DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 07/01/2026 Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks – Pages 9-10 , filed 07/01/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,10,19 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Graziano.
With regards to 101 rejection, Applicant’s amendment overcome the rejection. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7,8,10-14,16,17,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Android Developer et al. “Notification Overview” Publication date 04/21/2018 (Android Developer hereinafter) in view of Graziano et al. Publication No. 2017/005766 A1 (Graziano hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1,
Android Developer teaches a method, comprising:
at a computer system having a display generation component and an input device (Fig.1 & 2 – Android Smart phone) :
displaying a representation of a first plurality of notifications, including a first notification with first content and a second notification with second content, wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a summary of content from the first and second notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups - you should consider grouping those separate notifications into a group (available on Android 7.0 and higher). A notification group allows you to collapse multiple notifications into just one post in the notification drawer, with a summary & Fig.10 shows a representation of notifications including the first and second notifications displayed in the Android smart phone ( Justin Rhyss and Ali Conors), the plurality of notification as shown in Fig.10 are collapsed into one post with summary of the first and second content );
while displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications that includes the summary of the first content and the second content, detecting a first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 - The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details) ; and
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications, including displaying the first notification and the second notification individually (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, upon a user expand the notification group , the first notification and second notification are displayed individually in the expended view) .
However, Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications
Graziano teaches
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications (¶ 0189 - the notifications 230 of FIG. 2 can be presented on the screens 308 – ¶0229 – ¶ 0230 - The notifications 230 can include the registration requests 2102 to join the communities 214, whether or not the registration requests 2102 are approved, and the invitations 254 sent to the users to join the communities 214. The notifications 230 can include a number of new messages in live threads from the 214 communities that the members 218 have recently visited. For example, a number of days that the members 218 have recently visited the communities 214 may be 30 days, during which the communities 214 have been visited daily. ¶0238 – ¶0239 - The notifications 230 can be condensed. The condensation of the notifications 230 allow the same types of the notifications 230 to be collapsed so that only different types of the notifications 230 are presented. When the notifications are condensed, each of the notifications 230 of the same types does not get presented but only the types of the notifications 230 are presented and a total number of the notifications 230 of each of the types can be presented – Note: the condensed representation (summary) is different from the individual notification content because the individual notifications are no presented, instead their type/count is presented).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Graziano. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to turn a stream of notification into short, readable summaries so you can process information quickly without getting distracted.
Regarding claim 2,
Android Developer further teaches
in accordance with availability of a third notification that is related to the first notification and the second notification, updating the representation of the first plurality of notifications to include an indication of the third notification ( Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 – shows a third notification is displayed in expanded view within the notification group - To avoid bombarding your users with multiple or redundant notifications when you have additional updates, you should consider updating an existing notification rather than issuing a new one, or consider using the inbox-style notification to show conversation updates).
Regarding claim 3,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes displaying at least a portion of content that corresponds to a most recently created notification of the first plurality of notifications (Fig.10 - shows displaying plurality of notifications includes displaying recently created notification - Justin -Rhyss -4m).
Regarding claim 4,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a count of notifications represented by the representation of the first plurality of notifications (Fig.10 shows Count of notification +1 counter to count the number of notifications).
Regarding claim 5,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a respective indicator of a respective category of counted items that correspond to content of the first plurality of notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, shows notifications that belong to Gmail category , the displayed notification are expanded in response to a user input, the expanded view includes the other notifications).
Regarding claim 7,
Android Developer further teaches
while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications, including displaying the first notification and the second notification individually, detecting an input directed to the first notification; and in response to detecting the input directed to the first notification, displaying an expanded version of the first notification, wherein the expanded version of the first notification includes additional content that was not included in the first notification (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, The user can then expand the notification to reveal the details for each individual notification.. The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details. See Also Fig.8).
Regarding claim 8,
Android Developer further teaches
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a second selectable control; detecting an input selecting the second selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the second selectable control, displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications, including the summary of the content from the first and second notification (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 – A notification group allows you to collapse multiple notifications into just one post in the notification drawer, with a summary. The user can then expand the notification to reveal the details for each individual notification. The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details. – Fig.10 shows icon “^” when selected by the user , the window will collapsed back after it was expanded).
