DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-6 are examined herein.
Priority
The instant application is a CIP of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/935,065, filed on 23 September 2022, and claims benefit of foreign priority to BR1020220073015, filed on 14 April 2022. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged. It is noted, however, that applicant has not provided an English translation of the certified copy of the Brazilian patent as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b). Without the English translation, one cannot ascertain if the instant invention is present in the Brazilian patent. As such, the effective filing date of the claims is 23 September 2022 and art prior to the CIP date may be cited against the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 26 August 2024, is acknowledged and considered. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12108758. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as the patent encompasses the narrower scope of the instant application.
Regarding claim 1, the patent discloses a low viscosity agricultural adjuvant for spraying syrups comprising 10% to 30% by weight of emulsifying agents, 7% to 25% by weight of surfactants, 0.15% to 1.0% by weight of suspending agents, 2.0% to 20% by weight of a silicone defoamer, 5.0% to 20% by weight of clays, and 50% to 80% by weight of water (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the patent discloses the emulsifying and surfactant agents can include ethoxylated fatty alcohols, ethoxylated oil, and linear alkylbenzene sulfonic acid (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, the patent discloses the clays are can include sodium bentonites, attapulgite, sepiolite, and zeolite (claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, the patent discloses the emulsifying and surfactant agents are selected from triethanolamine lauryl ether sulfate, ethoxylated alcohol, ethoxylated fatty alcohols, ethoxylated oil, and linear alkylbenzene sulfonic acid (claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, the patent discloses the emulsifying and surfactant agents are selected from ethoxylated fatty alcohols, ethoxylated oil, and linear alkylbenzene sulfonic acid (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, the patent discloses the clays are selected from sodium bentonites, attapulgite, sepiolite, and zeolite (claim 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindner et al. (US20160192642A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lindner teaches spray drift reductant adjuvants for agrochemical formulations (¶ [0002]). Linder teaches emulsifying agents and surfactants (¶ [0085], [0100], and [0157]). The first and second emulsifying agents or surfactants are taught between 30 wt.% - 70 wt. % (¶ [0232]). Xanthan gum, clay (kaolin), and water are taught in paragraph [0157]. Polysiloxane antifoam agents are taught in paragraph [0153], at a concentration of 0.005 wt. % to 1.0 wt. %.
Lindner does not teach all components in the claimed concentrations.
In the absence of criticality, it would be routine optimization for one skilled in the art to adjust the weight percentages of the adjuvant components to meet the formulation needs of the product. See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. In the instant case, to achieve high contact with the lower third of the target plant, but avoid drift, while simultaneously preventing residue clogging the sprayer the skilled artisan would be motivated to adjust the concentrations supplied by Lindner.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
/J.K.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621