DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 7/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gurson et al (US 2020/0160982 A1) and Mentis et al (US 2016/0210411 A1).
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 7/16/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1, 17, 18 are amended. No claims are cancelled. New claim 19 is added. Thus, claims 1-19 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gurson et al (US 2020/0160982 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gurson et al discloses an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire a series of radiation images captured by performing continuous irradiation with radiation (paragraphs [0050]; acquire relevant information that is generated by recognizing a voice uttered before an end of the continuous irradiation with the radiation (speech-to-text software) (paragraph [0071]), and is related to imaging content of the series of radiation images; and associate the series of radiation images with the relevant information set of images and functions to present annotations of the overlay at appropriate regions of the images (paragraphs [0055], [0057], [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to associate the latest relevant information acquired before a predetermined timing synchronized with the capturing of the series of radiation images with the series of radiation images (dynamically labels associated with findings) (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Gurson et al discloses wherein the predetermined timing is a timing of start of irradiation with the radiation that is continuously performed in the capturing of the series of radiation images (paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 4, Gurson et al discloses wherein the predetermined timing is confirmed by receiving a radiation switch signal, which is transmitted by a user input unit and indicates the start of irradiation that is continuously performed in the capturing of the series of radiation images (initiated automatically or any suitable trigger) (paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to generate a data file (database) including the relevant information and image group data including the series of radiation images (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor includes a notation corresponding to the relevant information in a file name of a data file including the series of radiation images (paragraphs [0064]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to process image group data including the series of radiation images so that a notation corresponding to the relevant information is displayed together with the series of radiation images (paragraphs [0064]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to associate, in a case in which new relevant information generated by recognizing a voice uttered during an imaging period of the series of radiation images is acquired (speech-to-text software) (paragraph [0071]), the new relevant information with a radiation image acquired after the acquisition of the new relevant information from among the series of radiation images (paragraphs [0055]-[0057], [0070]).
Regarding claim 9, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to display a radiation image associated with designated relevant information from among the series of radiation images (paragraphs [0018]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to: acquire relevant information generated by a method other than voice recognition (S170) can be performed in absence of a voice recognition platform); and replace the relevant information generated by the voice recognition with the relevant information generated by the method other than the voice recognition (paragraphs [0061]-[0063], [0093]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 11, Gurson et al discloses wherein the processor is configured to issue an alert in a case in which the relevant information associated with the series of radiation images does not include specific information (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 12, Gurson et al discloses wherein the relevant information is information indicating a type of sample used in an examination using the series of radiation images (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Gurson et al discloses wherein the relevant information is information indicating a type of posture of an examinee in an examination using the series of radiation images (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, Gurson et al discloses wherein the relevant information is information indicating a type of imaging direction of the series of radiation images (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 16, Gurson et al discloses wherein the relevant information is generated by recognizing a voice by which a predetermined term is pronounced (voice and/or speech recognition platform) (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 17, Gurson et al discloses an information processing method executed by at least one processor included in an information processing apparatus, the information processing method comprising: acquiring a series of radiation images captured by performing continuous irradiation with radiation (paragraphs [0050]); acquiring relevant information that is generated by recognizing a voice uttered before an end of the continuous irradiation with the radiation (speech-to-text software) (paragraph [0071]), and is related to imaging content of the series of radiation images; and associating the series of radiation images with the relevant information (paragraphs [0055], [0057], [0070]).
Regarding claim 18, Gurson et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing at least one processor included in an information processing apparatus to execute: acquiring a series of radiation images captured by performing continuous irradiation with radiation (paragraphs [0050]); acquiring relevant information that is generated by recognizing a voice uttered before an end of the continuous irradiation with the radiation (speech-to-text software) (paragraph [0071]), and is related to imaging content of the series of radiation images; and associating the series of radiation images with the relevant information (paragraphs [0055], [0057], [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurson et al (US 2020/0160982 A1) in view of Mentis et al (US 2016/0210411 A1).
Regarding claim 14 Gurson et al discloses all of the limitations of claim 12, as described above however, Gurson et al is silent with regards to examination is a videofluoroscopic examination as claimed. Mentis et al discloses an annotation of endoscopic video using gesture and voice commands, comprising: wherein the examination is a videofluoroscopic examination of swallowing (endoscopic video) (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Weiss et al with the teaching of Mentis, so as to enable a versatile apparatus to analyze swallowing process.
Regarding claim 19 Gurson et al discloses all of the limitations of independent claim 1, as described above however, Gurson et al is silent with regards to examination level in a videofluoroscopic examination as claimed. Mentis et al discloses an annotation of endoscopic video using gesture and voice commands, comprising: wherein the examination is a videofluoroscopic examination of swallowing (endoscopic video) (paragraph [0013]). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Weiss et al with the teaching of Mentis, so as to enable a versatile apparatus to analyze swallowing process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884