DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In remark, page 1, Applicant argues: Beliveau fails to disclose "wherein said first prosthetic layer at least partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user".
Beliveau or Cronk discloses a similar structure/apparatus/device as claimed in applicant’s claim 1 invention. Two similar structures/devices must yield the same result. Therefore, the apparatus/device/structure of Beliveau inherently yields the same result as that of Applicant’s claim 1 device that is “partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user”.
If applicant think that Beliveau’s device does not result in partially obscures a field of view, then application’s claim 1 doesn’t work either or Applicant’s claim 1 device must be missing a distinguishing feature that differentiates from Beliveau and Cronk’s device. Or applicant’s claim 1 attempts to define the subject matter in terms of the result to be achieved (i.e., partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user), but in so doing merely states the underlying problem, without indicating the technical features necessary for achieving this result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beliveau (US 20120036608 A1 of record).
Regarding claim 1, Beliveau discloses , in figure 12, a nasal prosthetic or the like comprising: a first prosthetic layer (figure 12) having a first thickness, a front side, and a back side; and
an adhesive layer (adhesive strip 1215) disposed on the back side of the first prosthetic layer; wherein the nasal prosthetic is configured to be worn against a nasal bridge of a user with the back side of the nasal prosthetic facing the nasal bridge of the user (Abstract, Summary, “…covers the bridge and sides of a user's nose”, par.[0034]).
wherein when the nasal prosthetic is worn, the adhesive layer secures the first prosthetic layer to the nasal prosthetic; and wherein the first prosthetic layer at least partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user (Beliveau discloses the same structure of claim 1 application; therefore, Beliveau device eventually yields the same result that is partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user (if applicant think that Beliveau’s structure device will not yield the same result, then application’s claim 1 must be missing a critical features).
Regarding claim 2, Beliveau discloses the nasal prosthetic of claim 1. Beliveau further discloses wherein the first prosthetic layer extends along a dorsum nasi of the user when the nasal prosthetic is worn (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 4, Beliveau discloses the nasal prosthetic of claim 1. Beliveau further discloses wherein the second prosthetic layer (i.e., layer 120 or 130)(figure 1) extends along the nasal bridge when the nasal prosthetic is worn, such that the first prosthetic layer (i.e., 110)(figure 1) is between the nasal bridge and the second prosthetic layer (i.e., layer 120 or 130)(figure 1).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cronk et al. (US 20010032645 A1 hereinafter Cronk or record).
Regarding claim 1, Cronk discloses, in figure 12, nasal prosthetic (100) or the like comprising: a first prosthetic layer (layer 30)(figures 2 and 3) having a first thickness, a front side, and a back side; and
an adhesive layer (layer 32) disposed on the back side of the first prosthetic layer; wherein the nasal prosthetic is configured to be worn against a nasal bridge of a user with the back side of the nasal prosthetic facing the nasal bridge of the user (“ … to comfortably fit across a bridge of a nose”, par.[0021], [0047]).
wherein when the nasal prosthetic is worn, the adhesive layer secures the first prosthetic layer to the nasal prosthetic; and wherein the first prosthetic layer at least partially obscures a field of view of a left eye or a right eye of the user (inherent from Cronk device since both Cronk and Claim 1 invention disclose similar device).
Regarding claim 3, Cronk discloses the nasal prosthetic of claim 1. Cronk further discloses a second prosthetic layer (i.e., layer 60 or 40)(figure 3) disposed against the first prosthetic layer (30)(figure 3).
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872