DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of claim 15 such that there is no drawing that shows the combination of the compressible material, compression indicator of newly amended claim 1 and the counter sunk washer of claim 15, thus must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: in the clause starting “…a marking on the second surface of the second adjacent to the compressible material…” it appears there is a missing text after the bolded “second” the office believe this should be second surface of the second circuit board, similar to the clause starting with “a post…”, the office will treat the limitation as such. Appropriate correction is required. Potential amendment “…a marking on the second surface of the second circuit board adjacent to the compressible material…”.
Regarding claim 18, line 1, applicant claims “A a compression-attached circuit module (CAMM)….” There is a typo of repeating “A”. Appropriate correction is required.
The number of claim 10 is stirk out/deleted, the office recommends not deleting the claim number.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the applicant has incorporate that the threadless pins are removable and re-usable, however, re-usable is not mentioned in the specification, thus creating new matter. If the office is incorrect with this rejection of claim 8 under this header, please provide proper support for this amendment.
Regarding claim 15, there is no support that shows the combination of the compressible material, compression indicator of newly amended claim 1 and the counter-sunk washer of claim 15. If the office is incorrect with this rejection of claim 15 under this header, please provide proper support for this amendment.
Claims 18 and claims dependent thereupon are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, in the clause starting with “a locking member” recites “…a compression force provided by the compressible material such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board”, however, in the embodiment of claim 18, there is an interposer circuit board disposed between the first and second circuit boards and such that the electrical pads of the interposer circuit contacts the respect electrical pads of the first and second circuit board as recited in claim 18. Therefore, it is unclear to how the “the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board”. For purpose of examination the office will interpret the as follows “…a compression force provided by the compressible material such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contact the electrical pads of interposer circuit board and the second set of electrical pads of the interposer circuit contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Pub 2022/0361328 (provided in the IDS) in view of Whitney et al. US Pub 2014/0352940 (provided in the IDS) further in view of Hall et al. US Pub 2021/0215176.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches,
An apparatus (figure 2a-b), comprising:
A stack of circuit boards (figure 2b, elements 204/202/206), comprising a first circuit board (202, figure 2b or alternatively figure 2b, first circuit board combination of 204 and 206, such that 206 is an extension of 204) having a first set of openings (opening corresponding to 222/224 for the fastener 215 or alternative as mentioned below under second circuit board) that extend between first and second surfaces of the first circuit board (figure 2b) and a second circuit board (figure 2b, first circuit board combination of 204 and 206, such that 206 is an extension of 204 or alternatively figure 2b, element 202) having a second set of openings (openings corresponding to 218/220; or alternately as mentioned above under first circuit board ) that extend between the first and second surfaces of the second circuit board and that align with the first set of openings to provide a set of opening through the stack of circuit boards (figure 2b), wherein the first surface of the first circuit board comprises a first set of electrical pads (contact pads 214 being the electrical pads of the first circuit board contacting the electrical pads 212 and 213 of the first surface of the second circuit board; paragraph 31) that align with electrical pads (paragraph 31, combination of 204/206 as described above such that the pads 212 and 213 are the electrical pads of the second circuit board) of the first surface of the second circuit board;
A plurality of pins (figure 2b, element 215/218), each comprising:
an elongated body (the shaft of 215/218) configured to insert into a respective one of the openings (as seen in figure 2b) through the stack of circuit boards (figure 2b, plurality opening across 202, 206, 204; elements 222; paragraph 31); and
Locking portion (the threads of the screws) configured to retain the pin in a locked position (screwed on position) in which the circuit boards (202/204/206) are pressed against one another under a force (the force of threading and tightening causes the compression of circuit boards) such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contacts the electrical pads of the second circuit board (figure 2b, paragraph 31);
Li does not teach the pins are threadless pins; each of the plurality of threadless pins comprising a compressible material; a locking member configured to retain the threadless pin in a locked position in which the stack of circuit boards are pressed against one another under a compression force provided by the compressible material such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board; a compression indicator configured to provide a visual indication of a measure of the compression force, wherein the compression indicator comprises one or more of:
A marking on the second surface of the second adjacent to the compressible material; and a post extending from the second surface of the second circuit board adjacent to the compressible material. However, Li provides suggestion in paragraph 31 that other type of fasteners can be used.
Whitney et al. in similar field of apparatus comprising a plurality of threadless pin (fig 11, element 100, the details can be found in at least figures 3-10), each comprising a locking member (the region of element 106/108 in figure 3-4, which is the locking member such that the locking portion the pin the shaft part of 100 in a locked position in which the circuit boards 134/132 are pressed under a compression force since the resilient member provides opposite force to provide compression force) configured to retain the threadless pin in a locked position in which the stack of circuit boards are pressed against one another under a compression force.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the plurality of pin and locking member as taught by Whitney as the fastener of choice in Li such modification will provide effectively lock movable portion into engagement with the components at the hole (paragraph 9), furthermore as mentioned above using one type of fastener with another is matter of design choice such that using Whitney's fastener can easily be implemented to prevent vibration during testing of the circuit boards (paragraph 6).
