Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
• This action is in reply to the Application Number 18/815,966 filed on 08/27/2024.
• Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
• This action is made Non-FINAL in response the Amendments and Remarks filed on 07/21/2026.
• The examiner would like to note that this application is now being handled by examiner Kai Wang.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2026, 09/04/2024, 05/16/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kjaergaard teaches:
A computer-implemented method of controlling moving of a point-of-interest of a working tool mounted to a complex attachment, the complex attachment mounted to the work implement of a work vehicle, (Kjaergaard, para [35], “the remapping unit comprises a model of a particular excavator type, i.e. an algorithm implemented as software on a computer to calculate the individual joint movements required to achieve a particular angular and/or linear movement of the tool relative to the reference surface.”, and Fig.1 depicts of an excavator 4 mounted to a complex attachment 10 “ so-called tilt-rotator arrangement” which mounted to the work implement of a work vehicle )
the work implement comprising a first component movable with respect to the work vehicle and a second component movable with respect to the first component, (Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts the work implement comprising a first component (boom 2) movable with respect to the work vehicle and a second component (stick 3) movable with respect to the first component (boom 2))
the second component having a free end, the complex attachment coupled to the free end of the second component, (Kjaergaard, para [74], “the far end of the stick 3”, and Fig.1 depicts of an excavator 4 mounted to a complex attachment 10 “ so-called tilt-rotator arrangement” which mounted to the work implement of a work vehicle )
the complex attachment operable to move the point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the free end of the second component of the work implement, the method comprising: (Kjaergaard, In the figure 1, the excavator further comprises a so-called tilt-rotator arrangement 10 providing a swiveling of the tool 4 about a tilt axis 11 and a 360 degree rotation of the tool 4 about a rotor axis 12.”)
Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
defining a desired trajectory for the point-of-interest of the working tool; ( Suzuki, Fig. 6 and para[62], “ FIG. 6 , an actual action locus of the bucket 22 based on the machine control is illustrated”)
determining desired first velocities for the movements of the first and second components of the work implement and determining desired second velocities for the movements of the point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the second component of the work implement; ( Suzuki, Fig.6 and para[54], “The target velocity computing section 310 computes the target velocity of the actuators 20A, 21A, and 22A that drive the front work implement”, and para[58], “The bucket target velocity correcting section 450 corrects the target velocity of the bucket ”)
applying the desired first velocities to a control system of the work vehicle that controls actuators of the work implement; ( Suzuki, para[54], “outputs the action command value to the drive system”)
and sending velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to a control system ( Suzuki, para[54], “The target velocity computing section 310 computes the target velocity of the actuators 20A, 21A, and 22A that drive the front work implement”, Fig. 6 and para[62], “ FIG. 6 , an actual action locus of the bucket 22 based on the machine control is illustrated”, para [37],“a control system 10 is configured by the operation input device 33, a posture sensor 30, the target surface information setting device 100, the display setting device 110, the information processing device 34, the drive system 35, and the prime mover device 36”)
the control system applying the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to control the movement of the point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the second component of the work implement. ( Suzuki, Fig.6 and para[54], “The target velocity computing section 310 computes the target velocity of the actuators 20A, 21A, and 22A that drive the front work implement”, and para[58], “The bucket target velocity correcting section 450 corrects the target velocity of the bucket ”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include a computer-implemented method of controlling moving of a point-of-interest of a working tool and defining a desired trajectory for the point-of-interest of the working tool; determining desired first velocities for the movements of the components of the work implement and determining desired second velocities for the movements of the point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the work implement; applying the desired first velocities to a control system that controls actuators of the work implement, and sending velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to a control system, the control system applying the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to control the movement of the point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the second component of the work implement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki does not explicitly teach, but Rototilt teaches:
