DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-13 and 15-23 are currently pending, claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-13, 15-22 are currently amended and claim 23 is new.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amended claims, filed on 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1, 20, 21 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s amendments overcome the previous prior art rejection. However, the claims are now rejected in view of newly found prior art reference KARANIKOS et al. (US 2022/0094202 A1). Please see new grounds of rejection below which address the newly added limitations of ferrite backings positioned within recesses pockets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAHUM (US 2021/0218277 A1, hereinafter NAHUM) in view of MATSUMOTO (US 2019/0292093 A1, hereinafter MATSUMOTO) and in further view of KARANIKOS et al. (US 2022/0094202 A1).
Regarding claim 21, NAHUM discloses an accessory device for coupling to a mobile electronic device, the accessory device comprising:
a receiving platform having a relay receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses an accessory device 100, comprising a receiving platform 110 [Par.25, lower portion] comprising a receiving coil 102), the relay receiver coil configured in proximity to a primary transmitter coil of a wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power from the primary transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10);
a transmitting platform having a relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses an outer surface portion 113 [Par.25, outer surface portion] for supporting a charge receiving device 10, the platform comprising a relay transmitter coil 104), the relay transmitter coil configured in proximity to a primary receiver coil of the mobile electronic device to wirelessly transmit power to the primary receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10);
a conductor coupled between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform and electrically coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil, (See Fig.2 and Par.26, disclose a bridge 106 comprising an electrical path coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil), wherein the receiving platform and the transmitting platform are movably connected via a hinge so that the receiving platform and transmitting platform may rotate angularly relative to each other (See Par.27, discloses the wallet may be a bi-fold comprising a flexible connecting portion 114, such that the receiving platform 110 with the transmitting platform 113 in a rotatable fashion), and wherein the conductor is routed through the hinge and allows received power from the relay receiver coil to be transmitted to the relay transmitter coil when the receiving platform and the transmitting platform are at any angle relative to each other (The examiner explains that in case of using a bi-fold wallet, the conductor is routed through the flexible hinge of the wallet attaching the first part of the wallet to the second part and if the bi-fold is opened/unfolded on a horizontal surface, the accessory device routes power from a source device to a destination device while the devices at 180 degree angle from one another); and
a container space positioned between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform, the container space having a thickness that would affect wireless power transfer efficiency (See Par.27, discloses the housing 108 is that of an accessory such as a wallet comprising storage space 122. Par.23 discloses the storage space can be used for storing credit cards. Par.3 discloses that the energy transfer effectiveness is impacted by material and space between coils of the charging station and the electronic device).
However, NAHUM does not disclose one more adjustable capacitors connected to the relay transmitter coil, and one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device or wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
MATSUMOTO teaches a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device (See Fig.4A, Item#402 and Par.51-52, disclose an adjustable capacitor connected to the transmitting coil , the adjustable capacitor is controlled to such that the resonant frequency matches that of the power receiving apparatus).
NAHUM and MATSUMOTO are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM with the teachings of MATSUMOTO by adding the adjustable capacitor to the transmitting coil of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the wireless charging efficiency by matching the resonant frequency of the wireless power relay transmitting coil to that of the receiving coil of the operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
However, NAHUM and MATSUMOTO do not disclose wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
KARANIKOS discloses a wireless charger comprising ferrite backings, wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on charger platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil (See Fig.35 and Par.155, disclose a shield 3532 which fits in groove in bottom enclosure 3550).
