DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0048211 (Goel) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0022702 (Jang).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a whole building air-conditioning system comprising: (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
a whole building air-conditioning device that (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 with various components 116, 114, 136, 132, 104 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
conditions air in an air-conditioning room and (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 with various components 116, 114, 136, 132, 104 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
Geol does not explicitly describe a plurality of target spaces as described below. However, Jang teaches the plurality of target spaces as described below.
conveys the air conditioned in the air-conditioning room to a plurality of air-conditioning target spaces; and (Jang: see the rooms S1-S4 as illustrated in figure 2; “As a result, when the inlet adjusting device 311 and the outlet adjusting device 321 are closed, a configuration of the supply adjusting device 331, the air path changing device 351, and the ventilation device 200 of each respective indoor room S1-S4 may be controlled to create an air flow between any of the indoor rooms S1-S4. The air flow may transfer air inside a specific indoor room, for example, indoor room S1, to another indoor room, for example, indoor room S3, such that air inside one indoor room may be diffused or heat-exchanged with air in another indoor room.” Paragraph 0036)
a controller that executes power saving processing on the whole building air-conditioning device that sets a target temperature of each of the plurality of air-conditioning target spaces to a temperature at which a power load is smaller based on a reduction request for reducing use of power. (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023) (Jang: “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Geol, namely, HVAC controllers based on peak demand data, with the known techniques of Jang, namely, HVAC controller to distribute air among rooms based on peak power rates, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Geol to control a HVAC based on a demand response request with the teachings of Jang to control a HVAC and ventilation among rooms based on power rates would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved HVAC control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system to control the HVAC based on a demand response request and to ventilate rooms to reduce costs based on the teachings of HVAC control based on a demand response request in Geol and the teachings of HVAC control to ventilate rooms to reduce costs in Jang.
Claim 3:
Geol does not explicitly describe target temperatures as described below. However, Jang teaches the target temperatures as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 1,
wherein, as the power saving processing, the controller
sets the target temperature to be lower by a predetermined temperature than a target temperature before the reduction request is issued during a heating operation, and (Jang: “When the current mode of operation is determined to be the heating mode, in step S802, the target temperature of the indoor room may be set lower than the user set temperature, in step S805.” Paragraph 0055)
sets the target temperature to be higher by a predetermined temperature than the target temperature before the reduction request is issued during a cooling operation. (Jang: “Here, in contrast to the cooling mode, the target temperature may be set lower than the user set temperature by a predetermined amount and the amount of air flow may be increased to compensate for the decrease in the target temperature.” Paragraph 0055)
Geol and Jang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 4:
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 1, wherein, as the power saving processing, the controller sets the target temperature to a preset temperature at which a power load is smaller. (Geol: “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023)
Claim 5:
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 1, wherein, as the power saving processing, the controller does not allow the target temperature to be set outside a preset temperature range in which a power load is smaller. (Geol: “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023)
Claim 10:
The cited prior art describes a whole building air-conditioning system comprising: (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
a whole building air-conditioning device that (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 with various components 116, 114, 136, 132, 104 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
conditions air in an air-conditioning room and (Geol: see the HVAC system 100 with various components 116, 114, 136, 132, 104 as illustrated in figure 1; “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an embodiment of an HVAC system 100 configured for operation during a peak demand response time. The HVAC system 100 conditions air for delivery to a conditioned space. The conditioned space may be, for example, a room, a house, an office building, a warehouse, or the like.” Paragraph 0022)
Geol does not explicitly describe a plurality of target spaces as described below. However, Jang teaches the plurality of target spaces as described below.
