DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in The Republic of Korea on Nov. 20, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Applicant is requested to review the “Priority Document Exchange Failure Status Report” communication entered into the record on April 20, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chon et al. (US 20200313581 A1) in view of Motohira et al. (US 20200139837 A1) (the combination of which will be referred to as 'combination Chon' hereinafter). As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 1, Chon teaches a vehicle including:
a relay welding diagnosis function and configured to be connectable to a charger providing a charging voltage, (Chon: ¶ 016; diagnose failure of the second relay, the controller may provide a control signal for opening the second relay to the second relay and then compare voltages of the first and second terminals of the second relay to diagnose failure of the second relay due to fusing,) . . . a charging relay disposed between the charger and the multi-converter; (Chon: ¶ 041; provides the converted voltage to the battery 15 to charge the battery 15 by appropriately controlling connection states of relays R1 and R2 according to the voltage level of the charging power supplied from the EVS) and a battery configured to store electrical energy of the boosted voltage wherein the multi-converter includes: a voltage booster connected between the charging relay and the battery and configured to generate the boosted voltage; (Chon: ¶ 040; system which directly provides charging power supplied from electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) 20 to a battery 15 or converts a voltage level of the charging power using an inverter 13 provided to drive a motor 11 and then provides the converted voltage to the battery 15 to charge the battery 15 by appropriately controlling connection states of relays R1 and R2) and a converter controller configured to diagnose whether the charging relay is welded using a result of sensing an input-terminal voltage and an output-terminal voltage of the charging relay. (Chon: ¶ 016; diagnose failure of the second relay, the controller may provide a control signal for opening the second relay to the second relay and then compare voltages of the first and second terminals of the second relay to diagnose failure of the second relay due to fusing,)
To the extent that Chon is silent or does not explicitly teach: the vehicle comprising: a fuel cell configured to provide a stack voltage; a multi-converter configured to increase a level of the charging voltage or the stack voltage and to output the charging voltage or the stack voltage having the increased level as a boosted voltage; Motohira does teach:
the vehicle comprising: a fuel cell configured to provide a stack voltage; (Motohira: ¶ 034; may be a vehicle in which a fuel cell is installed.) a multi-converter configured to increase a level of the charging voltage or the stack voltage and to output the charging voltage or the stack voltage having the increased level as a boosted voltage; (Motohira: ¶ 018; boost converter 40 is connected to the high-voltage side electric power line)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Motohira with the teachings of Chon because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of improving safety by reducing the "possibility that a large electric current flows at the time of the connection between the station-side connector and the inlet and a machine is damaged." (Motohira: ¶ 004). Furthermore, Motohira explicitly teaches that the application of a welded relay detection circuit is applicable to fuel cell vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and battery-electric vehicles. (Motohira: ¶ 033-034)
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Chon further teaches:
further including a mode switching unit configured to selectively connect the fuel cell to the multi-converter. (Chon: ¶ 040; converts a voltage level of the charging power using an inverter 13 provided to drive a motor 11 and then provides the converted voltage to the battery 15 to charge the battery 15 by appropriately controlling connection states of relays R1 and R2)
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 2. Chon further teaches:
further including a high-level controller configured to control ON/OFF of the charging relay and the mode switching unit and to control the converter controller to diagnose whether the charging relay is welded. (Chon: ¶ 016; diagnose failure of the second relay, the controller may provide a control signal for opening the second relay to the second relay and then compare voltages of the first and second terminals of the second relay to diagnose failure of the second relay due to fusing,)
Regarding claim 4, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 3. Chon further teaches:
wherein the multi-converter further includes a first capacitor connected between the voltage booster and the charging relay. (Chon: ¶ 050; Cn connected between a positive (+) terminal and a negative (−) terminal of the charging power input stage 30 for receiving charging power from the EVSE 20, and an initial charging circuit 17 for initially charging a DC capacitor Cdc provided at the input stage of the inverter 13)
Regarding claim 5, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Chon further teaches:
wherein the multi-converter further includes a second capacitor connected between the voltage booster and the battery. (Chon: ¶ 072; initial charging circuit 17 is a circuit operating to provide an appropriate voltage and current to the DC capacitor Cdc in order to charge the DC capacitor Cdc before the main relay Rm is short-circuited.)
