DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “one or more second conductive structures coupled with the one or more conductive structures [vias] at the second surface” of claims 2, 10, and 17, “the one or more second conductive structures comprise solder” of claims 3, 11, and 18, the “one or more second redistribution layers parallel to and contacting the second surface” of claims 9 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Kim (US Pub. No. 2008/0308921).
Regarding claim 1, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses a semiconductor device assembly, comprising: an encapsulant material (440) comprising a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite the first surface; a semiconductor device (410) embedded within the encapsulant material and comprising a third surface (top) and a fourth surface (bottom) opposite the third surface, wherein the third surface is coplanar with the first surface; one or more conductive structures (430) extending through the encapsulant material from about the first surface to about the second surface; one or more first conductive layers (432) coplanar with the first surface and the third surface, wherein the one or more first conductive layers are configured to couple the one or more conductive structures with the semiconductor device; and one or more second conductive layers (bottom 432/422) coplanar with the second surface.
Regarding claim 4, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the semiconductor device comprises one or more bond pads (412) at the third surface.
Regarding claim 5, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more first conductive layers comprise a conductive line coupled with the one or more bond pads of the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 6, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more conductive structures each comprise a conductive via.
Regarding claim 7, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more first conductive layers comprise a first redistribution layer, and the one or more second conductive layers comprise a second redistribution layer.
Regarding claim 8, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the semiconductor device comprises a semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 9, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses a semiconductor device assembly, comprising: an encapsulant material (440) comprising a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite the first surface; a semiconductor device (410) embedded within the encapsulant material and comprising a third surface (top) and a fourth surface (bottom) opposite the third surface, wherein the third surface is parallel to and contacting the first surface; one or more conductive structures (430) extending through the encapsulant material from the first surface to the second surface, wherein the one or more conductive structures are perpendicular to the first surface; one or more first redistribution layers (432) parallel to the first surface and contacting the third surface, wherein the one or more first redistribution layers are configured to couple the one or more conductive structures with the semiconductor device; and one or more second redistribution layers (bottom 432/422) parallel to and contacting the second surface.
Regarding claim 12, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the semiconductor device comprises one or more bond pads (412) at the third surface.
Regarding claim 13, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more first redistribution layers comprise a conductive line coupled with the one or more bond pads of the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 14, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more conductive structures each comprise a conductive via.
Regarding claim 15, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the semiconductor device comprises a semiconductor die.
Regarding claim 16, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses a semiconductor device assembly, comprising: an encapsulant material (440) comprising a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite the first surface; a semiconductor die (410) embedded within the encapsulant material and comprising a third surface (top) and a fourth surface (bottom) opposite the third surface, wherein the third surface is coplanar with the first surface; one or more conductive vias (430) extending through the encapsulant material from the first surface to the second surface; one or more first redistribution layers (432) parallel to the first surface and contacting the third surface, wherein the one or more first redistribution layers are configured to couple the one or more conductive vias with the semiconductor die; and one or more second redistribution layers (bottom 432) parallel to and contacting the second surface.
Regarding claim 19, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the semiconductor die comprises one or more bond pads (412) at the third surface.
Regarding claim 20, in FIG. 5, Kim discloses that the one or more first redistribution layers comprise a conductive line coupled with the one or more bond pads of the semiconductor die.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim (US Pub. No. 2008/0308921) in view of Farnworth (US Patent No. 6,020,629).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 10-11, Kim appears not to explicitly disclose one or more second conductive structures coupled with the one or more conductive structures at the second surface.
The art however well recognized one or more second conductive structures coupled with one or more conductive structures at a second surface to be suitable for use in connecting adjacent semiconductor device assemblies. See, for example, Farnworth, FIG. 2D, element (42RF).
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have formed one or more second conductive structures (solder) coupled with the one or more conductive structures at the second surface for its recognized suitability in connecting adjacent semiconductor device assemblies. In doing so, the one or more second conductive structures comprise solder.
Regarding claims 17-18, Kim appears not to explicitly disclose one or more second conductive structures coupled with the one or more conductive vias at the second surface.
The art however well recognized one or more second conductive structures coupled with one or more conductive vias at a second surface to be suitable for use in connecting adjacent semiconductor device assemblies. See, for example, Farnworth, FIG. 2D, element (42RF).
According to well-established patent law precedents (see, for example, M.P.E.P. § 2144.07), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have formed one or more second conductive structures (solder) coupled with the one or more conductive vias at the second surface for its recognized suitability in connecting adjacent semiconductor device assemblies. In doing so, the one or more second conductive structures comprise solder.
Conclusion
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891