NAHUM, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM and MATSUMOTO with the teachings of KARANIKOS by adding a pocket for nesting the ferrite backing and the coil for the benefit of providing a modular structure for receiving the ferrite backing and coil while allowing them to be replaced in case of being damaged.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 12-13, 16-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAHUM (US 2021/0218277 A1, hereinafter NAHUM) in view of MORA et al. (US 2023/0261520 A1, hereinafter) and MATSUMOTO (US 2019/0292093 A1, hereinafter MATSUMOTO) and in further view of KARANIKOS et al. (US 2022/0094202 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAHUM discloses an accessory device for coupling to a mobile electronic device, the accessory device comprising:
a first side for coupling to a wireless power transmitter via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector (See Fig.2, Item#113 and Fig.4 and Par.33 disclose an adhesive for securing the accessory device platform 170 to electronic device 10.);
a second side for coupling to the mobile electronic device (See Figs.2 and 4, disclose lower surface 111/110 which couples to a wireless charger 20);
an accessory device integrated with the accessory device (See Fig.2, discloses a wireless power relay device comprising receiving coil 102 and wireless power transmitting coil 104 and bridge 106), the accessory device comprising:
a receiving platform having a relay receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses an accessory device 100, comprising a receiving platform 110 [Par.25, lower portion] comprising a receiving coil 102), the receiving platform being on the first side of the accessory device, the relay receiver coil configured in proximity to a primary transmitter coil of the wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power from the primary transmitter coil (See Fig.2, and Par.24, disclose a relay receiver coil 102 in proximity to primary transmitter coil 22 of wireless power transmitter 20);
a transmitting platform having a relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses an outer surface portion 113 [Par.25] for supporting a charge receiving device 10, the platform comprising a relay transmitter coil 104), the transmitting platform being on the second side of the accessory device, the relay transmitter coil configured in proximity to a primary receiver coil of the mobile electronic device to wirelessly transmit power to the primary receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10);
a conductor coupled between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform and electrically coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2 and Par.26, disclose a bridge 106 comprising an electrical path coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil), and wherein the conductor is routed through the hinge and allows received power from the relay receiver coil to be transmitted to the relay transmitter coil when the receiving platform and the transmitting platform are at any angle relative to each other (See Par.27, discloses the wallet may be a bi-fold comprising a flexible connecting portion 114, such that the receiving platform 110 with the transmitting platform 113 in a rotatable fashion); and
one or more ferrite backings coupled to the receiving platform and the transmitting platform (See NAHUM, Fig.2, Item#131 and Par.26, disclose shielding comprising ferrite, the shielding is coupled to both the receiving platform and the transmitting platform), the one or more ferrite backings configured to shield a magnetic field generated by the primary transmitter coil beyond the relay receiver coil (See NAHUM, Par.6, discloses the shielding shield the storage compartment [magnetic field does not extend beyond the relay receiver coil]).
However, NAHUM does not disclose the second side is coupled to the electronic device via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector, one or more adjustable capacitors connected to the relay transmitter coil, or one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device, or wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
MORA discloses a wallet for facilitating charging of a mobile electronic device, the wallet further comprising a second side is coupled to the electronic device via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector (See Fig.11, and Par.53, disclose a wallet 1100 comprising a magnetic array 1132 and a magnet 1134 to align the wallet 1100 to the mobile device 1102).
NAHUM and MORA are analogous art since they both deal with accessories that facilitate wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM with the teachings of MORA by adding the magnets to the second side of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the charging transfer efficiency by securing the accessory device to the wireless power transmitter device in a properly aligned position.
However, NAHUM and MORA do not disclose one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
MATSUMOTO teaches a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device (See Fig.4A, Item#402 and Par.51-52, disclose an adjustable capacitor connected to the transmitting coil , the adjustable capacitor is controlled to such that the resonant frequency matches that of the power receiving apparatus).
NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM and MORA with the teachings of MATSUMOTO by adding the adjustable capacitor to the transmitting coil of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the wireless charging efficiency by matching the resonant frequency of the wireless power relay transmitting coil to that of the receiving coil of the operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
However, NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO do not disclose wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
KARANIKOS discloses a wireless charger comprising ferrite backings, wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on charger platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil (See Fig.35 and Par.155, disclose a shield 3532 which fits in groove in bottom enclosure 3550).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO with the teachings of KARANIKOS by adding a pocket for nesting the ferrite backing and the coil for the benefit of providing a modular structure for receiving the ferrite backing and coil while allowing them to be replaced in case of being damaged.
Regarding claim 2, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil are spaced apart by a distance that would affect wireless power transfer efficiency (See NAHUM, Par.3, discloses that energy transfer effectiveness is influenced by material and space between the coils of the charging station and the electronic device, it is inherent that placing an accessory between transmitting coil and receiving coil affects the charging efficiency, NAHUM discloses a relay structure to overcome the loss in efficiency).
