DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 5, 9-10, 12-13, the limitations “fourth pad”, “fourth wire”, “fifth pad”, and “fifth wire” were introduced. As there was no “third pad” or “third wire” introduced, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-4, 6-8, 11, are rejected due to being dependent on claim 2 which was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda et al. (JP 6817777 B2) hereinafter referred to as “Okuda” in view of Sugimoto (JP 2009293986 A)
Regarding claim 1, Okuda teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a third lead (Fig. 2, element 21; ¶: [0013]) including a base that includes a first surface (Fig. 4, element 111; ¶: [0016]) facing a first side in a thickness direction; a semiconductor element (Fig. 2, element 11; ¶: [0013]) mounted on the first surface; a plurality of wires (Fig. 32, element 31; ¶: [0013]) each having one end connected to the semiconductor element; and a sealing resin (Fig. 2, element 6; ¶: [0013]) covering the semiconductor element, and a portion of the third lead, and the plurality of wires, wherein the third lead includes a third terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 212; ¶: [0020]) connected to the base, the semiconductor element includes an element obverse surface (Fig. 4, element 111; ¶: [0016]) facing the first side in the thickness direction and a first electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016a]) arranged on the element obverse surface. Okuda does not teach a first lead including a first pad portion, and a first terminal portion connected to the first pad portion, a second lead including a second pad portion, and a second terminal portion connected to the second pad portion, the first and second leads being used to measure a temperature as well as the plurality of wires including a first wire and a second wire that are made of metals having different thermoelectric powers, and the first wire being connected to the first electrode and the first pad portion, and the second wire is connected to the first electrode and the second pad portion.
Sugimoto teaches a first lead (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008]) including a first pad portion (Fig. 3, element 41; ¶: [0012]), and a first terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008]) connected to the first pad portion, a second lead (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008]) including a second pad portion (Fig. 3, element 42; ¶: [0012]), and a second terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008]) connected to the second pad portion, the first and second leads being used to measure a temperature as well as the plurality of wires including a first wire (Fig. 3, element 22; ¶: [0012]) and a second wire (Fig. 3, element 32; ¶: [0012]) that are made of metals having different thermoelectric powers, and the first wire being connected to a first electrode (Fig. 3, element 13; ¶: [0007]) and the first pad portion, and the second wire is connected to the first electrode and the second pad portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the wires made of metals with different thermoelectric powers as well as having the first and second leads measure temperature in order to create a semiconductor device that detects the temperature of a heating element accurately (¶: [0003]; lines 40-41).
Regarding claim 2, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1 as well as a fourth lead (Fig. 2, element 23; ¶: [0013]) including a fourth pad portion (Fig. 2, element 231; ¶: [0025]) and a fourth terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 232 ; ¶: [0025]) connected to the fourth pad portion, wherein the plurality of wires include a fourth wire (Fig. 2, element 32; ¶: [0013]) connected to the semiconductor element and the fourth pad portion, wherein the third terminal portion, and the fourth terminal portion are arranged on a first side or a second side in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction relative to the base. Okuda does not teach the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion arranged on a first side or a second side in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction relative to the base.
Sugimoto teaches the first terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008]) and the second terminal (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008]) portion arranged on a first side or a second side in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction relative to the base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second terminals in this arrangement in order to form a thermocouple that detects the temperature. (¶: [0010]; lines 5-11)
Regarding claim 3, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2 as well as the third terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 212; ¶: [0020]), and the fourth terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 232; ¶: [0025]) extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. Okuda does not teach the first terminal portion, the second terminal portion extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction and one of the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion being located at an outermost position in the second direction.
Sugimoto teaches the first terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008-0010]), the second terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008-0010]) extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction and one of the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion being located at an outermost position in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second terminals in this arrangement in order to form a thermocouple that detects the temperature. (¶: [0010]; lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 4, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3. Okuda does not teach the first terminal portion and the second terminal portion being adjacent to each other in the second direction.
Sugimoto teaches the first terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008-0010]) and the second terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008-0010]) being adjacent to each other in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second terminals in this arrangement in order to form a thermocouple that detects the temperature. (¶: [0010]; lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 6, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3. Okuda further teaches the semiconductor element being a switching element (Fig. 4, element 11; ¶: [0014]) including a drain electrode (Fig. 4, element 112a; ¶: [0018]), a gate electrode (Fig. 4, element 111b; ¶: [0016]), and a source electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016]).
Regarding claim 7, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 6. Okuda further teaches the first electrode being the source electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7. Okuda further teaches the semiconductor element (Fig. 4, element 11; ¶: [0014]) including an element reverse surface (Fig. 4, element 112; ¶: [0016]) facing a second side in the thickness direction, the gate electrode (Fig. 4, element 111b; ¶: [0016]) being arranged on the element obverse surface (Fig. 4, element 211a; ¶: [0020]), and the drain electrode (Fig. 4, element 112a; ¶: [0018]) being arranged on the element reverse surface.
Regarding claim 9, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 8. Okuda further teaches a fifth lead (Fig. 2, element 22; ¶: [0019]) including a fifth pad portion (Fig. 2, element 221; ¶: [0023]) and a fifth terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 222; ¶: [0023]) connected to the fifth pad portion, wherein the plurality of wires include a fifth wire (Fig. 2, element 31; ¶: [0016]), the third terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 222; ¶: [0023]) is electrically connected to the drain electrode (Fig. 4, element 112a; ¶: [0018]), the fourth wire (Fig. 2, element 32; ¶: [0016]) is connected to the gate electrode (Fig. 4, element 111b; ¶: [0016]) and the fourth pad portion, and the fifth wire is connected to the source electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016]) and the fifth pad portion.
