DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 27 August 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2011/011124 to Schellekens et al. (“Schellekens”) with M-EU336B Eastman AdvantisTM 510W Chlorine-Free Waterborne Adhesion Promoter; Eastman; June 2009 (“Eastman I”) serving as evidence as to the composition of Advantis 510W.
With regard to Claims 17 and 20, Schellekens teaches a method of preparing a primed substrate comprising applying an aqueous primer composition via conventional printing techniques such as flexographic printing and gravure printing, and drying (see Abstract; ¶ [0155]). Schellekens teaches the claimed types of substrates (see ¶ [0155]). According to Schellekens, the primer compositions comprise crosslinkers, pigment, and Advantis 510W as an adhesion promoter (see ¶¶ [0152], [0155], [0162], [0174]).
Eastman I describes a waterborne composition suitable as a primer constituent comprising a maleated polyolefin type adhesion promoter (AdvantisTM 510W) that does not contain a non-oxidized, non-maleated, non-chlorinated, crystalline polyolefin (see Pgs. 1-3; compare with Instant Specification at ¶¶ [0029]-[0030]). Eastman I expressly indicates formulations comprising up to 40% of the maleated polyolefin type adhesion promoter (see Results at Pg. 2). Eastman I also discloses usage of the polyolefin type adhesion promoter as a wash primer (see Pgs. 1-3). Per Eastman I, the polyolefin type adhesion promoter typically features 24% solids and wash primer formulations feature the polyolefin type adhesion promoter thinned down to 10% solids, thus implying primer formulations comprising ~42% polyolefin type adhesion promoter and a balance of thinner (Compare Table at Pg. 3 with Footnote, Pg. 2).
Accordingly, Eastman I describes the features of the composition included in the water-based primer of Claim 1. To the extent that water content is not expressly addressed by the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed water as a thinning agent for production of wash primer formulations since the maleated polyolefin adhesion promoter is waterborne.
With regard to Claims 18-19 Eastman I teaches the maleated polyolefin type adhesion promoter is free of all halogens (specifically mentioning Chlorine) and APEO (see Pg. 1).
With regard to Claim 21, Schellekens teaches applying an ink on the primed substrate (see ¶ [0249]). To the extent the reference does not expressly teach printing said ink, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used any conventional printing technique, including those indicated for use for applying the primer composition, with a reasonable expectation of success. Similarly, allowing ink to dry after printing is considered a known conventional step in the art.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715