DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 12/23/2024 and 05/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 08/27/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 03/11/2025.
Claim(s) 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 12, change “wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to” in line 1-2 to “wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to perform one of the following operations”. Change “and” in line 6 to “or”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ganesan et al. ( US 2023/0361955 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ganesan.
Regarding claim 1, Ganesan teaches: A sidelink management method (Abstract; ¶[0004]; ¶[0073]), comprising:
sending, by a first terminal device, first request information to a second terminal device via a plurality of first to-be-selected beams, wherein the first request information is used to trigger a connection to the second terminal device (¶[0004], transmitting, from a transmitter user equipment to a receiver user equipment, information indicating a plurality of reference signals. The information further indicates a plurality of beams, a plurality of panels, or a combination thereof transmitting first layer control signaling indicating target user information, resource configuration of a reference signal for receiver decoding or transmitting using a default reference signal configuration, and a time slot offset and time frequency resource for beam measurement feedback reporting for a set of user equipment devices as part of initial beam acquisition; see FIG. 5; a schematic block diagram illustrating a system for SL CSI-RS transmitted together with a discovery request message);
receiving, by the first terminal device, first feedback information from the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams, wherein the first feedback information is used to provide feedback on the first request information (¶[0004], The receiver user equipment determines the target user information, and generates and transmits: a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams; ¶[0072], The second UE 404 provides 420 feedback on a best beam or transmit CSI-RS to the first UE 402; FIG. 5, step 520; ¶[0073], The second UE 504 provides 520 feedback on a best beam or transmit CSI-RS to the first UE 502); and
determining, by the first terminal device, a first beam based on the first feedback information, wherein the first beam is one of the plurality of first to-be-selected beams ( see ¶[0067] or ¶[0073] which disclose that the feedback indicates the best beam).
Regarding claim 2, Ganesan teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the repeatedly sending, by a first terminal device, first request information to a second terminal device via a plurality of first to-be-selected beams comprises one of the following operations:
sending, by the first terminal device, the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ);
sending, by the first terminal device, the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP); or
sending, by the first terminal device, the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a PC5-signal (PC5-S) layer ( see ¶[0073] regarding PC5 message).
Regarding claim 4, Ganesan teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first request information further comprises indication information of a first to-be-selected beam carrying the first request information, and the first feedback information further comprises indication information of the first beam ( see ¶[0004], Transmitting the information indicating the plurality of reference signals includes determining to transmit: the plurality of reference signals as part of the initial beam acquisition together with a higher layer discovery request message … The receiver user equipment determines the target user information, and generates and transmits: a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; ¶[0067], The feedback from a RX UE (e.g., UE2) may include L1 reference signal received power (“RSRP”) (“L1-RSRP”) (or L1 signal to interference and noise ratio (“SINR”) (“L1-SINR”)) feedback measurement corresponding to at least one (e.g., the strongest and/or best) SL CSI-RS resource and/or beam and/or an indication of the SL CSI-RS resource and/or beam in a single reporting instance. In one example, if the RX UE feedbacks and/or reports measurements for more than one SL CSI-RS resource, the feedback report may include the indication of the SL CSI-RS resources and/or beams included in the report; ¶[0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Ganesan teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first feedback information comprises qualities of the plurality of first to-be-selected beams and a quality corresponding to the first beam is highest in the qualities of the plurality of first to-be-selected beams. ( see Ganesan ¶[0067], if the RX UE feedbacks and/or reports measurements for more than one SL CSI-RS resource, the feedback report may include the indication of the SL CSI-RS resources and/or beams included in the report. Moreover, the report may include the measurement (e.g., L1-RSRP) for the strongest beam and a differential value of measurement with respect to the strongest beam measurement for the remaining beams).
Regarding claim 11, Ganesan teaches: A sidelink management apparatus (Abstract; FIG. 2, ), comprising:
at least one processor (FIG. 2; Processor 202) ; and
a memory coupled to the at least one processor (FIG. 2; Memory 204) and configured to store executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to instruct the at least one processor to ( see ¶[0041]; ¶[0042]) :
send first request information to a second terminal device via a plurality of first to-be-selected beams, wherein the first request information is used to trigger a connection to the second terminal device (¶[0004], transmitting, from a transmitter user equipment to a receiver user equipment, information indicating a plurality of reference signals. The information further indicates a plurality of beams, a plurality of panels, or a combination thereof transmitting first layer control signaling indicating target user information, resource configuration of a reference signal for receiver decoding or transmitting using a default reference signal configuration, and a time slot offset and time frequency resource for beam measurement feedback reporting for a set of user equipment devices as part of initial beam acquisition; see FIG. 5; a schematic block diagram illustrating a system for SL CSI-RS transmitted together with a discovery request message);
receive first feedback information from the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams, wherein the first feedback information is used to provide feedback on the first request information (¶[0004], The receiver user equipment determines the target user information, and generates and transmits: a beam measurement feedback using a beam correspondence; or a reference signal indicating the plurality of beams; ¶[0072], The second UE 404 provides 420 feedback on a best beam or transmit CSI-RS to the first UE 402; FIG. 5, step 520; ¶[0073], The second UE 504 provides 520 feedback on a best beam or transmit CSI-RS to the first UE 502); and
determine a first beam based on the first feedback information, wherein the first beam is one of the plurality of first to-be-selected beams ( see ¶[0067] or ¶[0073] which disclose that the feedback indicates the best beam).
