DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 07/03/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, and 13-16 are amended. Claims 4 and 12 are canceled. Claims 17-20 are newly added. Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 1-2: B), filed on 07/03/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of claims 1 and 9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “playlist interface” as Applicant’s amended claim 1 (and similarly claim 9) recites. However, Linder et al. (US 2008/0039124 A1) discloses rendering preview of electronic message with selected animation sequences (Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]). Therefore, the prior art of record teaches the amended claim limitations in combination. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 07/03/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linder et al. (US 2008/0039124 A1, hereinafter “Linder”) in view of Andrus et al. (US 8447361 B1, hereinafter “Andrus”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 9), Linder discloses:
A messaging system, comprising:
a first client computing device configured to generate and transmit an electronic generating electronic message with selection of animation sequences and sending to receiving terminal, Linder: [0093], [0100]);
the first client computing device is configured to present a playlist interface displaying the multiplicity of electronic media components in a sequence defining an order of play of the multiplicity of electronic media components (rendering electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]).
Linder does not explicitly disclose:
an electronic polling message having digital content that includes a polling inquiry;
the first client computing device configured to transmit the electronic polling message to a selected set of client computing devices that are selected from an electronic contacts record stored within a storage module of the first client computing device;
wherein the digital content further includes a multiplicity of electronic media components, and wherein an electronic media component is comprised of one or more electronic media elements, and the one or more electronic media elements is comprised of one or more data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Andrus teaches:
an electronic polling message having digital content that includes a polling inquiry (message including interactive voting with media attachments, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60);
the first client computing device configured to transmit the electronic polling message to a selected set of client computing devices that are selected from an electronic contacts record stored within a storage module of the first client computing device (sending interactive voting message to selected recipients, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60, FIG. 4-7);
wherein the digital content further includes a multiplicity of electronic media components, and wherein an electronic media component is comprised of one or more electronic media elements, and the one or more electronic media elements is comprised of one or more data (message including interactive voting with media attachments, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Linder in view of Andrus in order to further modify the system for generating and sending electronic message with integrated digital content from the teachings of Linder with the system for generating and sending interactive voting message with media attachments to selected recipients from the teachings of Andrus.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled dynamic interface for easily accessible and fun messaging system (Andrus: Col. 1 lines 37-50).
Regarding claim 2, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
the selected set of client computing devices receive the electronic polling message and display the electronic polling message as an electronic ballot (receiving interactive voting message and sending voting response, Andrus: FIG. 9-11);
the selected set of client computing devices transmit a polling response input through the electronic ballot to the first client computing device (sending voting response, Andrus: FIG. 9-11).
Regarding claim 3, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein results of one or more polling responses are transmitted to the selected set of client computing devices based on criteria set by the first client computing device (sending voting results to selected recipients, Andrus: Col. 6 lines 29-41).
Regarding claim 5, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein the digital content is scripted by seamless linking of the multiplicity of electronic media components without changing original media component types of the electronic media components (sending electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]).
Regarding claim 7, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein the first client computing device and the selected set of client computing devices communicate with each other via a server device, wherein the server device generates a set of data values, the set of data values enable the server device to track and account for the electronic polling message, including an order of play of the multiplicity of electronic media components, prior to actual transmission to the selected set of client computing devices (storing expression matching table associating chosen animation tags representing animation sequences, Linder: [0095]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 8, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein delivery and receipt of the electronic polling message, with the multiplicity of electronic media components, received at the selected set of client computing devices is seamlessly executed in at least one of a spatial and a temporal order defined by the scripted digital content (receiving and rendering electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 13, 15, and 16, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2, 3, 5, 7, and 8. Therefore, claims 10, 11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 2, 3, 5, 7, and 8 above.
Regarding claim 17, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein the first client computing device is configured to provide a preview of the electronic polling message (GUI displaying preview of how receiving terminal will see electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animations tags, Linder: [0081], [0101], [0108]).
Regarding claim 18, Linder-Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder-Andrus further discloses:
wherein the first client computing device is configured to modify the sequence defining the order of play by moving at least one electronic media component to a different position in the playlist interface (selecting animation sequences in electronic message generation, Linder: [0093], [0100]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 17 and 18. Therefore, claims 19 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 17 and 18 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454