Filed IDS of 08/27/2024 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as unpatentable over Nakatsuka et al. (JP 2021/114203, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakatsuka teaches an information processing method (at least Figs. 1-2 includes an image forming apparatus 1 comprising said information processing method by at least a control unit 310, and determination data unit 313 collectively forming in the art an information processing means configured to receive and process user transmitted print data of Figs. 1-4) comprising:
obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Nakatsuka further teaches in the Abstract and at least Figs. 5 the system configured for receiving user created job data including first print setting file information indicating setting information on printing such as at least “print settings associated with the hot folder 332 include, for example, "aggregate two originals into one sheet and print on both sides of A4 size paper" or "enlarge and print on A3 size paper". Or "print on A4 size paper and staple on the upper left of the paper” and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 332); and
displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Nakatsuka further teaches at least Figs. 5 the system causes the displaying of the plurality of hot folders 332 icons and warnings based on the first print setting state information and the second print destination setting information).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein upon receipt of input of the first print setting information, the first print setting information is obtained (control unit 310 of at least the disclosure is configured for at least upon receipt of input of the first print setting information, the first print setting information is obtained).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein on an application screen for receiving input of the first print setting information, the displaying is performed in response to a user pressing a selection region for selecting, from the plurality of hot folders, a hot folder to which to output the print data (a display unit at least on the terminal device 2 and/or the image forming apparatus 1 as noted in the disclosure is adapted for at least receiving input of the first print setting information, the displaying of at least Fig. 5 is performed in response to a user pressing a selection region for selecting, from the plurality of hot folders, a hot folder to which to output the print data).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein a hot folder with an unprintable setting is excluded from the plurality of hot folders displayed (at least Fig. 5 includes a case of notifying the user of a hot folder not feasible for printing by displaying the unprintable information thereby indicating the case of said hot folder with an unprintable setting is excluded from the plurality of hot folders displayed).
Regarding claim 8 (according to claim 2), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein based on the order of priority determined, a hot folder with a printable setting and a hot folder with an unprintable setting are displayed in a distinguishable manner (the system is further configured as noted in at least the disclosure “process of adding the image G_OK indicating the symbol of "○" to the operation screen SC1 in association with the hot folder 332 is performed. On the other hand, when the determination unit 313 determines that printing with the print settings associated with the hot folder 332 is not feasible in the image forming apparatus 1, the first guide unit 314 operates the operation screen as shown in FIG. A process of adding the image G_NG indicating the symbol “x” to the SC1 in association with the hot folder 332 is performed. That is, the first guide unit 314 displays the operation screen SC1 so that the hot folder 332 determined to be capable of printing and the hot folder 332 determined to be unable to print are displayed differently” thereby capably displaying said hot folder with a printable setting and a hot folder with an unprintable setting are displayed in a distinguishable manner as said understood rank or priority order).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein once a printing apparatus to perform printing is selected and a hot folder is selected from the plurality of hot folders, printability of the print data is determined based on information indicating a status of the selected printing apparatus, the first print setting information, and the second print setting information set for the selected hot folder, and a warning message is displayed in a case where it is determined that the print data is unprintable (Fig. 5 and the disclosure further cites “Even before the file is input to the hot folder 332, the determination unit 313 uses the status information of the plurality of image forming devices 1A to 1C as a trigger, for example, when the number of image forming devices 1 to be managed increases or decreases. Based on this, by determining whether or not there is an image forming apparatus 1 capable of printing with the print settings associated with the hot folder 332, printing with the print settings associated with the hot folder 332 is performed. Determine if is feasible” which further indicates once a printing apparatus 1 to perform printing is selected and a hot folder 332 is selected from the plurality of hot folders, printability by the determination unit 313 of the print data is determined based on information indicating a status of the selected printing apparatus, the first print setting information, and the second print setting information set for the selected hot folder, and a warning message is displayed in a case where it is determined that the print data is unprintable).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka further teaches wherein the plurality of hot folders are displayed as a list (the plurality of hot folders of at least Figs. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Nakatsuka teaches in Fig. 1 an information processing apparatus comprising at least one memory 71 and at least one processor 31 which function as an obtainment unit configured to obtain print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Nakatsuka further teaches in the Abstract and at least Figs. 5 the system configured for receiving user created job data including first print setting file information indicating setting information on printing such as at least “print settings associated with the hot folder 332 include, for example, "aggregate two originals into one sheet and print on both sides of A4 size paper" or "enlarge and print on A3 size paper". Or "print on A4 size paper and staple on the upper left of the paper” and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 332); and
a display control unit configured to display the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Nakatsuka further teaches at least Figs. 5 the system causes the displaying of the plurality of hot folders 332 icons and warnings based on the first print setting state information and the second print destination setting information).
