DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 07/10/2025. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “positively charged color particles and/or negatively charged color particles” in line 15. The limitation “positively charged color particles and/or negatively charged color particles” is unambiguous meaning definition (either only “positively charged color particles”, “negatively charged color particles” or “positively charged color particles and negatively charged color particles”). For examination purposes “positively charged color particles and/or negatively charged color particles” will be taken as “positively charged color particles or negatively charged color particles”
Claims 26 and 27 recite “a plurality of data lines”. Claim 26 is dependent on 25, which depends from Claim 1. Claim 27 is dependent on 25, which depends from Claim 1. Claim 1 also stated the limitation “a plurality of data lines”. Examiner is not clear if this is a different set of “a plurality of data lines” or referring to the previously claims limitation in Claim 1. For examination purposes, “a plurality of data lines” in Claims 26 and 27 will be taken as “the plurality of data lines”.
Claim 1 recites the following limitations:
“the gates” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the gates” will be taken as “a gate”.
“the drains or sources” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the drains or sources” will be taken as “a drain or a source”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua et al., (Hua hereafter) (CN216052547U) in further in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Hua teaches an electrophoretic display with a transparent control electrode, comprising: a transparent control substrate (2 and 3 Figure 2), comprising a first face (top side of 2, Figure 2) and a second face (lower side of 2, Figure 2); a driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039]), arranged on the second face of the transparent control substrate (lower side of 2, Figure 2) and comprising: a plurality of thin film transistors (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]), a plurality of gate lines (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]), and a plurality of data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]), at least one of the gate lines (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]) electrically connected to a gate (¶[0050]) of the thin film transistors (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]), at least one of the data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]) electrically connected to a drain or a source (32, Figure 2) of the thin film transistors (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]); a control electrode layer (11, Figure 4) arranged on a side (see Figure 4) of the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039]) away from the transparent control substrate (2 and 3 Figure 2) and comprising: a plurality of transparent control electrodes (2, Figure 2), at least one of the transparent control electrodes (2, Figure 2) electrically connected to the source or the drain (32, Figure 2) of one of the thin film transistors (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]); an electrophoresis layer (9, Figure 2) comprising an electrophoretic material (9 includes a medium and particles, Figure 2), the electrophoretic material (9, Figure 2) comprising a plurality of charged particles (9 includes electrophoretic particles, Figure 2), the charged particles (9, Figure 2) configured in a colloidal solution (9 includes a medium, Figure 2) and moving through the colloidal solution (9 includes a medium, Figure 2) under the influence of an electric field, the charged color particles (9, Figure 2) comprising positively charged color particles (9, Figure 2) and/or negatively charged particles (9, Figure 2).
Hua fails to teach an electrophoresis layer comprising an electrophoretic material, the electrophoretic material comprising a plurality of charged color particles, the charged color particles configured in a colloidal solution and moving through the colloidal solution under the influence of an electric field, the charged color particles comprising positively charged color particles and/or negatively charged color particles; an opposite substrate arranged on a side of the electrophoresis layer away from the transparent control substrate; wherein, charges on the transparent control electrodes attract the charged color particles with different charge polarities to accumulate on a surface of the electrophoresis layer close to the transparent control electrodes to form an image seen by a viewer.
Hua teaches a display substrate and display panel, and Yamazaki teaches a driving method for driving an electrophoretic display apparatus with a display unit.
