DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/27/2024 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1-13,15-16,18 and 33-36 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 33-36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 33-36 should be written as independent claims which each claim limitations clearly written out mirroring claim 1 or 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13,15-16,18 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Pub. 20210153127 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US Pub. US 20210306951 A1).
For claim 1, Park discloses a wake-up signal (WUS) receiving method [0061], [0066], [0082], applied to a terminal device [0004], [0030], [0066], the method comprising:
determining a detection window corresponding to a first WUS (Fig. 5, ref. 510, Fig. 6, block 610) [0064], [0065], [0069], [0083]; and
detecting, in the detection window, the first WUS sent by a network node (Fig. 5, ref. 520, 525, Fig. 6, block 620) [0079], [0080], [0084].
But Park doesn’t explicitly teach second network node.
However, Hwang discloses second network node (Figs. 20-24) [0100-105].
Hwang also discloses determining a detection window corresponding to a first WUS (Figs. 20-24, and 30, S903) [0242], [0400], [0403], [0406], [0407], [0411]; and
detecting, in the detection window, the first WUS sent by a network node (Fig. 30, S905, and Fig. 31) [0413], [0415], [0423]
Since, all are analogous arts addressing signaling schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Park with Hwang to ensure all signaling actions within a mobile network can be optimized for data processing, thus, improving network efficiency.
For claim 18, Park discloses a wake-up signal (WUS) sending method [0079], [0036], [0067], applied to a network node (Fig. 5, ref. 525, and Fig. 2), the method comprising:
determining a detection window corresponding to a first WUS (Fig. 5, ref. 510, Fig. 6, block 610) [0064], [0065], [0069], [0083]; and
sending the first WUS to a terminal device in the detection window (Fig. 5, ref. 520, 525, Fig. 6, block 620) [0079], [0080], [0084].
But Park doesn’t explicitly teach second network node.
However, Hwang discloses second network node (Figs. 20-24) [0100-105].
Hwang also discloses determining a detection window corresponding to a first WUS (Figs. 20-24, and 30, S903) [0242], [0400], [0403], [0406], [0407], [0411]; and
sending the first WUS to a terminal device in the detection window (Fig. 30, S905, and Fig. 31) [0413], [0415], [0423]
Since, all are analogous arts addressing signaling schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Park with Hwang to ensure all signaling actions within a mobile network can be optimized for data processing, thus, improving network efficiency.
For claim 2, Park as modified by Hwang, Hwang further discloses detecting a second WUS sent by a network mode, in response to determining according to a preset rule that detection of the second WUS is needed. determining, according to a preset rule, that detection of a second WUS needs to be performed, and detecting the second WUS sent by the network node (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0005], [0240], [0245], [0400], [0407], [0408], [0413]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 3, Park as modified by Hwang, Hwang further discloses the preset rule comprises at least one of the following:
in response to the detected first WUS indicating a first type of information, detection of the second WUS is needed [0237], [0240], [0245], [0407], [0413], wherein the first type of information comprises wake-up indication information or second WUS position information (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0234], [0245], [0413];
in response to the detected first WUS indicating a second type of information, detection of the second WUS is skipped, wherein the second type of information comprises any one of full wake-up indication information, system message change indication information, or measurement indication information; in response to the first WUS being detected, detection of the second WUS is needed [0240], [0245], [0407], [0413];
in response to the first WUS being undetected, detection of the second WUS is skipped (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0245], [0413]; or
in response to signaling which indicates detection of the second WUS being received, detection of the second WUS is needed (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0400], [0401], [0403], [0415], [0416]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 4, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses the detecting the second WUS sent by the network node comprises: determining a second time domain position; and detecting, at the second time domain position, the second WUS sent by the network node (Fig. 3) [0042]. (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0403], [0407], [0408], [0411], [0413]).
For claim 5, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses the determining a second time domain position comprises one of: determining the second time domain position according to a first time domain position and a first time domain offset (Fig. 3A) [0042], [0064], (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0293], [0295], [0320]–[0323], [0325], [0326], [0403], [0411]);
determining the second time domain position according to the first time domain position, the first time domain offset, and a second group number (Fig. 3A) [0042], [0064], (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0292], [0295], [0304]–[0309], [0314]–[0318]);
determining the second time domain position according to the first time domain position, the first time domain offset, and a time domain position index (Fig. 3A) [0042], [0064], (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0353]–[0355]); or
determining the second time domain position according to the second WUS position information carried by the first WUS, wherein the second time domain position is a time domain position at which the second WUS is located, or a time domain position at which the 1st WUS in a plurality of WUSs corresponding to the second WUS is located (Fig. 3A) [0042], [0064], (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0407], [0408], [0411]), or
a time domain position at which the last WUS in the plurality of WUSs corresponding to the second WUS is located (Fig. 3A) [0042], [0064], (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0407], [0408], [0411]).
For claim 6, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses the first time domain position is determined according to at least one of: the first time domain position being a time domain position at which the first WUS is detected (Fig. 5, Fig. 6) [0064], [0068], [0069], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0413]);
the first time domain position being a start position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 5, Fig. 6) [0064], [0068], [0069], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0242], [0307], [0318], [0320]–[0323]);
the first time domain position being an end position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 5, Fig. 6) [0064], [0068], [0069], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0242], [0307], [0318], [0320]–[0323]);
the first time domain position being a time domain position at which the 1st WUS in a plurality of WUSs corresponding to the first WUS is located (Fig. 5, Fig. 6) [0064], [0068], [0069], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0320]–[0323]); or
the first time domain position being a time domain position at which the last WUS in the plurality of WUSs corresponding to the first WUS is located (Fig. 5, Fig. 6) [0064], [0068], [0069], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 28) [0268]–[0270], [0347]–[0349]).