a control system of the complex attachment, (Rototilt explicitly teach a control system RC™ System from Rototilt complex attachment for the excavation machine, the RC™ control system is a proportional control system that allows operator to harness the tilt-rotator’s functions in one and the same excavation movement, and it is tailored to the excavation machine means that compatibility and functionality are ensured.) Examiner note: Kjaergaard teaches the tilt-rotator complex attachment and velocity-capable control signals; Suzuki teaches trajectory-based target-velocity computation and transmission of command signals to the drive system; and Rototilt teaches a tilt-rotator complex attachment-specific control system used to control tilt-rotator functions during excavation movement. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the attachment-specific control functionality of the Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki combination in a tilt-rotator-dedicated control system, as taught by Rototilt. The modification would allow the host work vehicle to provide desired motion or velocity-level commands associated with the desired tool trajectory to the dedicated control system of tilt-rotator attachment. This is a predicable use of tilt-rotator control technology and improve responsiveness, control precision and attachment interoperability as a design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki to include these above teachings from Rototilt in order to include a control system of the complex attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order so “control systems that can be integrated with the machine’s excavation system” and “compatibility and functionality are ensured” (Rototilt, Description)
Regarding Claim 2:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kjaergaard teaches:
from the complex attachment (Kjaergaard, para [74], “ the excavator further comprises a so-called tilt-rotator arrangement 10 providing a swiveling of the tool 4 about a tilt axis 11 and a 360 degree rotation of the tool 4 about a rotor axis 12”)
Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving measured second velocities…; (Suzuki, para[39], “The posture sensor 30 includes an angular velocity sensor 30 a and an acceleration sensor 30 b and can measure the angle of the respective components of the front work implement 2 and the swing structure 3.”)
and generating adjusted second velocities in response to differences between the measured second velocities and the desired second velocities and providing the adjusted second velocities as the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities.( Suzuki, para [89], “it is determined whether the target velocity of the bucket 22 according to the operation input amount from the operation input device 33 is lower than the target velocity computed in step S180 ”, and para[90], “the target velocity of the bucket 22 is corrected”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include receiving measured second velocities and generating adjusted second velocities in response to differences between the measured second velocities and the desired second velocities and providing the adjusted second velocities as the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Regarding Claim 3:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 2. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the adjusted second velocities are the same as the desired second velocities when the measured second velocities are the same as the desired second velocities. ( Suzuki, Fig.11 and para [88], “In step S185, the target velocity of the bucket 22 is not corrected.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include wherein the adjusted second velocities are the same as the desired second velocities when the measured second velocities are the same as the desired second velocities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Regarding Claim 5:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kjaergaard teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first component of the work implement has a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the main frame of the work vehicle at a first linkage joint; (Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts the work implement comprising a first component (boom 2) has a first end and a second end, and the first end coupled to the main frame of the work vehicle at a first linkage joint)
the second component of the work implement has a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the second end of the first component at a second linkage joint; and the complex attachment is coupled to the second end of second component at a third linkage joint. (Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts the work implement comprising a second component (stick 3) movable with respect to the first component (boom 2), stick 3 has a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the second end of the first component at a second linkage joint; and the complex attachment is coupled to the second end of second component at a third linkage joint.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 5. Kjaergaard teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the first component is a boom, the second component is an arm, and the third linkage joint is configured to enable pivotable attachment of the complex attachment to the arm. (Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts the work implement comprising a first component (boom 2) and a second component is an arm (stick 3), and the third linkage joint is configured to enable pivotable attachment of the complex attachment to the arm)
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024) and Kim (US20180223499A1).
Regarding Claim 4:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Kim teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: coupling a source of hydraulic flow to the complex attachment; receiving hydraulic flow requests from the complex attachment; (Kim, para[40], “The hydraulic motor 431 is coupled to the first body 410, receives hydraulic energy from the hydraulic pump”)
and adjusting hydraulic flow to the complex attachment in response to the hydraulic flow requests. (Kim, para[44],” prevents the pressure of oil, fed to the hydraulic motor, from increasing above a preset threshold value”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Kim in order to include coupling a source of hydraulic flow to the complex attachment; receiving hydraulic flow requests from the complex attachment; and adjusting hydraulic flow to the complex attachment in response to the hydraulic flow requests. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “thus the efficiency of work can be improved.” (Kim, Description)
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024) and Eberhardt (US20240262659A1).