Regarding claim 10,
Android Developer teaches an electronic device, comprising:
display generation component; one or more input devices; one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for performing operations (Fig.1 & 2 – Android Smart phone) including :
displaying a representation of a first plurality of notifications, including a first notification with first content and a second notification with second content, wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a summary of content from the first and second notification (Section – Notification Updates and groups - you should consider grouping those separate notifications into a group (available on Android 7.0 and higher). A notification group allows you to collapse multiple notifications into just one post in the notification drawer, with a summary & Fig.10 shows a representation of notifications including the first and second notifications displayed in the Android smart phone ( Justin Rhyss and Ali Conors), the plurality of notification as shown in Fig.10 are collapsed into one post with summary of the first and second content );
while displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications that includes the summary of the first content and the second content, detecting a first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 - The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details) ; and
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications, including displaying the first notification and the second notification individually (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, upon a user expand the notification group , the first notification and second notification are displayed individually in the expended view) .
However, Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications
Graziano teaches
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications (¶ 0189 - the notifications 230 of FIG. 2 can be presented on the screens 308 – ¶ 0229 – ¶ 0230 - The notifications 230 can include the registration requests 2102 to join the communities 214, whether or not the registration requests 2102 are approved, and the invitations 254 sent to the users to join the communities 214. The notifications 230 can include a number of new messages in live threads from the 214 communities that the members 218 have recently visited. For example, a number of days that the members 218 have recently visited the communities 214 may be 30 days, during which the communities 214 have been visited daily. ¶0238 -¶ 0239 - The notifications 230 can be condensed. The condensation of the notifications 230 allow the same types of the notifications 230 to be collapsed so that only different types of the notifications 230 are presented. When the notifications are condensed, each of the notifications 230 of the same types does not get presented but only the types of the notifications 230 are presented and a total number of the notifications 230 of each of the types can be presented – Note: the condensed representation is different from the individual notification content because the individual notification s are no presented, instead their type/count is presented).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Graziano. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to turn a stream of notification into short, readable summaries so you can process information quickly without getting distracted.
Regarding claim 11,
Android Developer further teaches
in accordance with availability of a third notification that is related to the first notification and the second notification, updating the representation of the first plurality of notifications to include an indication of the third notification ( Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 – shows a third notification is displayed in expanded view within the notification group - To avoid bombarding your users with multiple or redundant notifications when you have additional updates, you should consider updating an existing notification rather than issuing a new one, or consider using the inbox-style notification to show conversation updates).
Regarding claim 12,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes displaying at least a portion of content that corresponds to a most recently created notification of the first plurality of notifications (Fig.10 shows displaying plurality of notifications includes displaying recently created notification - Justin -Rhyss -4m).
Regarding claim 13,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a count of notifications represented by the representation of the first plurality of notifications (Fig.10 shows Count of notification +1 counter to count the number of notifications) .
Regarding claim 14,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a respective indicator of a respective category of counted items that correspond to content of the first plurality of notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, shows notifications that belong to Gmail category , the displayed notification are expanded in response to a user input, the expanded view includes the other notifications) .
Regarding claim 16,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the one or more programs include instructions for: while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications, including displaying the first notification and the second notification individually, detecting an input directed to the first notification; and in response to detecting the input directed to the first notification, displaying an expanded version of the first notification, wherein the expanded version of the first notification includes additional content that was not included in the first notification (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, The user can then expand the notification to reveal the details for each individual notification.. The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details. See Also Fig.8) .
Regarding claim 17,
Android Developer further teaches
wherein the one or more programs include instructions for: in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a second selectable control; detecting an input selecting the second selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the second selectable control, displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications, including the summary of content from the first and second notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 – A notification group allows you to collapse multiple notifications into just one post in the notification drawer, with a summary. The user can then expand the notification to reveal the details for each individual notification. The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details. – Fig.10 shows icon ^ when selected by the user , the window will collapsed back after it was expanded).
