DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on merits.
Information disclosure statement has been filed and reviewed by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 line 1 the recited limitation “the autonomous navigation” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Armbrust et al (US 20230286565 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Armbrust teaches a system for facilitating the autonomous navigation of a utility and delivery cart comprising:
a structural frame (see at least Fig. 1A element(s) 2 20);
a controller (see at least [0092-0095]);
a plurality of navigational sensors (see at least [0102-0103]);
a portable power source (see at least [0091-0092], and [0096-0097]);
a pair of caster wheels (see at least [0078-0079] and [Figs. 6-7], wheels 14);
a pair of motorized wheels (see at least [0089-0091] and Figs. [6-7], wheels 93, 94);
the structural frame comprising a plurality of support rails (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]), and a plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]);
the plurality of shelves being positioned parallel and offset to each other (see at least [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]);
the plurality of support rails being positioned parallel to each other (see at least [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]);
the plurality of support rails being perimetrically distributed about each of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]);
each of the plurality of support rails being laterally connected to each of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 1A-1B, and 12]);
the pair of caster wheels and the pair of motorized wheels being perimetrically distributed about a base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 6-8, 12, and 25-26], wheels 14);
the pair of motorized wheels being mounted onto the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 6-8, 12, and 25-26], wheels 94, 93);
the pair of caster wheels being mounted onto the base shelf of the plurality of shelves, opposite to the pair of motorized wheels (see at least [Figs. 6-8, 12, and 25-26], caster wheels 14 and motorized wheels 93, 94);
the plurality of navigational sensors being distributed throughout the structural frame (see at least [0012], [0019], and [0101]);
the pair of motorized wheels and the plurality of navigational sensors being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and
the pair of motorized wheels, the plurality of navigational sensors, and the controller being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
With respect to claim 2, Armbrust the plurality of support rails comprising a first front rail, a second front rail, a first rear rail, and a second rear rail (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the plurality of shelves each comprising a shelf panel (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the first front rail, the second front rail, the first rear rail, and the second rear rail being positioned parallel to each other (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the first front rail, the second front rail, the first rear rail, and the second rear rail being oriented perpendicular to the shelf panel of each of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the first front rail being positioned opposite to the second front rail across each shelf panel of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the first rear rail being positioned opposite to the second rear rail across each shelf panel of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); the first front rail being positioned opposite to the first rear rail across each shelf panel of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]); and the second front rail being positioned opposite to the second rear rail across each shelf panel of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0080], [0161], and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21]).
With respect to claim 3, Armbrust discloses a plurality of rail connectors (see at least [0118] and [Figs. 1A-1B, 12, and 21], element 249); plurality of shelves each further comprising a first lengthwise rail (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]), a second lengthwise rail (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]), a first widthwise rail (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]), and a second widthwise rail (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]); the first widthwise rail being terminally connected in between the first front rail and the second front rail by a pair of rail connectors of the plurality of rail connectors (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]); the second widthwise rail being terminally connected in between the first rear rail and the second rear rail by a pair of rail connectors of the plurality of rail connectors (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]); the first lengthwise rail being terminally connected in between the first front rail and the first rear rail by a pair of rail connectors of the plurality of rail connectors (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]); and the second lengthwise rail being terminally connected in between the second front rail and the second rear rail by a pair of rail connectors of the plurality of rail connectors (see at least [0078], [Figs. 1A-1B, 6-7, 12, and 25]).
With respect to claim 4, Armbrust discloses wherein the first front rail, the second front rail, the first rear rail, the second rear rail, the first lengthwise rail, the second lengthwise rail, the first widthwise rail, and the second widthwise rail are slotted metal extrusions (see at least [0078], [0118], and [Fig. 12]), and wherein the plurality of rail connectors is a plurality of slot connectors (see at least [0118], [Fig. 12],“For the conventional metal cart 30 with wire baskets 31-33, riser holes 249 are formed proximal the top and bottom ends of the tubular risers 35 to allow cable wiring to extend from the lower tray to the upper tray in a protected manner…”).
