DETAILED ACTION
The papers submitted on 08 July 2025, amending claims 11, 14, and adding claim 15, are acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant specification includes numerous section headings which are unconventional in US practice, such as: TECHNICAL FIELD, BACKGROUND ART, CITATION LIST, Patent Literature, Technical Problem, Solution to Problem, Advantageous Effects of Invention, DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS, CONCLUSION, OTHER EMBODIMENTS, Aspects of the Present Invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, it may be omitted or the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuzuki et al. (US 9,943,990 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuzuki discloses a shape forming system 10, equated with the claimed pressurization system, for executing a pressurization process for a to-be-formed material 1 or the shaped product 2, equated with the claimed workpiece, and a related process related to the pressurization process (title/abstract, 3:4+; FIG. 1-3), the pressurization system comprising:
a plurality of units 30, 40, 50, and 60, equated with the claimed execution areas, in which any one of a plurality of processes including the pressurization process 40 and the related process 30, 50, or 60 is executed (FIG. 1-3; 3:56+); and
a mold assembly 20, equated with the claimed chamber unit, configured to accommodate the workpiece 2(1) and conveyed through the plurality of execution areas 30, 40, 50, 60 (FIG. 1, 4; 3:65+), wherein
the plurality of execution areas 30, 40, 50, 60 is disposed according to an order in which the processes are executed, and
the chamber unit 20 includes
an upper mold 21, equated with the claimed ceiling portion, disposed above the workpiece 2(1) and configured to function as an upper pressurizing unit that pressurizes the workpiece from above in the pressurization process 40 (FIG. 4-5; 3:65+),
a die plate 24 and lower mold 22, equated with the claimed floor portion, disposed below the workpiece 2(1) and configured to function as a lower pressurizing unit that pressurizes the workpiece from below in the pressurization process, and
a sleeve 23, equated with the claimed peripheral wall portion, disposed in such a way as to surround an entire perimeter of the workpiece 2(1) and configured to define, together with the ceiling portion and the floor portion, an accommodating chamber in which the workpiece is accommodated (FIG. 1, 5; 3:65+).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuzuki discloses the chamber unit 20 passes through an upper space in the execution areas 30, 40, 50, 60 and is conveyed through the execution areas (FIG. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuzuki discloses the ceiling portion 21 is vertically movable relative to the floor portion 22 (FIG. 10-13; 7:8+).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuzuki discloses pressing units 40, equated with the claimed pressurization device, disposed in a pressurization area where the pressurization process is executed and configured to execute the pressurization process,
the execution area includes the pressurization area, and
the pressurization device 40 includes a lower press shaft 42, equated pressurizing unit, configured to abut on the floor portion 22/24 by being raised from below the chamber unit 20 in the pressurization process and configured to function as the lower pressurizing unit (FIG. 4-5, 10-13; 7:8+).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuzuki discloses the floor portion 22 is attachable to and detachable from the peripheral wall portion 23 (4:8+),
the plurality of execution areas includes
a load lock chamber 92, equated with the claimed accommodating area. where an accommodation process is executed as the related process, the accommodation process in which the floor unit 22/24 on which the workpiece is placed is attached to the peripheral wall 23 portion, thereby accommodating the workpiece in the chamber unit 20, and
a load lock chamber 82, equated with the claimed removal area, where a removal process is executed as the related process, the removal process in which the floor portion 24 on which the pressurized workpiece is placed is removed from the peripheral wall 23 portion, thereby removing the workpiece from the chamber unit 20, and
the floor unit 24 is configured to function as a conveyor pallet that loads the workpiece into the accommodating area and unloads the pressurized workpiece from the removal area (FIG. 2, 14; 9:21+, 12:21+).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuzuki discloses a carry-in 80 and carry-out 90 unit, equated with the maintenance area, disposed between the accommodation area and the removal area, the maintenance area in which a maintenance process of the chamber unit from which the floor portion is removed is executed (FIG. 2, 14; 8:66+, 12:21+).
