operates under a TDD architecture, the indoor GAA network is a TDD network. Syed further discloses multi-RAT client devices (UEs) searching for network availability or transitioning between indoor GAA and outdoor PAL sectors).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to perform the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: perform a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure prior to transmitting to the outdoor network deployment, in accordance with the one or more rules (Gao discloses a UE (UE 330) with processors (DP 330A) and memory (MEM 330B) configured to receive rules from the network and perform a listen-before-transmit (LBTx / LBT) procedure (clear channel assessment / energy detection prior to transmitting data) on allocated resources.
Syed discloses outdoor wireless network deployments operating in shared/quasi-licensed spectrum (PAL/GAA) where channel access rules and power limits are enforced).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment are time division duplexed to include uplink transmission time durations and downlink transmission time durations, and wherein the LBT procedure, in accordance with the one or more rules, occurs prior to wireless communications during the uplink transmission time durations but not prior to wireless communications during the downlink transmission time durations (In a TDD system as taught by Syed, UEs transmit during uplink durations while base stations transmit during downlink durations. Under standard 3GPP operation, a UE executing Gao's LBT procedure
prior to its own transmissions on an outdoor TDD deployment would inherently perform LBT prior to uplink time durations (when the UE transmits) and not prior to downlink time durations (when the base station transmits)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 5, wherein the LBT procedure is based on the UE, in accordance with the one or more rules (Gao discloses configuring LBT rules and procedures on a per-UE or per-UE-group basis).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment are associated with a first subband of the overlapping frequency band and a second subband of the overlapping frequency band, wherein the first subband is allocated for wireless communications that do not require the LBT procedure, and the second subband is allocated for wireless communications that do require the LBT procedure (Combining Gao's explicit disclosure of allocating non-LBT subbands vs. LBT subbands
with Syed's PAL (licensed priority) and GAA (unlicensed) subband architecture renders Claim 9 obvious. A POSITA would find it obvious to allocate a non-LBT mode to a licensed PAL subband and mandate an LBT procedure on an unlicensed/shared GAA subband to protect neighboring users from interference).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein the first subband is allocated for clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by the UE (Gao discloses a non-LBTx operating mode where the UE initially transmits data without executing a clear channel assessment (CCA) / LBT).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein the first subband is allocated for exclusive use within the licensed spectrum (Syed teaches allocating subbands for exclusive/protected incumbent use within the licensed band).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein the second subband is allocated to require the LBT procedure for any transmission over the second subband (Gao discloses configuring an LBTx mode where a device (UE) is prevented from sending any data on the subband without first checking (via LBT / CCA) if another device is utilizing the spectrum. Applying Gao’s strict LBTx mode to Syed’s shared GAA subband directly yields Claim 13).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment are associated with a first subband of the overlapping frequency band, a second subband of the overlapping frequency band, and a third subband of the overlapping frequency band, wherein the first subband is allocated for exclusive use within the licensed spectrum, the second subband is allocated for shared use by network entities and UEs, and the third subband is allocated for shared use by UEs (Gao discloses managing multi-carrier component subbands and sharing spectrum across user groups. Syed discloses the three-tiered CBRS access framework in the 3.55–3.70 GHz band: Tier 1 (Incumbent Access): Allocated for exclusive/protected use within licensed spectrum. Tier 2 (Priority Access / PAL): Allocated for licensed/restricted shared use by network entities (CBSDs) and UEs. Tier 3 (General Authorized Access / GAA): Allocated for general shared use by UEs and open users. A POSITA would find it obvious to configure Gao’s UE to receive signaling indicating subband allocations corresponding to Syed’s three spectrum tiers.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 17, wherein the first subband is time division duplexed or full duplexed (Gao discloses standard cellular duplexing access modes. Syed discloses that the spectrum tiers operate under a TDD architecture).
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of one or more rules for wireless communications (Gao discloses that an enhanced coexistence manager (eCM) or base station (eNB) selects an operating mode (listen-before-transmit / LBTx vs. non-listen-before-transmit / non-LBTx) and resource allocations. The UE receives instructions/signaling indicating the elected mode configuration and resource allocation rules via dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) / Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling or broadcast in a System Information Block (SIB), para. 0068-75) on a first network deployment using a licensed spectrum (licensed network) (Gao discloses macrocell deployments and LTE cellular transmissions on licensed frequency bands, para. 0042,72) that coexists with respect to an unlicensed spectrum used for wireless communications on a second network (unlicensed network) (Gao discloses managing traffic among licensed cellular bands and unlicensed frequency bands (e.g., ISM 2.4 GHz, 902–928 MHz, TV white space) using Carrier Aggregation (CA), or coexisting with nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth devices, para. 0044-47,68-75),
wherein the one or more rules facilitate coexistence between the first network and the second network deployment (Gao discloses rules (mode election between LBTx and non-LBTx) to manage coexistence and fair spectrum sharing between cellular devices (LTE/LTE-A UEs) and non-cellular radio systems (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth) in unlicensed bands, para. 0068-75); and
performing the wireless communications on the first network deployment in accordance with the one or more rules (Gao discloses that after receiving mode instructions from the network, the UE performs the elected mode (LBTx or non-LBTx) on allocated resources, fig. 7, 310, para. 0068-75).