Regarding claim 19,
Android Developer teaches a non - transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions that when executed by an electronic device with a display generation component and one or more input devices cause the electronic device to perform operations (Fig.1 & 2 – Android Smart phone) including :
displaying a representation of a first plurality of notifications, including a first notification with first content and a second notification with second content, wherein the representation of the first plurality of notifications includes a summary of content from the first and second notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups - you should consider grouping those separate notifications into a group (available on Android 7.0 and higher). A notification group allows you to collapse multiple notifications into just one post in the notification drawer, with a summary & Fig.10 shows a representation of notifications including the first and second notifications displayed in the Android smart phone ( Justin Rhyss and Ali Conors), the plurality of notification as shown in Fig.10 are collapsed into one post with summary of the first and second content );
while displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications that includes the summary of the first content and the second content, detecting a first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10 - The user can progressively expand the notification group and each notification within it for more details) ; and
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications, including displaying the first notification and the second notification individually (Section – Notification Updates and groups & Fig.10, upon a user expand the notification group , the first notification and second notification are displayed individually in the expended view) .
However, Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications
Graziano teaches
wherein the summary of content from the first and second notifications is different from partial content from the first and second notifications (¶ 0189 - the notifications 230 of FIG. 2 can be presented on the screens 308 – ¶ 0229 – ¶ 0230 - The notifications 230 can include the registration requests 2102 to join the communities 214, whether or not the registration requests 2102 are approved, and the invitations 254 sent to the users to join the communities 214. The notifications 230 can include a number of new messages in live threads from the 214 communities that the members 218 have recently visited. For example, a number of days that the members 218 have recently visited the communities 214 may be 30 days, during which the communities 214 have been visited daily. ¶0238 - ¶ 0239 - The notifications 230 can be condensed. The condensation of the notifications 230 allow the same types of the notifications 230 to be collapsed so that only different types of the notifications 230 are presented. When the notifications are condensed, each of the notifications 230 of the same types does not get presented but only the types of the notifications 230 are presented and a total number of the notifications 230 of each of the types can be presented – Note: the condensed representation is different from the individual notification content because the individual notifications are no presented, instead their type/count is presented).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Graziano. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to turn a stream of notification into short, readable summaries so you can process information quickly without getting distracted.
Claims 6,9,15,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Android Developer in view of Graziano further in view of Yang et al. Publication No. WO 2016200584 (Yang hereinafter)
Regarding claim 6,
Android Developer does not explicitly teach
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a first selectable control for dismissing the first plurality of notifications as a group; while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications and the first selectable control, detecting an input selecting the first selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the first selectable control, clearing the first plurality of notifications as a group.
However, Yang teaches
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a first selectable control for dismissing the first plurality of notifications as a group; while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications and the first selectable control, detecting an input selecting the first selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the first selectable control, clearing the first plurality of notifications as a group (¶0229 - when the dismissal input is directed to a coalesced notification, the read/unread status of all of the communications represented in the coalesced notification are updated to "read" and the associated notification(s) are deleted from the device. In some embodiments, when the dismissal input is directed to a coalesced notification, the read/unread status of all of the communications represented in the coalesced notification remain as "unread" and the associated notification(s) are stored in the notification center for later review. In some embodiments, whether the read/unread statuses of the communications are updated or not depend on the type of swipe gesture that was used to dismiss the coalesced notification from the screen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Yang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing and interacting with notifications (Yang – ¶0005).
Regarding claim 9,
Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein a first respective application generates events of multiple distinct event types, and the method includes: concurrently displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications with a fourth notification that is not among the first plurality of notifications, wherein the first notification and the second notification correspond to a first event type of the multiple distinct event types, and the fourth notification corresponds to a second event type of the multiple event types, different from the first event type.