conveys the air conditioned in the air-conditioning room to a plurality of air-conditioning target spaces; and (Jang: see the rooms S1-S4 as illustrated in figure 2; “As a result, when the inlet adjusting device 311 and the outlet adjusting device 321 are closed, a configuration of the supply adjusting device 331, the air path changing device 351, and the ventilation device 200 of each respective indoor room S1-S4 may be controlled to create an air flow between any of the indoor rooms S1-S4. The air flow may transfer air inside a specific indoor room, for example, indoor room S1, to another indoor room, for example, indoor room S3, such that air inside one indoor room may be diffused or heat-exchanged with air in another indoor room.” Paragraph 0036)
a controller that executes power saving processing on the whole building air-conditioning device that conveys the air in the air-conditioning room only to a specific air-conditioning target space without conveying the air in the air-conditioning room to all the plurality of air-conditioning target spaces after a reduction request for reducing use of power based on the reduction request. (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023) (Jang: see the cooling and heating modes and the no ventilation from S807 as illustrated in figure 8; “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048; “Moreover, to stop the air supply from the source indoor room S1 to the target indoor room S3, in step S1004, the EMS 30 may control the components of the respective indoor rooms to stop the distribution of air.” Paragraph 0077)
Geol and Jang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12:
Geol does not explicitly describe a plurality of target spaces as described below. However, Jang teaches the plurality of target spaces as described below.
The cite prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, wherein the whole building air-conditioning device includes
an air conditioner that adjusts a temperature of the air in the air-conditioning room, and (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023)
a conveyance unit that conveys the air whose temperature is adjusted by the air conditioner to each of the plurality of air-conditioning target spaces, and the controller controls the conveyance unit such that the air in the air-conditioning room is conveyed only to the specific air-conditioning target space as the power saving processing. (Jang: “If the air conditioner is determined to be in the cooling mode, in step S903, internal air of the source indoor room S1 that has a lower temperature than the target indoor room S3 may be drawn, in step S904, and supplied to the target indoor room S3, in step S905.” Paragraph 0062; “Additionally, if one source indoor room is unable to sufficiently adjust the temperature of the target indoor room, multiple source indoor rooms may be selected to transfer air to the target indoor room. The multiple source indoor rooms may be configured to transfer indoor air to the target indoor room at the same time, or each of the multiple source indoor rooms may sequentially transfer indoor air until the target indoor room has reached its target temperature.” Paragraph 0065; “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048)
Geol and Jang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 18:
Geol does not explicitly describe notifying a temperature difference as described below. However, Jang teaches the notifying a temperature difference as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, further comprising a notification control unit that notifies that a temperature difference between a temperature of the specific air-conditioning target space to which the air in the air-conditioning room is conveyed and a temperature of an air-conditioning target space to which the air in the air-conditioning room is not conveyed is large, in a case where the temperature difference is more than or equal to a predetermined temperature, during the power saving processing. (Jang: see the temperature differences between the rooms as illustrated in figure 5 and the temperature difference determination and action (i.e., notify) as illustrated in figures 9, 12; “If the current mode is determined to be the heating mode, in step of S1202, an internal air of an indoor room having a higher temperature than the average temperature may be supplied to an indoor room having a lower temperature than the average temperature, in step S1205.” Paragraph 0085; “Thus, in the cooling mode, the internal air of the indoor room S1 that has a temperature noticeably lower than the average temperature, in this example, 76.degree. F., may be supplied to indoor rooms S3 and S4 that have higher temperatures, 81.degree. F. and 77.degree. F., respectively.” Paragraph 0084)
Geol and Jang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 19:
Geol does not explicitly describe only during a period desired by a user as described below. However, Jang teaches the only during a period desired by a user as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 14, wherein, in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, the controller executes the power saving processing only during a power saving processing period desired by a user. (Jang: “If a temperature setting of a specific indoor room is critical, for example, a room containing servers or other temperature sensitive equipment, the user may want to operate the indoor unit in that room regardless of the current power rate. In that case, the smart grid function for the temperature sensitive room may be turned off, and the respective indoor unit may be controlled based on the user set temperature.” paragraph 0048)
Geol and Jang are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0048211 (Goel) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0022702 (Jang) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0310431 (Cheetham).