Yamazaki teaches an electrophoresis layer (32, Figure 3A) comprising an electrophoretic material (20, 26 and 27, Figure 3A), the electrophoretic material (20, 26 and 27, Figure 3A) comprising a plurality of charged color particles (white-colored 26 and black-colored 27, Figure 3A), the charged color particles (26 and 27, Figure 3A) configured in a colloidal solution (particle is a colloid, ¶[0084]) and moving through the colloidal solution (¶[0084]) under the influence of an electric field (¶[0010], [0026] and [0101]), the charged color particles (26 and 27, Figure 3A) comprising positively charged color particles (positively charged particles, ¶[0084]) and/or negatively charged color particles (negatively charged particles, ¶[0084]); an opposite substrate (31, Figure 3A) arranged on a side of the electrophoresis layer (32, Figure 3A) away from the transparent control substrate (30, Figure 3A); wherein, charges on the transparent control electrodes (37 which is a transparent electrode, Figure 3A; see also ¶[0079]) attract the charged color particles (26 and 27, Figure 3A) with different charge polarities (positively and negatively charged particles, ¶[0084]) to accumulate on a surface (26 and 27 are on the surface of 32, see Figure 3A) of the electrophoresis layer (32, Figure 3A) close to the transparent control electrodes (37, Figure 3A) to form an image (image, ¶[0055]) seen by a viewer (inherent being an image, ¶[0055]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua having the display with the teachings of Yamazaki having an electrophoresis layer comprise an electrophoretic material, the electrophoretic material comprising a plurality of charged color particles, the charged color particles configured in a colloidal solution and moving through the colloidal solution under the influence of an electric field, the charged color particles comprising positively charged color particles and/or negatively charged color particles; an opposite substrate arranged on a side of the electrophoresis layer away from the transparent control substrate; wherein, charges on the transparent control electrodes attract the charged color particles with different charge polarities to accumulate on a surface of the electrophoresis layer close to the transparent control electrodes to form an image seen by a viewer, for the purpose of providing colors and movement to image(s).
Claim(s) 2, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Lee et al., (Lee hereafter) (US 2016/0372497 A1).
With respect to Claim 2, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1, the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039], of Hua), a first electrode (one of 11, Figure 4, of Hua) which is transparent (¶[0036]-[0038]), a second electrode (second of 11, Figure 4, of Hua) which is transparent (¶[0036]-[0038]) and an insulation layer (transparent touch electrode layer 1 insulated from the pixel electrode layer, ¶[0036], of Hua), between the first electrode (one of 11, Figure 4, of Hua) and the second electrode (second of 11, Figure 4, of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach wherein the driving circuit layer further comprises a plurality of storage capacitors, at least the storage capacitor in a viewing area of the electrophoretic display.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Lee teaches a thin film transistor substrate and display device.
Lee teaches wherein the driving circuit layer further comprises a plurality of storage capacitors (C1 through C4, Figure 1), at least the storage capacitor (C1 through C4, Figure 1) in a viewing area (C1 through C4 are within the viewing area in Figure 1) of the electrophoretic display.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Lee having the driving circuit layer further comprises a plurality of storage capacitors, further modifying Hua in view of Yamazaki wherein the storage capacitor in a viewing area of the electrophoretic display for the purpose of the decreasing the size of the TFT, ¶[0067].
With respect to Claim 16, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 2.
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach the first electrode is the control electrode and the second electrode is arranged on a first transparent conductive layer.
Lee teaches the first electrode (AD becomes a first electrode, Figure 1; see also ¶[0042]) is the control electrode, and the second electrode (GC1 becomes a second electrode, Figure 1; see also ¶[0046]) is arranged (see how GC1 is layered in Figure 1) on a first transparent conductive layer (PXL, Figure 1; see also ¶[0058]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Lee having the first electrode is the control electrode and the second electrode is arranged on a first transparent conductive layer for the purpose of the decreasing the size of the TFT, ¶[0067].
With respect to Claim 17, Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 16, and the gate lines (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]) of the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee fail to teach a common voltage line electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer.
Embodiment Two of Lee teaches a common voltage line (CL, Figure 8) electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer (PXL, Figure 9; see also ¶[0058]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee having the display with the teachings of Embodiment Two of Lee having a common voltage line electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer and further modifying Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee having the first transparent conductive layer substantially parallel to one of the gate lines of the driving circuit layer for the purpose of better image quality, ¶[0144].
With respect to Claim 19, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 2, the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039], of Hua), the first electrode (one of 11, Figure 4, of Hua) and the second electrode (second of 11, Figure 4, of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a flat layer and a first transparent conductive layer.
