DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious search burden and that the inventions are not patentably distinct. This is not found persuasive because the assertion of different classifications is purportedly not sufficient. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The mutually exclusive features pointed out in the restriction are separately classifiable as noted in the restriction and such a separate classification is a proper grounds for establishing a serious search burden as set forth in MPEP §808.02, as cited by Applicant. The body of Claim 1 does not require any sensing or detection of axial length as required in Claim 12; Likewise Claim 1 does not require a sensor or a strap as required in Claim 19.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, Applicant claims that before the application of a white light dose, white light is ramped-up. If this is before the white light dose, it is unclear what light is being ramped up as claimed. The Examiner will interpret this claims as simply turning on a light source or applying a new light dose after a first light dose.
In regard to Claim 8, Applicant claims “detecting pressure applied to the user’s eye from a white light source”. It is unclear if the white light source is detecting the pressure (i.e. there is some structure in the device that detects the pressure) of if this is a user observed pressure (a judgment/ determination made by a user and not a sensor). For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting this step as being something a user determines instead of something actively sensed by a sensor, such as part of an adjustment step to comfortably fit a mask on their head).
With regard to Claim 12, the claim states “…white light is applied for a duration in a range from 2 minutes to 3 minutes.” Coupled with the open-ended term comprising in Claim 1, it is unclear if it is only applied for 2-3minutes or if this means for at least 2-3 minutes. For instance, light applied for 30 minutes is technically applied for a duration of 2-3 minutes just not only for 2-3 minutes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malchano et al. (2018/0133507).
First, the Examiner notes that while the preamble sets forth the intended control of axial length, the body of the claim does not require any adjustment or change to axial length. Therefore, the preamble does not limit the steps of the method as currently claimed.
Regarding Claim 1, Malchano disclose applying white light (par. [0261]) to an eyelid of a user (par. [0266]); detecting an effect of the applied light (such as a frequency of neural oscillation); and then adjusting the light therapy based on the detected effect (par. [0627]).
In regard to Claim 12, Malchano discloses the light can be applied for 2 or 3 minutes (par. [0627]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acucela Inc. (WO 2023/064792), herein Acucela, in view of Kyocera Corp (WO 2022045238A1), herein Kyocera (US PGPUB 2023/0293905, which is the publication of the national stage entry of the cited WIPO document will be referenced for the rejection since it is fully translated).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Acucela discloses applying a white light stimulus to the eye (par. [0045]); measuring an axial length (par. [0039-0041]); and adjusting the white light stimulus based on the measured axial length (Abstract; par. [0167-0175]; Fig. 18). Acucela is silent regarding applying the light to the eyelids. However, in the same field of endeavor of light therapy to the eyes, such as in the case of myopia (par. [0034]), and concerned with the common problem of maintaining effective light exposure during therapy, Kyocera discloses providing eyelid tracking sensors that can detect when an eyelid is open or closed for the purpose of adjusting stimulation intensity when the eyelid is closed to maintain consistent dosage to the eye through the therapy (par. [0008, 0057, 0060]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Acucela reference to include applying therapy to the eyelids and adjusting intensity based on eyelid closure, as taught and suggested by Kyocera, for the purpose of maintaining appropriate light dosage. This would also improve patient comfort in that a user can relax and still have therapy applied rather than having to maintain their eyes open for long periods of time.
In regard to Claims 4 and 5, Acucela discloses therapy can be adjusted in an iterative manner based on measured axial length, wherein the intensity is one parameter than can be adjusted. Acucela does not specifically disclose whether the intensity is increased or decreased after each application. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase or decrease the intensity of light based on the measurements, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. This is a result effective variable that would routinely be adjusted based on results of the therapy.
Regarding Claim 10, Acucela and Kyocera disclose applying light while the user is asleep (Kyocera, par. [0069]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acucela Inc. (WO 2023/064792), herein Acucela, in view of Kyocera Corp (WO 2022045238A1), herein Kyocera (US PGPUB 2023/0293905, which is the publication of the national stage entry of the cited WIPO document will be referenced for the rejection since it is fully translated), as evidenced by Schlangen et al. (2010/0277316).
In regard to Claim 2, Acucela and Kyocera disclose applying white light to the eyelid but fails to disclose the passing of red light to the eye. However, the Examiner notes that this would be an inherent function of passing white light to the eyelid as the eyelid is a natural red color pass filter and thus applying white light to the eyelid would naturally result in red light being filtered by the eyelid and passed to the eye, as further evidenced by Schlangen, see par. [0016]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acucela Inc. (WO 2023/064792), herein Acucela, in view of Kyocera Corp (WO 2022045238A1), herein Kyocera (US PGPUB 2023/0293905, which is the publication of the national stage entry of the cited WIPO document will be referenced for the rejection since it is fully translated), further in view of Kubota et al. (2021/0382325). Acucela and Kyocera disclose all of the claimed invention except for measuring a diameter of a pupil during therapy delivery. However, in the same field of endeavor of refractive error correction, Kubota discloses measuring pupil diameter during therapy delivery and ajdusitng lighting based on the pupil diameter for the purpose of ensuring more accurate lighting dosage to the eye (par. [0183]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Acucela and Kyocera combination to include measuring pupil diameter during therapy delivery and adjusting therapy based on pupil diameter, as taught and suggested by Kubota, for the purpose of ensuring more accurate lighting dosage to the eye.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acucela Inc. (WO 2023/064792), herein Acucela, in view of Kyocera Corp (WO 2022045238A1), herein Kyocera (US PGPUB 2023/0293905, which is the publication of the national stage entry of the cited WIPO document will be referenced for the rejection since it is fully translated), further in view of Meng et al. (2024/0181253). Acuclea discloses a mask can be sued to apply therapy (par. [0036]) but does not discuss any particular structural details regarding adjustability off said mask. However, in the same field of endeavor of light therapy and concerned with the common problem of proper fitting of therapy devices such as masks, Meng discloses providing adjustment mechanisms 27 on the mask (par. [0045], Fig. 1) for the purpose of accommodating various head sizes wherein the adjustment would prevent over tightening/excess delivery of pressure and would support a more comfortable fit for a user. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Acucela and Kyocera combination to include adjustment mechanisms that can relieve excess pressure from a mask, as taught and suggested by Meng, for the purpose of comfortably accommodating various head sizes.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acucela Inc. (WO 2023/064792), herein Acucela, in view of Kyocera Corp (WO 2022045238A1), herein Kyocera (US PGPUB 2023/0293905, which is the publication of the national stage entry of the cited WIPO document will be referenced for the rejection since it is fully translated), further in view of Rose (2005/0237479). Acucela and Kyocera disclose all of the claimed invention except for utilizing illuminance values of 30000-35000 lux. However, in the same field of endeavor of phototherapy devices, Rose discloses utilizing illuminance values of 20000-40000 lux for the purpose of accounting for ambient light that maximizes therapeutic effect while minimizing glare (see par. [0036]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Acucela and Kyocera combination to include illuminance values of 20000-40000 lux, as taught and suggested by Rose, for the purpose of accounting for ambient light that maximizes therapeutic effect while minimizing glare.
While the combination of Acucela, Kyocera and Rose discloses the range of 20000-40000 lux as dependent on ambient lighting, the combination does not explicitly disclose the range of 30000-35000 lux. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention*, since it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsubota et al. (2017/0168320), myopia treatment with a light irradiation device for producing white light.
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796