Claim 2:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a region selection and transmission as described below. However, Cheetham teaches the region selection and transmission as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a reception unit that receives a power saving request from a power supplier; and (Geol: “As described in greater detail below, the controller 136 is configured to receive a demand request 138 from a third party 140. The demand request 138 may correspond to information transmitted via an electronic signal from the third party 140. . . . The third party 140, which provides the demand request 138, may be a utility provider or any other entity with administrative privileges over operation of the HVAC system 100.” Paragraph 0033) (Cheetham: “At step 402, a request may be received for selection of a group of appropriate consumers for execution of a demand response event. More particularly, a request for selection of a group of appropriate consumers who may participate in load shedding is received. The request, for example, may be received from the electric utility 102. In one embodiment, the request accompanies a demand response event's description data. As previously noted with reference to FIG. 1, the demand response event's description data may include a start time and an end time for energy usage reduction, a total energy usage reduction expected by an electric utility, forecasted atmospheric temperature, a region for energy usage reduction, and the like.” Paragraph 0032)
a power management server that selects a region corresponding to a target of the power saving request based on the received power saving request, and transmits the reduction request to the whole building air-conditioning device belonging to the selected region. (Cheetham: “At step 412, one or more groups may be selected based upon the combined score assigned to the groups at step 410. In one embodiment, the groups that have a higher combined score may be selected for execution of the demand response event. At step 414, each of the consumers in the selected groups may be sent a notification to reduce energy usage in a specified duration.” Paragraph 0035) (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Geol, namely, HVAC controllers based on peak demand data, with the known techniques of Jang, namely, HVAC controller to distribute air among rooms based on peak power rates, and the known techniques of Cheetham, namely, consumer device control for a demand response, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Geol to control a HVAC based on a demand response request with the teachings of Jang to control a HVAC and ventilation among rooms based on power rates and the teachings of Cheetham to select consumers for demand response based on a variety of parameters would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved HVAC control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system to control the HVAC based on a demand response request directed to particular consumers and to ventilate rooms to reduce costs based on the teachings of HVAC control based on a demand response request in Geol and the teachings of HVAC control to ventilate rooms to reduce costs in Jang and the teachings of appliance demand response control for particular consumers in Cheetham.
Claim 11:
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 2 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
11. The whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, further comprising:
a reception unit that receives a power saving request from a power supplier; and
a power management server that selects a region corresponding to a target of the power saving request based on the received power saving request and transmits the reduction request to the whole building air-conditioning device belonging to the selected region.
Claims 6-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0048211 (Goel) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0022702 (Jang) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0305678 (Pavlovski).
Claim 6:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a storage battery as described below. However, Pavlovski teaches the storage battery as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 1, further comprising a storage battery that is a power supply source of the whole building air-conditioning device, which is different from power supply from the power supplier, wherein the controller transmits the reduction request when a power failure state where the power supply from the power supplier is not performed is detected. (Pavlovski: see the distributed power storage system 195 powering the hvac system as illustrated in figures 1D, 1E; “In FIG. 1E, the predictive building control system 230 is coupled to at least one utility demand response control system 400 which provides at least one demand response signal 405. The predictive building control system 230 is adapted to determine optimal set points 235 for the building energy management system 150 at least partially based on the at least one demand response signal 405 provided by the utility demand response control system 400, the forecast power output of the distributed power generation system 185, and the forecast power output of the distributed power storage system 195.” Paragraph 0062; “In FIG. 1A, the predictive building control system 230 is coupled to at least one utility demand response control system 400 which provides at least one demand response signal 405 (e.g., containing a demand response command, condition, information, etc.).” paragraph 0057)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Geol, namely, HVAC controllers based on peak demand data, with the known techniques of Jang, namely, HVAC controller to distribute air among rooms based on peak power rates, and the known techniques of Pavlovski, namely, HVAC control using energy storage, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Geol to control a HVAC based on a demand response request with the teachings of Jang to control a HVAC and ventilation among rooms based on power rates and the teachings of Pavlovski to use an energy storage device to power a HVAC system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved HVAC control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system to control the HVAC based on a demand response request and to ventilate rooms to reduce costs and to power the HVAC using a battery based on the teachings of HVAC control based on a demand response request in Geol and the teachings of HVAC control to ventilate rooms to reduce costs in Jang and the teachings of powering a HVAC system using a battery in Pavlovski.