Regarding claim 11, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2 as well as semiconductor element being a switching element (Fig. 4, element 11; ¶: [0014]) including a drain electrode (Fig. 4, element 112a; ¶: [0018]), a gate electrode (Fig. 4, element 111b; ¶: [0016]), and a source electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016]), the semiconductor element including an element reverse surface (Fig. 4, element 112; ¶: [0016]) facing a second side in the thickness direction, the first electrode being the source electrode, the gate electrode being arranged on the element obverse surface (Fig. 4, element 211a; ¶: [0020]), the drain electrode being arranged on the element reverse surface, the base including a mounting surface (Fig. 4, element 52; ¶: [0013]) facing the second side in the thickness direction and exposed from the sealing resin (Fig. 4, element 6; ¶: [0013]), the third terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 212; ¶: [0020]) being electrically connected to the drain electrode, the fourth terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 232; ¶: [0025]) extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and the third terminal portion being arranged on the second side in the first direction relative to the base. Okuda does not teach the first terminal portion, the second terminal portion, extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and being located at an outermost position in the second position.
Sugimoto teaches the first terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008]), the second terminal portion (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008]), extending to the first side in the first direction relative to the base and being located at an outermost position in the second position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first and second terminals in this arrangement in order to form a thermocouple that detects the temperature. (¶: [0010]; lines 5-11).
Regarding claim 12, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 11. Okuda further teaches a fifth lead (Fig. 2, element 22; ¶: [0019]) including a fifth pad portion (Fig. 2, element 221; ¶: [0023]) and a fifth terminal portion (Fig. 2, element 222; ¶: [0023]) connected to the fifth pad portion, wherein the plurality of wires include a fifth wire (Fig. 2, element 31; ¶: [0016]), the fifth terminal portion is arranged on the first side in the first direction relative to the base, and is spaced apart from the fourth terminal portion in the second direction, the fourth wire is connected to the gate electrode and the fourth pad portion, and the fifth wire is connected to the source electrode (Fig. 4, element 111a; ¶: [0016]) and the fifth pad portion.
Regarding claim 14, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1. Okuda does not teach the first wire and the first electrode being made of a same metal material.
Sugimoto teaches the first wire (Fig. 3, element 22, 20; ¶: [0012]) and the first electrode (Fig. 3, element 13; ¶: [0007, 0009]) being made of a same metal material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have them be the same material in order for the thermocouple to more easily detect the temperature of the heat generating element (¶: [0010]; lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 15, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1. Okuda does not teach the first wire and the first lead being made of a same metal material, and the second wire and the second lead being made of a same metal material.
Sugimoto teaches the first wire (Fig. 3, element 22, 20; ¶: [0012]) and the first lead (Fig. 3, element 15; ¶: [0008]) being made of a same metal material, and the second wire (Fig. 3, element 32; ¶: [0012]) and the second lead (Fig. 3, element 16; ¶: [0008]) being made of a same metal material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have them be the same material in order for the thermocouple to more easily detect the temperature of the heat generating element (¶: [0010]; lines 12-15).
Claims 5, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda in view of Sugimoto and further in view of Hirata et al. (US 20200365496 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Hirata”
Regarding claim 5, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3. Neither Okuda nor Sugimoto teach the first pad portion, the second pad portion, and the fourth pad portion being arranged at an end of the first lead, an end of the second lead, and an end of the fourth lead on the second side in the first direction, respectively, and the first pad portion and the second pad portion being offset from the fourth pad portion to the first side in the first direction.
Hirata teaches the first pad portion (Fig. 8, element 21; ¶: [0045]), the second pad portion (Fig. 8, element 12; ¶: [0036]), and the fourth pad portion (Fig. 8, element 41; ¶: [0044]) being arranged at an end of the first lead (Fig. 8, element 2; ¶: [0044]), an end of the second lead (Fig. 8, element 1; ¶: [0036]), and an end of the fourth lead (Fig. 8, element 4; ¶: [0044]) on the second side in the first direction, respectively, and the first pad portion (Fig. 8, element 21; ¶: [0021]) and the second pad portion (Fig. 8, element 12; ¶: [0036]) being offset from the fourth pad portion (Fig. 8, element 41; ¶: [0044]) to the first side in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to offset one of the leads so that they could be set at different heights (¶: [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device of claim 8 as well as the plurality of wires including a fifth wire, the third terminal portion being electrically connected to the drain electrode, the fourth wire being connected to the gate electrode and the fourth pad portion, and the fifth wire being connected to the source electrode. Neither Okuda nor Sugimoto teach the fifth wire being connected to the first pad portion.
Hirata teaches the fifth wire (Fig. 8, element 93; ¶: [0037. 0056]) connected to the first pad portion (Fig. 8, element 21; ¶: [0037, 0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the wires this way so as to not cause any overlap with other elements of the device. (¶: [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Okuda in view of Sugimoto teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 11 as well as the plurality of wires including a fifth wire, the fourth wire being connected to the gate electrode and the fourth pad portion, and the fifth wire being connected to the source electrode. Neither Okuda nor Sugimoto teach a fifth wire being connected to the first pad portion.
Hirata teaches a fifth wire (Fig. 8, element 93; ¶: [0037, 0056]) connected to the first pad portion (Fig. 8, element 21; ¶: [0037, 0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the wires this way so as to not cause any overlap with other elements of the device. (¶: [0056]).
Conclusion
/I.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899