Embodiment Two of Lee teaches a flat layer and a first transparent conductive layer (PXL, Figure 9; see also ¶[0058]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Lee having a flat layer and a first transparent conductive layer, further modifying Hua in view of Yamazaki wherein, the driving circuit layer a flat layer, the first electrode is the control electrode, the second electrode arranged on a first transparent conductive layer, and the first transparent conductive layer arranged above the flat layer for the purpose of allowing light to flow through layer without obstruction.
With respect to Claim 20, Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 19, and the data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]) of the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee fail to teach a common voltage line electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer.
Embodiment Two of Lee teaches a common voltage line (CL, Figure 8) electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer (PXL, Figure 9; see also ¶[0058]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee having the display with the teachings of Embodiment Two of Lee having a common voltage line electrically connected to the first transparent conductive layer and further modifying Hua in view of Yamazaki and Embodiment One of Lee having the first transparent conductive layer substantially parallel to one of the data lines of the driving circuit layer for the purpose of better image quality, ¶[0144].
Claim(s) 4 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Chu Ke (US 2016/0035288 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 1.
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a color filter layer disposed on the substrate.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the display and Chu Ke teaches a pixel display which can be used in the display.
Chu Ke teaches a color filter layer (14, Figure 11) disposed on the substrate (10, Figure 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chu Ke having a color filter layer disposed on the substrate for the purpose of allowing light to be transmitted through to the display and display a variety of colors.
With respect to Claim 24, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 1, the transparent control substrate (2 and 3 Figure 2, of Hua) and the electrophoresis layer (32, Figure 3A, of Yamazaki).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a color filter between the substrate and the electrophoresis layer.
Chu Ke teaches a color filter layer (14, Figure 11) between the substrate (10, Figure 11) and the electrophoresis layer (16, 14, 12, P and PX, Figure 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chu Ke having a color filter layer between the substrate and the electrophoresis layer for the purpose of allowing light to be transmitted through to the display and display a variety of colors.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Izuha et al., (Izuha hereafter) (US 2012/0249829 A1).
With respect to Claim 7, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 1 and a direction looking from the first face of the transparent control substrate (top side of 2, Figure 2).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 70%.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Izuha teaches a solid-state imaging device.
Izuha teaches an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 70% (Figures 6-9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Izuha having an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 70% for the purpose of having a still image as well as a moving subject image be photographed, ¶[0094].
With respect to Claim 8, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 1 and a direction looking from the first face of the transparent control substrate (top side of 2, Figure 2).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 80%.
Izuha teaches an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 80% (Figures 6-9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Izuha having an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 80% for the purpose of having a still image as well as a moving subject image be photographed, ¶[0094].
With respect to Claim 9, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 1 and a direction looking from the first face of the transparent control substrate (top side of 2, Figure 2).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 90%.
Izuha teaches an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 90% (Figures 6-9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Izuha having an aperture ratio of the control substrate of the electrophoretic display is not less than 90% for the purpose of having a still image as well as a moving subject image be photographed, ¶[0094].
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Wang et al., (Wang hereafter) (US 2024/0241415 A1).
With respect to Claim 10, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the gate line (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach wherein, a line width of the gate line is not more than 10 µm.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Wang teaches a display panel that can be used in the display.
Wang teaches a line width of the gate line (102, Figure 1) is not more than 10 µm (4.0-4.8 microns, ¶[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Wang teaches a line width of the gate line is not more than 10 µm for the purpose of increased light transmittance, ¶[0103].
With respect to Claim 11, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the data line (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]) .
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a line width of the data line is not more than 10 µm.
Wang teaches a line width of the data line (103, Figure 1) is not more than 10 µm (0.9-1.1 microns, ¶[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Wang teaches a line width of the data line is not more than 10 µm for the purpose of increased light transmittance, ¶[0103].