Hall in similar field of fasteners teaches a compressible material (element 140, figures 1-3; paragraph 52 relatively hard material such as plastic or wood such that at least those material are compressible; furthermore, office notes that any material such as the aluminum based on the force applied would compress);
A compression indicator (element 130, figures 1-3) configured to provide a visual indication (the force indicator 130 provides visual indication of compression as seen between figures 2-3; furthermore, Hall provides teaching of glow in the dark indication or colors as mentioned in claims 4-6) configured to provide a visual indication of a measure of the compression force (paragraph 50, force indicator), wherein the compression indicator comprises one of:
A marking on the second surface of the second adjacent to the compressible material (claim 5 of Hall such that the safety colored is the marking).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the compressible material and a compression indicator, where in the compression indicator comprises a marking as taught by Hall with the modified threadless pins of Li in view of Whitney, such that the compression material is provided in a position between the pin of Li as modified by Whitney such that a compression force provided by the compressible material such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board (since Li as modified by Whitney already provides electrical pads contacting, such that the additional compressible material will provide additional securing means), and the compression indicator including the marking as claimed of Hall with the fastener of Li as modified by Whitney, such modification will provide the adequate force such and give a user an indicator so that the circuit boards are not damaged from overtightening (paragraph 8-9 of Hall) since the user will get a visual indication of the force applied. Furthermore, as mentioned above Li provides suggestion that various fasteners can be used therefore the features of the Hall’s fasteners can be applied for the reasons provided above.
Regarding claim 3, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
Wherein the second circuit board comprises a memory (figure 2b, using the alternative selection of second circuit board being 202, such that the voltage regulation module comprises controller which stores short term memory, thus VRM is the memory); and
The first circuit board comprises a processor (motherboard comprises processor such as seen in figure 2a, and claim 9).
Regarding claim 4, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
Wherein the threadless pins are configured to apply a predetermined compression force (the modified threadless pins of Li as described in claim 1 provides a force thus this is the predetermined compression force).
Regarding claim 5, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
wherein the threadless pins comprise snap-pins (figure 11 of Whitney, the fastener comprises snap-pin, figure 3-4 such that 106/108 snaps).
Regarding claim 6, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
wherein the threadless pins comprise push-pins (figure 11 of Whitney, the fastener is a push-pin such that the pin gets pushed into the holes as seen in figure 11).
Regarding claim 7, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
wherein the threadless pins comprise spring-loaded pins (figure 11 of Whitney, spring 140 provided in the pins 110, figure 11-12).
Regarding claim 8, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
wherein the threadless pins are removable and re-usable (figure 11 shows one pin engaged and one partially removed thus removable and re-usable).
Regarding claim 9, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
The threadless pins each comprise a flange (the region indicated by element 108 of figure 15, Whitney) extending outwardly from a first end of the elongated body;
a second end (as seen in figure 11, second end being the region where element 106 is in figure 15) of the elongated body is configured to insert into the respective one of the openings through the stack of circuit boards;
a diameter of the flange is greater than a diameter of the opening (as seen in figure 11/12 the region where element 108 is indicated in figure 12 is the indication how the diameter of the flange is greater than the opening, similar to figure 1 of present application) through the stack of the circuit board; and
the second end of the elongated body comprises the locking member (the flaring out and the cutout as seen in figure 15, at the portion of element 106, similar to the pins of present application).
Regarding claim 10, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
Wherein the compressible material (the modified structure of Li with the teaching of at least Hall) is dispose between the second surface of the second circuit board and one or more of the flange (element 140 provided between the flange and the second circuit board, such that the modified structure as modified in claim 1 will provide element 140 to be between the flange and the second circuit board) and a washer.
Regarding claim 11, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
The compressible material comprises one or more of : an O-ring (figure 1 of Hall such that modified structure comprises 140 as recited in claim 1, element 140, O-Ring); a gasket; and a film.
Regarding claim 12, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches,
The compressible material comprises one or more of : an O-ring (figure 1 of Hall such that modified structure comprises 140 as recited in claim 1, element 140, O-Ring); a gasket; and a film.
Regarding claim 13, Li as modified by Whitney and Hall teaches
Wherein the locking member is further configured to retain the threadless pin in a locked position in which the stack of circuit boards are pressed against one another under a compression force provided by the compressible material such that the first set of electrical pads of the first circuit board directly contact the electrical pads of the second circuit board (as recited in claim 1, the combination and the interpretation of the electrical pads of the respective circuit board such figure 2b such that 214 provide direct contact with 212/213).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Pub 2022/0361328 (provided in the IDS) in view of Whitney et al. US Pub 2014/0352940 (provided in the IDS) in view of Hall et al. US Pub 2021/0215176 further in view of Chhabra US Pub 2019/0267069.
In the case applicant disagrees with the interpretation of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 3,
wherein the circuit boards comprise: a first circuit board (figure 2b, 202) comprising a component (VRM on 202); a second circuit board (element 204/206, comprising element 205 processor) comprising a processor.