Regarding Claim 7:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Eberhardt teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the desired first velocities and the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities are synchronized before sending the desired first velocities to the control system of the work vehicle and before sending the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to the control system of the complex attachment. (Eberhardt, para[45], “the first hydraulic cylinder pivoting the first arm relative to the upper carriage and the second hydraulic cylinder pivoting the second arm relative to the first arm are controlled in a synchronized manner in such a way that the angular speeds of the first and second arms are in a fixed ratio to one another during pivoting. The coordination or synchronization of the two arms is therefore achieved here by synchronizing a plurality of hydraulic cylinders.”) Examiner note: Eberhardt teaches synchronizing the desired first velocities and the second velocities of two components of work element. It is design choice to perform the synchronization before sending the desired first velocities to the control system and before sending the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to the complex attachment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Eberhardt in order to include wherein the desired first velocities and the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities are synchronized before sending the desired first velocities to the control system and before sending the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to the complex attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “coordination or synchronization of the two arms is therefore achieved” (Eberhardt, Description)
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024) and Wang (US 20230173660 A1).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Wang teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the desired first and second velocities are determined by applying inverse kinematics to the desired trajectory.( Wang, para [69], “The robot program computed by the controller converts the gripper positions and orientations at various points along the trajectory into robot joint velocity commands, such as by using inverse kinematics calculations”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Wang in order to include wherein the desired first and second velocities are determined by applying inverse kinematics to the desired trajectory. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “ improving the precision of the workpiece placement” (Wang, Description)
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024) and Kim (US20180223499A1).
Regarding Claim 9:
Kjaergaard teaches:
A self-propelled work vehicle that manipulates a working tool, the work vehicle comprising: a main frame moveable with respect to terrain; a work implement comprising: a first component having a first end pivotably coupled to the main frame and having a second end of the first component moveable with respect to the main(Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts a work vehicle with a main frame (6) moveable with respect to terrain; the work implement comprising a first component (boom 2) pivotably with respect to the work vehicle and a second component (stick 3) pivotably with respect to the first component (boom 2). Fig.1 depicts of an excavator 4 mounted to a complex attachment 10 “ so-called tilt-rotator arrangement” which mounted to the work implement of a work vehicle, Fig.1 depicts the work implement comprising a second component (stick 3) movable with respect to the first component (boom 2), stick 3 has a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to the second end of the first component at a second linkage joint; and the complex attachment is coupled to the second end of second component at a third linkage joint.)
a work vehicle control system configured to monitor and control a position of the first working tool mounting system by generating actuator commands to move the first component and the second component, (Kjaergaard, para [30], “automatic control system can adjust certain movements relative to the reference surface, and an operator can adjust others”)
a complex attachment pivotably coupled to the first working tool mounting system, the complex attachment comprising: a first portion pivotably coupled to the first working tool mounting system of the second component of the work implement; (Kjaergaard, Fig.1 depicts of an excavator 4 mounted to a complex attachment 10 “ so-called tilt-rotator arrangement” which mounted to the second component (stick 3) of the work implement of a work vehicle)
the working tool mounted to the rotatable working tool mounting system of the complex attachment; (Kjaergaard, In the figure 1, the excavator further comprises a so-called tilt-rotator arrangement 10 providing a swiveling of the tool 4 about a tilt axis 11 and a 360 degree rotation of the tool 4 about a rotor axis 12.”)