Gao is silent to teaching that wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network.
In the same field of endeavor, Syed teaches a method (Syed discloses user client devices, mobile devices, and UEs (e.g., smartphones, tablets, laptops). The UE comprises a digital processor apparatus coupled to a storage device/memory storing computer-executable instructions/programs, para. 0070-80), wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network (Syed discloses utilizing overlapping 3.55–3.70 GHz band that is partitioned into General Authorized Access (GAA) for unlicensed/unrestricted wireless communications on an indoor premises, and Priority Access License (PAL) for licensed/restricted wireless communications on an outdoor area external to the premises, para. 0009-15,90-108).
Therefore, a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA) implementing Gao’s traffic management system in venue or enterprise environments would look to Syed’s heterogeneous coverage teachings. A POSITA would be motivated to modify Gao’s centralized eNB/eCM framework to adopt Syed’s indoor/outdoor sectorization—allocating unlicensed spectrum to indoor sectors (shielded by building structures) and licensed spectrum to outdoor sectors across the overlapping band. This directly optimizes Gao's offloading efficiency and signal quality across heterogeneous coverage areas.
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising:
means for receiving an indication of one or more rules for wireless communications (Gao discloses that an enhanced coexistence manager (eCM) or base station (eNB) selects an operating mode (listen-before-transmit / LBTx vs. non-listen-before-transmit / non-LBTx) and resource allocations. The UE receives instructions/signaling indicating the elected mode configuration and resource allocation rules via dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) / Medium Access Control (MAC) signaling or broadcast in a System Information Block (SIB), para. 0068-75) on a first network deployment using a licensed spectrum (licensed network) (Gao discloses macrocell deployments and LTE cellular transmissions on licensed frequency bands, para. 0042,72) that coexists with respect to an unlicensed spectrum used for wireless communications on a second network (unlicensed network) (Gao discloses managing traffic among licensed cellular bands and unlicensed frequency bands (e.g., ISM 2.4 GHz, 902–928 MHz, TV white space) using Carrier Aggregation (CA), or coexisting with nearby Wi-Fi or Bluetooth devices, para. 0044-47,68-75),
wherein the one or more rules facilitate coexistence between the first network and the second network deployment (Gao discloses rules (mode election between LBTx and non-LBTx) to manage coexistence and fair spectrum sharing between cellular devices (LTE/LTE-A UEs) and non-cellular radio systems (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth) in unlicensed bands, para. 0068-75); and
means for performing the wireless communications on the first network deployment in accordance with the one or more rules (Gao discloses that after receiving mode instructions from the network, the UE performs the elected mode (LBTx or non-LBTx) on allocated resources, fig. 7, 310, para. 0068-75).
Gao is silent to teaching that wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network.
In the same field of endeavor, Syed teaches a device (Syed discloses user client devices, mobile devices, and UEs (e.g., smartphones, tablets, laptops). The UE comprises a digital processor apparatus coupled to a storage device/memory storing computer-executable instructions/programs, para. 0070-80), wherein the first network is an outdoor network that includes an overlapping frequency band with respect to a second network which is an indoor network (Syed discloses utilizing overlapping 3.55–3.70 GHz band that is partitioned into General Authorized Access (GAA) for unlicensed/unrestricted wireless communications on an indoor premises, and Priority Access License (PAL) for licensed/restricted wireless communications on an outdoor area external to the premises, para. 0009-15,90-108).
Therefore, a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA) implementing Gao’s traffic management system in venue or enterprise environments would look to Syed’s heterogeneous coverage teachings. A POSITA would be motivated to modify Gao’s centralized eNB/eCM framework to adopt Syed’s indoor/outdoor sectorization—allocating unlicensed spectrum to indoor sectors (shielded by building structures) and licensed spectrum to outdoor sectors across the overlapping band. This directly optimizes Gao's offloading efficiency and signal quality across heterogeneous coverage areas.
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Syed as applied to claims 2 and 5 above, and further in view of Bhattad (US 20210051719 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 2.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein a first subband of the SBFD network is used for uplink communications based on a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure and a second subband of the SBFD network is used for downlink communications without the LBT procedure.
