DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labit et al. (US 2012/0116339) and further in view of Ramshak (US 2006/0241558).
With reference to claim 1, Labit et al. (hereinafter “Labit”) discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a chassis comprising:
a topsheet (260);
a backsheet (258);
an absorbent core (206) positioned at least partially between the topsheet and the backsheet [0075];
a first waist region (110) comprising a first waist edge (figure 6);
a second waist region (112) comprising a second waist edge (figure 6);
a crotch region (114) extending between the first waist region and the second waist region (figure 6);
a first side edge (154) disposed on a first side of a central longitudinal axis (figure 6);
a second side edge (156) disposed on a second side of the central longitudinal axis (figure 6)
and a fully removable fastening member (317) configured to join a portion of the first waist region to a portion of the second waist region as shown in figures 13-16.
The difference between Labit and claim 1 is the provision that the first waist region includes one or more lines of perforations disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the one or more lines of perforations are torn.
Labit discloses that the absorbent article may also include a foldable front portion along the waist portion to help keep the umbilical of the diaper wearer clean as set forth in [0072].
Ramshak discloses an analogous absorbent article including one or more lines of perforations disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the one or more lines of perforations are torn as set forth in [0072-0075] and as shown in figures 2-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the foldable front portion of Labit with the perforations as taught by Ramshak in order to allow for complete exposure of the umbilical cord to ambient air to help facilitate the drying and falling off process while reducing the risk of contact between the diaper and the umbilical cord as taught by Ramshak in [0068].
With reference to claims 2-11, Labit teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Ramshak teaches an analogous absorbent including one or more lines of perforations extending through an entire thickness of the chassis (cl. 2) to define a fully removable area of the chassis (cl. 5) configured to form the umbilical cord notch upon tearing of the one or more lines of perforations (cl. 6, cl. 10) as set forth in at least figure 7 wherein the one or more lines of perforations may include an arcuate or curvilinear portion (cl. 3, cl. 11) or a linear portion (cl. 4) as set forth in [0071]. Ramshak also teaches that the one or more lines of perforations may comprise at least two separate lines of perforations (cl. 7) which define a foldable area of the chassis therebetween (cl. 8) wherein the foldable area of the chassis is configured to form the umbilical cord notch upon tearing of the at least two separate lines of perforations (cl. 9) as shown via left and right lines of weakness (99) in figures 4-5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the foldable front portion of Labit with the perforations as taught by Ramshak in order to allow for complete exposure of the umbilical cord to ambient air to help facilitate the drying and falling off process while reducing the risk of contact between the diaper and the umbilical cord as taught by Ramshak in [0068].
As to claim 12, Labit discloses an absorbent article wherein the first waist edge and the second waist edge are substantially symmetrical about an absorbent article central lateral axis as shown in the figures, see especially figure 6.
With reference to claim 13, Labit discloses an absorbent article wherein the first side edge and the second side edge each comprise a curvilinear portion as shown in figure 6.
With reference to claim 14, Labit discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a chassis comprising:
a topsheet (260);
a backsheet (258);
an absorbent core (206) positioned at least partially between the topsheet and the backsheet [0075];
a first waist region (110) comprising a first waist edge (figure 6);
a second waist region (112) comprising a second waist edge (figure 6);
a crotch region (114) extending between the first waist region and the second waist region (figure 6);
a first side edge (154) disposed on a first side of a central longitudinal axis (figure 6);
a second side edge (156) disposed on a second side of the central longitudinal axis (figure 6)
and a fully removable fastening member (317) configured to join a portion of the first waist region to a portion of the second waist region as shown in figures 13-16.
The difference between Labit and claim 14 is the provision that the article includes two or more lines of perforations disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the two or more lines of perforations are torn, wherein the two or more lines of perforations are spaced apart from one another, wherein at least a portion of the two or more lines of perforation are proximate to the first waist edge and extend generally perpendicular to the first waist edge.
Labit discloses that the absorbent article may also include a foldable front portion along the waist portion to help keep the umbilical of the diaper wearer clean as set forth in [0072].
Ramshak discloses an analogous absorbent article including two or more lines of perforations (99) disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the two or more lines of perforations are torn (figures 4-5), wherein the two or more lines of perforations are spaced apart from one another (figure 4), wherein at least a portion of the two or more lines of perforation are proximate to the first waist edge and extend generally perpendicular to the first waist edge as shown in figure 4 and as discussed in [0072-0075].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the foldable front portion of Labit with the perforations as taught by Ramshak in order to allow for complete exposure of the umbilical cord to ambient air to help facilitate the drying and falling off process while reducing the risk of contact between the diaper and the umbilical cord as taught by Ramshak in [0068].
As to claims 15-17, see the rejection of claims 2-11.
With reference to claim 18, Labit discloses an absorbent article (abstract) comprising:
a chassis comprising:
a topsheet (260);
a backsheet (258);
an absorbent core (206) positioned at least partially between the topsheet and the backsheet [0075];
a first waist region (110) comprising a first waist edge (figure 6);
a second waist region (112) comprising a second waist edge (figure 6);
a crotch region (114) extending between the first waist region and the second waist region (figure 6);
a first side edge (154) disposed on a first side of a central longitudinal axis (figure 6);
a second side edge (156) disposed on a second side of the central longitudinal axis (figure 6)
and a fully removable fastening member (317) configured to join a portion of the first waist region to a portion of the second waist region as shown in figures 13-16.
The difference between Labit and claim 18 is the provision that the article includes a line of perforations comprising a curvilinear portion and disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the line of perforations is torn.
Labit discloses that the absorbent article may also include a foldable front portion along the waist portion to help keep the umbilical of the diaper wearer clean as set forth in [0072].
Ramshak discloses an analogous absorbent article including lines of perforations (99) comprising a curvilinear portion [0071] disposed in the first waist region and configured to form an umbilical cord notch when the lines of perforations are torn as shown in figures 4-5 and as discussed in [0072-0075].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the foldable front portion of Labit with the perforations as taught by Ramshak in order to allow for complete exposure of the umbilical cord to ambient air to help facilitate the drying and falling off process while reducing the risk of contact between the diaper and the umbilical cord as taught by Ramshak in [0068].
As to claims 19-20, see the rejection of claims 2-11 and [0071] of Ramshak for the disclosure of the curvilinear portion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the teaching, suggestion and motivation to do so is found in the references themselves.
Ramshak recognizes that the principles of the invention may have application in reusable garments as set forth in [0051].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781