Regarding claim 12, Ganesan teaches: The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to:
send the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ);
send the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP); and
send the first request information to the second terminal device via the plurality of first to-be-selected beams by using a PC5-signal (PC5-S) layer ( see ¶[0073] regarding PC5 message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 7-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan, in view of Li et al. ( US 2022/0286184 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 3, Ganesan teaches the method according to claim 1. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending, by the first terminal device, a quantity of the plurality of first to-be-selected beams to the second terminal device.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first request information further comprises indication information of a first to-be-selected beam carrying the first request information, and the first feedback information further comprises indication information of the first beam (see Li, ¶[0063], One vehicular UE, e.g., UE1, may sweep the beams and transmit reference signal (RS) on each beam, where the RS may be an SLSS for Case 1, a sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS), or a sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) for Case 1 and/or 2; [0066], Step 2 is measuring and identifying the preferred beam or beams. UE2 monitors and measures the received RS. UE2 identifies the preferred beam(s) based on the measurement results; ¶[0067] For example, UE2 may measure the reference signal received power (RSRP), or the reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or the layer-1 signal to interference noise ratio (L1-SINR) of the received RS: ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 5, Ganesan teaches the method according to claim 1. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the first feedback information corresponds to a quality of the first beam and the quality is greater than a first threshold.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first feedback information corresponds to a quality of the first beam and the quality is greater than a first threshold (see Li, ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 7, Ganesan teaches the method according to claim 1. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending, by the first terminal device, resource indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the resource indication information indicates a dedicated resource.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, resource indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the resource indication information indicates a dedicated resource. ( see Li ¶[0125], a UE need to sense the channel and reserve the resources before the transmission. In one approach, the resources used by UE2 to transmit the response to UE1 may be reserved by UE1. When UE1 reserve the resource for beam sweeping, it may also reserve the resources for UE2 to send the response).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches: The method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first terminal device, a first reference signal to the second terminal device on the dedicated resource based on the first beam via a plurality of third to-be-selected beams (see Li, ¶[0063], One vehicular UE, e.g., UE1, may sweep the beams and transmit reference signal (RS) on each beam, where the RS may be an SLSS for Case 1, a sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS), or a sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) for Case 1 and/or 2; [0066], Step 2 is measuring and identifying the preferred beam or beams. UE2 monitors and measures the received RS. UE2 identifies the preferred beam(s) based on the measurement results; and
receiving, by the first terminal device, a measurement report from the second terminal device, wherein the measurement report indicates received quality of the first reference signal and a corresponding third to-be-selected beam (see Li ¶[0067], For example, UE2 may measure the reference signal received power (RSRP), or the reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or the layer-1 signal to interference noise ratio (L1-SINR) of the received RS: ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified).
Regarding claim 9, Ganesan teaches the method according to claim 1. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to wherein before the sending, by a first terminal device, first request information to a second terminal device via a plurality of first to-be-selected beams, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first terminal device, the plurality of first to-be-selected beams.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein before the repeatedly sending, by a first terminal device, first request information to a second terminal device via a plurality of first to-be-selected beams, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first terminal device, the plurality of first to-be-selected beams ( see Li, ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified: ¶[0069], Step 3 is indicating the identified beam(s). UE2 indicates the identified preferred beam or beam list to UE1. Based on the response provided by UE2, UE1 may form one or multiple initial beam pair links with UE2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 13, Ganesan teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to send resource indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the resource indication information indicates a dedicated resource.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: send resource indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the resource indication information indicates a dedicated resource ( see Li ¶[0125], a UE need to sense the channel and reserve the resources before the transmission. In one approach, the resources used by UE2 to transmit the response to UE1 may be reserved by UE1. When UE1 reserve the resource for beam sweeping, it may also reserve the resources for UE2 to send the response).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches: The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: send a first reference signal to the second terminal device on the dedicated resource based on the first beam via a plurality of third to-be-selected beams (see Li, ¶[0063], One vehicular UE, e.g., UE1, may sweep the beams and transmit reference signal (RS) on each beam, where the RS may be an SLSS for Case 1, a sidelink channel state information reference signal (SL-CSI-RS), or a sidelink demodulation reference signal (SL-DMRS) for Case 1 and/or 2; [0066], Step 2 is measuring and identifying the preferred beam or beams. UE2 monitors and measures the received RS. UE2 identifies the preferred beam(s) based on the measurement results); and
receive a measurement report from the second terminal device, wherein the measurement report indicates received quality of the first reference signal and a corresponding third to-be-selected beam (see Li ¶[0067], For example, UE2 may measure the reference signal received power (RSRP), or the reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or the layer-1 signal to interference noise ratio (L1-SINR) of the received RS: ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Regarding claim 15, Ganesan teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. Ganesan, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to obtain the plurality of first to-be-selected beams.
However, Li, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: obtain the plurality of first to-be-selected beams ( see Li, ¶[0068], UE2 may identify one preferred beam, e.g., the beam on which the RS having the best measurement result is transmitted. Or UE2 may identify multiple preferred beams and form a preferred beam list. The measurement result of the identified beam(s) should be higher than a threshold, e.g., Qthresh, otherwise, UE2 may claim no preferred beam is identified: ¶[0069], Step 3 is indicating the identified beam(s). UE2 indicates the identified preferred beam or beam list to UE1. Based on the response provided by UE2, UE1 may form one or multiple initial beam pair links with UE2 ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ganesan's teachings with Li's above teaching, such as limiting the beam refinement procedure to only at UE2 side, in order to reduce control signaling and processing overhead ( see ¶[0146] ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. ( US 2023/0170977 A1) discloses techniques and apparatuses for beam management based on spectral efficiency
Zhao et al. ( US 2024/0244449 A1) discloses a wireless communication method and device, capable of facilitating selection of an optimal spatial domain transmission filter between a sending terminal and a receiving terminal
Xu et al. ( US 2021/0100059 A1) discloses beam management and failure recovery for communications
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476