Regarding claim 3, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the wireless power transfer relay of Claim 2 as discussed above, However, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS not explicitly disclose wherein the distance is greater than a maximum allowable distance for wireless charging.
However, the examiner explains that NAHUM discloses an accessory comprising a relay receiving coil and a relay transmitting coil spaced apart from one another to form a storge space of a wallet, and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS by adjusting the space between the relay receiving coil and a relay transmitting coil by increasing the space between the relay receiving coil and the relay transmitting coil for the benefit of increasing the storage space inside the wallet.
Regarding claim 5, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil are configured for induction charging. (See NAHUM, Par.37, discloses charging is done via induction charging).
Regarding claim 7, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising: one or more magnet arrays coupled to one or more of the receiving platform or the transmitting platform for position alignment (See Fig.11, and Par.53, disclose a wallet 1100 comprising a magnetic array 1132 and a magnet 1134 to align the wallet 1100 to the mobile device 1102).
Regarding claim 9, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the conductor comprises one or more of a wire, a pin, or a contact (See NAHUM, Fig.6, Item#160, disclose a connecting wire between the receiving coil 102 and the transmitting coil 104, Fig.3, Item#116 and Par.26 disclose an electrical path between the relay receiving coil and the relay transmitting coil).
Regarding claim 12, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the accessory device comprises one or more of a case, a grip, or a wallet (See NAHUM, Par.27, discloses the housing 108 is that of an accessory such as a wallet comprising storage space 122. Par.23 discloses the storage space can be used for storing credit cards).
Regarding claim 13, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising:
a container space positioned between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform (See NAHUM, Fig.2, Item#122 and Par.27, disclose a storage space between the receiving platform 110 and the transmitting platform 113).
Regarding claim 16, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the transmitting platform is configured to be coupled to the mobile electronic device via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector (See NAHUM, Fig.2, and Par.29, disclose one or more walls 136 [mechanical connector] sized to engage a portable computing device to couple the housing 108 including transmitting coil 104 to electronic device receiving coil 14).
Regarding claim 17, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the receiving platform and the transmitting platform are separable from each other (See Applicant’s original specification, Par.81 discloses “the hinge 1402 may be flexible so as to allow the platforms 304 and 308 to be separated at a variable degree”, this identifies separation as a space between the relay receiver and the relay transmitter. NAHUM Fig.2, Item#100 and Par.27, disclose the upper and lower portion can be pivoted with respect to one another and the device acts as a bi-fold wallet. By opening the wallet the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil are separated “separable” from one another. NAHUM as modified by VICK to include the hinge as applied to claim 1 also discloses the hinge providing angular separation between the receiving platform and wireless power transmitting platform 14 and 20 [See Par.44]).
Regarding claim 18, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil are spaced apart in an axial direction (See NAHUM, Fig.2, discloses relay receiver coil 102 and relay transmitter coil 104 are spaced apart in a vertical axis direction).
Regarding claim 19, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil are spaced apart in a transverse direction (See NAHUM, Fig.2 and Par.27, discloses relay receiver coil 102 and relay transmitter coil 104 are spaced apart in a transverse direction, bi-fold wallet also allows the receiving and transmitting sides to be spaced apart in a traverse direction).
