DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on August 27, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “high definition” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high definition” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The Specification describes a high definition map (HD map) at [0113] and features it may include, but fails to provide a standard for when a map is a “high definition” map.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mimura et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0171064 A1.
As to claim 1, Mimura et al. discloses a vehicle control device comprising:
one or more processors (0093); and
a non-transitory storage device storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to:
receive information for determination (0112);
determine, based on the received information, whether an overtaking condition is satisfied, whether yielding is possible, whether there is an oncoming vehicle, or whether a rear vehicle attempts to overtake a vehicle (0112-0113);
control a display device to output content determined based on a determination result for providing a front situation and a vehicle control state to the rear vehicle and an occupant of the vehicle (0116-0117, 0126); and
control a maneuver of the vehicle based on the determination result (0121).
As to claim 10, Mimura et al. discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the display device comprises an interior display within the vehicle and an exterior display facing outside the vehicle (Figure 4, Figure 5A, 0050, 0074); and
the program further includes instructions to control the interior display and the exterior display to output different pieces of text, different images, or different pieces of content (0050, 0074, 0087).
As to claim 13, Mimura et al. discloses a method of controlling a vehicle by a vehicle control device, the method comprising:
receiving information for determination (0112);
determining, based on the received information, whether an overtaking condition is satisfied, whether yielding is possible, whether there is an oncoming vehicle, or whether a rear vehicle attempts to overtake the vehicle (0112-0113);
displaying content determined based on a determination result for providing a front situation and a vehicle control state to the rear vehicle and an occupant of the vehicle on a display device (0116-0117, 0126); and
controlling the vehicle based on the determination result (0121).
As to claim 19, Mimura et al. discloses the method of claim 13, and further discloses wherein:
the display device comprises an interior screen and a rear exterior screen (Figure 4, Figure 5A, 0050, 0074); and
displaying the content comprises displaying different pieces of text, different images, or different pieces of content on the interior screen and the rear exterior screen (0050, 0074, 0087).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0171064 A1 in view of Baumgartner et al., U.S. Patent 12,482,353 B1 (2025).
As to claim 2, Mimura et al. discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1. Mimura et al. describes passing a leading vehicle, but does not describe being passed by a trailing vehicle, as claimed.
Baumgartner et al. discloses wherein the overtaking condition comprises a road condition including whether a road on which the vehicle is traveling requires overtaking by the rear vehicle for moving ahead of the vehicle (Column 31, Lines 28-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of claim 1, as disclosed by Mimura et al., with the use of overtaking be a rear vehicle, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, allowing the similar maneuver for being passed by a rear vehicle, allowing the vehicle to determine lane changes or passing another vehicle, allowing for safe operation.
As to claim 3, Mimura et al., as modified by Baumgartner et al., discloses the vehicle control device of claim 2.
Baumgartner et al. further discloses wherein the overtaking condition further comprises an approach condition including whether the rear vehicle has maintained a first predefined distance from the vehicle for a predefined time period or whether the rear vehicle has activated an emergency light, a siren, or high beams (Column 23, Lines 22-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of claim 2, as disclosed by Mimura et al., as modified by Baumgartner et al., with the use of an approach condition, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, allowing the detection of an emergency vehicle and performing appropriate operations, allowing for safe operation.
As to claim 4, Mimura et al., as modified by Baumgartner et al., discloses the vehicle control device of claim 3.
Mimura et al. further discloses wherein the program further includes instructions to control the display device to output first content indicating a current speed of the vehicle or a speed limit of the road in response to the determination result indicating that the road condition and the approach condition are satisfied (0058, 0076-0077).
As to claim 5, Mimura et al., as modified by Baumgartner et al. discloses the vehicle control device of claim 3.
Baumgartner et al. discloses wherein the overtaking condition further comprises an intention condition including whether the rear vehicle performs biased traveling or whether the rear vehicle accelerates (Column 9, Lines 32-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of claim 3, as disclosed by Mimura et al., as modified by Baumgartner et al., with the use of an acceleration, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, detecting the closing distance of a rear vehicle and performing appropriate operations, allowing for safe operation.
As to claim 11, Mimura et al. discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1. Mimura et al. does not disclose a rear vehicle, as claimed.
Baumgartner et al. discloses wherein the program further includes instructions to control the vehicle to decelerate in response to the determination result indicating that the rear vehicle attempts to overtake the vehicle (Column 5, Lines 13-25, Column 24, Lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of claim 1, as disclosed by Mimura et al., with the use of a slowing of the vehicle, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, detecting the rear vehicle and slowing down, as required for vehicles being passed by an emergency vehicle, allowing for safe operation.
As to claim 12, Mimura et al. discloses the vehicle control device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein:
the received information comprises a high definition map and a location of the vehicle (0040).
Mimura et al. does not disclose yielding, as claimed.
Baumgartner et al. discloses where the program further includes instructions to:
determine whether yielding is possible based on the high definition map and the location (Column 5, Lines 13-25, Column 29, Lines 1-9); and
control the vehicle to change lanes in response to the determination result indicating that yielding is possible (Column 29, Lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle control device of claim 1, as disclosed by Mimura et al., with the use of a yielding of the vehicle, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, detecting the rear vehicle and moving aside, as required for vehicles being passed by an emergency vehicle, allowing for safe operation.
As to claim 20, Mimura et al. discloses the method of claim 13.
Mimura et al. does not disclose yielding, as claimed.
Baumgartner et al. discloses wherein:
the received information comprises a high definition map and a location of the vehicle (Column 5, Lines 13-25, Column 29, Lines 1-9);
determining whether yielding is possible comprises determining whether yielding is possible based on the high definition map and the location (Column 5, Lines 13-25, Column 29, Lines 1-9); and
controlling the vehicle comprises controlling the vehicle to change lanes in response to the determination result indicating that yielding is possible (Column 29, Lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 13, as disclosed by Mimura et al., with the use of a yielding of the vehicle, as claimed, as disclosed by Baumgartner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, detecting the rear vehicle and moving aside, as required for vehicles being passed by an emergency vehicle, allowing for safe operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses related technology in vehicle displays and referenced applications.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666