at least one working tool tilt actuator configured to selectively tilt the second portion and the working tool mounting system of the complex attachment with respect to the first portion of the complex attachment and at least one working tool rotate actuator to selectively rotate the working tool with respect to the second portion of the complex attachment; (Kjaergaard, para [54], “wherein the tilt-rotator arrangement is configured that … swiveled about a tilt axis perpendicular to the rotor axis and the pitch axis.”, and para [55], “the user command to rotate the tool about the rotor axis onto a first of the three independent rotatory tool degrees of freedom;”)
receive the working tool velocity commands from the work vehicle control system, (Kjaergaard, para [99], “provides actuator commands 46 configured to control movement of the excavator links, e.g. control signals comprising actuator positions and actuator velocities”)
responsive to the working tool velocity commands to generate a working tool tilt actuator command to cause the at least one working tool tilt actuator to tilt the second portion with respect to the first portion and to generate a working tool rotate actuator command to cause the working tool rotate actuator to rotate the working tool. (Kjaergaard, para [54], “swiveled about a tilt axis perpendicular to the rotor axis and the pitch axis.”, and para [55], “the user command to rotate the tool about the rotor axis onto a first of the three independent rotatory tool degrees of freedom;”)
Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
the work vehicle control system further configured to generate working tool velocity commands to define a movement of a point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the first working tool mounting system; ( Suzuki, Fig. 6 and para[62], “ FIG. 6 , an actual action locus of the bucket 22 based on the machine control is illustrated”, para[54], “The target velocity computing section 310 computes the target velocity of the actuators 20A, 21A, and 22A that drive the front work implement”, and para[58], “The bucket target velocity correcting section 450 corrects the target velocity of the bucket ”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include the work vehicle control system further configured to generate working tool velocity commands to define a movement of a point-of-interest of the working tool with respect to the first working tool mounting system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki does not explicitly teach, but Rototilt teaches:
a control system of the complex attachment (Rototilt explicitly teach a control system RC™ System from Rototilt complex attachment for the excavation machine, the RC™ control system is a proportional control system that allows operator to harness the tilt-rotator’s functions in one and the same excavation movement, and it is tailored to the excavation machine means that compatibility and functionality are ensured.) Examiner note: Kjaergaard teaches the tilt-rotator complex attachment and velocity-capable control signals; Suzuki teaches trajectory-based target-velocity computation and transmission of command signals to the drive system; and Rototilt teaches a tilt-rotator complex attachment-specific control system used to control tilt-rotator functions during excavation movement. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the attachment-specific control functionality of the Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki combination in a tilt-rotator-dedicated control system, as taught by Rototilt. The modification would allow the host work vehicle to provide desired motion or velocity-level commands associated with the desired tool trajectory to the dedicated control system of tilt-rotator attachment. This is a predicable use of tilt-rotator control technology and improve responsiveness, control precision and attachment interoperability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki to include these above teachings from Rototilt in order to include a control system of the complex attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order so “control systems that can be integrated with the machine’s excavation system” and “compatibility and functionality are ensured” (Rototilt, Description)
Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Kim teaches:
a second portion including a rotatable working tool mounting system of the complex attachment, (Kim, Fig.3 and para [37], “a rotation module 430 interposed between the first body 410 and the second body 420, and configured to enable the rotational movement of the second body 420”, and para [38], “a specific configuration of the rotation module 430 includes: a hydraulic motor 431 configured to generate rotating force; a drive gear 432 and a driven gear 433 configured to transfer rotating force; and a bearing 434 configured such that the driven gear 433 is formed on the outer circumferential surface thereof.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Kim in order to include a second portion including a rotatable working tool mounting system of the complex attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification “thus the efficiency of work can be improved.” (Kim, Description)
Regarding Claim 10:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 9. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
The self-propelled work vehicle of claim 9, wherein the work vehicle control system comprises: a trajectory determination subsystem to determine a desired trajectory of a point-of-interest of the working tool; ( Suzuki, para[05], “ a control method of a construction machine that execute bucket control ”, para[08], “ the claw tip of the bucket”), Fig. 6 and para[62], “ FIG. 6 , an actual action locus of the bucket 22 based on the machine control is illustrated”)
a velocity determination subsystem responsive to the desired trajectory to determine desired first velocities and desired second velocities to achieve the desired trajectory, the desired first velocities for components of the work implement and for the first working tool mounting system, the desired second velocities for the complex attachment, ( Suzuki, para[54], “The target velocity computing section 310 computes the target velocity of the actuators 20A, 21A, and 22A that drive the front work implement 2, on the basis of the operation amount information of the operation input device 33, the distance between the bucket 22 and the excavation target surface”)
wherein the working tool velocity commands sent to the complex attachment are responsive to the desired second velocities; ( Suzuki, para[42], “outputs a command for driving the hydraulic excavator”)
and a hydraulic control subsystem that receives the desired first velocities and that controls movements of the components and the first working tool mounting system of the work implement. ( Suzuki, para [89], “it is determined whether the target velocity of the bucket 22 according to the operation input amount from the operation input device”, and para[34],” The directional control valve 35 b controls the flow rate and the direction of a hydraulic fluid supplied from the hydraulic pump 35 a to the boom cylinder 20A, the arm cylinder 21A, the bucket cylinder 22A, the motor 38 for swing, and the motor 41 for travelling that are actuators”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include wherein the work vehicle control system comprises: a trajectory determination subsystem to determine a desired trajectory of a point-of-interest of the working tool; a velocity determination subsystem responsive to the desired trajectory to determine desired first velocities and desired second velocities to achieve the desired trajectory, the desired first velocities for components of the work implement and for the first working tool mounting system, the desired second velocities for the complex attachment, wherein the tilt and rotate commands sent to the complex attachment are responsive to the desired second velocities; and a hydraulic control subsystem that receives the desired first velocities and that controls movements of the components and the first working tool mounting system of the work implement.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024) and Kim (US20180223499A1) and Eberhardt (US20240262659A1).
