DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12108701. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 21, the claimed subject matter of claim 21 has been anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12108701.
Regarding claim 22-29, the claimed subject matter of claims 21-29 has been anticipated by claims 2-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12108701.
Regarding claim 30, the claimed subject matter of claim 30 has been anticipated by claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12108701.
Regarding claims 31-34, the claimed subject matter of claims 31-34 has been anticipated by claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12108701.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-31 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartel (US 200/0035394) in view of Bejcek (US 2016/0101693).
Regarding claims 21,25 and 28, Bartel discloses a power equipment unit comprising:
a housing (12,18) configured to traverse a surface in both a forward direction and an opposite, reverse direction (see figure 2);
a prime mover (20) carried by the housing, the prime mover operatively connected to a tool (cutting blade, see Par 0025, as mentioned in claim 25) associated with the housing;
a bidirectional variable speed traction drive system (24,25, see figure 2) carried by the housing; and
a control system (60,50) comprising:
a handle grip (56) operatively connected to the traction drive system and movable relative to a handle member (50) attached to the housing, wherein the handle grip is configured to activate the traction drive system to move the housing: in the forward direction when the handle grip is moved in a first direction (see F in figure 2); and in the reverse direction when the handle grip is moved in a second direction (see R in figure 2) opposite the first direction.
Bartel does not mention a sensor that produces an electrical signal to drive the traction drive system. However, Bejcek discloses an speed control for a walk behind machine comprising: a sensor (see Par. 0026) that communicates with a controller (200) to control a drive system (160). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bartel by adding a sensor that can send electrical signals to a controller, wherein the controller would be able to generate a command signal to drive the traction system via actuating the bidirectional valve.
Regarding claim 22, Bartel further discloses, wherein the traction drive system receives power from the prime mover {{as the prime mover is able to run the variable displacement valve (see Par. 0007) which in turn runs the bidirectional variable speed traction drive system 24,25}}.
Regarding claim 23, Bartel does not mention an electric motor on the traction drive system, however, Bejcek further discloses an electric motor (162) to drive the drive system (160, see Par. 00332). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bartel by having the power equipment unit be electrically driven, in order to produce an electrically driven power equipment with less moving parts, additionally the combination of Bartel and Bejcek can be seen as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 24, Bartel does not mention an electric prime mover. However one of ordinary skill in the art would have the knowledge to exchange the prime mover of Bartel with an electric mover, in order to produce a completely electric power equipment unit with an electric prime mover and an electric traction drive system.
Regarding claim 26, Bartel further discloses, wherein application of the force to the handle grip (56) relative to the handle member (50) comprises translation of the handle grip along the handle member (as the handle grip is rotated relative to the handle member).
Regarding claim 27, Bartel further discloses, wherein the traction drive system comprises first and second rear wheels (14,15) each configured as drive wheels.
Regarding claim 29, Bartel further discloses a command signal generated by the handle grip (56) wherein the command signal is directly related to the rotation force of the handle grip relative to the handle (50) by the user (see Par. 0013).
Regarding claims 30,31 and 33, Bartel discloses a power equipment unit comprising:
a housing (12,18) configured to traverse a surface in both a forward direction and an opposite, reverse direction (see figure 2);
a prime mover (20) carried by the housing, the prime mover operatively connected to a tool (cutting blade, see Par 0025, as mentioned in claim 33) associated with the housing;
a bidirectional variable speed traction drive system (24,25, see figure 2) carried by the housing; and
a control system (60,50) comprising:
a handle grip (56) operatively connected to the traction drive system and movable relative to a handle member (50) attached to the housing, wherein the handle grip is configured to activate the traction drive system to move the housing: in the forward direction when the handle grip is moved in a first direction (see F in figure 2); and in the reverse direction when the handle grip is moved in a second direction (see R in figure 2) opposite the first direction.
Bartel does not mention a sensor that produces an electrical signal to drive the traction drive system. However, Bejcek discloses an speed control for a walk behind machine comprising: a sensor (see Par. 0026) that communicates with a controller (200) to control a drive system (160). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bartel by adding a sensor that can send electrical signals to a controller, wherein the controller would be able to generate a command signal to drive the traction system via actuating the bidirectional valve.
Bartel does not mention an electric motor associated with the housing, however, Bejcek further discloses an electric motor (162) to drive the drive system (160, see Par. 00332). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bartel by having the power equipment unit be electrically driven, in order to produce an electrically driven power equipment with less moving parts, additionally the combination of Bartel and Bejcek can be seen as applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 34, Bartel further discloses a command signal generated by the handle grip (56) wherein the command signal is directly related to the rotation force of the handle grip relative to the handle (50) by the user (see Par. 0013).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Bartel and Bejcek did not include more electric motors for the traction drive system as the motor in Bejcek was used as the prime mover.
Conclusion
/MARLON A ARCE/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/KEVIN HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611