With respect to claim 5, Armbrust discloses the pair of motorized wheels being positioned adjacent to the first widthwise rail of the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0079], and [Figs. 6-7, 12, and 25] “Two caster wheel assemblies 14 are located proximal the corners 4 of the front end 2a of the cart 2…”); and the pair of caster wheels being positioned adjacent to the second widthwise rail of the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0079], and [Figs. 6-7, 12, and 25] “Two caster wheel assemblies 14 are located proximal the corners 4 of the front end 2a of the cart 2…”).
With respect to claim 6,Armbrust discloses the plurality of support rails each comprising a first rail end and a second rail end (see at least [Figs. 12 and 25], elements 249, 69, 37]); the first rail end being positioned opposite to the second rail end along the corresponding support rail of the plurality of support rails (see at least [Figs. 12 and 25], elements 249, 69, 37]); the base shelf of the plurality of shelves being positioned adjacent to each second rail end of the plurality of support rails (see at least [Figs. 12 and 25], elements 249, 69, 37]); and the pair of motorized wheels and the pair of caster wheels being positioned opposite to each first rail end of the plurality of support rails across the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 6-7, 12, and 25]).
With respect to claim 7, Armbrust discloses the plurality of navigational sensors comprising a plurality of upper time-of-flight (TOF) sensors and a plurality of lower TOF sensors (see at least [0101] and [Figs. 6-9, 12, 17-18, and 25], elements 150); each of the plurality of upper TOF sensors being mounted onto a corresponding first rail end of the plurality of support rails (see at least [0101] and [Figs. 6-9, 12, 17-18, and 25], elements 150); and each of the plurality of lower TOF sensors being mounted onto a corresponding second rail end of the plurality of support rails (see at least [0101] and [Figs. 6-9, 12, 17-18, and 25], elements 150).
With respect to claim 8, Armbrust discloses an electronics housing (see at least [0084-0085] and [Fig. 2 element 50]); the controller and the portable power source being mounted within the electronics housing (see at least [0084-0085] and [ Figs. 2, 4, 5A-9, 12, 16A, and 21-22, power board (104] and other power source devices]); and the electronics housing being mounted onto the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [ Figs. 2, 4, 5A-9, 12, 16A, and 21-22]).
With respect to claim 9, Armbrust discloses a power switch (see at least [0110]); a charging port (see at least [0016]); at least one data port (see at least [0018], [0106], and [0138], and [0143]); the power switch, the charging port, and the at least one data port being distributed about the electronics housing (see at least [0110]); the power switch, the charging port, and the at least one data port being integrated into the electronics housing (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); the power switch and the at least one data port being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and the power switch and the charging port being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
With respect to claim 10, Armbrust discloses an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see at least [0012] and [0134]); the plurality of navigational sensors comprising at least one environmental sensor (see at least [0102-0103]); the IMU and the at least one environmental sensor being mounted within the electronics housing (see at least [0098-0100], and [Figs. 2-4, 8-9, 12, and 21-23], environmental sensor140 mounted within electronics housing 50, and also IMU showing on Fig. 23 is part of element 105 which is a digital board mounted within electronics house as shown I Fig. 22); the IMU and the at least one environmental sensor being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and the IMU and the at least one environmental sensor being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
With respect to claim 11, Armbrust discloses a wireless module (see at least [0035], [0113], and [0119]); the wireless module being mounted within the electronics housing (see at least [0035], [0113], and [0119]); the wireless module being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0035], [0113], and [0119]); and the wireless module being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0035], [0113], and [0119]).
