DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,598. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are merely a broadening of the previously allowed claims and claims 21-22 do not differ in a patentably distinct manner from the previously allowed claims, the U-shaped of the margin area is merely an aesthetic design choice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas et al. US 2018/0132676.
Thomas discloses a method for removing a front plate of a dispenser for sheet materials, the method comprising:
(Re claim 22) “providing a dispenser comprising: a housing having an interior volume so as to retain at least one roll of sheet material, the housing including a front cover assembly” (1 figure 1). “a dispensing mechanism contained within the housing for dispensing the sheet material” (figure 2). “wherein the front cover assembly comprises: (1) a front plate having a first side and a second and opposite side, the first side of the front plate forming an exterior surface of the dispenser” (6 figure 3). “(2) a back frame member, the back frame member comprising a first side and a second and opposite side, the second side of the back frame member forming an interior surface of the housing, the first side of the back frame member being removably attachable to the second side of the front plate; and disengaging the front plate from the back frame member” (3,6,9,10 figure 3,4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. US 2018/0132676 in view of Thompson et al. US 9,858,748 and Kendall et al. US 2018/0028027.
Thomas discloses a dispenser for sheet materials comprising:
(Re claim 21) “a housing having an interior volume so as to retain at least one roll of sheet material, the housing including a front cover assembly” (1 figure 1). “a dispensing mechanism contained within the housing for dispensing the sheet material” (figure 2). “wherein the front cover assembly comprises: (1) a front plate having a first side and a second and opposite side, the first side of the front plate forming an exterior surface of the dispenser” (6 figure 3). “(2) a back frame member, the back frame member comprising a first side of the back frame member and a second and opposite side of the back frame member, the second side of the back frame member forming an interior surface of the housing, the first side of the back frame member defining a raised margin area, the first side of the back frame member being removably attachable to the second side of the front plate, wherein the second side of the front plate includes at least one locking element that corresponds in location and connects to at least one mating receptor on the first side of the back frame member” (3,6,9,10 figure 3,4).
Thomas does not disclose that the front plate forms a flush fit with a U-shape of the margin arca of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged.
Thompson teaches that the first side of the back frame defining a raised margin area, wherein the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged (figure 5a,b).
Kendall teaches a U-shaped margin area (104 figure 1,6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas to include that that the front plate forms a flush fit with a U-shape of the margin arca of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged because a flush fit helps prevent tampering with or removal of the front plate and the U-shaped margin area provides an aesthetically pleasing design and allows for a larger decorative panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12,507,837 is applicant’s own related invention and is subject to a terminal disclaimer to US 12,150,598.
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655