Regarding claim 13, Nakatsuka teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium 71 of Figs. 1-4 storing a program for causing a computer to perform an information processing method comprising: obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Nakatsuka further teaches in the Abstract and at least Figs. 5 the system configured for receiving user created job data including first print setting file information indicating setting information on printing such as at least “print settings associated with the hot folder 332 include, for example, "aggregate two originals into one sheet and print on both sides of A4 size paper" or "enlarge and print on A3 size paper". Or "print on A4 size paper and staple on the upper left of the paper” and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 332); and
displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Nakatsuka further teaches at least Figs. 5 the system causes the displaying of the plurality of hot folders 332 icons and warnings based on the first print setting state information and the second print destination setting information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakatsuka, in view of Matsuyama et al. (US 2013/0286432, A1).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka is silent regarding wherein further comprising determining an order of priority of the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information.
Matsuyama teaches at least in the Abstract and Figs. 5-8 at least ranking and listing the plurality of hot folders based on at least print setting information and to present said listing ranks according to an order of priority of the plurality of hot folders based on said print setting information. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakatsuka in view of Matsuyama to include wherein said determining an order of priority of the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information, as discussed above, as Nakatsuka in view of Matsuyama are in the same of endeavor of obtaining print job data targeted to a destination printing device where the print job data comprises selected first print setting data for printing and second setting associated with selected one or more plurality of hot folders; furthermore, Matsuyama’s combination of ranking plurality of hot folders in addition to display presentation of the plurality of ranked hot folders further complements the obtained print data of Nakatsuka, in a sense that when combined with the print combination architecture of Matsuyama, it further enables the user or the transmitting print data source to envisage a condition of the selected plurality of hot folders where in a case a print setting conflict exists, the system is adapted to display and present the configured plurality of hot folders in a displayable manner where they may be distinguished at least based on a ranking order to allow the user a further convenience of moving the print data in a case from the first hot folder to the second hot folder based on the provided display ranking and/or priority order and hence provides an optimum/proper hot folder selection according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Nakatsuka is silent regarding wherein the plurality of hot folders are displayed with a hot folder ranked highest in an order of priority being selected.
Matsuyama further teaches at least in the Abstract and Figs. 5-8 at least ranking and listing the plurality of hot folders based on at least print setting information and further cited “hot folders which satisfy predetermined conditions are ranked high in priority order and positioned near the head of a hot folder candidate list” thereby said plurality of hot folders are displayed with a hot folder ranked highest in an order of priority being selected. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakatsuka in view of Matsuyama to include wherein said plurality of hot folders are displayed with a hot folder ranked highest in an order of priority being selected, as discussed above, as Nakatsuka in view of Matsuyama are in the same of endeavor of obtaining print job data targeted to a destination printing device where the print job data comprises selected first print setting data for printing and second setting associated with selected one or more plurality of hot folders; furthermore, Matsuyama’s combination of ranking plurality of hot folders in addition to display presentation of the plurality of ranked hot folders further complements the obtained print data of Nakatsuka, in a sense that when combined with the print combination architecture of Matsuyama, it further enables the user or the transmitting print data source to envisage a condition of the selected plurality of hot folders where in a case a print setting conflict exists, the system is adapted to display and present the configured plurality of hot folders in a displayable manner where they may be distinguished at least based on a ranking order to allow the user a further convenience of moving the print data in a case from the first hot folder to the second hot folder based on the provided display ranking and/or priority order and hence provides an optimum/proper hot folder selection according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims 1-4, and 9-13 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over Oyama et al. (JP 2020/095606, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oyama teaches an information processing method comprising:
obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Oyama teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 5, and 9-13 the obtaining of a created print job file data comprises merged and cooperating print setting information further including first print setting information indicating at least sets functions setting information on printing and second print hot folder priority destination setting information set for each of a plurality of selected hot folders 200-230); and
displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (the system further teaches at least Figs. 5, 9, and 12-15 a display screen 14 displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the merged setting data including first print setting information and the second print setting information further providing on the display of Figs. 8-9 and 12-15 hot folder priority selection means).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein further comprising determining an order of priority of the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Figs. 8-9 and 12-15 further provide priority hot folder selection display screens further illustrating an order of priority of the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein upon receipt of input of the first print setting information, the first print setting information is obtained (Figs. 8-9 and 12-15 further illustrates upon receipt of input of the first print function setting information or that of an input merge condition, the first print setting information is obtained).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein on an application screen for receiving input of the first print setting information, the displaying is performed in response to a user pressing a selection region for selecting, from the plurality of hot folders, a hot folder to which to output the print data (display unit 14 of Figs. 6, 8-9, and 12-15 comprises said application screen for receiving input of the first print setting information, the displaying is performed in response to a user pressing a selection region for selecting, from the plurality of hot folders, a hot folder to which to output the print data).