Claim 7:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a storage battery as described below. However, Pavlovski teaches the storage battery as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 6,
wherein, in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, as the power saving processing, the controller
sets the target temperature to be lower by a first predetermined temperature than a target temperature before the reduction request is issued during a heating operation, (Jang: “When the current mode of operation is determined to be the heating mode, in step S802, the target temperature of the indoor room may be set lower than the user set temperature, in step S805.” Paragraph 0055)
sets the target temperature to be higher by a second predetermined temperature than the target temperature before the reduction request is issued during a cooling operation, and (Jang: “Here, in contrast to the cooling mode, the target temperature may be set lower than the user set temperature by a predetermined amount and the amount of air flow may be increased to compensate for the decrease in the target temperature.” Paragraph 0055)
determines the first predetermined temperature and the second predetermined temperature based on a remaining power amount of the storage battery. (Pavlovski: “According to another embodiment, when the network of buildings 500 is connected to at least one distributed power generation system 185 and to at least one distributed power storage system 195, the optimal schedule of set points 235 is selected at least partially based on the forecast power output of the distributed power generation system 185 and the forecast power output of the distributed power storage system 195. In this embodiment, the selected schedule of set points 235 will maximize the use of electric power produced by the distributed power generation system 185 and minimize the purchase of electric power from an electric power utility. This may be achieved by matching the anticipated schedule of electric power consumption received from the electric power utility to the anticipated schedules of electric power generation by the distributed power generation system 185 and the electric power use from the distributed power storage system 195.” Paragraph 0115)
Geol, Jang, and Pavlovski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 8:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a storage battery as described below. However, Pavlovski teaches the storage battery as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 6, wherein, in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, as the power saving processing, the controller sets the target temperature to a target temperature at which the power load is smaller, and determines the target temperature at which the power load is smaller based on a remaining power amount of the storage battery. (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023) (Jang: “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048) (Pavlovski: “According to another embodiment, when the network of buildings 500 is connected to at least one distributed power generation system 185 and to at least one distributed power storage system 195, the optimal schedule of set points 235 is selected at least partially based on the forecast power output of the distributed power generation system 185 and the forecast power output of the distributed power storage system 195. In this embodiment, the selected schedule of set points 235 will maximize the use of electric power produced by the distributed power generation system 185 and minimize the purchase of electric power from an electric power utility. This may be achieved by matching the anticipated schedule of electric power consumption received from the electric power utility to the anticipated schedules of electric power generation by the distributed power generation system 185 and the electric power use from the distributed power storage system 195.” Paragraph 0115)
Geol, Jang, and Pavlovski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 9:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a storage battery as described below. However, Pavlovski teaches the storage battery as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 6, wherein, in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, as the power saving processing, the controller does not allow the target temperature to be set outside a temperature range in which a power load is smaller, and determines the temperature range in which the power load is smaller based on a remaining power amount of the storage battery. (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023) (Jang: “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048) (Pavlovski: “According to another embodiment, when the network of buildings 500 is connected to at least one distributed power generation system 185 and to at least one distributed power storage system 195, the optimal schedule of set points 235 is selected at least partially based on the forecast power output of the distributed power generation system 185 and the forecast power output of the distributed power storage system 195. In this embodiment, the selected schedule of set points 235 will maximize the use of electric power produced by the distributed power generation system 185 and minimize the purchase of electric power from an electric power utility. This may be achieved by matching the anticipated schedule of electric power consumption received from the electric power utility to the anticipated schedules of electric power generation by the distributed power generation system 185 and the electric power use from the distributed power storage system 195.” Paragraph 0115)
Geol, Jang, and Pavlovski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 6 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale.
14. The whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, further comprising a storage battery that is a power supply source of the whole building air-conditioning device, which is different from power supply from a power supplier, wherein the controller transmits the reduction request when a power failure state where the power supply from the power supplier is not performed is detected.