Regarding claim 20, NAHUM discloses an accessory device for coupling to a mobile electronic device, the accessory device comprising:
a receiving platform having a relay receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses an accessory device 100, comprising a receiving platform 110 [Par.25, lower portion] comprising a receiving coil 102), the relay receiver coil configured in proximity to a primary transmitter coil of a wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power from the primary transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10);
a transmitting platform having a relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses an outer surface portion 113 [Par.25, outer surface portion] for supporting a charge receiving device 10, the platform comprising a relay transmitter coil 104), the relay transmitter coil configured in proximity to a primary receiver coil of the mobile electronic device to wirelessly transmit power to the primary receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10);
a conductor coupled between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform and electrically coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2 and Par.26, disclose a bridge 106 comprising an electrical path coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil), wherein the receiving platform and the transmitting platform are movably connected via a hinge so that the receiving platform and transmitting platform may rotate angularly relative to each other (See Par.27, discloses the wallet may be a bi-fold comprising a flexible connecting portion 114, such that the receiving platform 110 with the transmitting platform 113 in a rotatable fashion); and
an accessory device positioned between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform, the accessory device having a thickness that would affect wireless power transfer efficiency (See Par.27, discloses the housing 108 is that of an accessory such as a wallet comprising storage space 122. Par.23 discloses the storage space can be used for storing credit cards. Par.3 discloses that the energy transfer effectiveness is impacted by material and space between coils of the charging station and the electronic device), wherein the accessory device comprises:
a first side for coupling to a wireless power transmitter via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector (See Fig.2, Item#113 and Fig.4 and Par.33 disclose an adhesive for securing the accessory device platform 170 to electronic device 10.);
a second side for coupling to the mobile electronic device (See Figs.2 and 4, disclose lower surface 111/110 which couples to a wireless charger 20);
a hinge connecting the first side and second side of the accessory device, wherein the first side and the second side are movably connected via the hinge so that the first side and the second side may rotate angularly relative to each other (See Par.27, discloses the wireless power relay device comprising a bi-fold flexible wallet, the bi-fold wallet inherently comprising a hinge part between the first side and the second side with the conductor disclosed by NAHUM between the first and the second side. The examiner explains that when the wallet is opened on a flat horizontal surface, the first electronic device comprising a source is placed at a 180 degree from a second device as the target device);
one or more ferrite backings coupled to the receiving platform and the transmitting platform (See NAHUM, Fig.2, Item#131 and Par.26, disclose shielding comprising ferrite, the shielding is coupled to both the receiving platform and the transmitting platform), the one or more ferrite backings configured to shield a magnetic field generated by the primary transmitter coil beyond the relay receiver coil (See NAHUM, Par.6, discloses the shielding shield the storage compartment [magnetic field does not extend beyond the relay receiver coil]).
However, NAHUM does not disclose the second side is coupled to the electronic device via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector or one or more adjustable capacitors connected to the relay transmitter coil, the one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device or wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
MORA discloses a wallet for facilitating charging of a mobile electronic device, the wallet further comprising a second side is coupled to the electronic device via one or more of a magnet, an adhesive, or a mechanical connector (See Fig.11, and Par.53, disclose a wallet 1100 comprising a magnetic array 1132 and a magnet 1134 to align the wallet 1100 to the mobile device 1102).
NAHUM and MORA are analogous art since they both deal with accessories that facilitate wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM with the teachings of MORA by adding the magnets to the second side of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the charging transfer efficiency by securing the accessory device to the wireless power transmitter device in a properly aligned position.
However, NAHUM and MORA do not disclose one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
MATSUMOTO teaches a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device (See Fig.4A, Item#402 and Par.51-52, disclose an adjustable capacitor connected to the transmitting coil , the adjustable capacitor is controlled to such that the resonant frequency matches that of the power receiving apparatus).
NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM and MORA with the teachings of MATSUMOTO by adding the adjustable capacitor to the transmitting coil of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the wireless charging efficiency by matching the resonant frequency of the wireless power relay transmitting coil to that of the receiving coil of the operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
However, NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO do not disclose wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
KARANIKOS discloses a wireless charger comprising ferrite backings, wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on charger platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil (See Fig.35 and Par.155, disclose a shield 3532 which fits in groove in bottom enclosure 3550).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO with the teachings of KARANIKOS by adding a pocket for nesting the ferrite backing and the coil for the benefit of providing a modular structure for receiving the ferrite backing and coil while allowing them to be replaced in case of being damaged.
Regarding claim 23, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the hinge allows the first side and the second side to rotate to approximately a 180-degree angle relative to one another, such that the first side and second side may charge on approximately the same plane (See Par.27, discloses the wireless power relay device comprising a bi-fold flexible wallet, the bi-fold wallet inherently comprising a hinge part between the first side and the second side with the conductor disclosed by NAHUM between the first and the second side. The examiner explains that when the wallet is opened on a flat horizontal surface, the first electronic device comprising a source is placed at a 180 degree from a second device as the target device).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAHUM in view of GOMA et al. (US 10,033,217, hereinafter GOMA) and MATSUMOTO and in further view of KARANIKOS.
