DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 09/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21, 41 and their dependent claims under Thomas/Thompson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Thomas/Thompson in view of Miranda US 2018/0353017.
Though Thomas discloses an interchangeable front panel which could be replaced by another discrete front panel, but does not clearly state such, Miranda clearly teaches that there is a plurality of discrete front panels which can be made of various materials, for various uses and other aesthetic concerns.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 with respect to the double patenting rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the present claims define beyond those of us patent 12,150,598. Applicant does not cite a distinguishing feature that is not disclosed in the previously issued patent. Applicant must discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them. The double patenting rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,598. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are a mere broadening of the previously allowed claims.
The subject matter of Claim 21 is disclosed in claims 1 and 18 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 22 is disclosed in claim 2 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 23 is disclosed in claim 3 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 24 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 25 is disclosed in claim 4 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 26 is disclosed in claim 5 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 27 is disclosed in claim 6 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 28 is disclosed in claim 7 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 29 is disclosed in claim 8 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 30 is disclosed in claim 9 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 31 is disclosed in claim 10 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 32 is disclosed in claim 11 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 33 is disclosed in claim 12 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 34 is disclosed in claim 13 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 35 is disclosed in claim 14 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 36 is disclosed in claim 15 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 37 is disclosed in claim 16 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 38 is disclosed in claim 17 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 39 is disclosed in claim 19 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 40 is disclosed in claims 1 and 17 of US 12,150,598.
The subject matter of Claim 41 is disclosed in claims 1 and 18 of US 12,150,598.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23,25-28,32,33,35,36,38,39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. US 2018/0132676 on view of Thompson et al. US 9,858,748 and Miranda US 2018/0353017.
Thomas discloses a dispenser assembly for dispensing sheet materials comprising:
(Re claim 21) “a housing having an interior volume SO as to retain at least one roll of sheet material, the housing including a front cover assembly” (1 figure 1). “a dispensing mechanism contained within the housing for dispensing the sheet material” (figure 2). “wherein the front cover assembly comprises: (1) a back frame member, the back frame member comprising a first side and a second and opposite side, the second side of the back frame member forming an interior surface of the housing, the first side of the back frame member defining a raised margin area” (3 figure 3). “each having a first side and a second and opposite side, the plurality of front plates each having a first surface with a different appearance, the first side of each of the plurality of front plates configured to form an exterior surface of the dispenser” (para 0081). “wherein the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates is removably attachable to the first side of the back frame member, wherein the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates includes at least one locking element that corresponds in location and connects to at least one mating receptor on the first side of the back frame member” (3,6,9,10 figures 3,4).
Thomas does not disclose that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged nor “a plurality of discrete front plates.
Thompson teaches that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged (figure 5a,b).
Miranda teaches a plurality of discrete front plates (para 0070).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas to include that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged because it helps prevent tampering with or removal of the front plate.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson to include that the first side of the front plate has a mirrored finish, a metallic finish, a woodgrain finish nor that there are at least the different front plates because it allows the operator of the dispenser to choose among various aesthetic appearances and functions for the front plates.
(Re claim 22) “the margin area of the first side of the back frame member forms a portion of the exterior surface of the housing” (3 figure 3).
(Re claim 23) “the housing includes a front face and wherein the first side of each of the plurality of the front plates and the margin area of the first side of the back frame member form the front face” (3 figure 3).
(Re claim 25) “the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates includes at least four locking elements that correspond in location and connect to at least four mating receptors on the first side of the back frame” (9,10 figure 3, 4).
(Re claim 26) Thomas does not disclose that the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates includes at least six locking elements that correspond in location and connect to at least six mating receptors on the first side of the back frame. Increasing the number of locking elements from 4 to 6 would have been obvious to one skilled in the art as it is merely duplication of existing parts and there purpose of securing the front plate.
(Re claim 27) “the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates further includes at least one alignment tab and the first side of the back frame member defines at least one alignment slot for aligning one of the plurality of the front plates with the back frame member when connecting the two pieces together” (9,10 figure 3,4). Having the lot and mating receptor on the front plate and the locking tab one the back frame is merely a reverse of the system of Thomas and would have been obvious to try by one skilled in the art.
(Re claim 28) “wherein the locking element on the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates defines a slot and the mating receptor on the first side of the back frame member comprises a locking tab that is slideably engageable with the slot on the locking element” (9,10 figure 3, para 0061).
(Re claims 29-31)Thomas/Thompson disclose the system as rejected above.
Thomas/Thompson does not disclose that the first side of the front plate has a mirrored finish,
a metallic finish, a woodgrain finish nor that there are at least the different front plates
Miranda teaches that the first side of the front plate has a mirrored finish,
a metallic finish, a woodgrain finish nor that there are at least the different front plates (para 0070).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson to include that the first side of the front plate has a mirrored finish, a metallic finish, a woodgrain finish nor that there are at least the different front plates because it allows the operator of the dispenser to choose among various aesthetic appearances and functions for the front plates.