With respect to Claim 12, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the gate line (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach wherein, a line width of the gate line is not more than 5 µm.
Wang teaches a line width of the gate line (102, Figure 1) is not more than 5 µm (4.0-4.8 microns, ¶[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Wang teaches a line width of the gate line is not more than 5 µm for the purpose of increased light transmittance, ¶[0103].
With respect to Claim 13, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the data line (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a line width of the data line is not more than 5 µm.
Wang teaches a line width of the data line (103, Figure 1) is not more than 5 µm (0.9-1.1 microns, ¶[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Wang teaches a line width of the data line is not more than 5 µm for the purpose of increased light transmittance, ¶[0103].
With respect to Claim 14, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1, the data line (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050]) and the gate line (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach the sum of a line width of the gate line and a line width of the data line are not more than 20 µm.
Wang teaches the sum of a line width of the gate line (102, Figure 1) and a line width of the data line (103, Figure 1) are not more than 20 µm (gate line width (4.0-4.8) + data line width (0.9-1.1) microns < 20 µm, ¶[0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Wang teaches the sum of a line width of the gate line and a line width of the data line are not more than 20 µm for the purpose of increased light transmittance, ¶[0103].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Ohnuma et al., (Ohnuma hereafter) (US 2001/0021544 A1).
With respect to Claim 15 Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the thin film transistor (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach an area of a semiconductor part of the thin film transistor is not more than 1000 µm2.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Ohnuma teaches a semiconductor film that can be used in the display.
Ohnuma teaches an area of a semiconductor part (amorphous region, ¶[0073]) of the thin film transistor (TFT, ¶[0073]) is not more than 1000 µm2 (equal to or lesser than 10.00 µm2, ¶[0073]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Ohnuma having an area of a semiconductor part of the thin film transistor is not more than 1000 µm2 for the purpose of display pixel pitch and aperture ratios being optimized.
Claim(s) 18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) and Lee (US 2016/0372497 A1), as applied to Claim 17, above, and in further view of Chiu (US 5,989,752).
With respect to Claim 18, Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 17, the gate lines (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050], of Hua) and the data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050], of Hua) .
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee fail to teach wherein, the gate lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material, or the data lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material.
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display and Chiu teaches a mask that can be used with the display.
Chiu teaches the gate lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material (a matrix of gate lines are made of transparent conductors 30, Figure 1; see also column 5, lines 16-18), or the data lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material (a matrix of data lines are made of transparent conductors 30, Figure 1; see also column 5, lines 16-18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee having the display with the teachings of Chiu having the gate lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material, or the data lines are partially made of a transparent conductive material for the purpose of exposing light.
With respect to Claim 21, Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the opposite substrate (31, Figure 3A, of Yamazaki).
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee fail to teach wherein, a common electrode layer is disposed on the opposite substrate, the common electrode layer is an opaque conductive material.
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display and Chiu teach a mask which can be used with a display
Chiu teaches a common electrode layer (70, Figure 3) is disposed on (70 is on top) the opposite substrate (25, Figure 1), the common electrode layer (70, Figure 3) is an opaque conductive material (column 6, lines 8-20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee having the display with the teachings of Chiu having a common electrode layer is disposed on the opposite substrate, the common electrode layer is an opaque conductive material for the purpose of allowing light and images to be seen.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Murari et al., (Murari hereafter) (US 11,934,081).
With respect to Claim 22, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1 and the electrophoresis layer (32, Figure 3A, of Yamazaki).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach wherein, the electrophoresis layer comprises a plurality of micro-partition structures made of polymer materials, the micro-partition structures comprise a plurality of partition walls to define a chamber configured to fill with the electrophoresis material.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Murari teaches light transferrable film for electrophoretic devices.