However, Yang teaches
wherein a first respective application generates events of multiple distinct event types, and the method includes: concurrently displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications with a fourth notification that is not among the first plurality of notifications, wherein the first notification and the second notification correspond to a first event type of the multiple distinct event types, and the fourth notification corresponds to a second event type of the multiple distinct event types, different from the first event type (Fig.5B, 5D shows fourth notification 50004 correspond to different event type than the other notifications 5002 – ¶0158 – ¶0159 - the separate notifications usually displayed for separate communications are coalesced or combined into the same notification, if and when it is determined that the separate communications are from the same sender, the coalesced notification for multiple communications from the same sender includes the same set of control functions and the same types of information (e.g., message body, sender ID, timestamp, etc.) as the short version of a notification for a single communication - Figure SD illustrates an exemplary notification 5004 that is displayed in response to receipt of a fourth communication (e.g., "I'm free!") at the device, while it is in a locked state. In this example, in response to receiving the fourth communication, notification 5004 is generated and displayed, with the content of the fourth communication, notification 5004 is separate and distinct from notification 5002, and is generated and displayed in accordance with a determination that the first communication and the fourth communication do not satisfy one or more notification update criteria ( e.g., the first and fourth communications are not from the same sender).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Yang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing and interacting with notifications (Yang – ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 15,
Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein the one or more programs include instructions for in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a first selectable control for dismissing the first plurality of notifications as a group; while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications and the first selectable control, detecting an input selecting the first selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the first selectable control, clearing the first plurality of notifications as a group.
However, Yang teaches
in response to detecting the first input directed to the representation of the first plurality of notifications, displaying a first selectable control for dismissing the first plurality of notifications as a group; while displaying the respective notifications from the first plurality of notifications and the first selectable control, detecting an input selecting the first selectable control; and in response to detecting the input selecting the first selectable control, clearing the first plurality of notifications as a group (¶0229 - when the dismissal input is directed to a coalesced notification, the read/unread status of all of the communications represented in the coalesced notification are updated to "read" and the associated notification(s) are deleted from the device. In some embodiments, when the dismissal input is directed to a coalesced notification, the read/unread status of all of the communications represented in the coalesced notification remain as "unread" and the associated notification(s) are stored in the notification center for later review. In some embodiments, whether the read/unread statuses of the communications are updated or not depend on the type of swipe gesture that was used to dismiss the coalesced notification from the screen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Yang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing and interacting with notifications (Yang – ¶0005).
Regarding claim 18,
Android Developer does not explicitly teach
wherein a first respective application generates events of multiple distinct event types, and the method includes: concurrently displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications with a fourth notification that is not among the first plurality of notifications, wherein the first notification and the second notification correspond to a first event type of the multiple distinct event types, and the fourth notification corresponds to a second event type of the multiple distinct event types, different from the first event type.
However, Yang teaches
wherein a first respective application generates events of multiple distinct event types, and the method includes: concurrently displaying the representation of the first plurality of notifications with a fourth notification that is not among the first plurality of notifications, wherein the first notification and the second notification correspond to a first event type of the multiple distinct event types, and the fourth notification corresponds to a second event type of the multiple distinct event types, different from the first event type (Fig.5B, 5D shows fourth notification 50004 correspond to different event type than the other notifications 5002 – ¶0158 – ¶0159 - the separate notifications usually displayed for separate communications are coalesced or combined into the same notification, if and when it is determined that the separate communications are from the same sender, the coalesced notification for multiple communications from the same sender includes the same set of control functions and the same types of information (e.g., message body, sender ID, timestamp, etc.) as the short version of a notification for a single communication - Figure SD illustrates an exemplary notification 5004 that is displayed in response to receipt of a fourth communication (e.g., "I'm free!") at the device, while it is in a locked state. In this example, in response to receiving the fourth communication, notification 5004 is generated and displayed, with the content of the fourth communication, notification 5004 is separate and distinct from notification 5002, and is generated and displayed in accordance with a determination that the first communication and the fourth communication do not satisfy one or more notification update criteria ( e.g., the first and fourth communications are not from the same sender).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Android Developer to include the teachings of Yang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to provide faster, more efficient methods and interfaces for providing and interacting with notifications (Yang – Para 0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
UPADHYAY et al. Publication No. US 2017/0124038
Naik et al. Patent No. US 10,187,440 B2.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOUNES NAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445