DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 20, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims received on August 20, 2026 has been entered.
The amendment of claims 1, 10 and 19 is acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a recording head section” in claim 1, “a switch section” in claim 1, “a storage section” in claim 1, “density correction” in claim 1, “an image reader” in claim 4, “a correction data generator” in claim 4, “an image reader” in claim 9, and “a correction data generator” in claim 9.
“a recording head section” in claim 1 is read as items 41 and 42 shown in Fig.2 “a switch section” in claim 1 is read the item 60 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 54, “a storage section” in claim 1 is read the item 58 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 54, “density correction” in claim 1 is read the item 52 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 54, “an image reader” in claim 4 is read the item 26 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 45, “ a correction data generator” in claim 4 is read the item 61 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 54, “an image reader” in claim 9 is read the item 26 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 45 and “ a correction data generator” in claim 9 is read the item 61 shown in Fig.2 which is a hardware in paragraph 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konodo’373 (CN 102649373), and further in view of MITSUGI’445 (JP 2004050445) and Fumio’089 (JP 2000316089).
With respect to claim 1, Konodo’373 teaches an image forming apparatus (Fig.1A, item 1), comprising:
a recording head section in which multiple recording heads each provided with multiple ejection nozzles in a main scanning direction are arranged so as to partially overlapping each other in the main scanning direction (Fig.2A),
Konodo’373 does not teach a switching section that switches, in an overlap region of the multiple recording heads in the main scanning direction, ejection nozzles that eject ink from among the multiple recording heads, a storage section that stores multiple correction data for equalizing density unevenness in the main scanning direction caused by each of the multiple recording heads; a density correction that corrects density unevenness occurring in the overlap region based on the multiple pieces of correction data; and a binarization processing apparatus that binarizes a multivalued image output from the density correction with a predetermined threshold value to generate a binary image.
MITSUGI’445 teaches a switching section that switches, in an overlap region of the multiple recording heads in the main scanning direction, ejection nozzles that eject ink from among the multiple recording heads [At the overlapping part, driving position of the ejection nozzle is switched between one head chip and the other head chip when they are driven (abstract)],
a storage section that stores multiple correction data for equalizing density unevenness in the main scanning direction caused by each of the multiple recording heads [a correction circuit in which the correction data is stored in a so-called ROM (Read Only Memory) map system (page 7)]; and a
density correction that corrects density unevenness occurring in the overlap region based on the multiple pieces of correction data [The correction circuit performs correction processing such as so-called gamma correction, color correction, and variation correction of each nozzle (page 8). Examiner views that gamma correction, color correction, and nozzle variation correction are essential, distinct processes in high-end inkjet printing that work together to ensure accurate and uniform optical density across the entire print, compensating for environmental, mechanical, and ink-related issues.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Konodo’373 according to the teaching of MITSUGI’445 to include a correction circuit to perform the density correction for the overlapping region of the multiple recording heads because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
The combination of Konodo’373 and MITSUGI’445 does not teach a binarization processing apparatus that binarizes a multivalued image output from the density correction with a predetermined threshold value to generate a binary image.
Fumio’089 teaches a binarization processing apparatus that binarizes a multivalued image output from the density correction with a predetermined threshold value to generate a binary image [a correction unit configured to previously correct an output density characteristic of the image output unit with respect to the multi-valued image data and Binarizing means for binarizing the corrected data (page 3). The correction unit is considered to correct the output density characteristic of the image output unit with respect to the multi-valued image data according to a predetermined threshold value and the binarizing means is considered to binarize the corrected data to generate the binary image.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373 and MITSUGI’445 according to the teaching of Fumio’089 to include a binarizing means for binarizing the corrected data to generate binary image because this will allow the printout to be generated more effectively.
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, Konodo’373 does not teach, wherein the switching section selects ejection nozzles for ejecting ink from among the multiple recording heads, based on joining position data defining joining positions in the main scanning direction, and the density correction selects, based on the joining position data, correction data to be used for correcting the density unevenness from among the multiple correction data.
