DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 08/26/2024. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,836 (US 12074836 B2, hereinafter “Patent 1”), claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,563,703 (US 11563703 B2, hereinafter “Patent 2”), and claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,154,456 (US 9154456 B2, hereinafter “Patent 3”). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the instant application are broader in every aspect than the corresponding claims of Patent 1 (US 12074836 B2), Patent 2 (US 11563703 B2), and Patent 3 (US 9154456 B2) and are therefore anticipated by claims 1-20 of Patent 1 (US 12074836 B2), claims 1-15 of Patent 2 (US 11563703 B2), and claims 1-18 of Patent 3 (US 9154456 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linder et al. (US 2008/0039124 A1, hereinafter “Linder”) in view of Andrus et al. (US 8447361 B1, hereinafter “Andrus”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 9), Linder discloses:
A messaging system, comprising:
a first client computing device configured to generate and transmit an electronic generating electronic message with selection of animation sequences and sending to receiving terminal, Linder: [0093], [0100]).
Linder does not explicitly disclose:
an electronic polling message having integrated digital content that includes a polling inquiry;
the first client computing device configured to transmit the electronic polling message to a selected set of client computing devices that are selected from an electronic contacts record stored within a storage module of the first client computing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Andrus teaches:
an electronic polling message having integrated digital content that includes a polling inquiry (message including interactive voting with media attachments, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60);
the first client computing device configured to transmit the electronic polling message to a selected set of client computing devices that are selected from an electronic contacts record stored within a storage module of the first client computing device (sending interactive voting message to selected recipients, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60, FIG. 4-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Linder in view of Andrus in order to further modify the system for generating and sending electronic message with integrated digital content from the teachings of Linder with the system for generating and sending interactive voting message with media attachments to selected recipients from the teachings of Andrus.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enabled dynamic interface for easily accessible and fun messaging system (Andrus: Col. 1 lines 37-50).
Regarding claim 2, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
the selected set of client computing devices receive the electronic polling message and display the electronic polling message as an electronic ballot; the selected set of client computing devices transmit a polling response input through the electronic ballot to the first client computing device (receiving interactive voting message and sending voting response, Andrus: FIG. 9-11).
Regarding claim 3, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
t wherein results of one or more polling response is transmitted to the selected client computing devices based on criteria set by the first client computing device (sending voting results to selected recipients, Andrus: Col. 6 lines 29-41).
Regarding claim 4, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
wherein the integrated digital content further includes one or more electronic media components, and wherein an electronic media component is comprised of one or more electronic media elements, and the one or more electronic media elements is comprised of one or more data (message including interactive voting with media attachments, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60).
Regarding claim 5, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
wherein the integrated digital content is scripted by seamless linking of a multiplicity of electronic media components without changing original media component types of the electronic media components, an electronic media component is comprised of one or more electronic media elements, and wherein the one or more electronic media elements is comprised of one or more data (sending electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]).
Regarding claim 6, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
wherein the electronic message includes one or more electronic media components that is not predefined for and is not common to the source computing device and a receiver computing device (message including interactive voting with media attachments, Andrus: Col. 8 lines 12-60).
Regarding claim 7, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
wherein the first and the set of client devices communicate with each other via a server device, wherein the server device generates a set of data values that define the received client records, the set of data values enable client devices and the server computing device to track and account for the electronic polling message, including an order of play of the multiplicity of the electronic media components, prior to actual transmission to the set of client devices (encoding selected animation sequences as respective animation tags of unique values based on expression matching table, including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0102]).
Regarding claim 8, Linder in view of Andrus teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Linder in view of Andrus further discloses:
wherein delivery and receipt of the electronic polling message, with the multiplicity of electronic media components, received at the set of client devices is seamlessly executed in at least one of a spatial and a temporal order defined by the scripted digital content (sending electronic message with selected animation sequences encoded as respective animation tags including timing sub-tag indicating order of animation tags, Linder: [0081], [0105], [0108]).
Regarding claims 10-16, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-8. Therefore, claims 10-16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 2-8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Rakoff et al. (US 2013/0239132 A1: Method and Apparatus for Enabling Interactive Dynamic Movies), Marriott et al. (US 2005/0266884 A1: Methods and Systems for Conducting Remote Communications), Newson et al. (US 2006/0092942 A1: System and Method for Multi-Layered Network Communications), Huynh et al. (US 2006/0168064 A1: Electronic Message Management), and Maaniitty et al. (US 8065616 B2: Multimedia Presentation Editor for a Small-Display Communication Terminal or Computing Device).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446