DETAILED ACTION
This FINAL action in response to Application No. 18/816,090 originally filed on 08/27/2024. The amendment presented on 09/17/2025 in which provides claims 1 and 5 - 8 are currently amended, claim 2 is currently canceled and claims 10 - 13 are currently add is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1 and 3 - 13 are pending.
Response to Amendments
This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 17 September
2025, wherein: claims 1 and 3 - 13 are pending. Claims 1 and 5 - 8 have been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 10 - 13 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on September 17, 2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 3 - 13 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claims 1 and 3 - 13 are a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
The applicant respectfully submits that Lin does not teach or suggest “
respective detection pads of the plurality of detection pads of the first touch circuit and respective detection pads of the plurality of detection pads of the second touch circuit are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of detection pins of the touch chip, and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads of the first touch circuit and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads of the second touch circuit are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of drive pins of the touch chip;” as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument because: Han teaches respective detection pads of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) and respective detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) of the touch chip, (fig. 9; touch IC 20) and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) of the touch chip (fig. 9; touch IC 20); (see annotated fig. 9 below)
Applicant further argues that Han does not teach or suggest “respective groups of the first plurality of groups of drive pins are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads of a plurality of drive pads of a first touch circuit of a touchscreen, respective groups of the first plurality of groups of detection pins are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads of the first touch circuit, respective groups of the second plurality of groups of drive pins are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads of a plurality of drive pads of a second touch circuit of the touchscreen, and respective groups of the second plurality of groups of detection pins are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads of the second touch circuit,” As recited in claim 7.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument because: Han teaches respective groups of the first plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads of a plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of a first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) of a touchscreen, respective groups of the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) respective groups of the second plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of a plurality of drive pads of a second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) of the touchscreen, and respective groups of the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)), (fig. 9 and [0090] - [0093])
Claim Objection
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 7; line 14 “the first circuit” it should be “the first touch circuit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1 and 3 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han “US 2018/0113346” in view of Lin “CN 112764590”.
Re-claim 1, Han teaches a touch component, (fig. 9) comprising a touchscreen and a touch chip, (fig. 9; touch IC 20) wherein the touchscreen comprises a display panel, a first touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) and a second touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) is located in a first touch zone (left touch area FTA1) of the display panel, the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) is located in a second touch zone (right touch area FTA2) of the display panel, the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) comprises a plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) and a plurality of detection pads, (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) and the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) comprises a plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) and a plurality of detection pads, (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2)
respective detection pads of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) and respective detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) of the touch chip, (fig. 9; touch IC 20) and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) and respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) are independently electrically connected to respectively different groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) of the touch chip (fig. 9; touch IC 20); (fig. 9 and [0090] - [0093]) (see annotated fig. 9 below)
the touch chip (fig. 9; touch IC 20) is configured to: output drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) respectively, and receive first detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) respectively, wherein the first detection signal is used to detect a touch operation in the first touch zone; (par. [0024])
the touch chip (fig. 9; touch IC 20) is further configured to: output drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) and receive second detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) wherein the second detection signal is used to detect a touch operation in the second touch zone. (par. [0025])
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the touchscreen is a foldable screen that is folded along a folding line, and the first touch zone and the second touch zone are located on two sides of the folding line;
However, Lin teaches wherein the touchscreen is a foldable screen (e.g. fig. 1) that is folded along a folding line, (see fig. 1) and the first touch zone (fig. 1 and fig. 2; 10) and the second touch zone (fig. 1 and fig. 2; 20) are located on two sides of the folding line; (as shown in fig. 1) (par. [0055] the touch display panel is a foldable display panel, the first touch area 10 corresponding to the first display area, the second touch area 20 corresponding to the second display area, the first display area may be a main display area, the second display area may be a secondary display area)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify the invention of Han with the teaching of Lin to realize one driver chip controlling the two touch areas to achieve the touch function of the two touch areas, thereby reducing the number of the driver chips helping to reduce product costs. (Lin, par. [0091])
Re-claim 3, Han teaches wherein the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) are electrically isolated from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit. (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2))
Re-claim 4, Han teaches wherein the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) are electrically isolated from the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit. (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2))
Re-claim 5, Han teaches wherein the touch chip (fig. 9; touch IC 20) comprises a first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) a second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) a first plurality of groups of detection pins, (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) a second plurality of groups of detection pins, (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) a control circuit, (fig. 9; DSU) and a plurality of analog front end circuits; (fig. 9; ADC2)
the first plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) are electrically connected to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) are electrically connected to the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) the second plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) are electrically connected to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) and the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) are electrically connected to the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit; (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2))
