DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1-3 are objected to because the figures are difficult to understand. The Applicants are requested to insert names of the components/steps in/near each box so that future readers can comprehend the figure without having to consult the specification.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The title should indicate that the invention is directed to foreign object detection; not just “operating” an inductive coupler.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-11 are objected to because they recite “power parameter” without indicating the full name of the limitation (secondary, standby, etc.).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is indefinite because of the use of passive voice (“is activated”, “is established”). As a method claim, the Applicants should reword the claim to recite the active steps that are further narrowing. For example, claim 2 recites “activating” the first operating mode and claim 4 recites “detecting” an input – this type of active-verb language should be used throughout all claims.
The passive voice describes an action that happens to the primary device. This means it would not be further limiting. But it is the only limitation in the claim and a reader may infer that it is limiting. These mutually exclusive interpretations of the claim mean that the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it recites the detection of the target object by using the power parameter. Claim 6 defines measuring the (secondary) power parameter “when the first operating mode is activated” This means that the claim 6/10 power parameter is that of the first operating mode. Claim 1, meanwhile, explicitly limits the target object detection to the second operating mode and its standby power parameter.
It is unclear why claim 10 (defining the object detection) depends from claim 6 (defining the first operating mode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oettinger (US 2015/0284926). The apparatus claims are treated first.
With respect to claim 14, Oettinger discloses a primary device (fig 2-4, 10-11; par 24-34, 38, 45-53) for inductive power transmission, comprising:
a primary resonant circuit (114); and
a control unit (112);
wherein the primary device is designed:
to transmit a secondary power via a primary resonant circuit to a secondary resonant circuit of a secondary device coupled to the primary device when a first operating mode is activated (par 25-27) ; and
to excite the primary resonant circuit with a standby power when a second operating mode is activated (par 30-32 – the pulses are “standby power”); and
wherein the control unit is designed to measure a standby operating parameter of the primary device in the activated second operating mode, to detect a target object in a detection area based on the measured standby operating parameter (par 33-34, 36, 38), and to generate an output signal (fig 10, step 204; par 46 – the reduction in and/or termination of output power indicates that the foreign object determination was shared with the rest of the controller – i.e. the generation of an output signal).
Oettinger discloses a wireless power transmitter that sends full operating power in a first mode to a receiver and can send “standby power” in a second mode (pulses shown in figs 3-8). During the second mode, Oettinger detects the presence of a foreign object. If no object is detected, the transmitter reverts to the first mode. If an object is detected, an “output signal” is generated to reduce/terminate transmitted power.
With respect to claim 15, Oettinger discloses the control unit is designed, when the second operating mode is activated, to excite the primary resonant circuit at a predetermined primary frequency (par 31, first sentence).
With respect to claim 16, Oettinger discloses the standby operating parameter includes a primary current (via 118) flowing from a link capacitor into an amplifier and the primary resonant circuit, or an input current of the primary device.
The primary current is measured via the voltage divider (R1, R1). Through Ohm’s Law, the voltage at R2 is directly proportional to the current through the primary resonator. Thus, the measure of one (voltage) satisfies the other (current).
The Examiner notes that the “link capacitor” and “amplifier” are not distinctly claimed. These structural components only appear as part of a description of the primary current. These components do not have a distinct introduction (compared to how the Applicants introduced the primary resonant circuit and control unit in claim 14) and, therefore, are not interpreted as being claimed. A primary current is the current through the resonant circuit – regardless of where/how the AC power is generated (amplifier, oscillator, etc.; and with or without a “link” capacitor). Alternatively, Oettinger discloses the link capacitor (C2) and amplifier (T1, T2).
With respect to claims 1 and 8, Oettinger discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the art rejection of claims 14-15, respectively.
With respect to claim 2, Oettinger discloses activating the first operating mode when the primary device is coupled to the secondary device (fig 2; par 24-26). Oettinger inherently “activates” the first operating mode to actually supply power to the receiver. It would defeat the purpose of the entire system if it didn’t.
The Examiner notes that the process of coupling is not claimed. Thus, Oettinger is not required to show how the transmitter couples to the receiver.
With respect to claim 6, Oettinger discloses:
measuring a secondary power parameter (via 118) of the secondary device when the first operating mode is activated; and
controlling a primary frequency at which the primary resonant circuit is excited (par 25) in such a way that a predetermined value of the secondary power parameter is obtained (current can only flow through R1 and create a measurable voltage drop across R2 when the controller is toggling the inverter switches).
With respect to claim 7, Oettinger discloses the secondary power parameter is or includes a primary current (via R1, R2 and 118; see art rejection of claim 16) or an input current of the primary device.
With respect to claim 9, Oettinger discloses the standby operating parameter comprises a primary current (via R1, R2 and 118; see art rejection of claim 16) or an input current of the primary device.
With respect to claim 10, Oettinger discloses detecting the target object in the detection area comprises comparing the power parameter with a predetermined threshold value (fig 9, fig 10, step 202, fig 11, step 272; par 42-44, 46, 53).
With respect to claim 11, Oettinger discloses determining the power parameter based on calibration data or a characteristic curve (see curves of figs 3-8).
With respect to claim 12, Oettinger discloses determining a distance between the target object and the primary device when the target object is detected in the detection area (fig 7; par 35). Oettinger expressly discloses the presence of a foreign object affects the frequency of the pulse signals of the second operating mode. The relative size and distance of the foreign object will inherently affect the decay of this signal as well. Larger/closer objects will have a greater affect than smaller/remote ones.