MITSUGI’445 teaches wherein the switching section selects ejection nozzles for ejecting ink from among the multiple recording heads, based on joining position data defining joining positions in the main scanning direction [the nozzle group 65 .sub.A , 65 .sub.B Are randomly switched for each overlap portion (Fig.8, Fig.9 and page 13)], and
the density correction selects, based on the joining position data, correction data to be used for correcting the density unevenness from among the multiple correction data (page 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of MITSUGI’445 to include a correction circuit to perform the density correction for the overlapping region of the multiple recording heads because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claims 10 and 11, they are method claims that claim how the image forming apparatus of claims 1 and 2 to perform printing density correction. Claims 10 and 11 are obvious in view of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claims 1 and 2. In addition, the reference has disclosed an image forming apparatus to perform printing density correction, the process (method) to perform printing density correction is inherent disclosed to be performed by a processor in the image forming apparatus when the image forming apparatus performs the operation to perform printing density correction.
With respect to claim 19, it is a claim regarding to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program. Claim 19 claims how the image forming apparatus of claim 1 to execute to perform printing density correction. Claim 19 is obvious in view of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claim 1. In addition, the reference discloses a process, the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a non-transitory computer readable medium, e.g., a RAM, to function, thus, the medium is inherently present.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konodo’373 (CN 102649373), MITSUGI’445 (JP 2004050445), Fumio’089 (JP 2000316089) and further in view of TORU’154 (JP 2010173154).
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 2, Konodo’373 does not teach wherein the switching section selects an ejection nozzle to eject ink for each predetermined line in the main scanning direction based on the joining position data, and the density correction changes, for each of the predetermined lines, selection of correction data to be used for correcting density unevenness from among the multiple correction data based on the joining position data.
MITSUGI’445 teaches wherein the switching section selects an ejection nozzle to eject ink for each predetermined line in the main scanning direction based on the joining position data (paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Konodo’373 according to the teaching of Tanase’670 to include a correction circuit to perform the density correction for the overlapping region of the multiple recording heads because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
The combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445, and Fumio’089 does not teach the density correction changes, for each of the predetermined lines, selection of correction data to be used for correcting density unevenness from among the multiple correction data based on the joining position data.
TORU’154 teaches the density correction changes, for each of the predetermined lines, selection of correction data to be used for correcting density unevenness from among the multiple correction data based on the joining position data (Fig.26 and Fig. 27)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445, and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of TORU’154 to perform the density correction according to the correction table because this will allow the density of the overlapping region to corrected more effectively.
With respect to claim 12, it is a method claims that claims how the image forming apparatus of claim 3 to perform printing density correction. Claim 12 is obvious in view of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445, Fumio’089 and TORU’154 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claim 3. In addition, the reference has disclosed an image forming apparatus to perform printing density correction, the process (method) to perform printing density correction is inherent disclosed to be performed by a processor in the image forming apparatus when the image forming apparatus performs the operation to perform printing density correction.
Claims 4-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konodo’373 (CN 102649373), MITSUGI’445 (JP 2004050445), Fumio’089 (JP 2000316089) and further in view of Aruga’910 (US 2006/0284910).
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim1, the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 does not teach a test image printer that drives the multiple recording heads to print a test image having a predetermined density; an image reader that reads a density of the test image; and a correction data generator that generates the multiple correction data based on the density read by the image reader.
Aruga’910 teaches a test image printer that drives the multiple recording heads to print a test image having a predetermined density (Fig.12);
an image reader that reads a density of the test image (Fig.12); and
a correction data generator that generates the multiple correction data based on the density read by the image reader (Fig.12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claim 5, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 does not teach wherein the test image printer causes each of the multiple recording heads to print the test image by driving the multiple recording heads individually and the image reader reads multiple test images formed by each of the multiple recording heads, and the correction data generator generates the multiple correction data based on the density read from each of the multiple test images.
Aruga’910 teaches wherein the test image printer causes each of the multiple recording heads to print the test image by driving the multiple recording heads individually and the image reader reads multiple test images formed by each of the multiple recording heads (Fig.12, step S2), and
the correction data generator generates the multiple correction data based on the density read from each of the multiple test images (Fig. 12, step S8 and paragraph 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claim 6, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 does not teach wherein the test image printer prints the test image multiple times under mutually different conditions, and the image reader reads a density of the test image each time the test image is printed by the test image printer, the correction data generator generates multiple sets of the multiple correction data combinations based on multiple density reading results obtained by the image reader, and the density correction selects a combination of the multiple correction data generated under the same condition as a condition when a print job is executed among the multiple sets of the multiple correction data.