Li as modified by Whitney does not teach the first circuit board comprising memory. However, providing memory onto a circuit board is not new.
Chhabra in similar field of circuit board teaches a circuit board comprising memory (element 104, figure 1a-b) along with VRM (element 106).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide at least memory as taught by Chhabra on the first circuit board of Li as modified such modification will provide a stackable configuration and thereby using less horizontal space.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Pub 2022/0361328 (provided in the IDS) in view of Whitney et al. US Pub 2014/0352940 (provided in the IDS) in view of Hall et al. US Pub 2021/0215176 and Whiteman et al. EA 026759 (Original and machine translation provided in the non-final, 1/27/2026).
Regarding claim 14,
Li as modified by Whitney and hall teaches the compressible material as disclosed in claim 1.
Li as modified by Whitney and Hall does not teach wherein the compressible material comprises: a piezo-chromic electric material that reflects light at a frequency that is based on compression of the piezo-chromic electric material. However, providing a specific material of choice for compressible material is not new.
Whiteman in similar field of a compressible material teaches compressible material (security device) comprises piezo-chromic material that reflects light at a frequency that is based on compression of the piezo-chromic electric material (when in compressed state the color of light reflected from the piezo-chromic material, page 7 of translation, 3rd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the compressible material of Li as modified by Whitney and Hall such that the material of piezo chromic electric material is provided by taught by Whiteman, such modification will provide the desired level of indication and thus protecting the circuit board from breakage.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Pub 2022/0361328 (provided in the IDS) in view of Whitney et al. US Pub 2014/0352940 (provided in the IDS) in view of Hall et al. US Pub 2021/0215176 and further in view of Clavin US Patent 5754412
Regarding claim 15,
Lin as modified teaches the plurality of threadless pins each comprise the locking member (as described in claim 1).
Lin as modified does not teach a counter-sunk washer comprising a base and a counter-sunk portion extending from the base;
wherein an outer diameter of the counter-sunk portion is less than a diameter of the openings of the circuit boards;
wherein the counter-sunk portion has an opening to a chamber therein configured to receive a first end of the elongated body of the threadless pin; and
wherein an inner surface of the chamber has a channel configured to receive the locking member.
Clavin teaches a counter-sunk washer (figure 3, structure of element 11) comprising a base (region of element 13) and a counter-sunk portion (region of 11 which extends) extending from the base;
wherein an outer diameter of the counter-sunk portion is less than a diameter of the openings of the circuit board (as seen in figure 3 and 4, the board is slid down via the opening and thus the diameter of the counter sunk portion is less than the diameter of the opening of the circuit board);
wherein the counter-sunk portion has an opening (figures 3, 7 and 8, where the opening is element 15) to a chamber (figure 3, chamber being the hole where the shaft of 20 is inserted, such that the first end of the pin is the shaft of 20) therein configured to receive a first end of the elongated body of the pin;
wherein an inner surface of the chamber has a channel (figure 3, 7 and 8 the channel being element 25-26 receive the locking member 24) configured to receive the locking member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the counter sunk washer as taught by Calvin with the pin comprising locking member of Lin as modified by Whitney such that the washer counter sunk washer is arranged to be similar shape of the pin/locking member of Whitney and providing the specific configuration of the opening, chamber and the channel as recited in the claim, such modification will provide fastener that has reduced likely hood of loosening during vibration (Col. 3, lines 27-30, Clavin).
Regarding claim 16, Lin as modified by Whitney, Hall and Clavin teaches,
Wherein the channel comprises a transition surface (the detents element 26, Clavin figure 7-8) configured to depress the locking member when the pin is twisted (figure 17-18, Clavin).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Pub 2022/0361328 (provided in the IDS) in view of Whitney et al. US Pub 2014/0352940 (provided in the IDS) in view of Hall et al. US Pub 2021/0215176 further in view of Chiappe et al. US Pub 2023/0012759.
Regarding claim 17,
Li as modified by Whitney teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Li as modified by Whitney does not teach wherein the apparatus is configured as a compression-attached circuit module (CAMM).
Chiappe in similar field of apparatus teaches the apparatus (the mounting of plural circuit boards, fig 9-10) is configured as a compression-attached circuit module (CAMM) (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use a CAMM as the plural circuit board system and securing means such that the apparatus of Li as modified by Whitney is configured as compression-attached circuit module. The combination will just provide the desired memory module and ensure small factor is received meanwhile providing toolless mounting means. Furthermore, applicant in background of specification provides the use of CAMMs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and claims dependent thereupon would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 18 is allowable given the applicant fixes the minor typographical error that is being indicated in the claim objection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant provides arguments regarding the newly amended limitation to independent claim 1. However, they are not persuasive in light of Li in view of Whitney in view of Hall. As provided above the office has provided the explanation of the rejection to claim 1.
The office indicates newly amended claim 18 as allowable if the 35 USC§112 rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841