DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek (US 2023/0230518) in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0256904).
Regarding claim 1, Baek discloses an image display apparatus comprising: a display (abstract, figs. 1-2, display module 110 with display panel 118, ¶ 40-50);
a signal processing device configured to output an image signal to the display (figs. 1-2, timing controller 112, ¶ 40-50);
and a power supply including a converter configured to supply a display driving voltage to the display (figs. 1-2, fig. 5, power board 130, ¶ 44, ¶ 65-69),
wherein the converter is configured to: output a display driving voltage of a first level based on a first mode (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, output voltage EVDD generated based on load; see also ¶ 98, DPC mode considered; see also fig. 13, tables 2-4);
output a display driving voltage of a second level higher than the first level based on a second mode (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, output voltage EVDD generated based on load; see also ¶ 98, DPC mode considered; see also fig. 13, tables 2-4).
Baek fails to explicitly disclose changing a reference level for overcurrent protection of the converter based on the first mode or the second mode.
Kang teaches changing a reference level for overcurrent protection of the converter based on the first mode or the second mode (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 84-85).
Baek and Kang are both directed to load-based power supplies for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device Baek with the device of Kang since such a modification prevents damage due to overcurrent (Kang, ¶ 6) and adaptively operates an overcurrent protection circuit in a screen save mode (Kang, ¶ 10).
Regarding claim 2, Kang further teaches wherein a first reference level for the overcurrent protection in the first mode is lower than a second reference level for the overcurrent protection in the second mode (fig. 6, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 84-85, ¶ 108-114).
Regarding claim 3, Baek discloses wherein the converter comprises: a transformer (fig. 5, ¶ 66-69, transformer 134):
a first switching element and a second switching element disposed at an input terminal of the transformer (fig. 5, ¶ 66-69, switching unit 132 includes two switches),
wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are connected in series (*Baek fails to explicitly disclose the first and second switches are connected in series. However, Examiner takes official notice that the use of two switches in series for an LLC resonance circuit is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the converter of Baek with the well-known two switches in series since such a modification achieves the predictable result of providing an adjustable power supply.);
a resonant capacitor and a resonant inductor disposed between, and respectively connected to, the input terminal of the transformer and the second switching element (fig. 5, ¶ 66-69, LLC resonance circuit 133);
and a switching controller configured to: control the first switching element and the second switching element (fig. 5, ¶ 66-69, power controller 136);
Kang further teaches changing the reference level for the overcurrent protection based on the first mode or the second mode (fig. 6, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 84-85, ¶ 108-114).
Regarding claim 4, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Baek discloses wherein the switching controller is further configured to: in the first mode, control the first switching element and the second switching element to stop a switching operation, in response to a current flowing through the resonant inductor being higher than or equal to the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, voltage lowered by intermittent switching, intermittent switching includes stopping switching; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187);
and in the second mode, control the first switching element and the second switching element to stop a switching operation, in response to the current flowing through the resonant inductor being higher than or equal to the second reference level, which is higher than the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, voltage lowered by intermittent switching, intermittent switching includes stopping switching; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187).
Regarding claim 6, Baek discloses wherein the switching controller is further configured to: in the first mode, control the first switching element and the second switching element to stop a switching operation, in response to a current flowing through the resonant inductor being a first current at a level higher than or equal to the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, voltage lowered by intermittent switching, intermittent switching includes stopping switching; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187);
and in the second mode, control the first switching element or the second switching element to perform a switching operation, in response to the current flowing through the resonant inductor being the first current at a level between the first reference level and the second reference level higher than the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 69, switches controlled based on feedback; ¶ 71-87, ¶ 117-119, normal mode with continuous switching disclosed when voltage is below threshold; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187).
Regarding claim 7, Baek discloses wherein the switching controller is configured to: in the first mode, control the first switching element and the second switching element to stop a switching operation for a first period of time, in response to a current flowing through the resonant inductor being higher than or equal to the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, voltage lowered by intermittent switching, intermittent switching includes stopping switching; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187);
and in the second mode, control the first switching element and the second switching element to stop a switching operation for a second period of time which is longer than the first period of time, in response to the current flowing through the resonant inductor being higher than or equal to the second reference level which is higher than the first reference level (figs. 5-10, ¶ 44-46, ¶ 71-87, voltage lowered by intermittent switching, intermittent switching includes stopping switching repeatedly; see also fig. 16, ¶ 182-187, switching frequency may increase or decrease, e.g., based on DPC mode).
Regarding claim 8, Kang further teaches wherein the converter further comprises a current detector configured to detect a current flowing through the resonant inductor (fig. 1, ¶ 45-46, ¶ 59, current sensor 140).
Regarding claim 9, Baek discloses wherein the converter further comprises a voltage detector configured to detect the display driving voltage output from an output terminal of the transformer (fig. 5, ¶ 69, output voltage received as feedback),
Kang further teaches wherein the switching controller is further configured to change the reference level for overcurrent protection based on a level of the display driving voltage detected by the voltage detector (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 62, return signal transmitted to switch modes based on feedback; see also ¶ 91-94).
Regarding claim 10, Kang further teaches wherein the switching controller is further configured to: set the first reference level for the overcurrent protection, in response to the level of the display driving voltage detected by the voltage detector corresponding to the first level (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; ¶ 62, return signal transmitted to switch modes based on feedback; see also ¶ 91-94, ¶ 109-114);
and set the second reference level for the overcurrent protection which is higher than the first reference level, in response to the level of the display driving voltage detected by the voltage detector corresponding to the second level (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; ¶ 62, return signal transmitted to switch modes based on feedback; see also ¶ 91-94, ¶ 109-114, load deviation or overcurrent switches to normal mode).
Regarding claim 11, Kang further teaches wherein the converter is further configured to output a display driving voltage of a third level based on a third mode (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 91-94, ¶ 109-114, e.g., SS2, SS1, and normal mode),
wherein the converter is further configured to change the reference level for the overcurrent protection based on the first mode, the second mode, or the third mode (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 91-94, ¶ 109-114, e.g., SS2, SS1, and normal mode).
Regarding claim 12, Kang further teaches wherein the second reference level for the overcurrent protection in the second mode is lower than the third reference level for the overcurrent protection in the third mode (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 54-58, overcurrent value changed based on scale factor; scale factor based on load/screen save mode; see also ¶ 91-94, ¶ 109-114, e.g., SS2, SS1, and normal mode).
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 6.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek in view of Kang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sung (US 2020/0152121).
Regarding claim 18, Baek discloses wherein the converter further comprises a voltage detector configured to detect a display driving voltage output from an output terminal of the transformer (fig. 5, ¶ 69, output voltage received as feedback),
Kang further teaches a reference level changing part configured to change the reference level based on the display driving voltage detected by the voltage detector (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 12-15, ¶ 62, return signal transmitted to switch modes based on feedback; see also ¶ 91-94).
Baek in view of Kang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reference level changing part comprises: a first capacitor and a second capacitor which are connected in parallel; and a switching element connected to either the first capacitor or the second capacitor.
Sung teaches wherein the reference level changing part comprises: a first capacitor and a second capacitor which are connected in parallel (fig. 4, ¶ 46-48, capacitors C2; see also fig. 6);
and a switching element connected to either the first capacitor or the second capacitor (fig. 4, ¶ 46-48, switches SW; see also fig. 6).
Baek in view of Kang and Sung are both directed to load-based power supplies for display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device Baek in view of Kang with the device of Sung since such a modification provides an impedance of the feedback circuit may be adjusted (Sung, ¶ 47) and stability of a closed loop feedback system and performance of the converter may be improved (Sung, ¶ 47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626