Murari teaches the electrophoresis layer (140, Figure 1) comprises a plurality of micro-partition structures (conductive polymer particles, column 12, lines 17-20) made of polymer materials (column 12, lines 17-20), the micro-partition structures (conductive polymer particles, column 12, lines 17-20) comprise a plurality of partition walls (walled nanotubes, column 12, lines 38-41) to define a chamber (area within the walled nanotubes, column 12, lines 17-20) configured to fill with the electrophoresis material (106, Figure 1; see also column 11, lines 53-54).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Murari having the electrophoresis layer comprises a plurality of micro-partition structures made of polymer materials, the micro-partition structures comprise a plurality of partition walls to define a chamber configured to fill with the electrophoresis material for the purpose of optimal light transmission in the display.
With respect to Claim 23, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 22.
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a plurality of micro tenons, each of the micro tenons embedded in one of the chambers.
Murari teaches the electrophoresis layer (140, Figure 1) comprises a plurality of micro-partition structures (conductive polymer particles, column 12, lines 17-20) made of polymer materials (column 12, lines 17-20), the micro-partition structures (conductive polymer particles, column 12, lines 17-20) comprise a plurality of partition walls (walled nanotubes, column 12, lines 38-41) to define a chamber (area within the walled nanotubes, column 12, lines 17-20) configured to fill with the electrophoresis material (106, Figure 1; see also column 11, lines 53-54).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Murari having a plurality of micro tenons, each of the micro tenons embedded in one of the chambers for the purpose of having the ability to show different colors in each chamber.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1), as applied to Claim 1, above, in further view of Chang (US 2010/0194699 A1).
With respect to Claim 25, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1, the driving circuit layer (drive integrated circuit, ¶[0039], of Hua), and the gate lines (plurality of gate lines, ¶[0050], of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach a plurality of storage capacitors and a plurality of common voltage lines, the common voltage lines respectively disposed corresponding to the storage capacitors and substantially parallel to the gate lines, the common voltage lines electrically connected to a display touch integrated driver.
Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display and Chang teaches a display.
Chang teaches a plurality of storage capacitors (957 and 907, Figure 9) and a plurality of common voltage lines (925, Figure 9; see also ¶[0070]), the common voltage lines (925, Figure 9) respectively disposed corresponding to the storage capacitors (957 and 907, Figure 9) and substantially parallel to the gate lines (913, Figure 9), the common voltage lines 925, Figure 9) electrically connected to a display touch integrated driver (¶[0067]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chang having a plurality of storage capacitors and a plurality of common voltage lines, the common voltage lines respectively disposed corresponding to the storage capacitors and substantially parallel to the gate lines, the common voltage lines electrically connected to a display touch integrated driver for the purpose of elements can operate as multifunction circuit elements, ¶[0072].
With respect to Claim 26, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 25, the plurality of data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050], of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of data lines together as a single touch-transmitting electrode; the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of common voltage lines together as a single touch-receiving electrode.
Chang teaches the display touch integrated driver (¶[0067]) electrically connects a plurality of data lines (915a, 915b, 915c, Figure 9) together as a single touch-transmitting electrode (957a, Figure 9; see also ¶[0068]); the display touch integrated driver (¶[0067]) electrically connects (¶[0068]) the plurality of common voltage lines (925, Figure 9) together as a single touch-receiving electrode (957a, Figure 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chang having the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of data lines together as a single touch-transmitting electrode; the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of common voltage lines together as a single touch-receiving electrode for the purpose of reduce the number of changes needed to existing manufacturing processes, such as masking, doping, depositing, etc., (¶[0066]).
With respect to Claim 27, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 25 and the plurality of data lines (plurality of data lines, ¶[0050], of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of data lines together as a single touch-receiving electrode; the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of common voltage lines together as a single touch-transmitting electrode.