Claim 15:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a storage battery as described below. However, Pavlovski teaches the storage battery as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 14, wherein, in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, as the power saving processing, the controller conveys the air in the air-conditioning room to the specific air-conditioning target space, and determines the specific air-conditioning target space based on a remaining power amount of the storage battery. (Geol: see the controller 136 receiving the demand request 138 as illustrated in figure 1; “The HVAC system 100 is generally configured to operate at an increased sensible capacity when a demand request 138 is received from third part 140 which indicates that the HVAC system 100 is required to operate under conditions associated with decreased power consumption. For example, the demand request 138 may indicate that the HVAC system 100 must be operated at a predefined setpoint temperature (e.g., a setpoint temperature that is higher than may be preferred for comfort to occupants of a space conditioned by the HVAC system 100) or at a predefined percentage reduction of power consumption during a peak demand response time.” Paragraph 0023) (Jang: “For example, the air conditioner may operate in a heating or cooling mode and/or a ventilation mode in consideration of a target temperature for the indoor room as set by the user.” Paragraph 0051; “The user preferences may include a smart grid function setting, target temperature, or other appropriate settings for each respective indoor room.” Paragraph 0048) (Pavlovski: “According to another embodiment, when the network of buildings 500 is connected to at least one distributed power generation system 185 and to at least one distributed power storage system 195, the optimal schedule of set points 235 is selected at least partially based on the forecast power output of the distributed power generation system 185 and the forecast power output of the distributed power storage system 195. In this embodiment, the selected schedule of set points 235 will maximize the use of electric power produced by the distributed power generation system 185 and minimize the purchase of electric power from an electric power utility. This may be achieved by matching the anticipated schedule of electric power consumption received from the electric power utility to the anticipated schedules of electric power generation by the distributed power generation system 185 and the electric power use from the distributed power storage system 195.” Paragraph 0115)
Geol, Jang, and Pavlovski are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0048211 (Goel) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0022702 (Jang) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0045431 (Chapman).
Claim 13:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe person detection as described below. However, Chapman teaches the person detection as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, further comprising a person detector that detects a person in the plurality of air-conditioning target spaces, wherein the controller determines the specific air-conditioning target space based on detection information by the person detector. (Chapman: “Therefore, when disposed in the air distribution and control system 300, the thermostat 100 controls the HVAC system 302 based on the state of occupancy reported by one or more of the occupancy sensors 304-312 (as well as any information provided by the temperature/humidity transducer).” Paragraph 0046; “On the other hand, if the thermostat 100 is informed that a significant amount of activity or occupancy is reported in the dwelling such as, for example, during a party, the thermostat can instruct the HVAC system 302 to deliver an increased amount of air conditioning to the area or areas 126-134, 316 where party guests have congregated.” Paragraph 0047)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Geol, namely, HVAC controllers based on peak demand data, with the known techniques of Jang, namely, HVAC controller to distribute air among rooms based on peak power rates, and the known techniques of Chapman, namely, HVAC control using occupancy, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Geol to control a HVAC based on a demand response request with the teachings of Jang to control a HVAC and ventilation among rooms based on power rates and the teachings of Chapman to use occupancy to control a HVAC system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved HVAC control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system to control the HVAC based on a demand response request and occupancy and to ventilate rooms to reduce costs based on the teachings of HVAC control based on a demand response request in Geol and the teachings of HVAC control to ventilate rooms to reduce costs in Jang and the teachings of controlling a HVAC based on occupancy in Chapman.
Claim 16:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a lapse of time as described below. However, Chapman teaches the lapse of time as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 10, wherein, during the power saving processing, the controller changes an air-conditioning target space to be the specific air-conditioning target space among the plurality of air-conditioning target spaces with lapse of time. (Chapman: “In a further embodiment of the present invention, the thermostat 100 includes special programming scripts or control schemes to accommodate circumstances outside those expected by the "normal" programming/mode settings of conventional thermostats. For example, if the thermostat 100 is informed by the occupancy sensors 304-312 that there has been no activity within any of the areas 128-134 of the dwelling for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., twenty-four hours, several days, etc.), the thermostat can transition to a set back or "vacation mode" and control the HVAC system 302 accordingly. On the other hand, if the thermostat 100 is informed that a significant amount of activity or occupancy is reported in the dwelling such as, for example, during a party, the thermostat can instruct the HVAC system 302 to deliver an increased amount of air conditioning to the area or areas 126-134, 316 where party guests have congregated.” Paragraph 0047; “This incremental control by the thermostat 100 utilizes a series of stepped or tiered set points after the thermostat 100 has determined an occupied or unoccupied state of occupancy for a predetermined period of time. The series of stepped or tiered set points is programmable into the thermostat 100 by a control system user, installer, retailer, manufacturer, and the like. In this way, the occupied areas can be brought back to comfortable conditions more rapidly when the occupancy changes.” Paragraph 0051)
Geol, Jang, and Chapman are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 13.