With respect to claim 13, Oettinger discloses the output signal includes a switching signal and/or a warning signal (the reduction and/or termination of wireless power transfer is a “switching” signal).
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong (US 2021/0274606). The apparatus claims are treated first.
With respect to claim 14, Seong discloses a primary device (fig 4-7; par 96-) for inductive power transmission, comprising:
a primary resonant circuit (107n and 150); and
a control unit (190);
wherein the primary device is designed:
to transmit a secondary power via a primary resonant circuit to a secondary resonant circuit of a secondary device coupled to the primary device when a first operating mode is activated (fig 5, S70; fig 6 the far-right column is labeled as “power transmission” and “normal operation mode”); and
to excite the primary resonant circuit with a standby power when a second operating mode is activated (fig 5, S20 and/or S40; fig 6, either/both first/second foreign object detection modes; par 132); and
wherein the control unit is designed to measure a standby operating parameter of the primary device in the activated second operating mode, to detect a target object in a detection area based on the measured standby operating parameter (fig 7, S110, S120 and/or S130; par 189, 191-194), and to generate an output signal (S160; par 196).
Seong discloses a wireless power transmitter with two modes – a first for wireless power transmission and a second “standby” mode for foreign object detection. The same resonator circuit is excited in both modes.
With respect to claim 15, Seong discloses the control unit is designed, when the second operating mode is activated, to excite the primary resonant circuit at a predetermined primary frequency (see fig 6, par 173-174)).
With respect to claim 16, Seong discloses the standby operating parameter includes a primary current (par 167) flowing from a link capacitor into an amplifier and the primary resonant circuit, or an input current of the primary device (par 167).
Seong disclose measuring either “input current” (claimed “input current”) or “resonance current” (claimed “primary current”).
As noted above, the “link capacitor” and “amplifier” are not distinctly claimed.
With respect to claims 1 and 7-8, Seong discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the art rejection of claims 14, 16 and 15, respectively.
With respect to claim 2, Seong discloses activating the first operating mode when the primary device is coupled to the secondary device (fig 6, “communication connect” establishes a coupling between transmitter/receiver).
With respect to claim 3, Seong discloses the first operating mode is activated when also a data connection to the secondary device is established in order to initiate the inductive power transmission (fig 6, “communication connect”, as noted above).
With respect to claim 4, Seong discloses detecting a user input and activating the first operating mode or the second operating mode depending on the user input (par 59, 116-120, 123).
With respect to claim 5, Seong discloses determining the standby power of the primary resonant circuit depending on the user input when the second operating mode is activated (par 123 – the user input starts the flowchart of figs 5 and 6, which are used to initiate the second operating mode for foreign object detection).
With respect to claim 6, Seong discloses:
measuring a secondary power parameter (par 167) of the secondary device when the first operating mode is activated; and
controlling a primary frequency at which the primary resonant circuit is excited (par 173-174) in such a way that a predetermined value of the secondary power parameter is obtained (current through the resonator can only be sensed when inverter 140 is driven to create the AC power).
With respect to claim 9, Seong discloses the standby operating parameter comprises a primary current or an input current of the primary device (par 167 covers both options).
With respect to claim 10, Seong discloses detecting the target object in the detection area comprises comparing the power parameter with a predetermined threshold value (fig 7, steps S110, 120 and/or 130; par 189-194).
With respect to claim 11, Seong discloses determining the power parameter based on calibration data (the preset thresholds are “calibration data”) or a characteristic curve.
With respect to claim 12, Seong discloses determining a distance between the target object and the primary device when the target object is detected in the detection area (par 133). Seong can determine alignment -this is interpreted as including “distance”.
With respect to claim 13, Seong discloses the output signal includes a switching signal and/or a warning signal (Seong outputs an alarm – par 196).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oettinger in view of Park (US 2017/0331334). Alternatively, claims 17-18 are unpatentable over Seong in view of Park.
With respect to claim 17, neither Oettinger nor Seong expressly discloses the primary device includes an interface for data transmission to an external unit. Seong discloses an interface for data transmission to the receiver, but not an external unit.
Park discloses a wireless power transmitter with foreign object detection (fig 1, 6; pages 3-5) and further includes:
an interface (par 66) for data transmission to an external unit; and
the control unit is designed to transmit the output signal via the interface to the external unit (par 66).
Park discloses that a foreign object detection alarm is transmitted to an external device, including “portable terminal, an electronic device which is mounted on vehicles, an electronic device which is connected to a home network, a display device, a speaker device and the like”.
Oettinger and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely wireless power transmitters with foreign object detection. At the time of the earliest priority date of the application, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Oettinger to include the externally transmitted alarm, as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to inform the user of the status of their system so they can prevent damage.
Seong and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely wireless power transmitters with foreign object detection. At the time of the earliest priority date of the application, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the Seong alarm to be transmitted to an external unit, as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the range of the alarm. If the user is not immediately adjacent to the system, the Park alarm transmission would enable remote notification.
With respect to claim 18, Park discloses the interface is or includes a network interface (par 66). At least the alarm transmission to the “home network” would obviously include a network “interface” of unknown and undefined configuration.
Conclusion
Foreign object detection is well known in the field of wireless power transfer. The references cited in the attached PTO-892 form include a non-exhaustive list the known prior art. The Applicants should consider these references in addition to those cited in the art rejections.
/ADI AMRANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836