Regarding claim 6, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 3. Motohira teaches:
further including a battery management system configured to check whether charging of the battery ends normally, to output a checking result to the high-level controller, (Motohira: ¶ 029; unit 70 determines that the charging is finished normally in step S100, a normal finish sequence is performed (step S110) and the process is terminated. Examples of the normal finish sequence include a sequence of performing diagnosis about welding abnormality) and to control ON/OFF of the main relay included in the battery. (Motohira: ¶ 029; system main relay 38 off,)
Claims 7-8 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Chon as applied to claims 1, 4 respectively above, and further in view of Schulmeyer (DE 102021115882 A1).
Regarding claim 7, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 2. To the extent Chon is silent or does not explicitly teach:
wherein the converter controller is further configured to diagnose whether the charging relay is welded by adjusting a level of a first voltage measured at an output terminal of the charging relay to a target value and using a difference in level between a second voltage measured again at the output terminal of the charging relay and a third voltage measured at an input terminal of the charging relay; Schulmeyer does teach:
wherein the converter controller is further configured to diagnose whether the charging relay is welded (Schulmeyer: ¶ 007; could make it possible to determine whether the relay got stuck after the triggering of the relay opening during the rapid shutdown, i.e., whether it could not be opened successfully) (Schulmeyer: ¶ 000). (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; could make it possible to determine whether the relay got stuck after the triggering of the relay opening during the rapid shutdown, i.e., whether it could not be opened successfully) by adjusting a level of a first voltage measured at an output terminal of the charging relay to a target value (Schulmeyer: ¶ 009; first test voltage can, for example, be applied to the first load contact of the relay. The first test voltage or the current of the test current can be measured at the second load contact.) and using a difference in level between a second voltage measured again at the output terminal of the charging relay and a third voltage measured at an input terminal of the charging relay. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 010; In the event that the relay is closed during the test procedure, the evaluation can include a second check to see if the first test voltage is present at the second load contact or if the current at the second load contact increases. The first and second tests can each involve sampling the first test voltage or current at the second load contact using a measuring circuit.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Schulmeyer with the teachings of Chon because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "accelerat[ing] the rapid shutdown of the charging process." (Schulmeyer: ¶ 016)
Regarding claim 8, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 7. combination Chon does not explicitly teach:
wherein the converter controller is further configured to diagnose whether the charging relay is welded, by: controlling the level of the first voltage to the target value; measuring the second voltage; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; could make it possible to determine whether the relay got stuck after the triggering of the relay opening during the rapid shutdown, i.e., whether it could not be opened successfully) checking whether an absolute value of the difference in level between the second voltage and the third voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined value; determining that the charging relay has been turned off normally in response that the absolute value is greater than or equal to the predetermined value; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 030; it is checked whether an absolute value of the voltage response or the current response exceeds a predetermined first threshold or second threshold, respectively) and determining that the charging relay has been welded in response that the absolute value is less than the predetermined value. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; [relay] could not be opened successfully. If this were the case, the voltage response or the current response would exceed the first or second threshold, respectively, since the relay directs the second test voltage to the output terminal when it is not open.)