For claim 7, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses the first time domain offset is determined according to at least one of:
signaling indication information, preset offset information, terminal device capability information, or subcarrier spacing information (Fig. 5) [0042], [0057], [0067-68], [0077-78] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 7, 13, 24, and 29-31) [0113]–[0115], [0291], [0292], [0293], [0324], [0325], [0326], [0400], [0401], [0403]).
For claim 8, Park as modified by Hwang, Hwang further discloses the time domain position index is determined according to an index of a second group in which the terminal device is located (Fig. 23, Fig. 24, Fig. 29)
[0247], [0291]–[0295], [0314]–[0318], [0353]–[0355], or determined according to a preset correspondence between the time domain position index and a time domain resource position (Fig. 29) [0355], [0359]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 9, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses detecting, at the second time domain position, the second WUS sent by the network node comprises:
determining, according to second information, a second target frequency domain position corresponding to the second WUS (Fig. 4) [0053], [0062-63] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25- 28) [0327]–[0336], [0341]–[0345]); and
determining, according to the second information, a second sequence corresponding to the second WUS (Fig. 4) [0053], [0062-63] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25- 28) [0253]–[0262]), wherein the second information is determined by at least one of:
a terminal device index, a second group index corresponding to the terminal device, a second group number, or a signaling indication (Fig. 4) [0053], [0062-63] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25- 28) [0334], [0400], [0401]).
For claim 10, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses a position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS is determined by one of:
determining, according to detection window information indicated by signaling, the position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 5, ref. 505, 510) [0064], [0067-69] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30),
wherein the detection window information comprises at least one of:
a period of the detection window, a time domain offset of the detection window, or a time domain length of the detection window (Fig. 5, ref. 505, 510) [0064], [0067-69] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0242], [0291], [0292], [0400], [0403]);
determining, according to an agreement with the network node, the position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 5, ref. 505, 510) [0064], [0067-69] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0324], [0325], [0326]); or
determining, according to a predefined time domain position and a position at which the first WUS is detected, the position of the detection window corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 5, ref. 505, 510) [0064], [0067-69] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0318], [0407], [0413]).
For claim 11, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses detecting, in the detection window, the first WUS sent by a network node comprises one of:
detecting the first WUS at each time domain position of the detection window (Fig. 5, ref. 520, Fig. 6, block 620) [0063], [0079], [0084] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0242], [0413]); or
determining, in the detection window according to a pre-determined correspondence between a first preset index and a first time domain resource position, a target time domain position corresponding to the first preset index, and detecting the first WUS at the target time domain position [0070], [0071] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-24, and 30) [0355], [0359]).
For claim 12, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses detecting, in the detection window, the first WUS sent by a network node further comprises at least one of:
determining, according to first information, a first target frequency domain position corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 4) [0053], [0062-63] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25-27, and 28) [0331]–[0336]); or
determining, according to the first information, a first sequence corresponding to the first WUS (Fig. 4) [0053], [0062-63] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25-27, and 28) [0253]–[0262]), wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
a terminal device index, a first group index corresponding to the terminal device, a second preset index, a first parameter, or a first group number (Fig. 5) [0078] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 25-27, and 28) [0335]-[0359]).
For claim 13, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses in response to the first WUS being detected, ending detection in the detection window, and using a position at which the first WUS is detected as an end position of the detection window (Fig. 5) [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-23, and 30) [0314]–[0318], [0413]).
For claim 15, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses one of:
detecting a PDCCH in response to the detected first WUS indicating a second type of information, wherein the second type of information is used to represent at least one of full wake-up indication information, system message change indication information, or measurement indication information (Figs. 5-6) [0060-61], [0080] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-23, and 30) [0234], [0237], [0240], [0413]); or
skipping detection of the PDCCH in response to the first WUS being undetected [0060-61] (Hwang also discloses the same (Figs. 20-23, and 30) [0245], [0413]).
For claim 16, Park as modified by Hwang, Hwang further discloses searching a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) corresponding to the detected PDCCH for a paging message corresponding to the detected PDCCH (Fig. 16, Fig. 19) [0138], [0228], [0238], [0240]; and
in response to no paging message corresponding to the detected PDCCH being found, performing a channel measurement, and determining, according to a measurement result, whether to fall back to a conventional paging detection process, or determining, according to the measurement result, whether to continue the WUS detection (Fig. 16, Fig. 19) [0234], [0245]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
For claim 33, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory [0007-8], wherein the memory stores program instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the wake-up signal (WUS) receiving method of claim 1. All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 34, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses a network node, comprising a processor and a memory [0007-8], wherein the memory stores program instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the wake-up signal (WUS) sending method of claim 18. All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 35, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions, which when executed by a computer [0007-8], cause the computer to implement the wake-up signal (WUS) receiving method of any one of claims 1 to 17, or the WUS receiving method of claim 1. All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 36, Park, as modified by Hwang, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions, which when executed by a computer [0007-8], cause the computer to implement the WUS receiving method of claim 18. All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230300750 A1; US 20230063026 A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409