With respect to claim 14, Armbrust discloses a user interface (see at least [0088], [0105-0107], [0138-0139], and [Figs. 6, 8, 12, 17-18]); an interface holder (see at least [0088], [0105-0107], [0138-0139], and [Figs. 6, 8, 12, 17-18]); the interface holder being perimetrically positioned about an upper shelf of the plurality of shelve (see at least [0088], [0105-0107], [0138-0139], and [Figs. 6, 8, 12, 17-18])s; the user interface being laterally mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves by the interface holder (see at least [0088], [0105-0107], [0138-0139], and [Figs. 6, 8, 12, 17-18]); the user interface being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and the user interface being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
With respect to claim 15, Armbrust discloses a plurality of light indicators (see at least [0088], [0104], [0094-0095], and [0151-0152]); the plurality of light indicators being perimetrically distributed about an upper shelf of the plurality of shelves see at least [0088], [0104], [0094-0095], and [0151-0152]); the plurality of light indicators being laterally mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves see at least [0088], [0104-107], [0094-0095], and [0151-0152]); the plurality of light indicators being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and the plurality of light indicators being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
With respect to claim 16, Armbrust discloses at least one handlebar (see at least [0078], [0167], and [Figs. 1A, 6, 12, 18, and 25], element 12]); the at least one handlebar being perimetrically positioned about an upper shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0078], [0167], and [Figs. 1A, 6, 12, 18, and 25], element 12]); and the at least one handlebar being laterally mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0078], [0167], and [Figs. 1A, 6, 12, 18, and 25], element 12]).
With respect to claim 17, Armbrust discloses a plurality of utility trays (see at least [0048], [0078], [0080], and [Figs. 1A-1B]); and each utility tray of the plurality of utility trays being situated upon a corresponding shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0048], [0078], [0080], and [Figs. 1A-1B]).
With respect to claim 18, Armbrust discloses the pair of motorized wheels each comprising a wheel hub (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494), a drive wheel (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494), an electric motor (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494), and an electric brake (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494); the wheel hub being mounted onto the base shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494); the drive wheel being rotatably connected to the wheel hub (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494); the electric motor and the electric brake being mounted within the wheel hub (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494); and the electric motor and the electric brake being operatively connected to the drive wheel (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494), wherein the electric motor is used to accelerate the rotation of the drive wheel (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494), and wherein the electric brake is used to decelerate the rotation of the drive wheel (see at least [0079], [0089-0094], [0130], [0163], [Figs. 4-5A, 12, and 18], elements 14, 93, 94, 493, 494).
With respect to claim 19, Armbrust discloses a plurality of navigation accessories (see at least [0016]. [0124], [0136-0137], and [0149]); and a selected navigation accessory of the plurality of navigation accessories being mounted onto a corresponding shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0016]. [0124], [0136-0137], and [0149]).
With respect to claim 20, Armbrust discloses a plurality of navigation accessories (see at least [0016]. [0124], [0136-0137], and [0149]); and a selected navigation accessory of the plurality of navigation accessories being mounted onto a corresponding support rail of the plurality of support rails (see at least [0016]. [0124], [0136-0137], and [0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Armbrust et al (US 20230286565 A1) in view of Venable et al (US 20180108134 A1).
With respect to claim 12, Armbrust discloses the plurality of navigational sensors comprising a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) sensor (see at least [0084], [0098], [0098], and [0101]).
Armbrust discloses the LiDAR sensor being mounted onto a lower shelf as shown in the figures (see element 140).
Mounting the LiDAR sensor onto an intermediate shelf of the plurality of shelves is a design choice and is obvious variation. Venable teaches the LiDAR sensor being mounted onto an intermediate shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 1-4], the LiDAR sensor (unit) mounted in an intermediate position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Armbrust, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Venable wherein the LiDAR sensor being mounted onto an intermediate shelf of the plurality of shelves. This would be done to improve scanning and tracking ahead of a mobile robot (see Venable para 0044).
With respect to claim 13, Armbrust discloses an image capturing device (see at least [0135-0136]); the image capturing device being perimetrically positioned about an upper shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [0135-0136]); the image capturing device being electronically connected to the controller (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]); and the image capturing device being electrically connected to the portable power source (see at least [0012], [0092], [0094-0095], [0097], and [0131]).
Armbrust do not specifically disclose wherein the image capturing device being mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves.
Venable teaches wherein the image capturing device being mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves (see at least [Figs. 1-4}, element 40]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Armbrust, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Venable wherein the image capturing device being mounted onto the upper shelf of the plurality of shelves. This would be done to improve scanning and tracking ahead of a mobile robot (see Venable para 0044).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667