DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0050019 to Sengupta.
In regards to claims 1, 7 and 18, Sengupta recites an apparatus/method (Figure 4) comprising: an optical connector configured to couple light beams between a waveguide (150-1) and another optical component (150-2), the optical connector comprising: a first mirror (128B-1) configured to interface the light beams with the waveguide; and a second mirror (128B-2) configured to couple the light beams between an optical focusing element (130B) of the photonic substrate and an optical transceiver of another component. Although Sengupta does not expressly recite another optical component to be a photonic substrate/photonic integrated circuit, Sengupta teaches the optical fibers to be placed on substrates (422, 522 or 622). Furthermore, Sengupta further teaches the device to be part of a larger photonic structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the another component of Sengupta to be a photonic substrate/photonic integrated circuit since the optical fiber/another component would require physical support in the device as seen in the Figures of Sengupta.
In regards to claim 12, Sengupta recites an apparatus (Figure 3) comprising: an optical connector configured to facilitate coupling of light beams between a waveguide (150-1) and another optical element (150-2), the connector comprising: an optical focusing element (130B) configured to: interface the light beams with a curved mirror (130A-1) of the another optical element; and transform the light beams, wherein the optical focusing element is vertically distanced and horizontally distanced from the curved mirror of the another optical element. Although Sengupta does not expressly recite another optical component to be a photonic substrate, Sengupta teaches the optical fibers to be placed on substrates (422, 522 or 622). Furthermore, Sengupta further teaches the device to be part of a larger photonic structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the another component of Sengupta to be a photonic substrate since the optical fiber/another component would require physical support in the device as seen in the Figures of Sengupta.
In regards to claims 2 and 13, modified Sengupta recites the waveguide comprises an optical fiber coupled to the connector.
In regards to claim 3, modified Sengupta recites the first mirror comprises a substantially flat mirror disposed at an angle with respect to the waveguide.
In regards to claim 4, although modified Sengupta does not expressly recite the optical focusing element of the photonic substrate comprises a curved mirror disposed on a surface of the photonic substrate, Sengupta does teach a curved mirror (130A-1; Figure 3). Sengupta further teaches the curved mirror to be an alternative for the photonic mode field converters in Figure 4 [0070]. Since Sengupta teaches a curved mirror to be a known alternative, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the optical focusing element to be a curved mirror disposed on a surface of the photonic substrate.
In regards to claim 5, modified Sengupta recites the optical focusing element is configured to collimate the light beams traveling between the waveguide and the optical transceiver of the photonic substrate.
In regards to claims 6 and 20, modified Sengupta recites the optical focusing element facilitates relaxed tolerances for alignment between the waveguide, engaged with the optical connector, and the photonic substrate.
In regards to claims 8-10, modified Sengupta recites the photonic substrate further comprises a light beam mode size converter configured to convert the mode size of the light beams, the waveguide comprises an optical fiber; the light beam mode size converter is configured to convert the mode size of the light beams between a first mode size associated with the transceiver of the photonic substrate and a second mode size associated with the optical fiber; and the second mode size is larger than the first mode size and the first mode size is in a range from about less than one micron to about 4 microns; and the second mode size is about 10 microns. [0067]
In regards to claim 11, modified Sengupta recites the optical focusing element of the photonic substrate is vertically distanced and horizontally distanced from the second mirror.
In regards to claims 14 and 19, modified Sengupta recites the optical focusing element is configured to transform the light beams by substantially collimating the light beams propagating between the waveguide and the optical transceiver of the photonic substrate. [0074]
In regards to claim 15, modified Sengupta recites the optical focusing element is configured to transform the light beams by focusing the light beams propagating between the waveguide and the optical transceiver of the photonic substrate.
In regards to claim 16, modified Sengupta recites the curved mirror is configured to second transform the light beams by substantially collimating the light beams propagating between the waveguide and the transceiver of the photonic substrate.
In regards to claim 17, modified Sengupta recites the curved mirror is configured to second transform the light beams by focusing the light beams propagating between the waveguide and the transceiver of the photonic substrate.
References Cited
The references cited made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. References B-D are directed to optical connectors having multiple focusing elements.
The documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered and made of record. Note attached copy of forms PTO-1449.
Inventorship
Conclusion
/TINA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874