In the same field of endeavor, Bhattad teaches a device wherein a first subband of the SBFD network is used for uplink communications based on a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure and a second subband of the SBFD network is used for downlink communications without the LBT procedure (Bhattad discloses allocating a subset of subbands for transmission of an uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) and indicating via downlink control information (DCI) or RRC signaling whether an LBT procedure is required for specific subbands, para. 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA) to combine Gao's LBTx vs. non-LBTx subband mode selection with Bhattad's multi-subband uplink control framework. A POSITA would configure an uplink subband to require an LBT procedure prior to UE transmission to prevent subscriber interference, while allowing downlink transmissions on a scheduled subband without LBT to reduce base station downlink latency.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 5.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment are associated with a first subband of the overlapping frequency band and a second subband of the overlapping frequency band, wherein the first subband is allocated for uplink communications and the second subband is allocated for downlink communications, wherein the LBT procedure is based on the first subband in accordance with the one or more rules.
In the same field of endeavro, Bhattad teaches a device wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the wireless communications on the outdoor network deployment are associated with a first subband of the overlapping frequency band and a second subband of the overlapping frequency band, wherein the first subband is allocated for uplink communications and the second subband is allocated for downlink communications, wherein the LBT procedure is based on the first subband in accordance with the one or more rules (Bhattad discloses allocating a subset of subbands for transmission of an uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) and indicating via downlink control information (DCI) or RRC signaling whether an LBT procedure is required for specific subbands, para. 0050).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (POSITA) to combine Gao's LBTx vs. non-LBTx subband mode selection with Bhattad's multi-subband uplink control framework. A POSITA would configure an uplink subband to require an LBT procedure prior to UE transmission to prevent subscriber interference, while allowing downlink transmissions on a scheduled subband without LBT to reduce base station downlink latency.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Syed as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gunasekara (US 20190058999 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein the first subband is allocated for clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by a network entity and for one or more types of duty cycle transmissions of the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Gunasekara teaches a device wherein the first subband is allocated for clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by a network entity and for one or more types of duty cycle transmissions of the UE (Gunasekara discloses duty cycle procedures implemented in LTE-U / LTE-LAA to allow sharing of unlicensed/quasi-licensed subbands without continuous LBT, para. 0019, fig. 5,516, para. 0160, and allocating spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Gao and Syed with the teaching of Gunasekara. Applying Gunasekara’s duty cycle transmission procedures to Gao’s non-LBTx/CCA-exempt subbands in Syed's multi-tier deployment represents an obvious application of known duty-cycling techniques to manage channel occupancy time without triggering LBT overhead.
egarding claim 14, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein the second subband is allocated for a limited use of clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by UEs and network entities.
In the same field of endeavor, Gunasekara teaches a device wherein the second subband is allocated for a limited use of clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by UEs and network entities (Gunasekara discloses duty cycle procedures implemented in LTE-U / LTE-LAA to allow sharing of unlicensed/quasi-licensed subbands without continuous LBT, para. 0019, fig. 5,516, para. 0160, and allocating spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Gao and Syed with the teaching of Gunasekara. Applying Gunasekara’s duty cycle transmission procedures to Gao’s non-LBTx/CCA-exempt subbands in Syed's multi-tier deployment represents an obvious application of known duty-cycling techniques to manage channel occupancy time without triggering LBT overhead.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein the second subband is allocated for a limited use of clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by only UEs.
In the same field of endeavor, Gunasekara teaches a device wherein the second subband is allocated for a limited use of clear channel assessment (CCA)-exempt transmissions (CETs) by only UEs (Gunasekara discloses duty cycle procedures implemented in LTE-U / LTE-LAA to allow sharing of unlicensed/quasi-licensed subbands without continuous LBT, para. 0019, fig. 5,516, para. 0160, and allocating spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Gao and Syed with the teaching of Gunasekara. Applying Gunasekara’s duty cycle transmission procedures to Gao’s non-LBTx/CCA-exempt subbands in Syed's multi-tier deployment represents an obvious application of known duty-cycling techniques to manage channel occupancy time without triggering LBT overhead.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the combination of Gao and Syed teaches the UE of claim 9.
The combination of Gao and Syed is silent to teaching that wherein the second subband is allocated for exclusive use within the licensed spectrum.
In the same field of endeavor, Gunasekara teaches a device wherein the second subband is allocated for exclusive use within the licensed spectrum (Gunasekara discloses duty cycle procedures implemented in LTE-U / LTE-LAA to allow sharing of unlicensed/quasi-licensed subbands without continuous LBT, para. 0019, fig. 5,516, para. 0160, and allocating spectrum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Gao and Syed with the teaching of Gunasekara. Applying Gunasekara’s duty cycle transmission procedures to Gao’s non-LBTx/CCA-exempt subbands in Syed's multi-tier deployment represents an obvious application of known duty-cycling techniques to manage channel occupancy time without triggering LBT overhead.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20230156480, 10129870B2, 10159089, 20210211886, 20230080801, teach wireless systems with improve interference.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648