Aruga’910 teaches wherein the test image printer prints the test image multiple times under mutually different conditions (Fig.12, step S2), and the image reader reads a density of the test image each time the test image is printed by the test image printer (Fig.12, step S3), the correction data generator generates multiple sets of the multiple correction data combinations based on multiple density reading results obtained by the image reader (Fig. 12, step S8 and paragraph 152),
the density correction selects a combination of the multiple correction data generated under the same condition as a condition when a print job is executed among the multiple sets of the multiple correction data [the image forming apparatus of this preferred embodiment determines the respective optical density correction methods of the optical density characteristic control unit 46 and the overlap correction control unit, based on the selected image forming mode to form an image (paragraph 156)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 4, the combination of Konodo’373 and MITSUGI’445 does not teach wherein the test image printer prints the test image multiple times at different times, and the image reader reads a density of the test image each time the test image is printed by the test image printer, the correction data generator generates multiple sets of the multiple correction data combinations based on the multiple density reading results obtained by the image reader, and the density correction selects a combination of the multiple correction data generated at a time closest to a time when a print job is executed among the multiple sets of the multiple correction data.
Aruga’910 teaches wherein the test image printer prints the test image multiple times at different times [the test image which is being printed in step S2 in Fig.12 is considered being printed as many times as the printing instructions are given], and the image reader reads a density of the test image each time the test image is printed by the test image printer (Fig.12, step S3), the correction data generator generates multiple sets of the multiple correction data combinations based on the multiple density reading results obtained by the image reader (Fig. 12, step S8 and paragraph 152),, and
the density correction selects a combination of the multiple correction data generated at a time closest to a time when a print job is executed among the multiple sets of the multiple correction data [the image forming apparatus of this preferred embodiment determines the respective optical density correction methods of the optical density characteristic control unit 46 and the overlap correction control unit, based on the selected image forming mode to form an image (paragraph 156). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the overlap correction control unit to select the most current generated correction data when a print job is executed among the multiple sets of the multiple correction data because this will allow the printout to be generated more effectively]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 1, Konodo’373 teaches wherein the multiple recording heads include a first recording head and a second recording head (Fig.2A), and
Konodo’373 does not teach the multiple correction data include a first correction data for uniforming the density unevenness of the first recording head and a second correction data for uniforming the density unevenness of the second recording head, and the density correction corrects the density unevenness based on the first correction data when the ink is ejected from the ejection nozzles of the first recording head by the switching section and corrects the density unevenness based on the second correction data when the ink is ejected from the ejection nozzles of the second recording head by the switching section.
Aruga’910 teaches the multiple correction data include a first correction data for uniforming the density unevenness of the first recording head and a second correction data for uniforming the density unevenness of the second recording head [the correction data generated in step S8 in Fig.12 (paragraph 152)], and
the density correction corrects the density unevenness based on the first correction data when the ink is ejected from the ejection nozzles of the first recording head by the switching section and corrects the density unevenness based on the second correction data when the ink is ejected from the ejection nozzles of the second recording head by the switching section [the overlap region is considered being form by the ejection of the first nozzles and the second nozzles (paragraph 152 and Fig.12)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claim 9, which further limits claim 8, the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 does not teach a test image printer that drives the first recording head to print a first test image having a predetermined density and drive the second recording head to print a second test image having a predetermined density; an image reader that reads a density of each of the first test image and the second test image; and a correction data generator that generates the first correction data based on the density of the first test image read by the image reader and generates the second correction data based on the density of the second test image read by the image reader.
Aruga’910 teaches a test image printer that drives the first recording head to print a first test image having a predetermined density and drive the second recording head to print a second test image having a predetermined density (Fig.12, step S2);
an image reader that reads a density of each of the first test image and the second test image (Fig.12, step S3); and a
correction data generator that generates the first correction data based on the density of the first test image read by the image reader and generates the second correction data based on the density of the second test image read by the image reader (Fig. 12, step S8 and paragraph 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445 and Fumio’089 according to the teaching of Aruga’910 to print a test chart to perform the overlapping density correction because this will enhance the quality of printouts.
With respect to claims 13-18, they are method claims that claim how the image forming apparatus of claims 4-9 to perform printing density correction. Claims 13-18 are obvious in view of Konodo’373, MITSUGI’445, Fumio’089 and Aruga’910 because the claimed combination operates at the same manner as described in the rejected claims 4-9. In addition, the reference has disclosed an image forming apparatus to perform printing density correction, the process (method) to perform printing density correction is inherent disclosed to be performed by a processor in the image forming apparatus when the image forming apparatus performs the operation to perform printing density correction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682