(Re claim 32) “wherein the dispenser is connected to a power source and wherein each of the plurality of the front plates automatically connects to the power source when connected to the back frame member” (para 0018, 0075).
(Re claim 33) “wherein the first side of each of the plurality of the front plates comprises an electronic display” (7 figure 3).
(Re claim 35) “the back frame member is pivotally connected to the housing” (figure 2, para 0065).
(Re claim 36) “the roll of sheet material comprises a roll of paper towels for dispensing paper towels from the dispenser” (para 0020).
(Re claim 38) Thomas does not disclose that the first side of the front plate has a perimeter and wherein the raised margin area of the first side of the back frame member surrounds at least 70% of the perimeter of the first side of the front plate.
Thompson teaches that the first side of the front plate has a perimeter and wherein the raised margin area of the first side of the back frame member surrounds at least 70% of the perimeter of the first side of the front plate (figure 4,5a,b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas to include that the first side of the front plate has a perimeter and wherein the raised margin area of the first side of the back frame member surrounds at least 70% of the perimeter of the first side of the front plate because it helps prevent tampering with or remove of the front plate.
(Re claim 39) Thomas discloses that there are a plurality of possible front plates, at least three plates would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to allow for different kinds of front plates or simple replacements.
Thomas discloses a method for assembling a dispenser assembly for dispensing sheet materials, the method comprising:
(Re claim 41) “providing a dispenser comprising: a housing having an interior volume so as to retain at least one roll of sheet material, the housing including a front cover assembly” (1 figure 1). “a dispensing mechanism contained within the housing for dispensing the sheet material” (figure 2). “a front cover assembly comprising a back frame member, the back frame member comprising a first side and a second and opposite side, the second side of the back frame member forming an interior surface of the housing, the first side of the back frame member defining a raised margin area” (3 figure 3 ). “selecting one of a plurality of front plates, each of the plurality of front plates having a first side and a second and opposite side, the first side of each of the plurality of front plates forming an exterior surface of the dispenser, the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates being removably attachable to the first side of the back frame member” (6 figure 3, para 0081). “wherein the second side of each of the plurality of the front plates includes at least one locking element that corresponds in location and connects to at least one mating receptor on the first side of the back frame member … and attaching the selected front plate to the back frame member” (3,6,9,10 figures 3,4).
Thomas does not disclose that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged.
Thompson teaches that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged (figure 5a,b).
Miranda teaches a plurality of discrete front plates (para 0070).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas to include that the front plate forms a flush fit with the margin area of the first side of the back frame member when the locking element and mating receptor are engaged because it helps prevent tampering with or removal of the front plate.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson to include that the first side of the front plate has a mirrored finish, a metallic finish, a woodgrain finish nor that there are at least the different front plates because it allows the operator of the dispenser to choose among various aesthetic appearances and functions for the front plates.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas/Thompson/Miranda in view of Manke et al. US 2003/0067254.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda does not disclose that the second side of the front plate further includes at least one alignment tab and the first side of the back frame member defines at least one alignment slot for aligning the front plate with the back frame member when connecting the two pieces together.
Manke teaches that the second side of the front plate further includes at least one alignment tab and the first side of the back frame member defines at least one alignment slot for aligning the front plate with the back frame member when connecting the two pieces together (138-140 figure 2,3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson/Miranda to include that the second side of the front plate further includes at least one alignment tab and the first side of the back frame member defines at least one alignment slot for aligning the front plate with the back frame member when connecting the two pieces together because it helps align and secure the front plate with the back frame.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas/Thompson/Miranda in view of Owens US 2016/0373844.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda discloses the system as rejected above.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda does not disclose that the front plate includes an audio speaker.
Owens teaches that the front plate includes an audio speaker (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify they system of Thomas/Thompson/Miranda to include the front plate includes an audio speaker because audio can be used to advertise as well as the visuals.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas/Thompson/Miranda in view of Liebisch US 2,930,664.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda discloses the system as rejected above.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda does not disclose that the housing has a volume so as to retain at least two rolls of sheet material.
Liebisch teaches that the housing has a volume so as to retain at least two rolls of sheet material (25,26 figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson/Miranda to include that the housing has a volume so as to retain at least two rolls of sheet material because it allows for the dispenser to operate for a longer period of time between servicing.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas/Thompson/Miranda in view of Kendall et al. US 2018/0028027.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda discloses the system as rejected above including a flush fit.
Thomas/Thompson/Miranda does not disclose a U-shape of the margin area of the first side of the back frame member.
Kendall teaches a U-shape of the margin area of the first side of the back frame member (104 figure 1,6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Thomas/Thompson/Miranda to include a U-shape of the margin area of the first side of the back frame member because it is an aesthetically pleasing arrangement and allows for a larger front plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655