the control circuit (fig. 9; DSU) is configured to: output the drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) and receive the first detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of detection pins; (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112))
the control circuit (fig. 9; DSU) is further configured to: output the drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) and receive the second detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of detection pins; (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) and
the plurality of analog front end circuits (fig. 9; ADC2) are configured to perform analog-to-digital conversion (fig. 9; ADC12) on the first detection signals and/or the second detection signals. (pars. [0101] - [0103])
Re-claim 6, Han in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Lin teaches wherein the touch chip (fig. 9) further comprises a plurality of selection switches, (fig. 2; S1 & S2) and the control circuit is further configured to:
control the plurality of selection switches (fig. 2; S1 & S2) to select the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 2; 201) or the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 2; 202) to be electrically connected to input ends of the plurality of analog front end circuits. (pars. [0058] and [0065] - [0067])
Re-claim 7, Han teaches a touch chip, (fig. 9; touch IC 20) comprising a first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) a second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) a first plurality of groups of detection pins, (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) a second plurality of groups of detection pins, (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) a control circuit, (fig. 9; DSU) and a plurality of analog front end circuits; (fig. 9; ADC2) wherein
respective groups of the first plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads of a plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of a first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) of a touchscreen, respective groups of the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit, (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) respective groups of the second plurality of groups of drive pins (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of a plurality of drive pads of a second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) of the touchscreen, and respective groups of the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)) are configured to be electrically connected to respectively different detection pads of a plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)), (fig. 9 and [0090] - [0093]) (see annotated fig. 9 above)
the control circuit (fig. 9; DSU) is configured to: output the drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) and receive the first detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)); (par. [0024])
the control circuit (fig. 9; DSU) is further configured to: output the drive signals to the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) and receive the second detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122)); (par. [0025]) and
the plurality of analog front end circuits (fig. 9; ADC2) are configured to perform analog-to-digital conversion (fig. 9; ADC12) on the first detection signals and/or the second detection signals. (pars. [0101] - [0103])
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the touchscreen is a foldable screen that is folded along a folding line, and the first circuit and the second touch circuit are located on two sides of the folding line;
However, Lin teaches wherein the touchscreen is a foldable screen (e.g. fig. 1) that is folded along a folding line, (see fig. 1) and the first circuit (fig. 1 and fig. 2; 10) and the second touch circuit (fig. 1 and fig. 2; 20) are located on two sides of the folding line; (as shown in fig. 1) (par. [0055] the touch display panel is a foldable display panel, the first touch area 10 corresponding to the first display area, the second touch area 20 corresponding to the second display area, the first display area may be a main display area, the second display area may be a secondary display area)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify the invention of Han with the teaching of Lin to realize one driver chip controlling the two touch areas to achieve the touch function of the two touch areas, thereby reducing the number of the driver chips helping to reduce product costs. (Lin, par. [0091])
Re-claim 8, Han in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 7, Lin teaches wherein the touch chip (fig. 9) further comprises a plurality of selection switches, (fig. 2; S1 & S2) and the control circuit is configured to:
control the plurality of selection switches (fig. 2; S1 & S2) to select the first plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 2; 201) or the second plurality of groups of detection pins (fig. 2; 202) to be electrically connected to input ends of the plurality of analog front end circuits. (pars. [0058] and [0065] - [0067])
Re-claim 9, Han in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Lin teaches a terminal device, comprising the touch component (par. [0002] the touch display device is more and more diversified, mobile phone, flat and other electronic products are towards the large screen, curved screen and multi-screen display) according to claim 1. (See the rejection claim 1 above)
Re-claim 10, Han in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 9, Han teaches wherein the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) are electrically isolated from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit. (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2))
Re-claim 11, Han in view of Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 9, Han teaches wherein the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA1) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) are electrically isolated from the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit. (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2))
Re-claim 12, Han teaches the control circuit (figs. 5 & 9; DSU) is further configured to:
output drive signals to each respective drive pad of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using a respectively different group of the first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) and receive first detection signals from each detection pad of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using a respectively different group of the first plurality of groups of detection pins; (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) and
output drive signals to each drive pad of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; GPb-FTx) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using a respectively different group of the second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) and receive second detection signals from each detection pad of the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using a respectively different group of the second plurality of groups of detection pins. (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116 and 119-122))
Re-claim 13, Han teaches the control circuit (figs. 5 & 9; DSU) is further configured to:
output the drive signals to respective drive pads of the plurality of drive pads (fig. 9; The fingerprint sensing unit FSU of the touch IC 20) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (17 & 18)) and receive the first detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; The fingerprint sensing unit FSU of the touch IC 20) of the first touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx11 to FRx1a (GPb-FRx1)) by using the first plurality of groups of detection pins; (fig. 9; IB2 (13-16, 19 and 110-112)) and
output the drive signals to the plurality of drive pads of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of drive pins, (fig. 9; IB12 (117 & 118)) and receive the second detection signals from the plurality of detection pads (fig. 9; touch areas FTA2) of the second touch circuit (fig. 9; FRx21 to FRx2a(GPb-FRx2)) by using the second plurality of groups of detection pins. (fig. 9; IB2 (113-116, 119 and 120-122))
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Application/Control Number: 14/953,981 Page 12 Art Unit: 2626 mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Contact Information
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 12/18/2025