Regarding claim 9, as detailed above, combination Chon teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 4. Motohira teaches:
the method comprising: controlling an output-terminal current of the charging relay according as charging operation of the charger ends normally; (Motohira: ¶ 029; unit 70 determines that the charging is finished normally in step S100, a normal finish sequence is performed (step S110) and the process is terminated. Examples of the normal finish sequence include a sequence of performing diagnosis about welding abnormality) turning the charging relay off; (Motohira: ¶ 029; system main relay 38 off,)
To the extent Chon is silent or does not explicitly teach: and diagnosing whether the charging relay is welded by adjusting a level of a first voltage measured at an output terminal of the charging relay to a target value; Schulmeyer does teach:
turning the charging relay off; and diagnosing whether the charging relay is welded by adjusting a level of a first voltage measured at an output terminal of the charging relay to a target value and using a difference in level between a second voltage measured again at the output terminal of the charging relay and a third voltage measured at an input terminal of the charging relay. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 009; first test voltage can, for example, be applied to the first load contact of the relay. The first test voltage or the current of the test current can be measured at the second load contact.) and using a difference in level between a second voltage measured again at the output terminal of the charging relay and a third voltage measured at an input terminal of the charging relay. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 010; In the event that the relay is closed during the test procedure, the evaluation can include a second check to see if the first test voltage is present at the second load contact or if the current at the second load contact increases. The first and second tests can each involve sampling the first test voltage or current at the second load contact using a measuring circuit.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Schulmeyer with the teachings of Chon because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of "accelerat[ing] the rapid shutdown of the charging process." (Schulmeyer: ¶ 016)
Regarding claim 10, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 9. Schulmeyer further teaches:
wherein the controlling the output-terminal current includes: checking whether the charging operation ends normally or abruptly; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; could make it possible to determine whether the relay got stuck after the triggering of the relay opening during the rapid shutdown, i.e., whether it could not be opened successfully.)
setting the output-terminal current to 0 amperes when the charging operation has ended normally; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 030; a second test voltage is applied to the relay and a voltage response or a current response is measured in a line section located between the relay and the output terminal in response to the application of the second test voltage) and checking whether the output-terminal current is less than a predetermined current level in response that the charging operation has ended abruptly. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; [relay] could not be opened successfully. If this were the case, the voltage response or the current response would exceed the first or second threshold, respectively, since the relay directs the second test voltage to the output terminal when it is not open.)
Regarding claim 11, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 9. Schulmeyer further teaches:
wherein the diagnosing whether the charging relay is welded includes: controlling the level of the first voltage to the target value; measuring the second voltage; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 009; first test voltage can, for example, be applied to the first load contact of the relay. The first test voltage or the current of the test current can be measured at the second load contact.) checking whether an absolute value of the difference in level between the second voltage and the third voltage is greater than or equal to a predetermined value; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 030; it is checked whether an absolute value of the voltage response or the current response exceeds a predetermined first threshold or second threshold, respectively) determining that the charging relay has been turned off normally when the absolute value is greater than or equal to the predetermined value; (Schulmeyer: ¶ 030; a second test voltage is applied to the relay and a voltage response or a current response is measured in a line section located between the relay and the output terminal in response to the application of the second test voltage) and determining that the charging relay has been welded when the absolute value is less than the predetermined value. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 031; [relay] could not be opened successfully. If this were the case, the voltage response or the current response would exceed the first or second threshold, respectively, since the relay directs the second test voltage to the output terminal when it is not open.)
Regarding claim 12, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 11. Schulmeyer further teaches:
wherein the target value corresponds to half the level of the first voltage. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 009; first test voltage is preferably many times lower than, for example, only half or a quarter as high as a charging voltage for charging the electric vehicle)
Regarding claim 13, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 11. Chon further teaches:
wherein the diagnosing whether the charging relay is welded further includes notifying that the charging relay has been welded. (Chon: ¶ 082; relay R2 has failed in step S43, the controller 100 may warn of occurrence of failure through a vehicle cluster or the like and end the charging mode)
Regarding claim 14, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 9. Chon further teaches:
further including, after the diagnosing whether the charging relay is welded, determining that the charging operation of the charger has been completed. (Chon: ¶ 082; relay R2 has failed in step S43, the controller 100 may warn of occurrence of failure through a vehicle cluster or the like and end the charging mode)
Regarding claim 15, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 14. Schulmeyer further teaches:
further including turning a main relay included in the battery off. (Schulmeyer: ¶ 041; increase the safety of the safety circuit and the charging process if all of the P relays are switched off as soon as the control signal for rapid shutdown of the charging process is received.)
Regarding claim 16, as detailed above, combination Chon in view of Schulmeyer teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 15. Chon further teaches:
further including discharging the first capacitor. (Chon: ¶ 069; Forcible discharge of the neutral capacitor Cn may be performed in such a manner that the controller 100 short-circuits two switching elements included in one of the legs of the inverter.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Kim (US 20220181659 A1) which discloses a fault diagnostic apparatus for a fuel cell electric vehicle.
/C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663