Chang teaches the display touch integrated driver (¶[0067]) electrically connects a plurality of data lines (915a, 915b, 915c, Figure 9) together as a single touch-transmitting electrode (957a, Figure 9; see also ¶[0068]); the display touch integrated driver (¶[0067]) electrically connects (¶[0068]) the plurality of common voltage lines (925, Figure 9) together as a single touch-receiving electrode (957a, Figure 9).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chang having the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of data lines together as a single touch-transmitting electrode; the display touch integrated driver electrically connects a plurality of common voltage lines together as a single touch-receiving electrode for the purpose of reduce the number of changes needed to existing manufacturing processes, such as masking, doping, depositing, etc., (¶[0066]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) and Chu Ke (US 2016/0035288 A1), as applied to Claim 4, above, in further view of Kawamoto et al., (Kawamoto hereafter) (JP2007171334A).
With respect to Claim 28, Hua in view of Yamazaki teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode (2, Figure 2, of Hua) of claim 4.
Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach the color filter layer comprises a plurality of color filter blocks with different colors.
Chu Ke teaches a color filter layer (10, Figure 11) comprises a plurality of color filter blocks (CF3s are divided into blocks, ¶[0036]) with different colors (color filter layer includes a plurality of first through third color filter patterns, ¶[0049]), at least one of the color filter blocks (BM, Figure 11) comprises a plurality of holes (BM has a plurality of openings, ¶[0049]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki having the display with the teachings of Chu Ke having a color filter layer disposed on the substrate for the purpose of allowing light to be transmitted through to the display and display a variety of colors
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Chu Ke fail to teach at least one of the color filter comprises a plurality of holes, and an area of at least one of the holes is not more than 100 µm2.
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Chu Ke teach the electrophoretic display and Kawamoto teaches a color filter that can be used in the display.
Kawamoto teaches the color filter (5, Figure 1) comprises a plurality of holes (K, Figure 5), and an area of at least one of the holes is not more than 100 µm2 (width of 6.0 μm or less and a length of 5.0 μm or more, which gives an area of 30 µm2, ¶[0029]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Chu Ke having the display with the teachings Kawamoto having at least one of the color filter comprises a plurality of holes, and an area of at least one of the holes is not more than 100 µm2 for the purpose of a high transmittance by patterning a penetrating region, ¶[0005].
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) and Lee (US 2016/0372497 A1), as applied to Claim 2, above, in further view of Ohnuma (US 2001/0021544 A1).
With respect to Claim 29, Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 2, the thin film transistor (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072], of Hua), the first electrode (one of 11, Figure 4, of Hua), the second electrode (second of 11, Figure 4, of Hua), and the electrophoresis layer (9, Figure 2, of Hua).
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee fail to teach a semiconductor part of the thin film transistor.
Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee teach the electrophoretic display and Ohnuma teaches a semiconductor film that can be used in the display.
Ohnuma teaches wherein the first electrode (AD, Figure 1) and the second electrode (GC1, Figure 1)
Ohnuma teaches an area of a semiconductor part (amorphous region, ¶[0073]) of the thin film transistor (TFT, 1601, Figure 18; see also ¶[0073] and [0084]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee having the display with the teachings of Ohnuma having a semiconductor part of the thin film transistor and further modifying Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee having the first electrode and the second electrode between a semiconductor part of the thin film transistor and the electrophoresis layer for the purpose of reducing other elements of the display while still displaying electrical characteristics, ¶[0085].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to Claim 3, though Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) and Lee (US 2016/0372497 A1) disclose “the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 2, the first electrode and the second electrode of the storage capacitor” Hua in view of Yamazaki and Lee fail to teach or suggest “wherein the first electrode and the second electrode of the storage capacitor overlap each other in a projection direction, and their overlapping area is not less than 30% of a pixel area.”
With respect to Claim 5, though Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) teach “the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1,” Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach or suggest “wherein, an overlapping area of the thin film transistor and the gate line is not less than 20 µm2.”
With respect to Claim 6, though Hua (CN216052547U) in view of Yamazaki (US 2011/0115774 A1) teach “the electrophoretic display with the transparent control electrode of claim 1,” Hua in view of Yamazaki fail to teach or suggest “wherein, an overlapping area of the thin film transistor (display substrate further includes a thin film transistor, ¶[0072]) and the data line is not less than 5 µm2.”
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BRANDI N THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872