Regarding claim 10, Matsuzuki discloses:
infrared lamps 45, equated with the claimed heating units, disposed in a pressurization area 40 where the pressurization process is executed and configured to heat the workpiece 2(1) (FIG. 2, 4, 10-13; 7:50+); and
heating units 30, equated with the claimed preheating units, configured to preheat the workpiece and/or a cooling unit 50, 60 configured to cool the workpiece after the pressurization, wherein (FIG. 2, 4, 6-9; 5:24+);
the plurality of execution areas includes a preheating area 30 in which the preheating unit is disposed and a preheating process for the workpiece is executed as the related process (FIG. 2; 5:24+) and/or a cooling area 50, 60 in which the cooling unit is disposed and a cooling process for the workpiece after the pressurization is executed as the related process (FIG. 2; 12:1+) , and
the preheating unit 30 abuts, when the preheating process is executed, on the floor portion by being raised from below the chamber unit in the preheating area (FIG. 2), and/or the cooling unit 50, 60 abuts, when the cooling process is executed, on the floor portion by being raised from below the chamber unit in the cooling area (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Matsuzuki suggests a plurality of the chamber units 20, wherein the plurality of chamber units is equal in number to or less than the plurality of execution areas.
Regarding claim 12, Matsuzuki suggests the plurality of execution areas is disposed annularly according to an order in which the processes are executed, and each of the plurality of chamber units is conveyed in such a way as to make a circuit through the plurality of execution areas (FIG. 15; 14:23+).
Regarding claim 13, Matsuzuki suggests a rotary table, equated with the claimed direction changing mechanism, configured to change a moving direction of the chamber unit in such a way that an orientation of the chamber unit in the moving direction of the chamber unit is always identical, wherein the plurality of execution areas includes a direction changing area in which the direction changing mechanism is disposed (FIG. 15; 14:23+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzuki et al. (US 9,943,990 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Mori et al. (US 2019/0139769 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuzuki does not appear to expressly disclose the flexible pad.
However, Mori discloses a similar pressurizing device (title/abstract) in which the upper mold includes a flexible pad which deforms to the shape of the workpiece (¶ 28).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Matsuzuki to include the flexible pad of Mori, in order to better transfer pressure to the workpiece so that not only the upper surface but also the sides of the workpiece are pressurized (Mori ¶ 28).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuzuki discloses an atmosphere in the accommodating chamber is a depressurized atmosphere (3:44+).
Matsuzuki does not appear to expressly discloses the internal pressure in the accommodating chamber is lower than an external pressure in outer space of the chamber unit, and
the floor portion is disposed below the peripheral wall portion and is attached to the peripheral wall portion by a pressure difference between the internal pressure and the external pressure.
However, Mori discloses a similar pressurizing device (title/abstract) in which the internal pressure in the accommodating chamber is lower than an external pressure in outer space of the chamber unit, and
the floor portion is disposed below the peripheral wall portion and is attached to the peripheral wall portion by a pressure difference between the internal pressure and the external pressure (¶ 46-47).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Matsuzuki to include the vacuum within the only accommodating chamber of Mori, in order to lower the vacuum volume or inert volume.
Regarding claim 7, Mori discloses an atmosphere in the accommodating chamber is a gas atmosphere where gas is filled in such a way as to equalize an internal pressure in the accommodating chamber with an external pressure in outer space of the chamber unit, and
the chamber unit includes a fixing member configured to fix the floor portion to the peripheral wall portion (¶¶ 49-51; FIG. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the independent claims, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper. Specifically, the closest prior does not teach or suggest a plurality of fixed gas/vacuum line connectors and that the chamber includes:
“a movable connector that is attachable to and detachable from the fixed connector and
a through path configured to communicate the accommodating chamber with the movable connector,
when the chamber unit is located in the execution areas in which the fixed connectors are disposed, the movable connector is connected to the fixed connector and the accommodating chamber is able to communicate with the pressure reducing line or the gas line[.]”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura; Shoji et al.
US 5188652 A
Similar prior art device
MATSUI HISAAKI
JP H09219387 A
Low pressure chamber of the prior art
NAKATSUKA, SATOSHI et al.
CN 119795654 A
Applicant related co-pending foreign application
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742