Regarding claim 22, NAHUM discloses an accessory device for coupling to a mobile electronic device, the accessory device comprising:
a receiving platform having a relay receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses an accessory device device 100, comprising a receiving platform 110 [Par.25, lower portion] comprising a receiving coil 102), the relay receiver coil configured in proximity to a primary transmitter coil of a wireless power transmitter to wirelessly receive power from the primary transmitter coil (See Fig.2, and Par.24, disclose a relay receiver coil 102 in proximity to primary transmitter coil 22 of wireless power transmitter 20);
a transmitting platform having a relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2, discloses an outer surface portion 113 [Par.25] for supporting a charge receiving device 10, the platform comprising a relay transmitter coil 104), the relay transmitter coil configured in proximity to a primary receiver coil of the mobile electronic device to wirelessly transmit power to the primary receiver coil (See Fig.2, discloses relay transmitter coil 104 in proximity to primary receive coil 14 of mobile electronic device 10); and
a conductor which connects the receiving platform to the transmitting platform and establish an electrical connection between the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil (See Fig.2 and Par.26, disclose a bridge 106 comprising an electrical path coupling the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil),
one or more ferrite backings coupled to the receiving platform and the transmitting platform (See NAHUM, Fig.2, Item#131 and Par.26, disclose shielding comprising ferrite, the shielding is coupled to both the receiving platform and the transmitting platform), the one or more ferrite backings configured to shield a magnetic field generated by the primary transmitter coil beyond the relay receiver coil (See NAHUM, Par.6, discloses the shielding shield the storage compartment [magnetic field does not extend beyond the relay receiver coil]).
However, NAHUM does not disclose the conductor comprising a plurality of spring-loaded pins which connect the receiving platform to the transmitting platform and establish an electrical connection between the relay receiver coil and the relay transmitter coil, and one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device or wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
GOMA discloses a wireless power receiver device comprising receiving platform (See Fig. 6, disclose a wireless power relay comprising a wireless power receiving platform 102A for receiving power wirelessly from a wireless power transmitter [Fig.1, Item#1]) and a transmitting platform (See Fig.6, discloses a wireless power transmitter 102B which receives the power received wirelessly by 102A via contacts 47A, 47B and transmits the wireless power to an electronic device [Fig.8, Item#3] via connector 46 [Figs.6 and 8]),
a conductor (See Figs.6 and 7, disclose connectors 47A and 47B and Col.10, lines 7-16, disclose the conductors 47A and 47B connect the wireless transmitting platform 102B to the wireless receiving platform 102A) comprising a plurality of spring-loaded pins (See Col.10, lines 9-16, disclose spring connectors 47A-47B) which connect the receiving platform to the transmitting platform and establish an electrical connection between the receiving platform and the transmitting platform (See Col.10, discloses that 102Bis connected to 102A via conductors 47A, 47B and that power is routed to the electronic device via connector 46).
NAHUM and GOMA are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM with the teachings of GOMA by using spring-loaded pins instead of a wire conductor for the benefit of providing a wireless power receiver and a wireless power transmitter which are separable (See GOMA, Col.10, lines 7-8) to increase the compatibility of the device to work with a plurality of electronic devices (See GOMA, Col.10, lines 52-64).
However, NAHUM and GOMA do not disclose one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device or wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
MATSUMOTO teaches a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising one or more adjustable capacitors being configured to be adjusted by a microcontroller to tune a resonant frequency of the relay transmitter coil to match an operating frequency of the mobile electronic device (See Fig.4A, Item#402 and Par.51-52, disclose an adjustable capacitor connected to the transmitting coil , the adjustable capacitor is controlled to such that the resonant frequency matches that of the power receiving apparatus).
NAHUM, GOMA and MATSUMOTO are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM and GOMA with the teachings of MATSUMOTO by adding the adjustable capacitor to the transmitting coil of the accessory device for the benefit of improving the wireless charging efficiency by matching the resonant frequency of the wireless power relay transmitting coil to that of the receiving coil of the operating frequency of the mobile electronic device.
However, NAHUM, GOMA and MATSUMOTO wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on the receiving platform and transmitting platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil.