Regarding Claim 11:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 10. Kjaergaard teaches:
the complex attachment … tilting and rotating the working tool (Kjaergaard, para [74], “the excavator further comprises a so-called tilt-rotator arrangement 10 providing a swiveling of the tool 4 about a tilt axis 11 and a 360 degree rotation of the tool 4 about a rotor axis 12.”,
Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Eberhardt teaches:
The self-propelled work vehicle of claim 10, further comprising a synchronization subsystem to synchronize the desired first velocities and velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to generate synchronized first velocities and synchronized second velocities,…receiving synchronized second velocities as the working tool velocity commands (Eberhardt, para[45], “the first hydraulic cylinder pivoting the first arm relative to the upper carriage and the second hydraulic cylinder pivoting the second arm relative to the first arm are controlled in a synchronized manner in such a way that the angular speeds of the first and second arms are in a fixed ratio to one another during pivoting. The coordination or synchronization of the two arms is therefore achieved here by synchronizing a plurality of hydraulic cylinders.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kjaergaard to include these above teachings from Eberhardt in order to include a synchronization subsystem to synchronize the desired first velocities and velocities responsive to the desired second velocities to generate synchronized first velocities and synchronized second velocities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “coordination or synchronization of the two arms is therefore achieved” (Eberhardt, Description)
Regarding Claim 12:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt and Kim, Eberhardt, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 11. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Suzuki teaches:
The self-propelled work vehicle of claim 11, wherein the work vehicle control system includes a feedback control subsystem configured to receive feedback from the complex attachment system representing measured second velocities and to generate the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities responsive to differences between the measured second velocities and the desired second velocities.( Suzuki, para [87], “In step S180, the target velocity of the bucket 22 is corrected to make the distance between the bucket 22 and the excavation target surface shorter within a range in which the action correction amount of the bucket 22 does not exceed the bucket correction limit value computed in step S170 or step S175.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kim to include these above teachings from Suzuki in order to include wherein the work vehicle control system includes a feedback control subsystem configured to receive feedback from the complex attachment system representing measured second velocities and to generate the velocities responsive to the desired second velocities responsive to differences between the measured second velocities and the desired second velocities. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “provide a work machine that is capable of improving the work performance” (Suzuki, Description)
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kjaergaard (US20200318316A1) in view of Suzuki (US20230332375A1), further in view of Rototilt (https://www.rototilt.com/en/rototilt-control/, 06/26/2024), Kim (US20180223499A1) and Wang (US 20230173660 A1).
Regarding Claim 13:
Kjaergaard in view of Suzuki, Rototilt and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, discloses the limitations of claim 10. Kjaergaard does not explicitly teach, but Wang teaches:
The self-propelled work vehicle of claim 10, wherein the velocity determination subsystem generates the desired first velocities and the desired second velocities using inverse kinematics. (Wang, para [69], “The robot program computed by the controller converts the gripper positions and orientations at various points along the trajectory into robot joint velocity commands, such as by using inverse kinematics calculations”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify excavator having rotatable arm from Kim to include these above teachings from Wang in order to include wherein the desired first and second velocities are determined by applying inverse kinematics to the desired trajectory. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to “ improving the precision of the workpiece placement” (Wang, Description)
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
103 Rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 (See applicant’s response, page 7, “Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103”) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KAI NMN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664