Claim 17:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe a lapse of time or priority order as described below. However, Chapman teaches the lapse of time and priority order as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 16, wherein the controller selects the air-conditioning target space to be the specific air-conditioning target space from among all the air-conditioning target spaces in a priority order and changes the air-conditioning target space to be the specific air-conditioning target space with lapse of time. (Chapman: “Also, at least one of the damper mechanisms 318-326 is assigned an identification or priority number. These operational profiles, identification numbers, and priority rankings are programmable into the thermostat 100 to assist the thermostat 100 in instructing and/or managing the HVAC system 302.” Paragraph 0054; “In a further embodiment of the present invention, the thermostat 100 includes special programming scripts or control schemes to accommodate circumstances outside those expected by the "normal" programming/mode settings of conventional thermostats. For example, if the thermostat 100 is informed by the occupancy sensors 304-312 that there has been no activity within any of the areas 128-134 of the dwelling for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., twenty-four hours, several days, etc.), the thermostat can transition to a set back or "vacation mode" and control the HVAC system 302 accordingly. On the other hand, if the thermostat 100 is informed that a significant amount of activity or occupancy is reported in the dwelling such as, for example, during a party, the thermostat can instruct the HVAC system 302 to deliver an increased amount of air conditioning to the area or areas 126-134, 316 where party guests have congregated.” Paragraph 0047; “This incremental control by the thermostat 100 utilizes a series of stepped or tiered set points after the thermostat 100 has determined an occupied or unoccupied state of occupancy for a predetermined period of time. The series of stepped or tiered set points is programmable into the thermostat 100 by a control system user, installer, retailer, manufacturer, and the like. In this way, the occupied areas can be brought back to comfortable conditions more rapidly when the occupancy changes.” Paragraph 0051)
Geol, Jang, and Chapman are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 13.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0048211 (Goel) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0022702 (Jang) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0277769 (Matsuoka).
Claim 20:
Geol and Jang do not explicitly describe presence in room history as described below. However, Matsuoka teaches the presence in room history as described below.
The cited prior art describes the whole building air-conditioning system according to Claim 14, wherein the controller acquires presence-in-room history information of a user, determines a power saving processing execution period during which the power saving processing is executed based on the presence-in-room history information in a case where the reduction request is issued in the power failure state, and executes the power saving processing only during the power saving processing execution period. (Matsuoka: “A historical record of the occupancy detected by one or more of these devices may be maintained and used to develop the probability profile.” Paragraph 0183; “In operation 1004, the expected HVAC schedule of the energy consumer over each DR event period is determined. In determining the expected HVAC schedule of a particular energy consumer over a particular DR event period, a number of different factors may be taken into consideration. These may include, for example, any current scheduled setpoints for the DR event period, the occupancy probability profile as applicable to the DR event period, a history of the energy consumer's scheduled and/or immediate setpoints, etc. In some embodiments, the energy consumer's historical setpoints may be correlated with historical weather patterns to determine setpoints for different weather tendencies, which may then be extrapolated to likely setpoints for future weather patterns expected for the future DR events. Information from other energy consumers may also be used. For example, historical setpoints of similarly situated energy consumers (e.g., as correlated to various weather patterns) may be used. Similarly situated energy consumers may be other energy consumers in the same geographical region as the identified energy consumer, energy consumers being associated with structures having the same thermal retention characteristics and/or HVAC capacity as the identified energy consumer, etc.” paragraph 0165)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Geol, namely, HVAC controllers based on peak demand data, with the known techniques of Jang, namely, HVAC controller to distribute air among rooms based on peak power rates, and the known techniques of Matsuoka, namely, HVAC control using history information, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Geol to control a HVAC based on a demand response request with the teachings of Jang to control a HVAC and ventilation among rooms based on power rates and the teachings of Matsuoka to use history information to control a HVAC system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved HVAC control system. In other words, the combination of references provides for a HVAC control system to control the HVAC based on a demand response request and history information and to ventilate rooms to reduce costs based on the teachings of HVAC control based on a demand response request in Geol and the teachings of HVAC control to ventilate rooms to reduce costs in Jang and the teachings of controlling a HVAC based on history information in Matsuoka.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0088261 describes an automated demand response system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0085614 describes a building management system using energy budgets.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0167742 describes a HVAC control system using demand response events.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117