KARANIKOS discloses a wireless charger comprising ferrite backings, wherein the ferrite backings are positioned within recessed pockets on charger platform for nesting the relay transmitter coil and the relay receiver coil (See Fig.35 and Par.155, disclose a shield 3532 which fits in groove in bottom enclosure 3550).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA and MATSUMOTO with the teachings of KARANIKOS by adding a pocket for nesting the ferrite backing and the coil for the benefit of providing a modular structure for receiving the ferrite backing and coil while allowing them to be replaced in case of being damaged.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAHUM in view of MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS and in further view of GUANGPING et al. (CN 110350636, hereinafter GUANGPING).
Regarding claim 4, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, However, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS do not disclose wherein the relay receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive a maximum amount of power from the primary transmitter coil.
GUANGPING discloses a wireless power transfer relay, wherein the relay receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive a maximum amount of power from the primary transmitter coil (See Fig.2, Items: C1 and C2, disclose resonant capacitors, Par.95, discloses “, by adjusting the capacitance values of the first resonant capacitor and the second resonant capacitor of the impedance matching network circuit, the resonant frequency points corresponding to the capacitance values of the first resonant capacitor and the second resonant capacitor are made close to the operating frequency… the power transmission distance and transmission efficiency of the wireless charging system can be improved, and the line loss of the impedance network circuit is minimized”. The examiner explains that by limiting loss and maximizing efficiency, the receiver is configured to receive a maximum amount of power from the primary transmitter coil).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO, KARANIKOS and GUANGPING are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS with the teachings of GUANGPING by adding the impedance matching circuit to the relay receiver coil for the benefit of wirelessly receiving a maximum amount of power from the primary transmitter coil by improving the charging efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the accessory device of Claim 1 as discussed above, However NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS do not disclose further comprising:
a microcontroller unit connected to the relay transmitter coil, the microcontroller unit configured to monitor an operating frequency of the wireless power transmitter or the mobile electronic device.
GUANGPING discloses a wireless power transfer relay, further comprising an adjustable impedance matching circuit attached to the relay receiver coil, the impedance matching circuit is adjusted based on the operating frequency of the wireless power transmitter (See Fig.2, Items:C1, C2, Pars.66 and 92, discloses “According to the operating frequency of the wireless charging transmitting device 100, the impedance matching network circuit is adjusted. When the resonant frequency point corresponding to the capacitance value of the impedance matching network circuit approaches the operating frequency, the impedance matching network circuit reaches the optimal impedance value”. This implicitly indicates that a controller is present to monitor the wireless power transmitter operating frequency and to adjust the impedance matching network to match the operating frequency of the wireless power transmitter. The examiner further explains that MATSUMOTO discloses the adjustable capacitor and the inductance are controlled such that charging efficiency is improved).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO, KARANIKOS and GUANGPING are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS with the teachings of GUANGPING by adding the dynamic impedance matching circuit for the benefit of improving the charging efficiency (See GUANGPING, Par.95).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAHUM in view of MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS and in further view of HUANG (US 2015/0214993 A1, hereinafter HUANG).
Regarding claim 8, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO and KARANIKOS disclose the wireless power transfer relay of Claim 1 as discussed above, However, NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO, KARANIKOS do not disclose further comprising: a pair of near-field communication (NFC) relay coils configured to relay an NFC signal between the wireless power transmitter and the mobile electronic device.
HUANG discloses an accessory comprising a pair of near-field communication (NFC) relay coils configured to relay an NFC signal between the wireless power transmitter and the mobile electronic device (See Pars.14, 16 and 19-20, disclose an accessory comprising a pair of NFC antennas placed on front side and back side of the accessory, the antennas are configured to receive NFC communication from one side and relay to the other side via electrical connection and the other side then retransmits the signal. Fig.14, discloses the accessory [case comprising battery pack, as shown in Fig.1, Item#100] is placed in between an electronic device and an external power charger).
NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO, KARANIKOS and HUANG are analogous art since they all deal with mobile device accessories.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by NAHUM, MORA, MATSUMOTO, KARANIKOS with the teachings of HUANG by adding a pair of NFC relay coils to relay an NFC signal between the wireless power transmitter and the mobile electronic device for the benefit of ensuring undegraded communication between the wireless power transmitter and the mobile electronic device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859