Regarding claim 9 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein once a printing apparatus to perform printing is selected and a hot folder is selected from the plurality of hot folders, printability of the print data is determined based on information indicating a status of the selected printing apparatus, the first print setting information, and the second print setting information set for the selected hot folder, and a warning message is displayed in a case where it is determined that the print data is unprintable (regarding printability of the disclosure, Oyama further teaches “when a prohibition relationship occurs in the merged print condition information, the CPU 11 receives the print setting information of the first hot folder and the first hot folder according to the selection input of whether to give priority to the upper hierarchy or the lower hierarchy. Merge with the print setting information of the second hot folder that is linked to. Therefore, the user can recognize the prohibition relationship by the selection input, and it is possible to prevent the printing by the printing function having the prohibition relationship” thereby implying a case once a printing apparatus to perform printing is selected and a hot folder is selected from the plurality of hot folders, printability of the print data is determined based on information indicating a state status of the selected printing apparatus, the first print setting information, and the second print setting information set for the selected hot folder, and the user recognizing of setting prohibition by obviously an implied prompt or message displayed in a case where it is determined that the print data is unprintable).
Regarding claim 10 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein the plurality of hot folders are displayed with a hot folder ranked highest in an order of priority being selected (at least Figs. 6, 8-9, and 12-15 further illustrates plurality of hot folders are displayed with a hot parent folder ranked highest in an order of priority being selected).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 1), Oyama further teaches wherein the plurality of hot folders are displayed as a list (the plurality of hot folders of at least Figs. 6, 8-9, and 12-15 further adapted to be displayed as a list).
Regarding claim 12, Oyama teaches an information processing apparatus comprising at least one memory and at least one processor (Oyama teaches at least in the disclosure “storage unit 15 stores system programs and application programs executed by the CPU 11, various data, and the like. These programs are stored in the storage unit 15 in the form of computer-readable program codes” where said storage and CPU further serve respectively as the said at least one memory and at least one processor) which function as an obtainment unit configured to obtain print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Oyama teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 5, and 9-13 the obtaining of a created print job file data comprises merged and cooperating print setting information further including first print setting information indicating at least sets functions setting information on printing and second print hot folder priority destination setting information set for each of a plurality of selected hot folders 200-230); and
a display control unit configured to display the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (the system further teaches at least Figs. 5, 9, and 12-15 a display screen 14 displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the merged setting data including first print setting information and the second print setting information further providing on the display of Figs. 8-9 and 12-15 hot folder priority selection means).
Regarding claim 13, Oyama teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform an information processing method (Oyama cites at least in the disclosure and Fig. 1 “storage unit 15 stores system programs and application programs executed by the CPU 11, various data, and the like. These programs are stored in the storage unit 15 in the form of computer-readable program codes” where said storage and CPU further serve respectively as the said storage medium storing said program and computer) comprising: obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Oyama teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 5, and 9-13 the obtaining of a created print job file data comprises merged and cooperating print setting information further including first print setting information indicating at least sets functions setting information on printing and second print hot folder priority destination setting information set for each of a plurality of selected hot folders 200-230); and
displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (the system further teaches at least Figs. 5, 9, and 12-15 a display screen 14 displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the merged setting data including first print setting information and the second print setting information further providing on the display of Figs. 8-9 and 12-15 hot folder priority selection means).
Claims 1, and 12-13 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as unpatentable over Shimada et al. (JP 2017151851, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shimada teaches an information processing method of Figs. 3-6 comprising:
obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Shimada teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 3 and 5-7 receiving of print job data file 831 targeted to at least one or more hot folder 830, said file 831 including first print setting information indicating setting function information on printing and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 830); and
displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Shimada further teaches at least Figs. 6-7 a display screen displaying the plurality of hot folders 830 based on the obtained setting file 831 including first print setting function information and said second print destination setting information).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada teaches an information processing apparatus 6 comprising at least one memory 63 and at least one processor 61 which function as an obtainment unit configured to obtain print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Shimada teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 3 and 5-7 receiving of print job data file 831 targeted to at least one or more hot folder 830, said file 831 including first print setting information indicating setting function information on printing and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 830); and
a display control unit configured to display the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Shimada further teaches at least Figs. 6-7 a display screen 66 displaying the plurality of hot folders 830 based on the obtained setting file 831 including first print setting function information and said second print destination setting information).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium 63 storing a program for causing a computer to perform an information processing method comprising: obtaining print data including first print setting information indicating setting information on printing and second print setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders (Shimada teaches in the disclosure and at least Figs. 3 and 5-7 receiving of print job data file 831 targeted to at least one or more hot folder 830, said file 831 including first print setting information indicating setting function information on printing and second print destination setting information set for each of a plurality of hot folders 830); and displaying the plurality of hot folders based on the first print setting information and the second print setting information (Shimada further teaches at least Figs. 6-7 a display screen 66 displaying the plurality of hot folders 830 based on the obtained setting file 831 including first print setting function information and said second print destination setting information).
Claims Standings
Claims 5 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. the prior arts do not appear to specifically teach: claim 5. The information processing method according to claim 2, wherein in a case where there are hot folders ranked same in the order of priority determined, the hot folder for which a particular set value is set is prioritized.
7. The information processing method according to claim 2, wherein in a case where there are hot folders ranked same in the order of priority determined, for the hot folders ranked the same in the order of priority, a setting item with different setting values and the different set values are displayed.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 07/06/2026